Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Boqueria 2 stars

Ramblas, 100, Ciutat Vella, 08002 Barcelona, Spain

#159 of 281 B&Bs and Inns in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1287 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were initially shown to a small room with no window and what looked like a small double bed. We expressed our concern and they were able to move us to a suitable room. Quite a lot of noise from early morning. Not sure if it was from the hostel itself or other people in the building.

    Great location. Room was clean and comfortable and perfect for our needs. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    The location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was fantastic. Convenient to metro and near many of the sights. The bed was comfortable and the building secure. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    Five-Star Location To Explore Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room door is poor, doesn't isolate from the corridor noises. We were asked to verify our booking by presenting our credit card from which the payment was done (I'm not sure it was the only option to verify, but keep in mind that you'll better keep the card with you). The price is a bit high, but the hotel location compensates it partially.

    The best location in Barcelona (la rambla, liceu metro station, boqueria market, gothic quarter, catalunya square at arm's length). And don't be scared of the noisy street, because the noise isolation is very good if you close the window. The room cleaning was done every day (the towels and bedsheets were changed every day as well). Friendly guys at the reception. free morning coffee. The hotel door stays closed at night (you can still get in if you are a hotel guest), so it gives a sense of security.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, location. You are right in the middle of La Rambla and central to most attractions. Taxi rank straight across the road. Staff were really friendly and helpful. No frills accommodation, but serviced everyday with fresh towels. Were happy to do printing for us. Security was really good. Had to buzz for entry after 10pm. Couldn’t have asked for more for the price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    3.8
    It’s obviously central and there was an effort to present it...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a maze! The room was super small, no natural light, no natural ventilation possible. The bed was terrible. Most of the staff was friendly except one element.

    It’s obviously central and there was an effort to present it clean - that I appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Definitely worth considering
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hostal is very small but more than adequate. Clean bed and bathroom with safe but not much more by way of facilities but we didn’t need them anyway. Situated in the centre of las Ramblas opposite the markets you could not ask for a better location if you tried. We found it very quiet in the hotel and didn’t notice any noise from the street. Staff were super friendly and definitely went the extra mile😀

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    4.6
    Rumbled in the Ramblas! Best avoiding!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not as advertised and did not correlate to the photo displayed when booking. Way overpriced at £80. A better price would be £35. Spartan room, rotting doorframes. Inadequate doorlock. Door could be kicked open in seconds. Poor security. Poor reception upon arrival, unprofessional.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    In a great location on La Rambla.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a great location on La Rambla. Staff couldn’t have been more helpful & relaxed about anything we needed, irons, baggage held on checkout day, coffee in the morning, direction etc. Room was very clean & comfortable. Don’t think of this as a Hostel, the beds are comfy, you have your own private room & en suite. I stayed in a 4 star hotel the night previous & the facilities in this place better if anything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Be in the middle of the action yet stay on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s right in the middle of Las Ramblas and just across the food market. Train station is just about a few steps away as well. A lot of food options in the area and near Plaza Catalunya. Very helpful staff and rates are affordable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Mostly great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was not working the best and our room was facing another building so it was a struggle to cool down the room.

    The location is amazing and the staff are super nice. The bathroom and room were really modern and clean. We also really enjoyed having fresh towels every day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.4
    I like the room for the 2nd night after we transfer not far...
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we complain because its realy dirty everything there and smells terrible . We book a hotel room not apartment even we add a person we will pay for extra person

    I like the room for the 2nd night after we transfer not far in the information.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    The staff was very helpful and found a solution for us in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was very helpful and found a solution for us in a difficult situation, indeed appreciated. The position of the hostel is very central, great! The room was basic but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Excellent location, very near to metro station and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and bathtub a little slippery when wet, need to be extra careful.

    Excellent location, very near to metro station and the famous market La Boqueria. Hotel area is secure place and rather quiet during our stay (contrary to other reviews). Coffee provided at the reception area but only from 8.00am, I hope it can be offerred earlier especially in summer when we start our day exploring Barcelona by 7am. Pleae ask from reception if you need an electric kettle to make hot water, it’s available by request. Room is spacious, bed and pillows are comfortable, good functioning aircond to chill after being out in summer of 30celcius.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.4
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were very thin. Heard beeping all night the first night and then the metro go by under our room every 2.5 minutes for the next 2 days. Didn’t find the staff as helpful as people said they did in other reviews. Guy said it was a 20 minute walk to the beach which wound up not being true.

    Location was perfect. Walked right out of the Liceu metro stop and walked across the street to the hostel. Next door to restaurants and a supermarket.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    4.6
    The location it is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms small, bathroom curtain rusted and shower head with mole. Ask for a room change which was not able to do the same day but the following day was change. The room was better but when we took a shower the bedroom get floated. The administration were notify and just game me towels to cover floor until can be repair next day which it never happens. That second bedroom has an smell of sewage all the time. I requested a cleaning supply and was not given to me. I went and bought a cleaning supply to clean until we leave. The pictures on the website are extremely disciving.

    The location it is perfect!!!!! In the middle of all activities y very close to train station within walking distances.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Perfect little find :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was brilliant

    Spotlessly clean. Perfect location. Staff couldn't do enough for us. :) we loved it. Thought it was a great little place. Would recommend for sure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise

    Small but clean & updated. Location is amazing. Staff was very helpful! At night the outer door was locked & I needed to ring the buzzer, so I felt safe, even traveling solo.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    would do again for lower price, was great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is very small, not many amenities. No ice machine, vending machines. Our "double" was two twins put together that didn't stay together. Paid close to 300 dollars. For 150 or so, would be a great deal. very small entrance, and elevator. not easy to find.

    Staff very nice, and helpful, great water pressure for the shower too. location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Nice location but can find better hotels in the area with...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are so thin, you can actually hear the toilet flush in the room next to you, the area can be cery loud at night and you can hear everything cause the sound isolation is very poor, staff took advantage of this and refused to refund the next night

    Nice location but can find better hotels in the area with better deals, pics can be misleading

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location as long as you aren’t a light sleeper
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are noisy, especially if facing Las Ramblas. We had a room which opened onto the Ramblas and even with the windows and drapes closed you can still hear the traffic, subway and people out partying all night long. An interior room was quieter, but we could still hear the people snoring in the room next to us or when they showered.

    The hotel location is fantastic, right on the Ramblas and right across from the Boqueria Market. The staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating. Also the rooms were clean and everything worked

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    Location on the main La Rambla and nearest metro station
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance is hard to find but considering the unavailability of property in that area, it is manageable

    Location on the main La Rambla and nearest metro station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Great central location - easy access to public transport...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t hear any street noise but could easily hear our neighbours talking beside us, and the TV from across the hall.

    Great central location - easy access to public transport (Liceu Station was less than a minute away!) Lots of restaurants close by, don’t go to the one right next door - tiny portions of subpar food for an inflated price! The beds were comfortable. The room was a good size. Plenty of hot water in the shower which had great pressure. The room was cleaned every day and towels changed too, which was nice. The WiFi worked well. Staff let us leave our bags at reception while we went out exploring before our room was ready. Free hot tea/coffee (from a machine) at reception as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    For few days it's perfect. You are in LA RAMBLA
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position is perfect and I suggest it for few days. Maybe the price should be lower.In any case I really recommend it

    They are really polite and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Barcellona is a fantastic place to visit! Great weather and food! There a lot of thing to do
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a clean place where to stay. The position it's great just in front of the market in the middle of the Ramblas. The bed is confortable. If I ever go back to Barcellona I'll try to book in the same place!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.3
    Can’t get over the toilety smell of the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room would have been much better if it didn’t smell like a toilet that someone tried very hard to clean. The rooms are small so that smell doesn’t really go away. You can also hear the sound of people flushing their toilets upstairs. I also didn’t like that when i left the place to get breakfast outside at 10 am, the guy at reception seemed worried I wouldn’t come back by 11 am when it’s checkout time. Even though my room is paid for and I wasn’t carrying any luggage. I also paid a steep price since there was an event in the city and because of the smell, I kind of beat myself up for scrimping on my 2-night stay in BCN.

    Close to Ramblas, everything accessible. Room seems clean except for shower curtains that look rusted with the metal part.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    right in front of the famous market la buqueria and right on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the deco is a little bit simple. if you are not a deco focused type, this one would be a great choice to have.

    right in front of the famous market la buqueria and right on the street la ramblas. 1 mins to metro and 10 mins to airport shuttle bus. The staff was very kind and helpful, providing us kettle for making warm tea in a cold rainy night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed is actually 2 single beds pushed together... couples travelling together might want to take note of that.

    You can't beat the location. Literally steps away from the subway and right in La Ramblas! It was clean and really spacious for the location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Amazing location on La Rambla across from the Market and 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location on La Rambla across from the Market and 2 minutes from the metro stop. Perfect d or the single traveller, wanting a private room and bath rather than a form with 8 other people and shared facilities. Very strong WiFi as well and an English speaking staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location & very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Excellent location. Clean and comfortable. Free wifi. Room bigger than expected. Walking distance to the metro station. Lots of restaurants and cafes nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.9
    The location is very close to the metro station and exactly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The included services and furniture are not consistence as they presented on website.

    The location is very close to the metro station and exactly on the opposite of Market Boqueria.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    5.8
    Excellent location, pretty convenient for a short visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremelly small room even for one person. Located at the back of the building with no proper window. Plastic curtain at the bathroom and shower facilities must be replaced.

    The location is excelent and the room was rather clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.5
    the exellecnt location but need to care more cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    didnt change the bed cover sheet or something like that. they just made up for bath room.

    bath room has warm enough water, it was really good. also, the air conditioning worked well, wasn't cold. and it was the excellent location to move everywhere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    Perfect Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No fridge in the room

    Location is excellent, on La Rambla, close by metro station Liceu and the Boqueria market and just a few min walk from Placa de Catalunya Staff were very friendly and helpful Cleaning the room everyday Good Wi fi Luggage storage

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.3
    The location was a big plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is tooo small specially the bed, it is hard for us to move around. And as i remember, the 1 that i booked has a patio, but just a small window instead.

    The location was a big plus. Good internet service. The facilities are ok plus it has a safe and hair drier. Even if its small at least the elevator is functioning well, the staffs are kinda helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.3
    I had problems in the room with plumbing that caused a
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is nice and in a great location But I had problems in the room with plumbing that caused an unpleasant smell And they did not change the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Very happy for what we paid and will definitely stay here again. Can not get a better location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like

    Excellent location. This is real value for money. Not a luxury hotel in any way, but it doesn't claim to be either as it's a Hostal. Very clean and comfortable. Frendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    Great Staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Blankets, I did not like the blankets. Rooms were small and no windows that looked out onto the street or the ground, only the elevator shaft. But the staff made up for it.

    Staff and the location were spot on. It was quiet once in the hotel and it was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, very clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of this hostel was perfect, just opposite the entrance to La Boqueria market and the Metro station Liceu. The hostel was very clean and comfortable. The staff were very welcoming and gave us a chilled 1.5L bottle of water upon arrival which was most appreciated. I would recommend this hostel and would stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Blankets....they need new blankets.

    Staff was very good. Very helpful and kind. Location was great. Property is old but very clean and nice sheets. Everything worked so always a plus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and lifts are a little old and could do with some refurbishments but it's location makes up for it.

    Location was superb. Smack right in middle of the old city. Right opposite the central market. Showers were powerful and good and overall the room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Located in a great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance is so small that gets difficult to find it , They should put more clear sign.

    Located in a great place. staff is friendly and helpful. Well secured entrance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.8
    Location is super central, right on the La Rambla.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing. everything was very good

    Location is super central, right on the La Rambla. The room was cosy, very clean, with working air conditioner, facing Gothic Quarter, and it was very quiet at night. I hardly heard other neighbors. Staff was very welcoming and nice. This stay was a true relief after very bad experience with the other apartment renting service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.1
    Even though it is located in a place with high traffic of...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not big enough for 3 beds and it stays very close to each other.

    Even though it is located in a place with high traffic of people, there's no noise inside the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom's door can't be locked, so you should tell everyone that u r inside.

    Location, amazing wifi, nice & strong shower pressure, perfect A/C

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    best place to stay if you want to be in the best location on a budget!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is unbeatable and the staff was so kind and polite. I will stay only here when I visit Barcelona, it is the best value. It is a very clean, basic hotel to lay your head and shower when you're not exploring the city right in the heart of all the action. Free wifi and super helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Perfect location, all around great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Situated in a perfect location on Las Ramblas, across from the Boqueria Market. However at the same time, the room was quiet and couldn't hear the busy street below. Public transport close by and easy to use. Staff were kind and welcoming, and room cleaned daily exceeded cleanliness expectations. Aircon and wifi were reliable and life savers!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    Location in the middle of La Rambla
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's a a clean hostels, actually it's a 2 stars hotel so it's only to sleep take a shower and bounce in the city.

    Location Location Location, in the middle of La Rambla in front of Boqueria Market. we even used go back put our bags in the hotel and go grind for more shopping and food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    The hotel has a perfect situation for tourists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was noisy but that was because of La Rambla not the hotel.

    The hotel has a perfect situation for tourists. We've found a great place for a breakfast at Boqueria market and it was just across the street. The hotel staff was so polite and helpful. They've cleaned up the rooms and changed the towels every day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.1
    Location was just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge. Window was looking out onto a skylight, so no possibility for fresh air in the room.

    Location was just perfect!!! At the opposite of the famous market la Boqueria.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.9
    Wake up to see morning Las Ramblas on the balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the bathroom was spacious, drainage was a big problem. Water would spill over, rendering the floor inside the room wet and slippery.

    We found out our order went wrong when we just landed in Barcenola. The hostel offered a good price as against others in the neighbouhood.The hostel was choesn for its proximity to a variety of tourist sites. You would find a rare and comfy 3 person room here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Perfect Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In all honesty there wasn't anything that disappointed us.

    How central the location was on La Rambla to transportation, and to sites. The staff was lovely. They kept it clean and neat with daily cleaning and 24 hrs front desk, We had a great stay there. It was our first time in Barcelona,Spain and we are diffently planning another trip.😊

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.3
    Unbeatable location but relatively high price (for a simple hostel)
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I did not like the price, but in other reviews people praise value for money so maybe it was only me, as I made a reservation at last minute and during extremely busy period. If price that YOU see is comparable to other hostels near this location, do not think twice. If it is much higher, consider other options. This is a nice hostel, but still only a hostel. If you're thinking about it, you probably do not expect or need luxuries. The hostel is on the 4th floor, the floors are high and the stairs are steep. There is a lift, but during our stay it was out-of-order for half a day (out of 9 days). People having difficulties climbing these stairs would be in real trouble. This location is VERY noisy even if you get a room with the balcony on the backstreet. The street is narrow and all the sounds are greatly amplified. There is air condition, so you can shut the window and the noise drops, but it does not disappear completely. But bear in mind that this is not a disadvantage of this hostel, but of the location. If noise is unacceptable for you, you should simply avoid old town altogether. A room was very very small (hardly enough space to put your suitcases), but you see it on the pictures and again - this is only a hostel. I wouldn't even mention it if the price that I got wasn't equal to stay in a decent business hotel. Terrible pillows - in fact not even pillows but something like bolsters. You couldn't form it to your liking - it was like sleeping on a tree trunk.

    Super friendly staff and unbeatable location on La Rambla just opposite La Boqueria market and Liceum metro station. Fast WiFi - a signal might have been a little bit stronger, but it did not drop connections. Large complimentary safe big enough for a laptop. A room was very clean, renovated with simple but nice furniture and small but comfortable bathroom. Adequate lighting and accessible electricity sockets. Comfortable bed (but not pillows - see above). To summarize: if the price you see is lower or comparable to other hostels in this neighborhood - go for it. If it is higher - check other options. A few years ago I stayed in another hostel near La Boqueria, which was less comfortable, but a few times cheaper. It had much better value for money ratio.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.4
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely expensive for what you get. Also I do feel scammed, because in the description they said they serve daily breakfast, and when I asked they were rude saying they don't. They gave us a room by the reception and all night the phone rang, someone smoked and you could smell it. They did change our room though.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was clean but pretty basic, considering we paid 500 Euro for 3 nights. They requested us to shift our room on the last day and we were put in a huge room with a balcony overlooking the Ramblas and that was very nice.

    The location is obviously excellent. The staff and people are very good too. They were happy to help with anything and did so with a smile. The staff actually makes the hotel seem better than it really is.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.3
    Simple accommodations in an excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concierge who received us in the evening couldn't speak English so we had difficulty communicating. Safe was detached so the thief could just take the whole safe with him - hilarious!

    The bed didn't look much but it was comfortable somehow. Spartan room but it was clean. They offered luggage storage for early arrival or check out helpful if flight is at different time. There was a lift to help bring bags (other accommodations had no lift)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Great location, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing. I became very ill and they called a doctor for me, they were so kind. Their english is perfect. They allowed us to store our baggage safely for several hours after we had to vacate our room. The location is absolutely fantastic

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.5
    Great location for exploring on foot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had an individual room with ensuite bathroom. It was kept clean but the room is definitely on the small side. (Tip: the rambla itself can get quite expensive to eat so try walking into some of the side streets or other areas to eat). The room was also a bit on the pricier side.

    Excellent location, right on the rambla, so this makes it easy for sightseeing. The staff clean your room everyday and provide you with towels shampoo etc. They have loads of pamphlets with information on tours. Because of the location you have the boqueria market right opposite and u can easily get the aerobus to the airport and other tours at placa catalunya nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    Very recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms can be more clean and beds can be more comfortable. But for a hostel, it was great experience close to hotel

    Location is fantastic. Very helpful staff at front desk

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Couldn't fault location .only faults i found were the noise from other guests. From snoring.mobile phone going off and people on speaker phone talking .but thats down to iggnorance .not fault of hostel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, helpful and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location/Convenience:: Placed in the heart of Las Ramblas, Boqueria market is just across the road, Liceu metro station is very close to get you around Barcelona. There are taxis when you exit to the right of the hotel, around 50m up the road. It's really easy to navigate from Las Ramblas so excellent place for first time visitors to Barcelona. Hostel experience:: You certainly notice the hospitality within this place, new towels and room service everyday. 24/7 reception and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Luggage storage if you aren't leaving till after check out time(11am). Wifi is also decent for a shared connection(20mbs down/4up) and stable. It's my second time staying here and I will be back again more than likely. Don't be thrown off by the entrance and interior leading to your room. The inside of the rooms are really nice!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    4.2
    Very Very Disappointing !!!!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pictures do not reflect the real impression for the room. The room felt old, uncomfortable with cheap bead and with no window to the outside world whatsoever. I ask to move but the hostel was full. I booked to stay for three nights but I had to go the next morning as I felt quite claustrophobic in the room with no fresh air and I could not sleep. This hostel doesn't give you the option to cancel your booking in any situation!! Be very careful!! Very very important do not book more that one night in this hostel and make sure before you confirm your stay and pay any money, that you know which room you will be given.

    Near Liceu metro station Across La Boqueria Good wifi

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    2.5
    Awful stay in Barca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything about this place was awful. Do not stay here, I wont even waste my time writing it all up for a 4th time as the website seems to crash every time and do and try and submit with photos. Not wasting anymore time and thought on it just steer clear and don't stay here if you actually want a pleasant trip.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, nice spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much of an entry to hotel but its an old building mixed with other uses. It wasn't a real problem.

    Excellent location. Staff super helpful and available 24 hours. Room spacious, simple pleasing decor.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Great stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window opened to the lift shaft. Air con had a funny smell to it when on hot or cold. Cleaner lady kept leaving our window open after she cleaned, was a bit worried someone could have come in through lift shaft.

    Location was excellent, stright outside La Ramblas. Metro station just across the road. Room very clean, towels changed daily. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    6.7
    Good, can be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The doors are so thin, you could hear everything happening outside the room. Do not recommend for people who have light sleep.

    The location is amazing, in the middle of Las Ramblas, close to everything.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    9.2
    Heart of Barcelona on budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are light sleeper, the room may seem little too noisy.

    Combination of location in heart of Barcelona and friendly&helpful staff couldn't make my trip any better. The room was spotless clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    Fantastic Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The small tv's

    Fantastic place to stay close to the all of the staff very friendly and helpful. They even gave us an early breakfast as we were working early. the decoration is very modern and clean.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    8.8
    The Staff were very good & helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy as the walls are very thin and guests were talking very loudly in the hall and children crying in the rooms!

    The Staff were very good & helpful!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.3
    Central Location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was old fashion. Room was small. Typical downtown hotel.

    Location right on the Ramplas Street in front of Mercato Bogaderia. It was silent though. Reason might be my room was looking at back street.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    9.2
    Surprisingly impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Hotel needs a better tea and coffie facility. 2. Expensive area to stay and eat though. 3. Only three people in a lift?

    Room with balcony facing La Ramblas road. Ideal location just seconds away from plenty of places to eat.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    8.8
    Nice and cheap hotel with supurb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only spanish tv channels

    Locations is supurb. In the middle of the Rambla and Metro just 50m away. Very clean, new towels and sheets every day so you get alot for the money

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.5
    Ask for a room facing the street and you're good to go!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too small & had no view of the outside world whatsoever. Its a no-smoking room (with a smoke detector) & its only window is facing the stairs inside the hostal, so forget about smoking.

    The best location you could ask for, friendly staff in general, good cleaning service, comfortable bed, safety box provided, ports everywhere in the room, no problems with hot water or water pressure in the bathroom. Fast wi-fi.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    7.1
    I just didn't like it because they gave me a room next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I just didn't like it because they gave me a room next to the reception. There is no breakfast. But there is a machine coffe with several types of espresso for customers. This was good. I'll be back ...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little bit noisy at night but to be expected being right on top of the best bit of the Ramblas.

    Excellent location. Great view of the Ramblas. Easy access to the metro. Nice big room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The walls are very thin and some people seemed happy to come in at 3 am and have noisy conversations and showers which disturbed our sleep on a couple of nights.

    Location was superb and staff were very friendly and helpful. They let us watch the parades from their balcony.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostal Boqueria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: