Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Abrevadero 2 stars

Vilà i Vilà, 79, Sants-Montjuïc, 08004 Barcelona, Spain

#184 of 281 B&Bs and Inns in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2333 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no air con but we closed our curtains throughout the day to stop the sun heating up the room and that was totally fine.

    firstly the welcoming was amazing and the staff were always happy, engaging and helpful. the location is amazing right next to the metro with great links and cute bars, restaurants and scenery around the hotel. the beds were SO comfy like memory foam beds and it was cleaned and tidied every single day for us. the bathroom again so clean and everything we needed. we just can’t really believe how cheap it is and what you really get ! we would 10298% stay again and always recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hostel is 100m far away from underground, but u can walk everywhere its not far away, street around are safe, bed are comfy, no noise in night, breakfast are good, salam, egg, cheese, jam,nutella, cereals, coffe, juice. Restaurant around are for good price/tasty food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door and frame rotten with water damage. Noisy with open window. No a/c or fan.

    Good location. Easy walk to Metro and other places. Room size ok. Staff friendly. Hairdryer. Wifi ok. Breakfast adequate for price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved that we could walk out the door to find bars and tapas places on our street. We walked everywhere but the metro and bus was only 5mins walk away. Highly recommend this as a place to stay. They had a nice spot for breakfast and our room had its own bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pretty basic but sufficient as a continental.

    The staff were so lovely and let us borrow umbrellas as there was torrential rain during our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The door of the bathroom couldn't be closed which is not a big deal because it's a private room The toilet flush button wasn't functioning well, it kept flushing after just one press No shower head holder

    The staff was really hospitable. He gave me an excellent introduction to the city and even suggested a journey for me according to the length of my stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hairdryer was out of order, otherwise everything o.k.

    Near the centre and metro station Parallel, easy to find. There were lot of restaurants and food shops in surroundings. The street is quite busy until late evening but calm in morning. The room itself was very spacious, with basic equipment, wifi, and TV. Cleaning and changing of towels every day. Very friendly and professional staff. Good price for value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All excellent! Friendly, efficient and helpful staff, breakfast much better than anticipated, great location, clean and comfortable...perfect stay. Thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There were marks on the walls in the room - just needs a fresh coat of paint really. the bathroom door - the bottom of it was peeling and had a lot of water damage - i understand it is a bathroom and will obviously get wet - but maybe think of replacing them with plastic doors so they dont show the damage as much .

    The staff were so friendly and helpful - even gave us free breakfast because of the construction work. They also moved our room as i had requested a room with a bath and they moved us straight away .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok, but very poor breackfast (toastem bread only, no vegetables) But there is a bakery nad grocery near the hotel and we bought fresh bread and vegetables :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in the room was looking at a wall, no natural sunlight, but if you're looking just for a place to sleep, it's not a problem

    Great location, good and cheap breakfast, very nice staff, very quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - bathroom - quite old and broken shower encloser but it didn't matter so much - breakfast was the same every day

    + our room was nicely furnished + perfect location near subway, la Rambla and seaside + towels changed every day + nice stuff + clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Window to the elevator well. On the morning, when people use elevator, it was very noisy. Small room, no table (for me it was not important).

    Nice location, nice staff, old authentic building. Really nice for nights, if you don't need to spend time in room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath sink was to small to wash my hands without spilling. there is no view on room 203 just a wall outside the window, breackfast - limited options of stuff to eat and the boiled egs were always cold from the fridge.

    The staff was great, the bed was very confterbull and the pillows were fantastic. Also the bed cover was verry fluffy, shower was spacious and smeled good. Also the room was always cleaned and the towels and shower gel replenished all the time.The hear dryer is very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no kettle in my room .

    I enjoyed my stay very much . Very nice polite staff who was very helpful to make my trip successful and my children had a nice time . Excellent location , clean rooms .the only thing i wished is that if there was a varirty on breakfast but that not a real concern , because there is lots of resturants around . Also the Rambla is 10 min walk . The metros and the bus route takes you every where . Is just round the corner . Everything was nice . Thanks to them all . Will defenitely come back again here .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room looks as if it was painted ages ago, the bathroom door was swollen and needs immediate change, the bathtub coating was severely damaged, no hangers anywhere in the room or bathroom. Old towels and, to my surprise, they've mistaken my personal white towel for one of their own somehow and took it when cleaning the room. Quite noisy at night.

    Good location, very nice and helpful staff. Comfortable beds and pillows, clean linen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower slider was off its rollers, coffee was a bit lame, breakfast limited. [This is not enough to stop me coming back]

    Location was perfect. Metro line L3 is literally 50 metres away. If you come from the airport get a [3 day] pass. We got a 22 euro 3 day pass that gets you all your travel on buses and metro including airport and back. There are enough side street taco bars around the hotel streets and that's even before you go to Poble-sec, Las Ramblas or the Gothic sector. We did have hot water and fresh towels every day. Breakfast was limited but as they say you get what you pay for. My daughter seemed to like the Nutella on toast every day. All in all 'd say the place was good .. for what you pay for and because I only use Hostels to sleep in, paying for any extras seems a waste. Go out there and see Barcelona!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking. The main reason for me to choose this hostel was the parking. One could imagine my disappointment when I arrived and found that there is no place to park my car.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only one downside, older gentleman working night shifts at the reception. Good thing i'm usually more peaceful in Catalunya than i am anywhere else, otherwise this man might've been less lucky during the entire week. Overal rudeness, grumpiness, shouting, even trying to stop me to ID me after seeing me 6 nights in a row. It's not something you want to experience after coming back at 4-5am in a very positive mood. If he doesn't like the job, there's plenty more. Rest of the guys are just great, helpful and very like-minded.

    I have to say i was majorly suprised that my review has been read and some changes were implemented. I was talking about some cosmetic renovations of the walls in single rooms and that it'd make rooms much much nicer without costing a lot of money. And lo and behold, i entered my room and was shocked by freshly renovated and painted walls, also curtains in the bathroom have been replaced. Top notch stuff guys, i'm always pleased, when some of my pointers are actually put into use. The staff is great too apart from one guy, but that's gonna be on the downsides.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower has no curtain so water splashes all around. Hot water supply is not stable and you always need to change the hot/cold ratio. The sink is very small and no place to put your stuff. No refrigerator in the room but the staff were willing to store our goods in the kitchen's fridge.

    Suitable if you need a nice place to sleep after a day tour. The room is basic, small TV, no special equipment. Beds are comfortable. Good location very close to metro station and 10 min walking to La Rambla. A street full of Tapas bars is nearby. The staff is great, very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is good for its price. Overall, it is very cost effective if you come with the right expectations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If being picky, the bed and pillows were a little on the hard side.

    Location so very close to Paral-lel metro station, also nice buzz in neighbourhood...plenty of places to eat and drink nearby. Staff also very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noise..neighbords was very noise..childrens was screaming and crying all night..adults as well was screaming..we couldn't sleep all night..

    Staff was friendly..and helpfull...always try to help..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast could include more fruits and veggies

    Very basic but clean and warm room. Beds were also very cozy! Would absolutely recommend if your main goal is not just hang in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very simple and too expensive for what it offers, we did have breaksfast nearby outside in great moroccan restaurant

    Great staff, especially Christian was very helpful. Great location about 10minutes walk from las ramblas and as well Harbor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - the view inside interior - the noise from other rooms - basic breakfast

    - very closed to main attractions - one minute from Parallel metro station. - five minutes walk from Maritim museum; ten minutes walk from Magic fountain

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was incredibly cold and the ac was on for 3 h and still would not warm the room enough

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Very nice people and willing to help

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hostel has surpassed all my expectations! cleanliness, very comfortable beds! clean shower! A great location, only 5 minutes to the city center! next to a beautiful street with many wonderful restaurants. I recommend this hostel to stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from window, felt like prision, bad welcome from older guy at reception, we were tired and we got raised hand to stop and wait without welcome and not to say asking if we needed anything. The other people at reception were ok and polite.

    Cleaning without extra charge everyday clean towels, good distance from attractions

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was lacking comparing to the rest of the room. The shower was too small and I had to stop taking a shower so that the water wouldn't flow out. The fact that it had a shower curtain also wasn't good, I was expecting plastic doors or something similar.

    The staff was super nice and helped us a lot. The breakfast was also presently good. Overall it was a really good place to stay, specially due to the cleanliness and location of the hostel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old room with poor maintenance in walls and deck, loose stucco somewhere

    Nice hostal within barcelona's downtown & leisure area, the best value for the money of zone / for a couple of nights It is just fine!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    slow wifi, receptionists are unfriendly

    making up room and changing towels everyday, soap/shower gels/hairdryer in the room, nice location, acceptable price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't like the coffee very much, but that's just personal thing. Breakfast area a bit cold (we stayed in January). Room a tad small for two people, but totaly okay for few nights.

    Nice breakfast, quite a lot of choices, also eggs, fruits. Very comfy bed, clean towels every day with lovely smell, clean room and floor, well equipped, nice bathroom. Wifi working quite flawlessly, great! Staff at the desk very kind and friendly, we got some tips and a map on our arrival. Check out till noon - also very appreciated. Location very good. Close to the Montjuic furnicular, metro very close, lot of buses (great - I recommend using them over metro), big grocery store 5 min walk down the street. Pinchos - popular food street Blai just around the corner. Beach less than 20 mins by bus. Historical center 10 min walk. Definitely would come back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very bad. There was no orange juice left, I tried to have a tea but the machine kept dripping milky coffee in my cup. For a vegan (I did mention that in advance) there was nothing to put on bread. No tomato, no cucumber, nothing. Options were boiled eggs, meaty stuff, cheese, butter. I did NOT have an option to book a single room for 1 person without breakfast. I used booking.com.

    Nicely situated. I was happy with tiny room and AC/heating and a telly. Would've liked the option to turn tv into original language though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room stinks!! Awfully! The room has the window for nothing. At the day there was dark as during the hight. I never come there again.

    Price was ok. The staff very nice. The room was clean but... stinks!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very bad soundproof, you hear everything (I specify everything..) that happend in the other rooms. The clearness isn't so good, we found a worm in the sink.

    The hostel is situated very close to the ramblas and the metro

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No heating and it was too cold at night for me. Will never go there again in winter

    the staff was pretty good and that why I may visit again but only in summer

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The quality of bathroom good be better. It was clean but you could see that equiopment is a bit old (shower cabin)

    Very good breakfasts with lots of things to choose from. Very comfortable beds! It was quiet as my windows were facing the other side but at the same time the access to bars and restaurant was very easy. Metro is 2 minutes away, which is excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unexpectedly nice place for rather not big cost. Was surprised that bathroom towels are changed every day and breakfast options were great. The staff helps with city orientation and sightseeing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was spacious, nice interior, all the utilities worked well e.g. TV, A/C, Heating. Beds were comfy, extra blankets, towels, soaps, shampoos etc. Very good location, close to city harbour and city tour pick up point.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast options could have been more varied

    It is a short walk from Parallel Train station. It is also a short walk to La Rambla and local restaurants, shops and main streets that lead straight to further tourist destinations.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole of the downstairs was undergoing some sort of renovation so was full of workmen, wires etc which I hadn’t been told about in advance

    The reception staff were helpful in giving me directions for the bus

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was an old one in the back, you had to get to it through a small door in the kitchen. There was one a single plug in the room and one in the bathroom, there was no lamp by the bed.

    Good location, very close to metro and to a street with many restaurants. Bathroom had been remodeled recently.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the nicest people work at the recception, very friendly and helpful. The room was cleaned daily and all in all it's great value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They broke my glass bong while cleaning the room during last day, i'm not angry, but they should be more carefuk. The room could be renovated, cause it contrasts with newly renovated bathroom. Just scrape this old stuff from the walls, put some white paint, and the difference will be incredible.

    Very good location, clean and new bathroom, spacious room, 24h lobby, everyday cleaning, fresh towels, goood price, very nice, helpful and polite staff. Wi-fi working very good, all the utilities work as well. No problem with additional requests and such.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Electric kettle in the room for making tee or coffee would be a nice improvement.

    Staff super friendly and nice, gave us maps ant explained everything.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in first floor on our first night , we could not get enough sleep because of the noise coming from the customers and staffs talking on the ground floor coupled with the sound created when furniture were being moved by some customers like beds and seats from other rooms. The chlorine-like smell of the duvet and pillow covers is too high.

    When I told to the receptionist (May is her name) that we had a little sleep the previous night because of too much noise. She made a brilliant decision to move us to the fourth floor and the good result was so impressive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A kettle in the room. But still when we asked we were given hot water for coffee. So problem was solved by helpful staff.

    The location is excellent. The staff very helpful. Very clean rooms with tv and bathroom. One of the staff who spoke English was extra helpful and nice. Its a pity we did not ask his name as he is so nice. THank You

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the look from our window was on some air-shaft, so basically there was no window in the room.

    Very good and helpful staff. Facilities are new and clean. Good localisation

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    you have to hope for neighbors that aren't to noisy ! the cupboard smelt of mold but was clean to the touch!

    Bedding very comfortable and clean enough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit claustrophobic. The window opened to a messy vent. The shower would do with a new clean curtain.

    Breakfast was nice- not just the usual toast with jam. Location is very good and the staff are friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pervasive rust on metal fixtures stained our clothes. Needs repair work.

    The staff were very helpful. The location ideal especially in light of the Oct 3 strike. Mattresses were comfortable and view onto street life fun. Good breakfast for money. Close to tourist sites but quiet neighborhood.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is a bit dark, the walls would require a repaint, they are dirty due to scuff and luggage marks.

    Relatively central (walking distance), 1.8 km from the aquarium, 1 km from the Rambla and 2 km from Plaza Catalunya. Alternatively, you can take the subway which is 150m from the hostel. The rooms (renovated a bit on the run), are small but clean, the bathroom is modern, the wifi is fast. The hostel is located in a quiet neighborhood with many mini-markets, bars, and restaurants, we recommend going to the one located on the ground floor of the hostel - Abirradero. I arrived by car, the nearest car park is the underground car park Indigo Tres Chimeneas 300m down the same street on Carrer de Vila i Vilà no. 44. If you show them the hostel bill, you pay a discounted price of 12 euros/day. There is a Lidl supermarket opposite the parking lot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Refrigerator

    Everything was great including facility breakfast staff room area which is very close to everything metro was very close about 1 minutes walking and behind the hotel there was huge street for foods only with very good prices👍

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor quality of room. However you will spend most time out of the hostel :) Breakfast was very basic, better is eat breakfast in the city.

    Very good localization - close to metro station para-lel (L2, L3, funicular), very helpful staff, free luggage store. Room with separate bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is one where as a woman alone I felt I needed to be inside before dark.

    You get what you pay for. Staff was very helpful, going out of their way to give suggestions and solve issues.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I booked a single room with bathroom and really didn't expect too much from it. When I entered the room, I was still surprised how run down it was. The furniture was very basic and old and there were many stains and holes on the wall. There was no socket in the whole sleeping room (the only socket was in the bathroom next to the mirror) and no light switch next to the bed - so I had to use my mobile phone light to find my way in the dark from one end of the room to the other. The worst thing was that the drain in the shower was completely blocked and it was impossible to take a shower without flooding the whole bathroom. I ended up holding the shower head over the sink until the water got warm (that took very long), once it was warm I jumped under the shower and hurried so wash my hair so that the water would not run over (aprox. 1-2min). Of course I told the reception staff and they told me somebody would look at it and fix it but that never happened. Last but not least I kept my toothbrush, mascara and cream in the glass on the sink - when I came back from town the cleaning lady had emptied the glass and all these utensils were now laying on the night desk without any sense. Pretty weird.

    The hotel staff was quite friendly and the reception was occupied all night, which was very convenient for my arrival after midnight.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is very helpful and nice, the rooms and bathrooms were clean and the sheets and towels were clean. The Hostal was not noisy and it is well located: close to the underground and there are bars, restaurants and shops near the hostal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioning in some rooms of the hotel. One person had a single room which came with a/c whereas our twin room didn't. The shower isn't fantastic goes from hot to cold about twice a minute.

    The location is great a five minute walk from paralel metro station. Beds are very comfortable Staff are friendly and helpful and speak good English.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved how our rooms Were cleaned everyday but we had no air con which is fine, but our bedroom window opened and all we could see were more windows lol so basically we had no air in the room :( but i never complained because i thought the staff were so nice

    I love loved the staff. The two gentlemen in reception were so polite and kind!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had an odor to it which smelled like mold and ammonia and there was no natural light in the room. Also the wi-fi did not work very well if at all

    The staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. Also the room had a hair dryer which was a nice addition

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street noise late Friday night - comes with the excellent location + street facing apartment

    Excellent location near subway, and good out-of-overrun-center location, with many cosy places (boulevard-side) whilst still close to the center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic. Boiled eggs, toast, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, 2 types of cereal, yoghurt (was out of date), jam, margarine, butter, muffins etc. Wasn't very fresh. One of the old workers were rude to my friend.

    Rooms were very nice and clean, good location. About 20-30min walk to beach. Had a facility downstairs for ironing. Lifts worked and were clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor - avoid the eggs (ours were green inside) and the breakfast room itself was quite run down.

    Staff were fantastic, always friendly and helpful. Thanks to their 24 hr reception we checked in late (11pm) and they printed off our boarding passes. Room, esp bathroom, was better than expected. Good air con. Location close to metro so easy to get everywhere!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean, just okayish...

    Good location, cheap and basic, all just fine, since I just spent a single night and only needed a bed and a shower really.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too noisy at night. More staff could have spoken English

    Breakfast was very nice. Beds comfy. No AC, but fan helped. Very good location, close to metro and nice restaurants, within walking distance to Rambla and to the sea

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I didn't like!

    We had a renewed room, everything was clean and working properly. We expected a room without airconditioning and not renewed. When we arrived we had those facilities. Also they clean everyday the room with new towels etc. also we didnt expect that our breakfast was included!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good value but would have been nice to have cooked option.

    Good staff. Room was good for family of five. Easy waking into town and harbour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast wasn't the best, very basic. The room was quite tiny and the bath was looking old. No A/C, the fan did the job. Noisy 24/7, there's no way to get rid of it.

    Staff was nice, they have offered us help with the attractions and useful info. Location is good, close to metro. 2 minutes to McDonalds, Subway and etc.. The wi-fi network was surprisingly good compared to the other hotels I've been in Barcelona.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms smelled like chlorine when we got in the room. The air filtration worked only in the bathroom, not in the room. There was not a hairdryer, which is one of the main needs in a hotel or hostel. And eventually the price was too much for this kind of hostel. 150 euros for 2 nights

    The internet was the only thing I admired. It was 200 mb/s. The location was good too, near to La Rambla street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room could've been a bit bigger, but overall it was ok when used to just sleep.

    Overall the hotel was accommodating, especially with it's convenient location. It has the bare necessities and we also had a private bathroom, which makes a difference.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street outside was a little noisy so not somewhere really if your conscious of peace and quiet or having early nights. Calms down a bit later though as people tend to move on. The area itself isn't the nicest part of Barcelona although it is central and easy to get to areas to explore. There's also no real facilities here, it's just your room, no swimming pool, no coffee etc in the room. wouldnt reccomend staying with children due to the area and also there are no lifts and narrow corridoors if h have buggies or prams could be a pain.

    We was really happy we picked this place. Even though it's a hostel what we had was basically a basic hotel room for the same price. Stayed here with two other friends in our twenties in the four bed apartment. Was just a room and private bathroom but good space, it had a balcony over looking the street which let light in and fresh air. Cleaners came in every day. Location was literally around the corner from a metro which is the best and cheapest way to travel around Barcelona besides walking if your feeling up to it. In fact the hotel itself was about a10 - 15 min walk from the gothic quater so it's do able. Metro is cheap €1 a journey but stops at mindnight so At night you will need taxis back etc if your out late so consider this in the cost. Little shops and couple of bars/restaurants literally outside the hotel, handy for a quick breakfast or few drinks before heading out. Think value for money is the main thing here, the place wasnt setting the world on fire by any means but deffo great for the money we paid and was everything we needed. Staff spoke good English and seemed friendly. Didn't see any of the other rooms however so can really just speak for the four bed. All in all happy with it for our needs we wanted somewhere that would keep costs down and be able to have a comfortable night sleep as we spent majority of our time out and about.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff was super helpful and friendly, especially David and others as well. The room and the hotel was cleaned daily. Location is perfect. Everything was perfect for the price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very old,bath tub had rust on it and air conditioning was just a small fan.

    Very close to the metro. Very helpful and polite staff. Always there to help, explain, call instead of you. Excellent people! Cleaning ladies cleaned the entire room and bathroom every day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    repair works - dirty (a little), but it [s not big trouble in Barcelona - it's not so clean city in general

    gentle and warm attention, personnel 5+

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 402 - a room without a view. Room 405 - very small shower space, no air-conditioning, too noisy outside to leave windows open at night (people talking/yelling, garbage collections, street cleaning, delivery trucks, etc). Both rooms require additional shower mats on the floors outside the showers. The floors are extremely slippery when wet.

    Room 402 had air-conditioning, a good sized shower cubicle and little very little noise could be heard during the night. Room 405 had lots of natural light. Staff did provide a fan to help circulate air in the room. Delightful hospitable staff 👍

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostal Abrevadero traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: