Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hospedería Valle del Ambroz 4 stars

Plaza del Hospital s/n, 10700 Hervás, Spain

#11 of 28 hotels in Hervás

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 523 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was on our return trip from Santander to the Algrarve, and the n'th time we've stayed. try the €15 three course dinner menu - excellent. Local wine very good and not expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good food contained in the €15 three course menu! Local wines not expensive. Convenient parking and if you book a mountain view room the view is spectacular (can even see snow in June!). Well situated and easy to find, ideal to break a journey from Algarve to Santander, depending on ferry times.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to complain in the middle of the first night about noisy room next to ours. Night staff were not prepared to tell young couple to stop their shower which had been running for more than 45 min. We had to move rooms in the middle for the night. No compensation but a room upgrade offered by the manager for the remainer of our stay.

    The staff were friendly and the restaurant food was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely comfortable firm bed. Catered for our dog very well, a bed and bowl in the room waiting and even a toy for him to play with. Not too far from the motorway. The village is lovely to walk around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only minor criticism is that they don't provide tissues.

    We have stayed here several times when travelling South. It is an excellent hotel in a good position in the pleasant town of Hervas. Every time we stay we find that the hotel has made some improvements. On this visit they had provided a dog bed, bowl and wipes. They have also improved the lighting with brighter bulbs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The booking information said that pets were allowed. When checking in we found that there was a restriction on the size of the pet dog. The hotel only allowed small dogs weight up to 8 kilograms whereas we had a larger dog, weight 30 kilograms. Had we known this before we would not have booked at this hotel.

    The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception service. In check in, ask me for my passport two times when l present my identify card and l must explain that Portuguese people don't need it. In check l'm surprised because the hotel do a "pre-paid" without my authorization. In others "hospedeiras de Estremadura" it's not a procedure and l don't like this situation.

    Location. Excellent breakfast buffet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good

    Lovely hotel in a historic building. Very nice dining room. The menu for 15 Euros was very good and excellent value. Will return next year on our way to Southern Spain and stay an extra night to explore town and surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room although spacious and well equipped lacks any real sound insulation. With the Spanish enjoying late eating when adjacent room occupants returned after midnight it was like they were in our room. A good nights sleep not possible until late.

    The historic value is brilliant. The breakfast was absolutely first class. All you need for a hearty start to a new day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning not working

    Wonderful peaceful situation. Friendly welcome and room upgrade on arrival. Large well equipped room. Excellent breakfast and evening meal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We love this hotel but have a couple of minor niggles. It seems odd in a 4 star establishment not to provide tissues in the bathroom especially as there are shampoo, body lotion, bath gel, shoe shine, shave kit and dental kit. I could do without the latter but I do need tissues! The other niggle is the very dim lighting in the rooms making it difficult to read comfortably.

    We have stayed here several times and have always been given a large bedroom. It is lovely to have lots of space and a capacious wardrobe. The staff here are friendly and make a big fuss of our dog. The location is excellent, easy to access from the motorway and a pleasant stroll into town. There is ample free parking. Breakfast is lavish with some hot dishes as well as a good assortment of the usual continental cold meats, cheeses, pastries etc..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our 4th stay so as usual very satisfied, except we were originally offered a double bed when we had booked twin beds. We had to settle for the only smaller room available.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BEDS ARE A LITTLE FIRM BUT THE PILLOWS ARE GREAT

    THE POOL WASN'T IN USE AS IT WAS WINTER THE STAFF ARE BRILLIANT - EXTREMELY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL - THEY RECOGNISED US WHEN WE ARRIVED

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have stayed here about 4 or 5 times previously on our route between Algarve and UK. Very comfortable hotel - warm in Winter, cool in Summer, situated in a pretty town. Lovely old building, dog-friendly. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room very dark, extremely poor lighting. lampshades and econ light bulbs dusty, has not been cleaned for years! breakfast (poor), artificial orange juice, choice of food limited, and the coffee dispensed from the vending machine .a disgrace.

    reception staff very helpful & friendly, that's about it!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are regular visitors to this hotel, it is a convenient stop-over for us on our way to Portugal and they are very dog friendly. The rooms are air conditions and the beds are large.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location. Beautiful building. Good value evening meal. Good parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Lovely firm bed. They really cater for dogs, there is a bed and bowl in the room and a toy for the dog to take with him.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness and helpfulness of staff. Wonderfully historic site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The three-course meal with water and a glass of wine for €15 is excellent value and good quality. Large range of artisan beers!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The beautiful old building and the staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable matresses

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would love to have tea making facilities in the room!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bigger table in room to eat off.

    very comfortable room, pet friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quoted as dog friendly but dogs only allowed in room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bar and coffee area

    Restaurant maitre de was excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is very beautiful, and the people are really kind.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful building in excellent location and interesting historic town. Dog friendly . Really good dinner that was excellent value.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed

    Great value and location dog friendly and some good restaurants I. Hervas although not open until 9

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Been there before loved it. En route down south.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would say the breakfast was not great

    Everything. The staff was amazing!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent selection for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Earlier dinner option would have been good but then this is Spain

    Unusual and interesting building in a quite location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Buffet breakfast has excellent choices but the cooked elements are completely cold.

    Different menu options in the restaurant. No problem in changing room to have better view. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner in the restaurant was reminiscent of Fawltty Towers. We have stayed here before and had no complaints but this time the experience was terrible. I ordered the oxtail and my husband a steak. His steak arrived and I was told, with profuse apologies, that my meal would be another 20 minutes. I was offered a starter which I didn't want and when the food eventually arrived it was distinctly unimpressive. Apologies and a discount did not make up for a disappointing experience.

    We liked the bathroom which was well equipped, spacious and had the loo and bidet separate from the basin and bath area. I loved the plentiful hot water. The bedroom was large with plenty of hanging space, a fridge and a view up to the hills behind the hotel. All the staff were friendly and our dog was warmly welcomed. The location is superb. It is about 5 minutes drive from the motorway. There is ample free parking at the back of the hotel. The front opens onto a square at the top of the old Jewish quarter and it is a pleasant stroll into the centre of town.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food in the evening was a little disappointing.

    The hotel was a great mix of old and new. The breakfast was excellent. We liked the setting close to the old town.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Directions! We got lost in the town centre!

    The set menu evening meal was excellent quality, and amazing value for money. The inclusive breakfast also had something for everyone, and the building itself was stunning!

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had 3 small dogs with us and therefore could not eat in the dining room. When we asked if we could order from the menu and have it delivered to our room the response was an immediate Yes, no problem

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I liked everything

    We have stayed before on our way from Santander to the Algarve, the location is convenient providing the ferry times fit. The building is beautifully restored, the rooms large and very clean and the location is very nice for a walk around the town.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedrooms are a little dated and need refurbishment.

    Polite & friendly staff. Comfortable room. Reasonably priced restaurant serving good quality meals. Terrific breakfast. Loved wandering around the old town (nightmare to drive through when GPS found a "short cut") All in all, a nice place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Originally allocated a room with a non-existent view. Check-in process impersonal, in contrast to all other attention from staff.

    Mountain view from room Excellent dinner (special menu)

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing we didn't like was the generally dim lighting.

    We loved the historic building which was full of atmosphere. It was only a short stroll into the interesting town of Hervas. The staff were all friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We paid for a deluxe room so you do not expect to have mould in the bathroom and black stains down the wall of your room.The glass on the gallery overlooking the pond was absolutely filthy and covered in pigeon droppings.An absolute disgrace for such a beautiful building,its in need of a lot of TLC

    The actual building and location was stunning.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dishes on the evening menu not always as good as they could be compared to previous stays

    Beautiful conversion of an ancient convent, stayed several times, always good.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Swimming pool was closed.

    Large room, comfortable bed, staff very helpfull.location just off motorway and in Hervas nice little bars for a glass of wine and tapas.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No kettle in the room so no tea and coffee but I know that this is just an English habit but would have been good to be able to top up the flask for onward journey.

    The ambience and the large comfortable room. This reall is a place of character.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Did not have enough time to explore this lovely region and all that the Hotel had to offer.

    Rooms, decor and ambience are superb. Rooms are spacious, bathrooms well equipped with all toiletries, and food well presented, plentiful and excellent value.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor attention to detail, broken taps in our bathroom, cigarette butts outside the front door not cleaned up. Our room was over the car park and the bright lights stayed on all night and the curtains weren't light excluding.

    Nice reception staff, good location

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Previously we had enjoyed a peaceful, pleasant meal in the room used this time for breakfast. This time we found ourselves in a bigger dining room, which was full so much noisier, especially as it was Saturday night and most groups were families. The staff seemed rather rushed, with not enough time to really give a moderate amount of attention to us, and we had to wait for 15 mins before being given a menu. Another ten minutes passed before order was taken and we had to ask for drinks. I expect better service at this standard of hotel, so perhaps management should consider putting on an extra staff member at busier times. On this occasion I was very disappointed with the food offered, with its presentation and quality. My soup was bland, main course drab to look at (though flavour was good), and pudding simply two scoops of unadorned ice-cream. There was nothing to be proud of. Not a good example of the service and quality usually found in these hotels. I felt rather let-down. Half-board should not mean half-standard.

    Hotel is set in a lovely old building, right in the heart of a very nice little town with historic interest. Do take the time to find and explore the old Jewish quarter, with its very quanit old houses. Rooms spacious and comfortable, if a little dull. We have stayed many times in hotels which are part of the Hospederia de Extremadura chain, and all are usually very comfortable, with historic interest, and good value for money especially when taking half board. We have previously stayed in this hotel and have been very satisfied with the food, but this time I was disappointed. Parking is very good.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing to dislike

    convenient situation just off main road. It turned out that we were the only guests that evening and there was a full menu available for us and a very good spread for breakfast. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - noisy room, pigeons on the roof, no noise damping

    + really good breakfast, lot of choice + nearby old town

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike

    Friendly staff. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Great location and ambience. Good safe parking.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea and coffee making facilities.

    Spacious room. Good car parking facility. Good breakfast. Good food choice for dinner

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decoration in the rooms is getting a little tired.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    exceptional, staff very helpful, close to motorway. Location stunning

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent meal in the restaurant and a very comfortable and quite room, would book again.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff, good value for money and a great location.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is nowhere that you can sit with your pet or pets, other than in your room

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location. Historic building in a fascinating town in a beautiful mountain area close to the ruta de la plata

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Evening meal not to the standard expected

    We love this hotel, We have stayed several times and will stay again. Excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Big comfortable bed and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fabulous building

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, good food and pet friendly!

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner was really poor. Although buffet breakfast was good"q

    Position was good with big car park.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff who tried to be helpful and some staff spoke some English.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    the building, the meals

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike

    The village of Hervas is a very interesting place to visit.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything 2nd time

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff are very helpful and the food is very good value for money

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Browse Hospedería Valle del Ambroz traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: