Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hospederia Santillana

Los Hornos, 14, 39330 Santillana del Mar, Spain

#17 of 22 hotels in Santillana del Mar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 728 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Santillana del Mar is a gorgeous little village and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our first night there was a leak into our room, due to another guest upstairs messing with the cistern. The staff were very helpful in changing our room though.

    Santillana del Mar is a gorgeous little village and the views from our room were superb. The hotel is quiet and rural. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    3.8
    Couldn't wait to check out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise: busy, noisy street; creaky floors; morning noise by housekeeping (talking and walking on creaky floors) woke us up every day Staff: rude, morale issues and inappropriate sharing about conflicts with other staff, frequently scolding the guests Facility: no common space, little outdoor space, sparsely furnished room with no seating, bedframe affixed to wall with exposed brackets - dangerous (see photos), 1 king pillow to share by 2, TV size of computer monitor, only 3 hangers in wardrobe with dusty mesh doors (looks like a chicken coop - see pictures), dusty artificial flower on nightstand; constant smell of horse poop in room and throughout the building Housekeeping" poor, appear to change towels and make bed only - did not ever wipe down sink; fingerprints on shaving mirror we never touched; dusty closet doors and in corners Breakfast: start time is 8:30 but never ready at that time; hi carb - no nutrition, packaged pastries, cereal (stale) bread, coffee and tea (tea bags old, looked as if had been wet and left to dry instead of discarding), not permitted to go back for coffee after leaving dining room because "they count the cups based on number of guests" Bathroom: shower wand that wets everything

    Pretty, historic building exterior and quick walk along hilly road down to the plaza

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.8
    This could be such a super place with a little more thought and the smell sorted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 106 had a very peculiar smell. Seemed to be connected to when water/toilet being used. Ok first thing in the morning but soon became awful. Breakfast a bit basic but at 5 euros what do we expect. Unable to buy a drink of any sort despite beer adverts outside. Pool etc. on website are a walk uphill on the campsite!

    Able to walk into Santillana. Parking available. Little balcony outside bedroom. Nice views from bedroom. Interesting to see Caminos passing on the Pilgrim walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Loved it :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't pay for breakfast but I don't regret it. I think going for breakfast in some Café in town is much better :)

    Room was amazing :) Staff was super helpful, they even gave us the room we asked for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    5.8
    Ok
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy on all the floor boards in the bedroom & landing!!!!! You could hear everything people coming in & out of their bedrooms and talking. Also I slipped in the shower and hurt myself so you need mats or a hand rail which I did explain to the manager about the accident.

    Very easy to park !!!!! Also in walking distance to the small town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    Great position, free parking for town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy hotel, ultra thin walls, people moving about all night, no wifi in room, only toast and croissant and cereal for breakfast

    Great position, free parking for town. Beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Touch of modest class in a Medieval Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous place, very central in Santillana del Mar - away from busy roads and located on a mainly pedestrian cobble street. The staff are really friendly and laid back - I had 3 people fussing over me at breakfast! There's a lovely relaxed vibe about the place. The bedroom was beautiful - the bathroom was perfect and the bed was one of the most comfortable I had slept on that week. I was walking on the Camino de Santiago, so all of these comforts were just what I needed. Fantastic spot - highly recommended!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.9
    The location is really close to the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom didn't smell good, more likely to be the old drains. Breakfast was not great compared to our previous accommodation.

    The location is really close to the old town. Our room was comfortable with a great view. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    Nice location, easy to walk into Santillana del Mar. Noisy rooms due to lack of sound insulation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was extremely noisy as there is no sound insulation and hard floors everywhere and so getting to sleep was difficult. Staff were obviously stressed serving breakfast and occasionally rather grumpy. They would have been better to have a buffet.

    Room was small but nice view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable and homely, characterful and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Avoid Room 201: it's the one with the dormer window and the incredibly squeaky floorboards. The pipes smell when you've had a shower and it's dark. We slept there 2 nights, then asked to move to Room 203, which was just as spacious, but much brighter. No balcony, though, which was on the list of room facilities when we booked. In both rooms the showers were powerful, but water escaped all over the wooden floors because the glass screens were not big enough. On our last morning water actually started dripping through to the room below, so hopefully they will fix this. Breakfasts, as others have noted, are not fresh or nutritious. However, we felt we ate well because of the huge choice of great (and cheap) restaurants nearby. The swimming pool is 5 minutes' walk up the hill at the campsite (ditto the crazy golf and tennis). Apparently you ask for a key at the campsite reception, but we didn't do this as the weather was overcast all week.

    Gorgeous village, surrounded by farmland. Comfortable, spacious and bright room (203) with 4 beds, a sofa, a table and a desk - plenty of room for a whole family, though we were only 2. Large, bright bathroom with a roof window. It was nice having a bath and a powerful shower. We felt very much at home. The building is beautiful - stone and wood.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    Friendly and comfortable in lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As I said breakfast was not the best we had on our trip.

    Hotel was very comfortable and staff friendly and pleasant. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was acceptable but not the best. Vert attractive location within walking distance of restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Helpful friendly staff Use of fridge and outdoor area to sit Perfect location close to everthing Rural views historic town and nearby altamira caves Balcony Sunny and airy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.8
    Cute room with countryside view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As people have noted, there is a smell coming from the pipes. You are inclined to air out the room constantly. The bathroom door didn't close well.

    Cute room with countryside view. Everything clean. Easy check in and out. Car park by hotel. Location is walking distance to the pedestrian town area, but not in a crowded area and neither by the frequented road. Good value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.9
    Difficult to reach in foot if you have luggage
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bad septic smell coming from my bathroom. Also no heating so was cold in the evening.

    I booked this room last minute. It was a nice room but not as the description of the room I booked. The room I booked said balcony, and a bath however my room was on ground floor, no balcony and no bath. Also it is at the far end of town making it difficult to reach with luggage if you don't have a car. Wifi was ok.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    7.9
    It's like a film set.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky floorboards. No toiletries in bathroom but for the price am not surprised. Otherwise for the price this is great place.

    Charming hotel which offers superb value. Comfortable and clean and very conveniently placed above this quirky town. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Thoroughly recommend this stopover.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.9
    Lovely little cosy room in great location breakfast ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelled from drains very noisy due to creaking floors bar not open couldn't find swimming pool staff not very friendly but I suppose that could be because we couldn't speak Spanish Asked for bill to be paid in euros but she converted it to pounds which cost us more.

    Lovely little cosy room in great location breakfast ok

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    8.8
    Great location in old Santillana a short walk up cobbled lane from the square with a view of church
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture didn't match old building and ceiling was of strange concrete not traditional wood.

    Location, attractive old building and view of church and countryside

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.5
    Lovely looking building, well positioned but let down by a few annoying issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paper thin walls meant I didn't sleep well. You can hear every breath or movement from all sides and above. People coming back in the early hours sounded like a herd of elephants due to the lack of sound proofing. Also, there was some back draft from the toilets that when we came back to our room at night, smelt really bad until we opened all the windows. The breakfast was also made up of loads of sugary sweet things and was served to you without choice. A shame as this place could be very nice with a bit more thought.

    The building is very lovely with rustic charm and very well situated. It is very reasonably priced to.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    3.8
    The floor squeaked very loudly every step you took.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The floor squeaked very loudly every step you took. We didn't get the balcony requested instead an attic room with sloping ceilings so that my six foot husband couldn't access half the room and the plumbing arrangement was appalling and noisier than the floor boards. The gentleman that greeted us was indifferent and watched my husband carry two suitcases up two flights of stairs. Very poor accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Very enjoyable stay, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit of a musky smell in the bedroom , room 3 and could hear the noise from the reception area.

    Location was closer to the centre and able to park easily near by. Great value too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    8.8
    great location with conditions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast was terrible, it was nice we were served, but toast, donuts or sweet cakes were not. the floor of our room was very, very squeaky! in reality our room should not have been a non-smoking room, as the smokers sat outside the front door, so the smoke blew right in our bathroom and balcony window - yuk!

    the location was great, a very short walk to the town. also, considering that, it had a very rural feel. staff were very nice, bed was comfy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    5.4
    Mixed experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was poor and had very squeaky headboard. Floorboards also squeaky and that made the building noisy. Poor insulation - we could hear all the noise from the bedroom above.

    Breakfast staff were good although breakfast wasn't up to much.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    6.7
    Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cheap furniture and not very comfortable. Noisy floor. A bit disorganized. The night we arrived, plastic boxes with clean towels were in the middle of the corridor and stayed there until next morning.

    Great Location. Very nice staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    Fabulous view from window. Nice old place in great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Very well located with parking and right in the center of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors were really squeaky because it's an old building

    Very well located with parking and right in the center of town but quiet at night

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Just a short walk to the village where there are plenty of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very squeaky floor.

    Just a short walk to the village where there are plenty of restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Quiet, simple place to stay away from road and crowds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Setting and views across meadows. Excellent shower. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Facilities are wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities are wonderful. Location is great close to village but enough far away to avoid noise from Main Square (200m).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Excellent views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast too expensive and hard mattress

    Views, bedroom and bathroom were so nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    A lovely start to our tour of Northern Spain. Great restaurant recommendation by the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable room with lovely view in a beautiful old house. Great shower. Lots of fresh coffee at breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    3.3
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Place was a dump and breakfast pitiful. Dark and dingy.

    The rown

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Everything was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.5
    The bath, the beautiful outlook
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't very nutritional or tasty

    The bath, the beautiful outlook

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    3.3
    Bad value for money felt lke a youth hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy rooms very thin walls and floors. Very small basic room

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.9
    Very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Santillana del Mar is a lovely little town, very picturesque with good restaurants and proximity to the Altamira Caves.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    Great spot for extended stay on the Camino
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need a bar with wine and beer

    It's right on the Camino.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice room- poot breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor breakfast

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    good hotel for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not enought bath/shower gel strange odour coming from the bathroom

    Reception staff is friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    7.5
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cold in the room, it would be good to have duvets or thicker blankets for such a humid clima.

    Good location, nice property.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    8.8
    Very close to the main square and restaurants etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to the main square and restaurants etc. Traditional and well kept building with great views from our room over the countryside.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    nice location in town easy to park plenty to see. a little difficult

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creaky floor boards

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.3
    Great location close to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location close to town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    5.8
    The person at reception when we arrived was very off hand...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person at reception when we arrived was very off hand and there was nowhere to park

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    7.5
    Location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard uncomfortable bed. As gluten free minimal options for breakfast.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    8.3
    Good location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never Found the pool. Smelly drain in bathroom.

    Location. Bar at the rear. Good Wi-Fi

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    9.6
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    May be air condition

    Good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.5
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a weird smell in our room which was a bit unpleasant.

    Very friendly staff. Nice breakfast. Has its own private parking. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    7.9
    Rustic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No effort to soundproof the rooms perfect for the Camino.

    Rustic. Befitting a town that sells history. Old wooden staircase, broad beams and wooden floors. Room overlooks a pastural setting.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    7.9
    Set in the beautiful medieval town of Santillana del Mar,...
    • Group

    The rooms were a little cold. I happened to be unwell and luckily a plug in heater was left in our room. But not in our friends room though they didn't mind as once in bed it was warm.

    Set in the beautiful medieval town of Santillana del Mar, this hotel reflects the ambiance of the town. Our rooms were beautifully appointed. The beds were comfortable and decorated in a simple understated elegance. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had walked the first day of our Camino trip and it was lovely to rest for an hour afterwards in such a peaceful place before we headed out for dinner in one of the many restaurants. Breakfast was included, which was toast, coffee, orange juice and croissants. There is a gorgeous bar at the back of the hotel in the style of and old chapel. We had a night cap there and the bar man was delightful. There were salamis and cheeses along the bar fr anyone to nibble on. A really sweet place.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    8.3
    Good location very close to Santillana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a bit on the cold side, and the breakfast was limited to a selection of very sugary options. Creaky floorboards.

    Good location very close to Santillana., and very friendly/helpful staff. Lovely rural aspect.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    8.3
    The friendly helpful staff, available but not intrusive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed wasn't very comfortable, it dipped in the middle and neither of us had a full night's sleep. Also the room was rather cold and we would have appreciated the heating being on a little earlier, especially as the weather was miserable: there was a cold draught coming up behind the head-board of the bed which we tried to cover with the floor mat.

    The friendly helpful staff, available but not intrusive. No doubt the location is perfect in the summer when the town is full of people but it's very convenient all year round; all the sites are nearby but the location offers a chance to get away to the sidelines and enjoy the views (through the rain). The weather didn't allow us to sample the terrace, unfortunately, as it looked rather nice and relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    7.1
    The breakfast was sweet, it included regional products i.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were unfortunately three points that made our stay rather uncomfortable: The main problem was the bed. We both woke up several times during the night with pain in our backs which lasted during the next day. The bathroom was rather nice but the noise of the flush of the toilet could be heard on the whole floor. We could hear other guests speaking in their rooms talking in a normal voice.

    The breakfast was sweet, it included regional products i.e sobaos pasiegos and the staff was friendly.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    8.3
    Good location near the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location near the city centre. Adequate brakfast for those who like sweet (bread, butter, jam and lots of pastry, etc.) but no fresh fruit. Free parking nearby. Hospitality.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.2
    A lovely traditional, rustic Cantabrian property in an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lovely traditional, rustic Cantabrian property in an excellent location within this beautiful medieval village. Central for trips to the coast and mountains.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    10
    Location is super, within 2 minutes of historic Santilla del...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location is super, within 2 minutes of historic Santilla del Mare main square, yet with rural views. Lovely rooms. Small bar at rear of premises was just right for late nightcap.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    7.1
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smell of varnish/paint in the bathroom was nauseating.

    Value for money. Although breakfast was served rather than buffet style, there was plenty including fresh fruit. The hotel would be great for those walking the camino

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    4.5
    Fantastic location within the old town, up the hill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room: A lesson learned here, payment is taken as soon as you arrive, which is unusual. Make sure you see the room first. Ours was small but acceptable, the bathroom looked clean but smelt strongly of mildew, and clearly there is a problem with the drains as our room also smelt like an open sewer. Not acceptable, instant nausea as soon as you walk through the door. The staff clearly were already aware of this, so how the management can then offer this room up for "sale" is beyond me.... To be fair, the junior staff were very understanding, friendly and helpful, made a few phone calls and gave us a refund. It seemed like a nice hotel from the brief time we were in the foyer, but no other rooms were available so we had to move on. Overall, rather disappointed with the management predominantly. As it was late, the nearest room was some miles away, so we never got the chance to explore the town. Poor hotel management

    Fantastic location within the old town, up the hill. We would love to have stayed as the staff were friendly too. Unfortunately, our room smelt like a sewer....

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    9.2
    Amazing conserved village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast area a bit limited.

    Amazing conserved village Convenient private car park. Spacious traditional building. Plenty of choice for eating out.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    5.0
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A noisy bar is directly below the room we were in and the party seemed to go on all night! I couldn't get to sleep for hours. Very noisy. Would not recommend if you plan on sleeping! Went down at 1am to complain but no one was at reception and the front door was locked. Annoyingly, we'd already paid as we were leaving early, otherwise I would have asked for a refund. Missed breakfast as we had to leave early and there still wasn't anyone around at 6.30am.

    Nice location... During the daytime! Santilliana is lovely. Nice room and good shower.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    6.3
    Basic hotel, no air con or fans and on a hot night, with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The smell and the fly screens would help. Ceiling fan would also help. WiFi was poor.

    Basic hotel, no air con or fans and on a hot night, with mosquitoes in the air, made for an uncomfortable sleep. There is also a terrible smell emanating from the drains in the bathrooms. The breakfast was delightful. We also found the hotel very difficult to locate even using a GPS

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    4.2
    Only the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms not as shown in picture. No hot water, no a/c, small rooms and if you open the balcony door, bad smell and mosquitoes. Squeaky bathroom floor. No elevator so you must carry luggage upstairs.

    Only the location.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    6.3
    Only stayed for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The most uncomforable bed - like lying on wire netting!! Bath taps hanging off the wall. Bathroom blind fell off when string touched. Bath screen stuck so to reach taps was a huge stretch. Dogs barking all night in the valley below. Laying in bed looking up at a bare concrete ceiling was not much fun.

    Only stayed for one night.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    10
    Quiet location a few blocks away from the noisy tourists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet location a few blocks away from the noisy tourists. Family run inn, very cozy. Friendly staff. Better than most cold, and faceless 4 star hotels.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.2
    location of hotel within village is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is a small bar at the rear of the hotel. Music was played until after 0300 hours! Also problem with church bells. (Not hotels fault)

    location of hotel within village is excellent

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    8.8
    The hospederia is simply furnished but has atmosphere and is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hospederia is simply furnished but has atmosphere and is very pleasant to stay in - well worth getting a room on the sunny (street) side, with a view over lovely trees to the mountains. A short walk downhill into the picturesque town. Staff are very welcoming and kind.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    10
    Fantastic find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Fantastic find

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    7.5
    Good WiFi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast uninspiring. Creaky floorboards.

    Good WiFi. Parking close by. Well located.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    10
    Perfecto !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nada

    Perfecto !

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    8.8
    Very cheap and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was a bit uncomfortable

    Very cheap and excellent location

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    10
    Friendly reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly reception

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    8.3
    Friendly reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More pillows and better heating in the bedroom

    Friendly reception

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    7.9
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room aclimatation

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.2
    Had an early flight , excellent location for airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had an early flight , excellent location for airport.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: