Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hospedería Puente de Alconétar 4 stars

Plaza de La Constitución, s/n, 10940 Garrovillas, Spain

#2 of 2 hotels in Garrovillas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 287 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    The shower was a bit broken and it was spreading water all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit broken and it was spreading water all over the bathroom. There was a mechanic sound during the whole night. We thought it was the fridge but after unplugged it the sound persisted.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    A hotel with history in a village with tales to tell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was good but was understaffed. The waiters did what they could at a busy moment.

    Excellent hotel in a village full of surprises. The restaurant provided gluten free options.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    3.8
    Looks nice from the outside and pretty town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What can I say, it looks so nice BUT... The food at the restaurant was not very good at all, luckily not expensive. THE WoRST THING WAS THE AWFUL SMELL OF METHANE FROM THE AIR CONDITIONING THROUGHOUT THE NIGHT AND THE STAFF WERE NOT THAT INTERESTED AND NO MANAGEMENT TO EITHER COMPENSATE OR APPOLOGIES. NOT RECOMENDED AT ALL......

    Looks nice from the outside and pretty town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    beautiful place in a little town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Very nice location. The house is perfectly conditioned as a hotel. The staff were very gently at all time. Food at the restaurant was delicious and good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.8
    Not as good as in the past without being truly horrendous.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Of the many times I have stayed here this was perhaps the most disappointing.. The charge for our dogs was increased from 10 to 30 euros without prior notification. The extra facilities supplied with this increased cost were not required by us as we are seasoned travellers with pets.Again , we have had many excellent dinners here. over the years, this time was not one of them. Poor first course , mediocre main course. 'nuff said.With a bill of 183.0. euros you expect better.

    The feather pillow option.Good friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    A very comfortable stay in a village untouched by time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We loved the old building but with comfortable, modern bedroomsrooms and bathroom. We also enjoyed a swim in the lovely pool. The hotel is situated in a beautiful old square untouched by time. Our second visit and one which did not disappoint.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    This is a very nice hotel but we didn't like the town of Garrovillas which lacks amenities.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning (on when we arrived) was a bit fierce. We switched it off but the room still felt cool. We were woken at 8am by the church bell. Amazingly in Spain the bar had no sherry although it was listed on the menu.

    Its a lovely old building with modern extensions. The room was large and comfortable and had a large private balcony. The dog was welcome and a bed, bowl and doggie wipes were waiting for him in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    This was our second visit to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited choice for the evening meal.

    A good stop over on the way to the Santander ferry. Interesting old building. Room with breakfast and dinner = value for money package.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    What a find! Beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel in a small village. The hotel was spectacularly finished - really luxurious with smart TVs and rainfall walk in showers. A swimming pool. Al a carte menu. You walk out of the hotel reception into traditional Spain; a bull fighting plaza. Oh and... there's a pillow menu! Definitely the best nights sleep of the holiday. Felt safe parking motorcycles in hotel car park.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Welcoming staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave.

    Welcoming staff. Beautiful modern hotel renovated from very old buildimg which has kept its character. Inviting lobby and lounge areas - including on landings. Interesting menu in the restaurant. Fab pool for a dip! Gym and spa too. Travelled with our dog and found dog bowls and dog bed in the room as well as a pet frisby and doggy wipes. Really thoughtful and unexpected.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    Will stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water pressure could not get a decent shower

    staff were outstanding, could not do enough. Restaurant was very good. Breakfast excellent !! Location outstanding will go there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Overnight on route
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The charge for the dog is not shown on the booking. on check in we were given a slip that showed €5 but on check out the charge was €15. still very good

    The local market. and swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Make a point of staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing.

    Everything. Beautiful authentic 15th century exterior building with modern facilities inside. Felt privileged to be staying here. So comfortable. This hotel is a little off the beaten track, but the charming village of Garrovillas in which it is situated is full of old world buildings with so many wonderful sights to see. Spent part of the evening sitting in the village square with the local people, as they have been doing for centuries. Hope to return one day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    10
    Going back in time with modern comforts.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dog is accepted but not allowed anywhere. I understand not in the restaurant but they should be able to go somwhere as they have travelled a long way in the car.

    The ambience. The very helpful staff. The variety at breakfast time.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    9.2
    Good, as usual
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to ask for the Carte menu and even then it was not available in total.

    The staff mostly but not totally. We like the ambience of the place and the good food but see my other comments regarding availability. What we had was excellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Great location and a beautiful property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast starting at8 30 in the morning is no good if you don't have the luxury of being able to lay in bed half the day

    Great location and a beautiful property

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.2
    Excellent converted Palace, combining old with new.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked half board and had to choose from set menu rather than being able to pay extra for A la Carte. Food still excellent though.

    Loved the building, spacious rooms, really comfy bed (a first in Spain) staff friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.5
    Very comfo
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find hotel entrance Dog not allowed in outside area or bar

    Good restaurant Quiet

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    Lovely old building on Plaza Mayor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully restored old building. Great food. Good secure parking. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Beautifully restored old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old building beautifully restored. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent food. Good secure parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    Lovely old hotel, beautifully renovated, great overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Party noise at 3am, freezing pool

    Atmospheric, historic, full of character

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    6.7
    There was no hot water on the day we left.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water on the day we left.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    A place you need to visit .. walking round the ancient plaza mayor as the sun goes down .. magic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of choice of food in restaurant.. although what we did have was very good...

    An amazing location .. like stepping back to another century.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    This hotel chain is excellent and this was another addition...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    This hotel chain is excellent and this was another addition to others we have stayed. Never fail to meet the high standards

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Unexpectedly awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that you need to walk out to access the breakfast room.

    It is a warm place to stay. Food is cosy and breakfast quite generous in assortment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    A pleasant overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A quiet peacful place with beautiful surroundings. The pool was delightful plus the dinner good value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    5.4
    Large hotel, but only 3 guests!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large hotel, but only 3 guests!. Very strange atmosphere, I was made to feel like I was unwelcome.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    9.6
    The surrounding, the staff, charming rustic style, quiet and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Due to building works there was no on site parking, and the bathroom in my room was in need of upgrading. Quite dirty.

    The surrounding, the staff, charming rustic style, quiet and relaxing comfortable and good sized rooms. Good food

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    3.8
    the location was idyllic the last time we stayed there 3...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the site was a building site with mixers and cranes going from 7.30am the restaurant only had 2 items on the main course for 5 days (Pork Medalions or Trout) nothing else. the restaurant staff were moody. swimming pool closed

    the location was idyllic the last time we stayed there 3 years ago. the reception staff were as helpful as they could be.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.2
    Pet friendly, good location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Swimming Pool is CLOSED and will be till at least next year. It would have been nice to have known this when booking.

    Pet friendly, good location,

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    4.0
    Looked great on the website
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's beautiful green garden made us book this hotel as travelling with a dog and 40 degrees you need that. However dogs are only allowed from the entrance straight to your room! We were very upset and had nowhere to go. No idea how they got 4 stars, as bathroom very old and worn and room very small ( I asked for thr biggest!).. Very deceitful pictures on website! Also we had dinner in the restaurant here, one of the worse meals we have had in Spain.

    Looked great on the website

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    7.1
    First o/ night stop was good, decided to stop on return...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Disappointed on return journey, different room, bathroom needed attention, leaking washbasin, very loose toilet seat, mould around cracked tiles. Food not as good as previous stay

    First o/ night stop was good, decided to stop on return journey

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    9.2
    Lovely countryside location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant only served us snacks for evening meal,very odd. No parking on the square outside on Saturdays and Sundays,we had to move our car. It was a bit noisy in the square,which our room overlooked.

    Lovely countryside location. Beautiful building,renovated tastefully. Parking outside.Reception staff very welcoming and helpful. Rooms very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    10
    Quiet, lovely situation, staff very friendly and helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet, lovely situation, staff very friendly and helpful, food very good. Pity we were travelling on, would have stayed longer, however will be back on our return journey

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    7.9
    Very friendly and beautifull place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find even with a Navigation, Bed was Ok but not good.Room was cold on arrival and there was a smell

    Very friendly and beautifull place

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    9.6
    Loved this place in every way, a must stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was playing up badly, but staff very helpful in using their pc.

    Loved this place in every way, a must stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    9.2
    The area around Rio Tajo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The area around Rio Tajo. Semana Santa. Local market.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    9.6
    Comfort, quiet at the best affordable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place is being rebuild, so dinner is scarce. Kitchen shold be finished by end of May.

    Comfort, quiet at the best affordable price.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: