Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Monasterio de San Francisco 4 stars

Avenida Pio XII, 35, 14700 Palma del Río, Spain

#3 of 7 hotels in Palma del Río

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 325 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would prefer not have to pay a supplement for 2 guests staying in a double room, ( the price quoted is for single occupancy only, you have to pay a supplement for double occupancy) Also given the quality of the hotel would have expected tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom along with bottled water.

    Historical well kept Hotel. Sensible menu , not to large allowing thekitchen to produce excellent well presented meals. The only waitress serving was very presentable and pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bar staff. We couldn’t get a pre-dinner drink even though we went back to reception to ask for help. There was only one waitress who was helpful in the whole establishment. We parked where we were asked to at the beginning of our stay, but was then asked to move our car half way through our evening meal. Not ideal!

    Decor, grounds and room was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was not on Google maps.

    Ourstanding. A very special place. The room and bathroo. was absolutely beautiful The restaurant 6 course meal in the monastery setting, a dining experience of a lifetime. Food, wine and beers and 5 star service €53 euro for 2 people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the warmest welcome at reception. Small town with no taxis (or phones) at train station so walked the 2.5 km to the hotel. A shuttle or some warning on website would be a good idea. Some sewage smells from bathroom drains. Closed the drains and added some water and problem was solved.

    Unique stay in former monastery. Architecture was amazing. Resident cat was very friendly and charming. Able to eat oranges from the trees near the pool. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was not adequate. The service did not speak any english. The price is much above the standards we have been paying during the trip, NH was beating all the others, Paradores was offering much more than San Francisco.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this hotel because other reviewers said the restaurant was good and the hotel was supposed to be pet friendly. It turned out that the dog wasn't allowed in the restaurant. We had booked dinner and breakfast as an inclusive package so had to eat out in a courtyard with no heating (February!) The meal was the worst we have ever eaten in a Spanish hotel and incredibly expensive for what it was. Only two choices for each course and cheese instead of pudding or fruit that should only have been used for cooking. It was disgraceful and they should have been ashamed to offer such dreadful food in such an unwelcoming setting. If only they had told us that the meal would be so basic and served outside, we would not have booked the half board offer. The final night of our holiday was spent in Cordoba and included a memorable meal costing half the price so at least we were not left feeling ripped off after the total disappointment of our stay at the monasterio. The receptionist was frosty and uninterested when I told her how angry we were at the quality of the food.

    The building is beautiful and interesting. Our room was large with antique furniture and a lovely bathroom with pretty tiling.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Every thing was excellent. Beautiful building, spacious, dog friendly room and superb food. The head waiter was a particular star but all the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everywhere in the property was freezing (except for reception) and my wife kept her coat on most of the time. Breakfast was very basic. However if you like an interesting different experience this is the place for you.

    This is a unique opportunity to stay in a monastery. The building is very large with lots of historic features. There are a number of outdoor areas that are in the form of courtyards or open areas. There is an outdoor pool which looked inviting but was very cold. Our room was like a mini suite comprising of a sitting area, extremely large bed a separate room with 2 single beds and a bathroom which had a large bath and shower. We chose half board and although the dinner choice was limited the food was good and a nice bottle of Rioja was only €12. The town is very interesting being an important historical place. We had a great coffee and cake in a place called Maisa’s which is well worth a visit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The is not much wrong with this place. and we got to see the El Cordobes museum just a few streets away

    The monestary feeling was unique. All that was missing was a group of chanting monks wandering the hallways

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stunning location overlooking the monastery gardens. Quirky rooms with huge stone fireplaces. Mullion windows. Lovely sound of the bells to wake you up at 8 a.m. Stayed her previously and had a great time. Will continue to use this hotels. Food excellent and so reasonably priced. Wines a delight.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The eggs at breakfast had a coating on them from sitting too long.

    Beautiful hotel with lovely rooms and great lap pool. Staff were so nice, even helped us with pick up at the railway station. This is a lovely hotel at a great rate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My ground floor room's only window looked onto one of the public patios so it was necessary to keep the shutters closed for privacy and meant that it was slightly gloomy. Breakfast was of average quality (processed products, jugs of filtered coffee) with no hot options, and therefore poor value at 10€. There was a group of cyclists staying who thought it was ok to hang their laundered smalls in public areas!

    This is a historic property that has been renovated rather than reformed: it retains its original structure; walls are simple limewash. It is professionally run with a staffed reception that you can call from the room. I enjoyed tapas and a glass of wine in the fairy-lit terrace bar area. My room was large and furnished comfortably with good quality if slightly old fashioned furniture. There was a well-stocked and reasonably-priced minibar. There was a safe but it was not secured to the wardrobe. Bathroom had a good hairdryer and there was a bath tub and separate rainhead shower cubicle; toiletries were soap and shampoo/gel. The pool is a long 30m, tiled in white and pristinely clean. There were a dozen teak wood loungers with cushions. As it is a walk through the well-kept kitchen garden, suitable footwear is required; towels for the pool were not provided. It was easy to find on-street parking near to the hotel in Palma del Rio, which is a well-kept typical Spanish provincial town with some picturesque corners, plenty of banks, cafe-bar/restaurants and individual shops. There is a pathway to walk alongside the fast-flowing, muddy Genil river. The town may not be a destination but the hotel is certainly worth a detour.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel didn't have a bar open in the afternoon. Only the mini bar was available but considering the positives, this was not a big deal.

    The property is beautiful, very stately. The pool is the cleanest I have seen and very refreshing. It is an easy walk to the river where you can stroll and stop for a drink.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could't find the bar open end of the day. In Spain everybody eats very late, because of the heat during the summer, that's why the restaurant only starts to become crowdier after 21 hrs.

    Very friendly receptionist, the room was gorgeous. It is an oasis in a rather small village, but we went without knowing what to expect, and had a great time, enjoying the room, the monestorio, the swimming pool and a great dinner. The price - quality was excellent. Nice detail, Columbas stopped by here after he had "discovered" America.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is unwelcoming! A few notable exceptions (the cleaning lady was very friendly and nice) but most of the staff walks around looking like they hate you and their jobs. The waiter at the bar/ restaurant was worst.

    Its beautiful! Genuine old cloister, nicely renovated and decorated. Swimming pool and gardens are very nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an old (medieval) monastery converted just beautiful in a Hotel with all the facilities. As we were expecting this is not an ordinary hotel. An experience to remember.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since it´s a monastery, the big and high hallways seem to reflect noise quite a bit, so sometimes you could hear some noise.

    The room we had was just amazing, spacious and light. We had a great time in this historic building, enjoying the tranquility and the beautiful gardens.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you want to stay in a 600 year old monastery then this is it. The rooms have been updated but not modernised. Comfortably furnished. The cloisters and hallways, squares and gardens are simple and just beautiful. The main dining room and lounge area delightful. We paid for half board and the food and service were very good. Staying in Palma made a lovely break between cities. Really enjoyed staying there.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not a problem for us at all, being quite fit, but others should note that there is no lift available and depending on which room you are allocated there is a fair walk from reception through courtyards and up a couple of short flights of steps.

    It is always nice to stay in such an historically interesting building, with character. There are several courtyards, and a productive garden in which to walk. The dining room was interesting, with tapestries and old picture on the walls. We enjoyed our evening meal, which was included in our pricing. Parking within the walls of the monastery is very limited and at an additional cost, so it must be reserved in advance. We were happy to have done this. The town was quite busy, and we had a little walk around, but there was nothing of great interest to be seen.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is well situated in the small town of Palma del Rio, which is a very handy base for touring the area and within a couple of hour of Seville and Cordoba. Although really an ancient monument, the hotel retains its original design and charm, whilst providing modern bedrooms, with comfortable beds, spacious quiet rooms, and fully modernised en suite bathrooms; rooms have heating or cooling as suits the time of year. Be aware that there are no lifts and most rooms are on the first (upper) floor. The hotel restaurant provides breakfast and evening dinners - but there are plenty of alternative cafes and restaurants nearby. Safe and secure car parking is available at a moderate supplementary cost. The staff are very helpful and the daily maid service is excellent. All in all, we can easily recommend the hotel as a comfortable, peaceful place to stay, especially as a base to explore the region.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spartan rooms ,very loud with party going on whole night ,useless air conditioning location in rather boring and ugly area of small town ,pool and garden closed at 7 pm

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to stay longer.

    Absolutely gorgeous. Something unique and worth travelling out of the way a little to enjoy. The dinner in the restaurant was really lovely. Tbe staff were personable and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room exceptional & evening meal good. Swimming pool very welcome in the hot weather - note no life rings . 18th c paintings of the Californian missions on top corridor

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we can think of

    We had an enormous room, with views onto the garden and the church, a king size bed and a huge spa bath and shower room. We had the most relaxing stay imaginable, and the two girls on reception could not have been nicer or more helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only receptionist available saw no other staff at all. Bar and restaurant shut so had to go out to eat /drink. No information available in rooms re pool times / restaurant etc

    The building is fantastic .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you're in need of aircon, which as a Brit in a hot country I am, it failed rather badly. The bedroom unit was poor and the dining room oppressive due to the lack of it.

    The sense of history. The rooms are huge.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great building and helpful staff. Lovely swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a beautiful place to stay. It was a privilege to stay in such a historic property converted to a comfortable hotel so carefully.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic hotel; lovely city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The history

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to be offered the tapas menu as well as the a la carte

    Good food in lovely courtyard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing diner, swimming pool

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking in the street, town center not interesting

    beautiful place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The peaceful atmosphere. A perfect place to relax mind and body in a historical accommodation

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property that is very nicely maintained. Large comfortable room with good selection of drinks in the mini bar.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A unique place. This 15th century monastery had a peaceful & magical ambience. The smell of orange blossom drifting into our room was fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel did not have parking, but there was possibility to park around without troubles Nothing to complain about

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful building and grounds.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and wine was not to my taste. To be politely.

    Room was spacious

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of English spoken by the staff.

    The rooms were very comfortable and after a long day of cycling the magnificent pool was a delight.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was very pricey.

    The history.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good!!

    Such a beautiful building and lovely pool! Staff were really helpful and the evening chill out was excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unique! Great terrace with bar.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi didn't work.Signal not strong enough. Breakfast was a bit pricey.

    The size of the room was great.We loved the gardens and the various courtyards and the fact that the hotel was dog friendly.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was quite noisy the night we stayed. A first communion party early evening then another party of 30 diners were quite loud.

    Comfortable rooms. Good food in the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our stay was somewhat spoilt by constant rain. The carpark was full of sandy mud, and this was walked on to our marble floor. The dining room was very large and gloomy so that patrons whispered. Our choices of food were off the menu for two nights running. Our room was not very warm and when I tried to have a shower on the last evening to warm up, the hot water was off. The staff lacked a personal touch and did not offer to help with luggage - my husband is unsteady on his feet - or with suggestions as to places to see nearby, so that our lasting impression of the monasteries is of rain, cold and gloom. A disappointing stay in a three star establishment.

    Our room was large and magnificent, with a wonderful bathroom. The building itself was also quite fabulous.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cool authentic place to spend for one night break on the road trip. Well located on the rout from Granada/Cordoba to Seville. Rooms are fresh and cosy, good bathrooms, nice atmosphere of an old monastery

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This is a must stay place. Good location, good grounds and just a wonderful place to stay. It's really interesting and challenging to find your way through the passages to your room!

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the restaurant. poor food, service toooooo quick for the food to be cooked properly, silence, no music, no atmosphere.

    Fab large comfy bed, large clean and comfy room, very clean and large bathroom. Lovely outlook, pretty courtyards, great location. easy parking. Nice helpful receptionist.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely old Monastery with history connecting it to the California Missions. Beautiful rooms and grounds with Bells and Birds. The town was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, english-speaking staff. Huge room with a spectacular bathtub let into the floor. Safe storage for our bicycles. The whole place has a fantastic atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is the best option for a sleepover between Sevilla and Cordoba, but I recommend some days in the monastery. Well, of course it is a hotel, but a very unique one, and if you want peace you cand find it here. The swimming pool is huge and the orange trees surrounding the property give it a fantastic smell. The room is kind of rustic, with old, heavy furniture, and I loved them. My wife decided to sleep, so I went for a night walk in the halls, corridors and gardens of the monastery. Moon was full! Superb! I can tell you that if you like something very special and beautiful you should come here once.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool filthy and unusable, surrounded by a 80cm crappy wire fence - staff just shrugged and said that it wasn't the season (it was sunny and 22 degrees when we arrived.) Sun loungers not put out. Room cleaning was mediocre - didn't even empty rubbish. Main bar shut the whole time, even though reception tried to claim it was open. Outdoor bar not only shut but filthy and looking derelict. Tried to raise issues with reception but they were not interested - even showed them photos and they still didn't care. On arrival, reception gave no info about local area despite asking, and couldn't be bothered to show us properly to our room, so we got lost looking for it (the place is a warren!). I'd say that this place is potentially lovely, but is badly managed and most of the staff (except the kitchen staff/waiters, who were great) don't seem to care very much.

    Building is lovely. Rooms are spacious. Kitchen staff/waiters were friendly and efficient.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    decor, needed a coat of paint and the internet was awful, kept cutting out all the time, good thing my visit never depended on it

    Charming and worldy with good staff and good food, rooms were clean and tidy

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was nothing not to like. Palma del Rio is a nice village but not extraordinary; however the hotel is.

    This hotel is a gem. We loved the fact that we were staying in a 15th century monastery. The hotel had a palpable sense of history, elegance, and sanctuary. Wandering through the courtyards and halls was amazing... we really felt it was a special historical experience. It was rumored that Christopher Columbus spent the night there, and we are pretty sure he was in our room! We are from San Francisco, so this former monastery that housed Franciscan monks who travelled to the New World and settled missions in California was very poignant and interesting. Not to be missed.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It wasn't bad but was surprised given there were 2 cycling tours a in the hotel that the waiting staff in the restaurant could only speak Spanish.

    The ambience was fantastic and unique - that's why we chose it as I had stayed there before via cycling tour. It is out of the way and although it only rated 8.3 by your criteria for me it was a 10 for ambience alone. Oh yeah the food menu was fantastic too - great food

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They charged 9 euros p day for parking although you could park on the street for free. Restaurant was a letdown. Food was not bad but for the price we expected a lot better. There is really nothing to do in Palma del Rio itself.

    The room and monestrie were beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Some confusion when we first arrived. Front desk not real clear about sending cab to pick us up. They did send, but we managed to get in with another driver by mistake.

    the authenticity of the hotel, being 500 years old.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing.

    Historical building, spacious rooms, simply decorated rooms, stylish bathrooms, friendly and polite staffs, quietness, pool and garden. Value for money.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a beautiful old converted monastry . The rooms are large, furnishings are antique. nice gardens and pool with pleasant courtyard where we ate dinner. Its also walking distance to the town.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent atmosphere - old monastery, large pool, very good restaurant, distinguished restaurant service, very nice staff -spoke English. It is a perfect spot to stop before arriving in Cordoba, which is very close.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast service did not reach the level of this place. For 10€/person you get only continental cold buffet, marmalade and butter, also prepackaged croissant that has expired more than a month ago! Everything ran out after the first bunch of people and you have to ask for some more, but if you arrives later maybe you don't get it. You better go out to a nearby bar to have a good brekfast for much less.

    Amazing buliding with a sensation of real history! The small town also worth for a nice walk, very cosy and every corner hide some surprise if you are a fan of historical buildings.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We only stayed one night on the way to the airport so it is possible we missed something but the town was not all that interesting compared to many others in southern Spain.

    The rooms and building was fantastic. Big room with a huge bathroom and great furnitures. We had the half pension and the dinner and breakfast was good as well. Great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Have made a few suggestions as to the bed, breakfast and evening meal package to the hotel manager, who seemed very receptive to other ideas. Hope to visit again.

    Had a great room overlooking the orange trees. Interesting paintings in the corridors. Very atmospheric place.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The work-a-day half board evening meals.

    Our enormous room had a magnificently decorated ceiling with cherubs either side of an attractive chandelier. Breakfasts very good. Handy for an inexpensive and fast comfortable train ride to Cordoba or Seville (free parking at station) - our reason for staying.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service

    ??

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff and beautiful hotel itself.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic building

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very large grand room. Nice old building.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing wrong.

    Superb accomodation.spacious room and monster bed. Restaurant and bar service good. A beautiful and historic building.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor breakfast

    Good atmosphere of monastery, large rooms, bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience

    The swimmingpool with the nice view

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant lady obviously wasn't happy bout guests.

    Centrally located, really nice historic architecture and to some extend interior.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Monasterio de San Francisco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: