Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Abril 2 stars

Pintada, 124, 29780 Nerja, Spain

#14 of 27 B&Bs and Inns in Nerja

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 832 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Far exceeded our expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far exceeded our expectations! We needed somewhere to stay in Nerja at very short notice & were a little concerned that all we could find was was a “hostal”. Would we be in a stuffy dormitory with total strangers & having to share bathroom facilities? - Far from it! We found ourselves in a very smart little suite. It felt like we were staying in a nice little boutique hotel. Very comfortable with excellent, efficient air conditioning. - And all at an exceptionally reasonable price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of traffic and building work going on next door. Work started every morning at 8am and finished at 5pm noise unbelievable. Would not have booked here if I had known this. Should be some notification!!!

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Great Staff & Good Rooms but beware Builders Nextdoor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My room was on the end where another apartment block is being built next door. As soon as we checked in, they where drilling against our wall. They only had the weekend off, so up around 8am every day.

    Few out for a Wedding, easy check in and out. Staff very helpful, lent Iron and board. Close to all the bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    3.8
    Extremely disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not cleaned properly . . . Hairs & plastic razor cover in shower. No toilet brush. Coffee cups dirty. Dingy ground floor room next to reception, window onto busy street. Impossible to sleep until until 2:30am as right next to front door which banged when late night guests returned. No pictures on the walls. No ceiling light, just poor bedside lights. At 72 euros per night for room only I expected to have a much nicer room. Noisy building work at next property. Photo taken through my bedroom window.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Excellent once again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our 3rd time here, loved everything, just the shower was a little small in this room

    Friendly staff , very clean everywhere , rooms cleaned everyday , excellent location ,great value for money

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Best time ever 🙌
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hostal is excellent, facilities fantastic, they do your washing for you at no extra cost......Montse and her family couldn't do enough for you....nothing is too much trouble. The hostal is spotlessly clean, brilliant air conditioning and a fabulous shower....loved every minute of it 😁. Great for families...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    It was last minute and a great choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quiet and the location was central. My son and family were staying in a villa close by and it took me 3minutes to walk there! It was a good choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location for vist to Nerja
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a small studio with bedroom and living room with extra bed, wifi did not work in bedroom, for the rest all good!

    Location was perfect, 5 minutes walk to Nerja center with lots of shops, bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Rooms were very clean and nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was so rude, charge me for a room I never saw and wasn’t even offered to stay there. Every time I went in or out of the hotel she stopped me for discussions of the rooms. I ended up not being able to enter/exit the hotel during office hours and waited her out until she was off. Her constant discussions with me led to missed transfers, I was late for my own birthday dinner, and a constant headache. It really ruined my whole birthday trip. I had to pay €90 euros for nothing. Would’ve given the hotel 5/5 if it wasn’t for her. Now unfortunately 1/5. It was that horrible

    Rooms were very clean and nice!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room spotlessly clean, comfy beds, and very friendly staff. Within walking distance to the historic center and a few steps away from the bus stop. We had a kettle and fridge. Exceeded our expectation. I highly recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    If it was not for the noise the score would have been higher and the staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the road bad due to ill fitting patio windows.Building construction work next door horrendous disturbing any chance of a lay in.

    Good location for the bus station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Good located and value for money with great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some guest was very noisy at night coming back from parties.

    Location was perfect-close to buses stops and high street.The room size was good and clean but a little bit too dark. The receptionist guy was very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay, building work next door was dreadful and changed room with no problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Towels were hard and did not dry you very well. Lighting not very bright especially in the bathroom.

    Clean towels and room cleaned everyday. Small fridge, safe and tea facilities in the room was a bonus. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous Nerja Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING rate it 4* minimum 😀

    SPOTLESSLY CLEAN everyday, very convenient for Balcon de Europe 5 minutes, beaches, 5/10 minute walk, various Tapas & Restaurant's also 5 minutes walk down the street, excellent little Cafe/Bar just 50yds down the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY. THE REAR GARDEN AREA WITH SUNBEDS AND CHAIRS WAS A GREAT PLACE TO RELAX .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    NOTHING TO DISLIKE.

    THE BEDS WERE VERY COMFORTABLE AND LOVELY WHITE LINEN. THE ROOMS WERE VERY BRIGHT AS THEY WERE ALL PAINTED WHITE WHICH MADE A DIFFERENCE WHEN YOU WERE GETTING READY TO GO OUT IN THE EVENING AS IT GOT DARKER OUTSIDE.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    Clean, cheap & great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On this visit there was a strong unpleasant smell coming from the drains the whole time! Not nice! Also lots of building work going on next door so very noisy!! But not their fault

    Clean, cheap & great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable, tranquile and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It would have been nice to have a small bar area. Although there are many bars near by.

    The excellent location, five minutes from the hassle and buzzle and yet far enough for a peaceful night sleep. The staff were super, friendly, helpful and happy to answer any questions. Nothing was too much for them, they will go out of their way to find information for you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Very convenient for most areas of Nerja......We also appreciated the patio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing really.....There is building work taking place next door which began at 8.00a.m and a sort of burring noise on and off...during day and night not sure what that was but we soon got used to it!

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The position of the hostal was perfect for our needs,,,,not far from the bus stop........for countryside walks ..going to Frigiliana, Malaga, the caves, etc; Kettle, hairdrier, fridge and safe all provided.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Great for just a overnight sleepover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is something you need to sort out yourself and if you're carrying a lot of luggage then it could be tough.

    Easy access (I was on crutches). Great location as it was very close to everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Perfect and will be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just some work being carried out next door but the reception kept us up to date with the progress and the were only there for a day.

    Great location, friendly staff, large clean and modern room and definitely recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location, clean and well kept, excellent value would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No replenishment of tea and coffee but that was trivial. Building work next door but no fault of the establishment.

    Great location, excellent value for money very clean,free safe air conditioning if you needed it, heating if you needed it. Small basic but clean and well presented

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.7
    Clean, but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows were very thin, which made us hear every sound, especially as we were given a room street side. On the final night we woke up to a drilling track knocking down the house just beside the hostal. While this wasn’t the hostal’s fault, we would have appreciated it had they checked in on us, just asking if that disturbed us.

    The cleanliness, great location, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Small but definitely good for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one easily accessible plug in the room. It would be really good if there was a water fountain or a vending machine in the hotel as the reception and everything around was close at night.

    The hostal is at a good location, minutes away from everything of interest in Nerja. The staff were helpful and accommodating,and resolved immediately a mistake that was made with the room we were given.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    We were v happy with our stay at Hostal Abril.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints! We

    Our room overlooked the garden in the town Centre and was v peaceful.We had a nice en suite room with balcony for 39 € and charming staff- I know of no better welcome! Joan Barrett

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    Liked the place so much we decided to stay an extra night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom lighting was a bit dim, esp as our stay coincided with a major storm.

    Great value hostal right at the heart of the food and entertainment area of the town. If you're looking for a good quality and value place to stay, comfortable and clean, this is the one for you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Another brilliant visit to Nerja.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When away we don't tend to have the television on all the time, but when we do it would have been nice to view some UK channels.

    We've stayed in the same apartment before, two years ago. It is in an ideal location for us, just a short walk from the bus station, supermarket and the centre of town. The apartment is very spacious, clean and comfortable, with its own balconies on two floors. My children and their partners stayed in rooms in the same building and we all gathered to socialize and eat in our apartment. On one occasion my parents came to dinner as well and nine of us enjoyed the evening eating and playing games. The staff are friendly and welcoming and we would definitely stay here again and again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Lovely and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more power sockets in the room, especially closer to the bed to charge phone.

    My room was huge, with a balcony, which I wasn’t expecting. There was also complimentary coffee, tea and bottled water in my room. WiFi was excellent. Room was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot fault anything except the weather,but don't think you could do much about that.

    We stayed at hotel Abril for a few days,staff were very welcoming, there were concerns about a house being knocked next door,but I have to say it was no problem. The rooms were absolutely spotless and linen was changed every day.We are looking forward to returning .Many thanks .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.9
    Worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Because of our mobility problems I asked for a room on the lower floor and, although our request was granted, this meant we were at the front of the building facing the street. In the evening and early morning there was a lot of noise from people and traffic ( one way street) so we had to keep shutters and windows closed. On reflection, I should have paid extra for an apartment at the rear and struggled with an extra two flights of stairs.

    Reception staff were very friendly and the chambermaid did an excellent job. The hostal is in a very good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    We have stayed several times at Abril due to its location, cleanliness and modern rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little cold, however it was January !

    Abril is is a quiet location a short distance from the centre of the old town. The rooms are modern and clean and it is excellent value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Comfortable bed, modern furniture, 40mb WIFI, good location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was cleaned whilst we were out unexpectedly so a do not disturb sign would be good as didn't see any.

    Comfortable bed, modern furniture, 40mb WIFI, good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Great accommodation, location and fantastic restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was difficult to find but ok if you are prepared to walk.

    Great location, close to beaches, shops and restaurants. Very clean, it had a smart boutique hotel feel. Loved being in the old town, lots of character and yet close to supermarkets.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    The place was immaculate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was immaculate. The rooms warm despite a rainy day and the location was perfect for a long weekend break to introduce friends to Nerja . I would definitely stay here again excellent value too

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    6.7
    So many problems
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was one block away from the hostel, so we had to move further with our big suit case. The heater didn't work at the first night. There was shampoo dispenser, but was empty. Couldn't use hot water in the last morning. The door doesn't recognize the card key properly. We had to try many times.

    Close to bus station. The staff help to solve the problem quickly. (But mostly the problem occured at night or early in the morning.. We had no other way to keep in touch with them apart from email)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    Top marks for cleanliness. Disappointed the bathroom problems were unresolved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we booked accommodation 10 months ahead the requested room was allocated to another guest for initial 2 nights. When the requested room became available the washbasin wouldn’t drain and pop up plug wouldn’t operate. The owner cleared the basin so water drained but did nothing to remedy the pop up plug. Lighting is very poor in the evening so we couldn’t read or see clothing in wardrobe to pack for early departure. Decor is tired and dated.

    We liked the location as this was away from the town centre therefore reasonably quiet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Great place, gorgeous garden, Very convenient!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Great little place, away from the main throughfare of busy streets, but really quick to walk to main streets. Great location. And fabulous little garden terrace ! We will definitely be staying here again. Great value for money too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed the stay, would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were in the attick room which was very big but no view from the small balcony and no outside window

    Clean and tidy, staff friendly, nice garden at the rar of the property

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic, friendly, great price and will defiantly be back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were so helpful and was always there to help. Very clean great location and would highly recommend. Room cleaned everyday and fresh bedding and towels!!! A must stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.9
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the towels were tatty- ripped, holes in, marks on them. Could have been a little cleaner, there were ants in the room, not sure what was attracting them. The room was also far too dark, couldn't really see well at all, the bathroom lighting was great though for doing makeup.

    Great location- 2mins walk from bus station and on main street in Nerja, walking distance to a lot of things. Kettle, coffee machine, plates, cutlery and fridge were a nice touch. Lovely private terrace. The hostal's garden area is nice to relax in. Comfy bed and modern looking room. Good value to say it's a hostal for the facilities you get.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.5
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear every flush of toilet every closing door,and idiots who lost there keys and hammering door then trying every room door at 2am

    Perfect location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Very pleasant stay..........
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator but not a problem for us but maybe for someone with health problems.

    Very clean and comfortable. Nice simple terrace. Very close to a grocery store. Room has a mini fridge and a hot water kettle.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic and comfortable
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, spotlessly clean and friendly staff. Just wish the lighting was a little brighter but not really an issue. If you are a light sleeper then bring ear plugs as quite noisy due to marble flooring and close to the road

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful relaxing cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    English tv 😉

    Ease of location to bus stop, tapas bars and shops. Accommodation v nice, comfy beds, great bathroom and view of sea and mountains from balcony 😄

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money in a clean well located Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff friendly and helpful. Room clean and the bed was comfortable. Room small and was perfect for a short stay. Shower in Room 109 was great - powerful and plenty of space.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.8
    we have stayed at their other apartments which we loved...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    room was tiny and very basic

    we have stayed at their other apartments which we loved however for the price we paid in comparison to previously and places our friends stayed this wasn't the best value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.8
    Had a lovely stay at this small and friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the rooms is quite dim. Only Spanish Chanel's on TV.

    The owners were very helpful and courteous. The hotel is close to the centre of Nerja. The rooms are clean and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.5
    Little gems
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing, it was all lovely. Very clean. Staff lovely. It was in a perfect place to find when you get ofc the bus, just doqn from orange square, i will be going back soon, when the weathers better hopefully, lots of irish in nerja xx

    I didnt have my own balcony but i had access to outside, very clean, infact imaculate, best location for everything, only slight problem is there are 2 hostal abrils very clise together so you might end up at the wrong one if your drunk or lost

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    It was hot weather when we were there,and we missed not having a swimming pool to cool off in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No lift on site and had to go up 5 flites of stairs and there was no view at all unless you stood on a chair and looked over the balcony wall

    It was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Value for money. Really nice interiour. In the heart of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside I can see is that they don't have an elevator, but I guess that is only an issue when you're really out of shape and can't climb 3 sets of stairs :) And then it's rather your own issue :D

    We were two friends travelling together and booked a 3-person room, agreeing that one of us is going to sleep in the double bed and the other one gets a couch or a single bed. But when we arrived we were positively surprised to have been given a 4-person room instead. So both of us got a big double bed just for our own :) Stayed for 8 nights. The interior of the hostel looks really nice. They have really put an effort in decorating. The property is very clean and the location is perfect, just a couple of hundred meters from the heart of Nerja. I have no idea why this hostel is marked with only 2 stars. Maybe it only lost points because it doesn't have an elevator or pool. It should be at least 3+ or 4 stars instead.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Great location.Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location.Away from the busier spots so quieter at night but still only 5 mins walk to Balcone de Europa.Facilities were spotless.So so clean.Very modern.Lovely garden at the rear of the garden.So close to great restaurants.Would recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location, especially if you are coming by bus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some noise could be heard from holiday makers at night and nearby construction in the mornings. Also the roof terrace could be made a much more attractive space.

    Location so close to the bus station (5 mins walk) and only 10-15 min walk to the Balcon was fabulous. Room was very clean and free toiletries were great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.3
    Ok would not rush back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very cramped and air conditioning not very good,no English channels on tv. Could have been a bit more hospitable,very business like.

    Good position just a little out of the hub bub so quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Great for a 2 day stay. Location excellent. Bright, modern facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 2 in 2nd building. Needed to keep curtains closed due to street eye level of passers by and windows closed due to scooter noise. It wasn't a problem. Get what you pay for Could do with an additional bin in the living room, next to the tea and coffee.

    Bright, modern room. Location Would stay again. Around the corner from the bus station and Puntilla Bar & Restaurant, of which we are ardent fans Nice walk down into town and equal distance to Burriana Beach, in the other direction.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.4
    The bed, airco, mini fridge and television
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The unequal treatment of guests and miscommunication between staff members. Our room had a tiny tiny shower (very difficult to turn around, not to say to clean your body after a day at the beach, see photo to see the width is less than 2 slippers long), one that didn't appear at any of the photos on booking.com or their own website. On the contrary, the photos mainly show walk-in showers. The room next to ours was free at start and it had a good shower indeed. When asked to change, it was said that there was no other room available but they are aware that the shower is very small and they some time plan a refurbishment for this one. When we told that we saw the other room, free, they told us that certain rooms are reserved for people they knew/returned... but the day afterwards we would be able to change to a better room. But the next day, another receptionist told us this was impossible, and after some talk she agreed to offer us an extra hour to check-out, which wasn't the best solution but at least some kind of compensation. Two days later at our final day, we were so kind to remind to reception of this. Again another receptionist now told us that this wasn't possible at all and he was not aware of this. After some discussion he stuck to this and didn't even botter to get in contact with his colleague. So finally... we could only go for a little hour to the beach and just checked out at the normal hour and made a complaint about all the miscommunication and misleading photos of the bathroom on the website since there was no distinction in room description (we paid 85 euro for a normal room, so there was not a single reason to give this room to us in first place, especially given that we checked in very early afternoon). Of course, these issues didn't affect how we experienced our holiday. we really liked Nerja the beach was wonderful (although a steady 15 minutes walk) but we just don't like to be played with and treated unfairly

    The bed, airco, mini fridge and television

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    I wish all hotels had such a charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a problem that can not be fixed any time soon - no parking and the town is packed with cars. We got lucky though.

    Great place, nice atmosphere and a lovely garden (which I only got a chance to see from my balcony, but still)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Picturesque little town and a nice quiet hostal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location close to everything you need like restaurant, shops and the beach. We stayed at the second building just one street away from the main building. This suited us perfectly since it was very calm and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    What a fantastic find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bathroom was a bit small and cramped but it is an old property and nothing could be done about that

    The staff were very friendly and do not let "hostal" put you off, this is more a boutique hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were moved around the first evening and still wasnt in our room the next lunchtime which was a bit unsettling but then they decided to keep us in the room which we stayed in the first night.

    Apart from the shaky start there is nothing bad to say about this place, the building is beautiful, the apartment was lovely, clean and modern and the staff very friendly and welcoming :) kind of like a lovely boutique hotel :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice bed and quiet, clean room, but long walk to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beach is a 15-20 minutes walk (unless you sprint, which is impossible carrying gear and the last bit is a series of steep switchbacks), definitely not 5 minutes. It would have helped to know that the bus station is a 2-minute walk from the hostal. A taxi driver drove me a long way around and charged me 6 Euros, pretending not to know exactly where we were going. A map and note on the website would be very helpful as most people arrive by bus from Malaga.

    The bed was the best I've had, very comfortable, and the room was very clean and quiet as well. I also appreciated the fact that there was a small refrigerator in the room, as well as an electric tea kettle. I would have liked to have some instant coffee packets in addition to the tea. Those are hard to find in the grocery stores.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Comfort in the centre of Nerja
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Exceptionally clean facility with the room made up and sheets & towels changed daily. Staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and helpful with our questions on where to visit including advising cost effective parking. Location of the property is excellent with just. 5/10 minutes stroll to the centre of Nerja.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Great value, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The soap/shampoo are little packages (no soap but bath gel). Honestly, it's the only think I could think of, place was great.

    Location was great. Great value for the money. For parking, you need to look around a bit, but some perpendicular streets around have many spots.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Strongly recommend to travellers who stay in Nerja :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing:)

    The distance is really close to the estacion de autobus and beach. I strongly recommend to tourists who are willing to look aroung the hostel in Nerja. Thanx for managers and be happy to everybody. Adios! :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    Positioned in the old part of town it has more character and yet 5 mins walk to the noise and mayhe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would prefer a wood or solid door to the bathroom and toilet, not opaque glass.

    The location and roof terrace, bright airy room, drink making facility plus a small fridge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    Clean and friendly for the able bodied ( stairs but no lift)
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee - there were tea bags though. Huge wardrobe but with no hangers .

    Air con was available.. beds in the family room are not right next to each other. 2 bottles of water in the fridge on arrival

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Couldn't be bettered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of a thing ourselves, but please note there is no lift.

    Fresh, immaculately clean room/bedding/towels. We had a small but perfect balcony. Tea&coffee making facilities.Superb building in very good location situated at the quiet end of the best road in town. Very pleasant owners/staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.1
    perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    small twin room. no hand soap.

    lovely stay, perfect central location. rooms were fine, shower great. tea and coffee and fridge was nice. we could see all easter processions. Comfie beds.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.1
    Good as always.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed at Hostal Abril many times before. This time I had a room but prefer the small apartments, they are excellent. Brits expect to have coffee making facilities in the room but there was only a kettle, teabags and sugar. This wasn't a big problem as there are plenty of cafes and restaurants closeby.

    Great location in Nerja, in the town and there are lovely and interesting shops all the way along Calle Pintada to the Balcon de Europa.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    Thumbs up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing actually

    The staff were all very kind and friendly. The room is clean and tidied up very well. Its location is excellent because the public transportation and the main tourist attractions are quickly accessible.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    The best hostel I have stayed in in Nerja
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly larger room would have been nice but for a couple of nights the space is ample

    The hostel was spotlessly clean. It had everything we needed for a quiet and comfortable night. Lots of hot water for the shower. Very helpful staff. Good location within very easy reach of the attractions of Nerja

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.1
    Good, But not good enough for me
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was put in a dependance. No reception andnobody there spoke a word of English. No vitrage, so your neighbours See you (small street) and with closed shutters no daylight.

    Interior modern and everything you need; even a small fridge and an electric waterkettle. Cheap restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    I will stay here again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing some simple but very effective things; soap in the toilets; full length mirror; waste paper bins in bedrooms; iron.

    Good size apartment, excellent location. I have stayed here in many occasions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    My friend didn't like the sofa bed. We had to request a proper mattress. We didn't receive the room I had booked online?????

    We stayed in their second property. We enjoyed the experience and Mama (with no English) was very friendly and helpful. We had fresh towels every day. Wonderful!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.8
    I was moved with kindness and efficiency from a front noisy ...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights were in inadequate not good for old eyes to read by.

    I was moved with kindness and efficiency from a front noisy room to a nice garden facing room. Liked it so much stay ed for 5 nights. Extra nights were expensive.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel in a beautiful town
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are poorly lit which is not a problem when the sun is out, but is a bit annoying at night time. There was also a small water leak in our room which we mentioned a few times but was not resolved.

    Fantastic location just 5-10 minutes walk from Balcon de Europa and the surrounding beaches. Rooms were comfortable and spacious enough, with a small balcony. Staff attentive and happy to help. Also quiet at night time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Convenient, comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room and toilet was on the small side.

    The convenience of a short walk from the bus, numerous restaurants and shops near by as well as a short walk to the nearest beach.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: