Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Alogar 2 stars

Laforja, 98 -100, Sarrià-St. Gervasi, 08021 Barcelona, Spain

#112 of 281 B&Bs and Inns in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 417 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    I had a very good stay in this hostel, it is a hostel but it seems like a HOTEL at all and very good one. The staff is very available and explained everything about the city to us his name was Jean (I think his name write this way). The available kitchen is well equipped for food preparation, at least for breakfast and simple dinner ( we didn´t try for other types). The bedroom is very good with comfortable beds and clean bathroom. I would stay there for sure at another time in Barcelona. There is a supermarket and a bakery near, this adds even more for me. In an overall great stay!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Definitely not a party hostel - there were smoking and noise requirements, which is not a bad thing, but needs to be considered :)

    The kitchen - it was well equiped

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Double room doesn't have a normal window (just a small one to the inner side of the building), so there is no natural light during the daytime. When other guests cook in the kitchen, you can feel the smell everywhere.

    Nice neighborhood and good location - just 10 minutes by metro to the Catalunya square without changing. Local market and several supermarkets not far away (I would recommend the supermarket just near the Muntaner metro station). The hostel, shared kitchen and our room (separate one with double bed and own bathroom) were regularly cleaned. The staff was helpful. It was nice to have an own locker in the kitchen for dishes and some other stuff and an own shelf in the fridge. The kitchen is very spacious and has everything you may need to cook something. WiFi was quite OK except one day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only issue: very bad soundproofing, water pipes were making a lot of noise when neighbours were using the toilets or the shower, plus we could hear people talking normally through the walls. People with light sleep could be bothered.

    Very good hostel for the price we paid, friendly and welcoming staff, everything was as described on the booking page and we had a nice staying. Would recommend for a short trip with a tight budget.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    /

    Very friendly staff. Very clean shared bathroom (we have our own private bathroom in room, but whole place is clean and enough place for everyone (2 shared toilets in one floor). Shared kitchen is also available and WIFI Works very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think everything was okay, if you expect high standard in noise insulation, go somewhere else, if you like to save money and have a nice place to stay, come here.

    Ho(s)tel is nicely located not far from the public transport options. I think that it is a very nice place when you weigh the money. We liked the staff, it was nice to sit down in their shared living room at the sofa, internet was fine. Generally I recommend this place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very very very small, stay there for more days with bigger luggage would be imposible - you wouldn't have space to move. It was very dark inside and you could hear your neighbours talk as if they was in the same room.

    The room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    after 23:00 the hostel charges 10€ for each half an hour of delay to check-in, so if you arrive at midnight then you'll be charged 20€ more. this should be clearly written at the time of the booking and not communicated in message after booking. i think this is very irrespectful. the room was a dark and furniture old

    localed in nice area. bathroom was big

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sound insulation leaves much to be desired, you can hear everything from the neighboring room.

    Cleaning staff, close to metro stations (L6, Muntaner station) and bus , many shops in the area,and....the morning coffee on the house !!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was quite dark (only one window facing the yard), in the bathroom was a bit cold (visit in February), during a shower water temporarily gets cold / warmluke.

    Very comfortable beds, everyday cleaning, super-nice and helpful service guy, big, nice and well-equipped kitchen with your own shelf in the fridge and in the locker, free espresso coffee&different kinds of tea, walking distance to Passeig de Gràcia - avenue with examples of catalan modernisme: among others Gaudi's casa mila, casa batlllo. Good location - nice neighbourhood, close (500m) to Mercadona (a very cheap supermarket) and other supermarkets, bakeries, groceries, bus stops, metro station. Hostal Alogar is a perfect place for low-budget travellers :)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comment

    We had a perfect holiday. Everything at the hotel was very clean,and their kitchen has everything one could possible need. And most of all, the receptionist and the others working there were very helpful and kind. If we ever come back to Barcelona we'll return here.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wasn't the plushest, most modern place ever - bathroom was a bit dated but if you want 5* then go to the Hilton and pay for it!!

    Excellent value for money - helpful and friendly staff, nice room, good facilities, nice area of Barcelona - lots of good local tapas bars and good transport links.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised of how well the hostel was orginized. They even have numbered cupboards and refrigirator shelves in the kitchen for every room! The receptionist (Juan) is the most welcoming person I have met, he even took time to hang out with us. The hostel is 3 min walking from the metro station. The room and the facilities are very clean. All in all we had a great stay there!I

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No concerns or problems.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. They were in contact with us a few days in advance to ensure that we had proper directions. They also provided an image of the building and detailed information on the public transit options from the train station. The room and kitchen were very clean. We liked the fact that we had individual food shelves in the fridge. Our stay couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area around is very nice, many small interesting shops, quite some bars and restaurants are also not so far. The people are kind and helpful and room was always kept clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room without a view, No safelocker not that I felt it was needed,

    Decent bed, very friendly staff, the location was nice for slightly outside the centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was good clean with friendly staff easy walking to where we wanted to go .the lift was a bit small and difficult the way the door opened every thing else was good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sometimes you hear the people in the other rooms

    Very friendly staff, room small but very comfortable.The neighborhood was calm and silent. Great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit small but it was enough for two nights. With longer stay this might be a problem. The whole building was smoke free so we had to leave it every time we wanted to smoke.

    Quite good location. Easy access to main attractions. The staff was really helpful and friendly, they provided guidance in every case. Nice bathroom and comfortable beds. Unlimited access to kitchen is a great idea.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place, we got cleaning every day (except on sunday).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities was more than expectations

    The room was small and the bathroom as well small not worth the money I paud

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and exceptional value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very clean and comfortable room ~

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lil far from the hype of the city but 30 min walks will bring you there

    Quiet , clean, friendly!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra clean, super nice and helpful staff, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice place, good location, stuff very frendly, recomended to all visitors

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room space

    Staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charging extra 10 euros extra every hour after 11 pm is bad especially when it's due to a delayed flight

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location near metro and near centre (12 min to rambla), very near to the station bus to go to the beach. The room was cleaned every day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No breakfast

    Excellent room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having the use of a kitchen to make breakfast. Very close to metro. Helpful, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good Quality - Price - Very Nice People and available.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very cold

    -

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the light could be brighter in the bathroom - it's a bit dark

    very friendly and helpful staffs. :)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    The staff was very helpful and kind with helping us getting around The bed was comfy and we had a kitchen with all that was needed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it's the best one i have experienced in this price level

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely comfy bed and pillows! Fast and stable wifi connection! Helpful staff with friendly attitude!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room was very very small

    good stuff ,good loction and room was cleaness

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    was so expensive for one night

    the staff were very nice and friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I want to thanks to Daniel. He is very good person and help vistors. Alagor is a clean ,comfortable hostal.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very very nice Hostel. Big room, nice facility

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small balcony

    So clean !! Had the room tidied and cleaned daily with fresh towels too ! Staff were so helpful and lovely !

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was perfect and make us feeling like home, I couldn't believe that this was a Hostel. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room was very clean and every day they change our towels. The kitchen has everything we want. It is close to metro, only 3minutes on foot. The neighbor was quiet with everything close (supermarket, cafeterias, restaurant, huge shopping center 10minutes walking). As of Huan (the owner), he is one of the most social person I have ever met, he smiles a lot and he is very kind and helpful with great knowledge of details about Barcelona. He provided us maps where he wrote us Bus stations or metro stations in order to take the best option to visit the town. As a result..... DON'T ask Google... ask HUAN... We suggest it without a second though...

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a room with private bathroom, which was nice, but the room was very small and bathroom too. Although for such a money this is a perfect place.

    The staff was really nice and friendly. The location is quite nice, about 15-20 mins walk from Plaça de Catalunya. We were very surprised how clean the hostel is.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location seems a bit far out. However it takes maybe 15 minutes to walk+metro to the centre, so really not that bad.

    Cooking facilities (hob, microwave, kettle, electric oven) with per-room locker and fridge space. Comfy beds, nice staff, and we got a good price (although it was booked at the last minute).

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not as close to the sites as I would've liked.

    Each room number has its own cupboard and fridge in the communal kitchen. The room and the bathroom (we had a private one) were absolutely comfortable. Comfortable beds, very clean bathrooms. Extra nice facilities. Couldn't ask for more really except for the location. There were given instructions on how to get to the tourist sites but still a little inconvenient especially if you don't have much time to tour around and rest.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You need to make sure that you'll arrive to the hostel between the time in which the reception is open. Make sure you ask in advance about this schedule.

    The staff in this hostel is absolutely nice. They will help you in anything you need. Also we have kitchen available so it's a way to save some money.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Walls are thin. This was known to me through previous reviews. But i came prepared with earplugs. Rooms are basic but well cleaned.

    My family lives around the corner, so perfect location for me. The neighbourhood Sant Gervasi is a nice uptown, untouristic neighbourhood, with plenty of outstanding dining possibilities and shops. However, further away from the main tourist spots, there is ample public transport in the area. The friendly and helpful receptionist, who speaks good English, hands you your keys. After that you can come and go as you please. Beds are comfortable. Shower gel and towels are provided. i used the twin room, which is best i think. Only neighbours on one side. Bed is made every day + clean towels are provided.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The ceiling in the bathroom need a new fresh paint. The Last night the radiator in our room DID NOT WORK and any staff was there so we was frozen all night long! On our arrival I give 5€ to pay the tourist tax 0.72 cent x person then after 2 days I get back the change only 0.68 cent why?

    Lovely friendly Staff,clean room,clean kitchen.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the room doesn't contain any mirrors (girls know what I mean :D). Only the bathroom contains one small mirror, so I had to wait for my partner to get dressed. Also, the bathroom doesn't contain any ventilation

    The staff was helpful, they handed to us a document with how to go to the popular attractions. Also, they let us leave our baggage 3 hours before the check-in time. The kitchen contained everything you will need to cook or make your tea/coffee ( you will bring your materials of course) but they provide dished and all the equipments.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Double room was very small with bed against the wall.

    good value for money. good location and loc ated in a clean safe building. Staff was friendly and spoke English. It was good for our need of an affordable clean hotel with private bathroom. Would definitely stay again

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was nothing that I did not like about my visit. I hope to return again within the year. If I could get anything else I would have liked a slightly bigger room.

    It was just what I knew I had booked. The staff that I had any dealings with were most helpful, courteous and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing was really bad. The location is not too far but not close to the city center, and it's on a uphill so do not carry heavy suit case. The elevator is super small(maxium 2 people) with suit case.

    The reception girl is very kind and nice. She prepared a guide to the main scenic spots in Barcelona.Two bottles of water and a couple of towels are given for free. The double bed room is small but functional, and clean. This hostle is located in a residential area, so the bakeries, clothing /shoe store /supermarkets are nearby. The metro/bus station is about 10 min walk from the hostel. Worth of the money.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wall are thin, as many people saied so we're there is noise,you hear it. But there was not so much when we hère there !

    Staff very kind. Everything is very clean, the rooms are big enought, you have space in the kitchen. It's à really Nice hostel !

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing was WOW but everything was fine

    Great quality/price hotel. Excellent location, not too far from the main attractions but not too close either.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff is really helpful and friendly. The lady at the reception was amazing, she gave us all the information we need and even more to enjoy Barcelona as much as we could. I hardly recommend this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing that we didn't like was the fact that the walls are really thin, you can hear everything your neighbours are doing.

    The staff is really friendly, before our arrival we received by email instructions of how to get from the airport to the hostal, that was very helpful! The location is very nice, in a calm neighbourhood with very easy access to all the points of interest in the city, with a 3 min walk you can get to the metro. The hostal is very clean and the bed was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walls of the hostel are very thin.

    Great location, close to several metro stations. Clean room and the common kitchen is greatly equipped and also very clean. Free WiFi in the room. The bed was comfortable but only 190 in length.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    You can hear everything happening next room. My neighbors were too loud :)

    Comfortable rooms, good kitchen with all needed wares, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For the price there really wasn't much to complain

    Great location, nice staff, clean room, cheap price.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Family with older children

    very clean and well equipped kitchen

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    strange smell in the room

    helpful staff, weel equiped kitchen, room cleaned everyday

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Group

    The staff was very pleasant and helpful, the room is extremely clean, bright and modern.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice staff, location, kitchen and room.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No safe in room.

    Access to wifi and communal kitchen

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Walls are really thin (sleep with earplugs) Location is good but not top

    Great staff Homely atmosphere Excellent price Free Wifi Useful Kitchen

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No television. Window was very small and cannot see outside.

    The location was very convenient. The kitchen was well equipped and clean.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly personnel, the location is very close to the main historical centre of the city, very well equipped kitchen with high hygienic standard.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little noisy

    Good location, easy transport, friendly staff, clean, everything you need available, supermarkets and restaurants nearby

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tranquilo y Confortable

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the common kitchen with own plates and glasses and a designated fridge (shared with 2 other rooms)

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We liked everything

    location, staff, our bedroom

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A little far from the city center. But still within the walking distance for me

    The staff is nice. It is well worth of the money! Highly recommend

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Comfy bed Free wifi Great value for money Good location Friendly staff

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostal Alogar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: