Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hospedería Señorío de Casalarreina 3 stars

Plaza Santo Domingo de Guzmán, 6, 26230 Casalarreina, Spain

#1 of 2 hotels in Casalarreina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 335 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Great welcome and a lovely building in typical Spanish square.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was very cold and our room smelt of cigarettes.

    Wonderful building and staff. Room was spacious and comfortable and jacuzzi was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.4
    Very dissappointed . hotel looks so good on internet it no way lives up to its expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standard of bathroom at room 2 very poor. Condition of the bath appalling. We had flipflops so at least we could shower.The grouting of the tiles were black in lots of places and it made you feel you really didn't want to use it. Breakfast also of a poor standard. So sorry to be negative we wanted to enjoy our stay.

    Staff were really friendly. Nothing else at all so very disappointing wished we had booked for just 1 night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    We have stayed here several times and have always received a...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed here several times and have always received a warm welcome. The accommodation is classic Spanish with lots of character, is clean and comfortable. Perfect for our overnight stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location, but high charge for pets.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't have a bed for the dog, but still charged a very high fee, 15€ per day, too much.

    Nice breakfast, free parking in front of hotel, and right next to Haro, so great for wine cellar visits.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Would go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff did not speak English but they were still helpful. They managed to book us the restaurant we wanted to go to.

    Everyhting was good, we really enjoyed our stay. The facilities were a bit outdated but that fits the environment. Bed was comfortable, breakfast was good and that was exactly what were looking for.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.3
    Very pretty hotel spoilt by noisy guests above and below. Avoid Room #3 at all costs.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Okay - this sometimes happens - and it's a pain. The rooms are equipped with Jacuzzi baths and the couple right above us decided to take a bath at 2 in the morning. The following night, a couple came back at around 11 or 12 (not very late at all in Spain, granted) and started a noisy chat with the person on reception that went on forever. Given our room - #3 was right beneath the reception area, beside the lift and beneath the rooms above - I would demand a corner room on the second or top floor of the hotel facing out towards the back of the building. Avoid room #3 like the plague.

    Great location just off the centre of the village. Beautiful 16th century church and monastery right next door (the hotel was part of the original religious buildings). Brilliantly situated if you are a wine lover. Very friendly bars and cafés in the village (great butcher too) and two top notch restaurants (one expensive, one so-so). Highly recommend the restaurant Bodega Pimiento in Tirgo (5 minutes by car) on Saturdays - book ahead.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.6
    Impressive building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were satisfied with everything

    Impressive building. The owners were most helpful and welcoming. The room was comfortable and having a jacusi in the bathroom added a sense of luxury. Breakfast was good in a dining room with an interesting collection of antiques.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    8.8
    We did not stay for breakfast so can't comment on it.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not stay for breakfast so can't comment on it. We love the location in the centre of the village with a park and river adjoining ideal for walking the dogs. We love the character of the hotel and the staff are always friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    7.9
    The location is ideal for our trip back to Bilbao.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has a restaurant but in our 4 visits it has never been open. it would be useful to know this when we book.

    The location is ideal for our trip back to Bilbao. If the bodega is shut there is no where in the village to eat and on a Monday this is the case. Even in Haro a few kilometres away many of the bars and restaurants are shut. good when they are open.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.2
    Always looking to provide the best experience and service for their guest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Service was incredible both from the hotel and Bookings .com. This hotel is located in an old monastery and wonderfully decorated to match the setting. Unfortunately their water heater broke and needed parts for repairs. This was not to come for a week. The hotel desk and bookings.com worked together to make sure we had a new place for the next two night stay and refunded the first night. It all worked out as we only needed to moved 3.5K to the next town. I again thank them for their service in a difficult time!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.8
    A great Castle-like stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a beautiful property. Old finishings with lots of stone and high ceilings. Very castle-like. Room was spacious. The bed was great. King size and comfy! Parking was easy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    7.9
    Great building and the rooms are great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concert that started at 12am and finished at 3:55 am was a little hard to handle. Not much the hotel could have done with that except to let us know earlier.

    Great building and the rooms are great

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Thematic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no coffee in the room, only tea

    Beautiful place! One of a kind! The room with character was with so much detail, so spacious and makes you feel like a royalty! The breakfast was reasonably priced and very good. Hope I can stay there again

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    The sound isolation is very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The sound isolation is very poor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No evening meal facilities

    Beautiful rooms, hot tubs very nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.0
    Lots of character
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to go out in the snow to have dinner

    Lots of character

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Fabulous 14th Century building, with authentic decor and...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Wine Cellar Package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous 14th Century building, with authentic decor and amazingly kind staff. Memorable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Espectacular,cómodo,super tranquilo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Espectacular,cómodo,super tranquilo.repetible

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff. Conveniently located near restaurants and bars but yet very quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi was very relaxing! View from my room was amazing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.3
    Confortable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better breakfast.....more flexible times...earlier than 9am...coffee awfull as always in spain....

    Style..interior

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    It was the coolest place we stayed in Spain !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Wine Cellar Package
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was the coolest place we stayed in Spain !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful building, and calming atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complementary water would have been appreciated.

    Very Spanish, beautiful area. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    9.2
    Charachter property adjacent to16th C monastery.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    20 Euro for a dog to stay? Not many eateries nearby.

    Interesting charachter property. Lovely bedroom,comfortable bed, jacuzzi bath.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    A wonderful old building full of character and tastefully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit difficult to get to being in a pedestrian precinct

    A wonderful old building full of character and tastefully restored. The creaky floor boards even add to the pleasant experience.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    7.5
    The age and decor of the place had a nice old world charm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We debated leaving early for our long drive home but in the end opted to wait for breakfast which didn't start until 9am. We needn't have bothered. Poor selection of fruit and bread and the coffee was dreadful! The internet was supposed to work in the room but even after a reboot it didn't work. The router in reception worked fine.

    The age and decor of the place had a nice old world charm about it and the huge jacuzzi bath was nice even if we didn't have time to use it.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    10
    location and wine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location and wine

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    9.6
    Character of building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom needed silicon and wifi signal poor

    Character of building

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Browse Hospedería Señorío de Casalarreina traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: