Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hospederia Casa de Cisneros 2 stars

Cardenal Cisneros 12, 45001 Toledo, Spain

#4 of 23 B&Bs and Inns in Toledo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 864 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.7
    Misleading booking, would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be honest, in a 18-day-long trip, this was the one booking that was disappointing. It's a hostel, not a hotel. And the pictures on the listing are a bit misleading. The room was small and outdated, you have to checkout your remote control (need I say more), and there are more locks than should be needed on the door. To the point that it takes a 5-minute demonstration to learn how to enter AND LEAVE (I said more...). There was no one there when we walked up (be prepared for a bit of a hilly hike in the pedestrian-only zone. We were, but it was still hot and we were ready to relax.) and you can't just walk in and ring a bell. Eventually the guy who runs the tourist trap of a gift shop attached to the hostel got a front desk guy to come let us in. The restaurant isn't open for dinner, from what we can tell.

    This location next to the Cathedral is central to much and easy to walk to many of the sites, artisans, and restaurants. The inexpensive price makes it look like a steal, but next time we'll pay a bit more for anything more.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We really enjoyed our stay here! The location was central, right next to the beautiful Toledo Cathedral. The room retained its historical charm. Other attractions, shopping and dining options were within walking distance. The hotel staff were incredibly nice and hospitable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Amazing design, just in front of the cathedral, with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking lot is 10 min walk but this does not have anything to do with the hotel itself, that’s how the old city is

    Amazing design, just in front of the cathedral, with a stunning view of the old city from the upper terrace- all of this for a very reasonable price

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Great location in historical building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is great, right beside the cathedral. Walking distance to everything in town. Nice breakfast for 8 euros. You can park less than 10 minutes walk away and for 15 euros a day (hitel coupon). You can drive up to the hotel to unload your luggage. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    A gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the restaurant was open, but it looked closed.

    It was a lovely hotel, with well decorated rooms, and the fantastic terrace. The concierge was great and very helpful, he even managed to get us a taxi during the taxi strike. It was very central.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Exceptional! Could not have asked for a better stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We struggled a bit to find it at first but because of our maps and not their lack of direction. To find it go to the entrance of the cathedral/the place that you buy tickets for entrance and carry on a few meters down the road and you will see the sign :)

    Exceptional stay, it is right next to the entrance to the beautiful cathedral! It was comfortable, clean, a big enough room with great bathroom, towels and a wonderful welcoming! We would have stayed a lot longer if we could have. I cannot say how stunning the terrace was! We had our coffee there in the morning, with beautiful views of the old town, cathedral and watched as the birds swooping in the area for their breakfast. I can only imagine what it must have looked like in the evening with all the houses lit up. This place is not to be missed!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Imagine the merchants and pilgrims with donkeys laden with goods in the Toledo streets!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly, no plug in basin and no "do not disturb" sign in room so had to go and ask about both. Parking and luggage drop-off a bit tricky if you're hot and tired after a long journey. Proprietors very helpful in indicating free car park by station and give you a map.

    Quirky and characterful. Be sure to go up the stairs and out to the roof. The views are sensational! Right in the middle of labyrinthine medieval streets. Had breakfast at a "bar" not far away, with hams hanging from the beams!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Charming old property with excellent views
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Card machine was not working. This delayed my checkout and I had to spend money on a taxi to take me to the station

    1. Excellent views of city and cathedral from the roof 2. Very charming old property

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful historical boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing...everything was great.

    This hotel is in an excellent location to tour Toledo on foot. It's historical ambiance is very special. The bed was super comfortable and the rooftop deck was amazing with views of the Cathedral and Alcazar (don't miss the night time with the city all lit up)! They serve a very good breakfast for 8 euros and the croissants were fabulous - warm and flaky! The staff is very friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and if I'm ever back in Toledo... this is where I will stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast option something to improve

    Exceptionally good quality rooms in hotel. Staff very nice and helpful. Next to Cathdral in old town allows you to enjoy city early and late day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Convenient, interesting place to stay one night but interior too dark and cramped for longer visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no safe in the room so could not leave passport etc there while sightseeing. Room was snug and bathroom very tiny. The low dark beamed ceiling made room feel a bit oppressive. Staff explained the building used to be where the cathedral priests lived and its "historic places" status limits what changes can be made to the interior.

    The location is excellent - right next to the cathedral. Building and rooms have character and history. The rooftop patio provided a great view over the rooftops of Toledo and up close views of the upper walls of cathedral. Thousands of swallows filled the sky at dusk and dawn. The breakfast was very good. Staff did their best to be helpful but spoke more limited English than at other places I stayed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Recommend to anyone who likes unique stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to juggle a lot of keys (2 doors after hours+ your room key) and the room doesn't lock automatically. Pretty much the most minor complaint.

    Awesome location in the old town. Cute quirky accommodation. The views of the city at night from the rooftop terrace were incredible. The bed was comfortable. Staff was helpful. Very quiet even with a nearly full booking. I would recommend this to anyone who likes unique stays in cool places.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    It had an oldish charm to it.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water boiler. Maybe it’s an Asian (or ethnic Chinese?) thing, but we like our hot water. Although we got hot water in the kitchen for our instant noodles, it would’ve still been a lot more convenient for us and for the staff if the room came with a water boiler.

    It had an oldish charm to it. Very comfortable. We loved how the little things like the chest of drawers and bathroom taps and stuff are of antique-ish designs. We had our own tiny lil balcony, and that was lovely. The location is superb as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    wonderfull location, very friendly and helpfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom was small

    great location, very friendly and helpfull staff, very nice roof terrace with wonderfull view. the breakfast was good with fresh croissants, diferent sorts of bread, tost.... very good coffee

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    a little gem in beautiful Toledo, right by the cathedral
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only downside to an old lovely building is you can hear other guests coming in...very late!

    lovely comfy beds. very central with nice small roof terrace area for view and sun.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.8
    Historic, romantic, well-located venue, but small space, small shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom nicely appointed with good water pressure/hot water, but shower was still standard Spanish one-star tiny: about 24-inch by 30-inch footprint. My room had no external window, just one to the interior common space; I didn’t mind, but others might.

    Location and historically preserved romance of room and hotel design. Toledo is not a great dining town, but the hotel’s on-site restaurant is a cut above average and reasonably priced. Location? Across the street from the Cathedral. Good security.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Little Gem .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is not open at nights yet so we never got a chance to try what looked like a good menu .

    The hotel was central to all tourist sites. The room was cleaned every day and the staff looked after you but never bothered you .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Brilliant location, very old building that is being...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint is that they were up working in the main stair/hall area rather early. Since Spain doesn’t go to be until late, this was a bit off-putting...but a minor complaint.

    Brilliant location, very old building that is being carefully cared for. Fit and finish well above expectations. Small simple room just what I needed. Plenty of hot water and the WiFi worked well. Overall a terrific place and 100% would stay at again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful, well-kept little corner of history right in the heart of old Toledo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because the building is so old, they only have double rooms. We had to book two rooms to accommodate our family of two adults and two small children (7 & 8).

    There is so much history and character to this place. Be sure to go down to the restaurant, even if it's just to use the bathroom, for an extra bit of dungeony goodness.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Hospederia!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    What an incredible place to stay in Toledo. First let me say, the sincerity I felt from the staff was great. I felt extremely comfortable here. The property was beautiful. The rooms as well. And the location could not be better. As soon as you walk out of the property you are in front of the Cathedral. Just a great experience and stay in Toledo.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable bed, small shower room, good breakfast, quiet place, not enough space for 3,nice host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Space for three trunks is a little too small; shower room a little too small.

    Very comfortable bed, good breakfast, kind host. Hostel right besides the cathedral. Quiet and warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    The Hospederia Casa de Cisneros is a charming small hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was wonderful.

    The Hospederia Casa de Cisneros is a charming small hotel right across the street from the Toledo Cathedral. We had the corner room #12 with two french doors looking out at the Cathedral -- beautiful in the morning with cathedral bathed in sunlight. The building was built in the 1500's and is full of historic character which is what we were looking for. The beds were comfortable. The bath rooms while clean and attractive are small. We enjoyed the roof top terrace and the hotel staff provided some glasses of wine and small plate of salami for us to eat on the terrace while enjoying the fabulous view of Toledo. Breakfasts are ample with eggs, cheese, ham, yogurts, bread and croissants, freshly made espresso, orange juice etc. The staff speak some English -- and are eager to please their customers. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The atmosphere of the hotel was great being very old. Loved the restaurant and the food. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location right next to the cathedral could not have been better. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. A great place to stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    It was so special of the hotel and was my favorite in this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    It was so special of the hotel and was my favorite in this journey. From the decoration to facilitate, all are perfect, especially the bed it was so comfortable. And it is only 50 metres to the Catheral. Clerks are also friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Central location, good value .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stale bread rolls at breakfast could have been made by one of the Cardinals for whom the rooms are named after.

    Central location, good value . Medieval character of the building

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was lovely!

    The property was gorgeous, as were the rooms and staff, who couldn't have been friendlier or helpful if they tried. The rooms are charming and the views from the little terrace are gorgeous, especially in the evening. The location is excellent for seeing all of Toledo's beauty!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.9
    A good place to spend 2-3 days
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ventilation was rather poor, as there was no window out

    Very well placed (next to the Cathedral). Spectacular building (about 500 years old) Furniture of good quality

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pity the Breakfast didn't match the surroundings, it wasn't great, Warm yogurt, warm milk, and service probably could've been better if I'm honest

    This was once the cardinals accommodation, a real old building steeped in history, the bedrooms were like walking back in time, Excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    Highly recommend this Hospedería.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No window or balcony to the exterior, outside fresh air. Door to our room was very difficult to open.

    The location was great. The building and decore really fits in with the historic city. All the staff were great. The breakfasts were quite good. It was nice to get a bit of a discount through the hotel at the paid parking lot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is lovely and the restaurant downstairs (open for lunch only) is in the ancient cistern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was first given a very nice room and I was resting when I was interrupted by a knock on the door to let me know I had to move my room. (Evidently, I was given the wrong room..) After moving my room, I was not given a key until after I had returned from walking about. No effort was made to be able to lock my room before I left. I thought this was strange and careless. Nothing was missing, however, the hotel should have been more attentive.

    The location is excellent. Right next to the Cathedral!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic location, amenities and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A hair dryer might have been nice

    Location was perfect, staff super friendly and helpful, lovely breakfast with plenty of choices. Room was charming- rustic and authentic. Loved the furniture. Bed was comfortable and room temperature was good as there was air conditioning. There was a nice roof top seating area with views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Perfect for a stay in Toledo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location in the old town of Toledo, right outside the cathedral. Plenty of character and charm. We very much enjoyed the room, it was very comfortable. We especially liked having the rooftop to chill out on, and had great views. Everyone was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    I loved this hotel - the history, design and decoration in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved this hotel - the history, design and decoration in the rooms and the location! The room was small for 3 people but everything else was PERFECT! We spent our evenings on the rooftop admiring the stars and the cathedral.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    The staff was exceptionally accommodating and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the plastic on the roof top seats was removed, it would be perfect!

    We had a glass of wine on the roof top every evening, while watching the sun set. Stupendous views and experience!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Old world charm with breath taking views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I saw some mold in the bathroom ceiling.

    I liked the character of the whole place. It was my 2nd time staying there but the first time for my friends. It had old world written all over it with charm. It felt like I had gone back in time an actually lived there. It was an amazing feeling.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Immersed in history...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There’s nothing more you can expect from the hotel and its staff! Some may complain about the noises made in the middle of the night around the Cathedral but they have to wash it some time, don’t they?

    Casa de Cisneros is immersed in history. The hotel is next to the Cathedral, rooms share their names with medieval cardinals, you may even expect some ghosts wandering through the corridors in the night! If you’re not afraid of them, don’t miss the chance to climb onto the roof to see one of the most amazing views in the world: picturesque Toledo, looking just like it looked in the Middle Ages, and the upper parts of Cathedral with all the impressive details.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Great location! Wonderful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff - gracious, helpful, friendly! Amazing location - we were so close to the cathedral, it felt like we could touch it. Toledo is beautiful and full of history. The same is true for this place. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    This place is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hate to say anything negative but since I was asked, if I could improve on one thing it'd be one extra shelf in the bathroom. There is space but being over 55, I have more items than a younger person (plus my husband's stuff).

    This place is amazing. It's like staying in a museum the building is so old, with wooden beam ceilings, and some special pieces are displayed. But yet it's modern at the same time with a modern bathroom. The beds seemed really new also - amazingly comfortable. And the location, across from the Cathedral, in the old city, is great. The breakfast, although additional, was reasonably priced for the quantity of food provided at the buffet. Eggs, Spanish tortilla, croissants, bread/toast, cereals, fruit, etc. And it's in a lovely room of museum quality. To know what to expect, keep in mind this is a hostel hotel. The staff is amazing, it's spotless, it looks great, you have a private bathroom in your room (en suite) but it's not a big hotel room with a desk. You do have a bed, an armoire, two small chairs and a small table.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Historic atmosphere a bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was very small but adequate.

    Excellent location right next to the cathedral. Loved the atmosphere and staying in a historic building. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    We really liked the charm that Hospederia Casa de Cisneros...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    However, the property was difficult to locate by vehicle and parking was a little far-but that's the price you pay for staying right in the city center.

    We really liked the charm that Hospederia Casa de Cisneros brought to our stay in Toledo. The location was perfect for walking. The service was perfect. I will stay here again next time I am in Toledo.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Staff was extremely helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was extremely helpful! Especially , Alphonso !! He gave us valuable information regarding restaurants and important ...."not to miss " historical sites . We were made to feel extremely welcome in this beautiful city of Toledo! And, will always remember the kindness and generosity we were shown at Hospederia Casa de Cisneros !! The restaurant next door is amazing , as well , with a wonderful menu and ambience !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    Great location steps from the Cathedral, Old building with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a little small but we spent very little in it.

    Great location steps from the Cathedral, Old building with lots of character. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    Check this gem out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Visa card would not work in their machine but that should now be fixed.

    To have an opportunity to stay within touching distance of the cathedral in a room with real history and an amazing timber ceiling for a lowish cost is great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Better than I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As someone who actually prefers impersonal business travel, it was a bit uncomfortable to have to be buzzed in and ask for one's room key each time upon returning in the evening. If this sort of thing doesn't bother you, I'd not hesitate to recommend this property. This is not the fault of the hotel but: if you would like to be near anything to do after, say, 6pm, you should stay somewhere else. Perhaps not even in Toledo.

    Excellent location (if you insist on being in Toledo) and fabulous value. While in Madrid, we noted that a one-day tour to Toledo would have cost more for two people than two nights at this hotel. The room was both somehow historic and super, super well maintained and clean. I really wasn't expecting it to be so nice. Every person with whom we interacted was friendly and welcoming. And while they do clearly state that the rooms are 'tiny' right there on their website, I almost disagree. I felt we had plenty of room for two people and our things (we travel carry on only). Additionally, the bathroom was more than adequate--and I loved the tile work.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Lovely rustic hotel with great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a nightmare you need to park as you come into Toledo and walk a very long hilly walk upto the hotel, you can park outside whilst you drop your bags at hotel.

    Fantastic central location, lovely room and the staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful two nights at Hospederia Casa de Cisneros
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot items for breakfast weren't very good but that didn't bother us as we were fine with the pastries, etc

    This little hotel located in a building that was 500 years old is located right across from the major cathedral. However, inside it was very quiet. It was spotless and we loved our corner room on the second floor that had a king size bed. The staff was extraordinarily helpful and attentive, especially Alfonso. Do not even think about driving into the city. We drove from Madrid in a rental car and parked in the free lot across from the bus station but would have saved a lot of money and aggravation if we took a train or bus. There was a simple continental breakfast included in the price which consisted of pastries, fruit, yogurt, coffee, etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    6.3
    Quirky hotel, good location, fair value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was quite quirky, Historic and a little oppressive inside.Although close to the cathedral, it could only be reached by taxi if you had more than cabin luggage. Parking was some distance away. If you booked with the hotel there was a small discount. Breakfast was adequate but unexciting. Staff quite friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    The best pillows i have slept on in all of Spain I was able...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The small shower

    The best pillows i have slept on in all of Spain I was able to get the information from the hotel so i can order these pillows online as they are made in a factory in Toledo!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.2
    An excellent option to stay in an historic house in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was a bit soft. The breakfast buffet was good but not outstanding.

    The historic house is fantastic and located in the city center just besides the Cathedral. The manager and the rest of the staff are very kind and very helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.5
    Great city centre location with rooftop views and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I didn't like. I had expected a hairdryer in the room but when I asked reception provided one readily.

    The breakfast provided lots of different options so there would have been something for everyone and the quality was good. Sets of a day's sightseeing if the breakfast is good. The room was comfortable and not too noisy considering it was right in the centre of a very bust thoroughfare next to many of the main tourist attractions. The rooftop gave great panoramic views over the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable stay despite the huge crowds in Toledo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had three people in what was meant to be a double room. Conditions were a bit crowded. There was plenty of room for clothing etc in the wardrobe and bureau. There was a problem with the handle on the inside of the bathroom door which we reported but it did not get fixed. That might have been a communications problem.

    Beds were very comfortable. The view from the roof were amazing. The location couldn't have been any better right across from the Cathedral. Very quiet at night

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Brilliant location with my double room overlooking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I didn't like.

    Brilliant location with my double room overlooking the cathedral. A superb base to explore this wonderful city. Nice breakfast and the room itself was majestic. The staff were so friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    10
    Great location and value (especially for a solo traveller)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls and the people in the next room talked really loudly until after midnight both nights!

    It's location, the roof terrace, it's history and the staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Ideal location in the center of Toledo, Spain;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for over a week and loved it. I would stay here again.

    Ideal location in the center of Toledo, Spain; the entire city is accessible by walking. Small historic building with excellent comfortable accommodations. Very kind and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    10
    Our room was decorated in an old style to reflect the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could not fault this hotel

    Our room was decorated in an old style to reflect the ancient house with extra large super comfy bed with a view of the ancient Cathedral. Amazingly lovely small hotel in the heart of the old city with friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    10
    fairy tale experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    beautiful medieval house, keeping by the host family in the spectacular condition. I felt like in fairy tale. unforgettable experience staying in the very heart of this extraordinary beautiful city just on the corner of main Toledo church.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    The atmosphere is entirely amazing, stunnning view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere is entirely amazing, stunnning view of the cathedrtal from the terrace, especially at night!!! Completele takes your breath away and makes you feel back to the times of Middle Ages, knights, inquisition and absolute mistery! Extermely friendly people at the reception and all modern conviniencies in the room, which is extraodinary nice considering the fact that the hotel is in the building of the XV century., which breathes with history.Sometimes even had some shivers imaginng notorious cardinal Cisneros listening to the confession of Isabel la Catolica in the very same building))) Definitely the place which I want to visit again!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful but some interior rooms and not given information about it.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is IMPORTANT: Some rooms doesnt have Windows!! INTERIOR and it doesnt say on the info. It is all beautiful but that is the thing that should be writen in the room info, and it is really cheating people by not sayin basic if the room is interior, because if I knew it, i would never buy that room or hotel, doesnt meter how beautiful and old it is. Hope they dont embarrasse the wonderful hotel they have by such a bad aditude towards this matter. Should be obligated to give that information.

    Incredible historical building, so beautiful and stylish.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing. Wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My card was charged without asking how I wanted to pay. This was in advance of my stay, even though the policy stated payment on arrival. Room had no window and pillows were ridiculously uncomfortable.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    Brilliant medieval casa that completes your Toledo experience...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing. But bear in mind that, like most places in Toledo, it's a few minutes' walk up and down the hills from the central Zocodover square.

    So you've stayed in many a fancy boutique hotel. However, if you are in Toledo for a night or two, this is the perfect place to be. A medieval 'casa' that is required to adhere to certain regulations so as to preserve its heritage, and yet with all modern basic amenities, this place completes your Toledo experience. Located right next to the cathedral (and therefore really easy to locate when you are lost in the maze of infinite lanes of Toledo), I could almost reach out to the cathedral walls from the balcony. Every single member of the staff is extremely warm, welcoming and friendly, and even if some of them can't speak English, they are more than happy to help through hand gestures. There is also someone at the reception round-the-clock, which is quite a rarity in these parts. The free wifi has exceptionally good signal and breakfast is available, if not included in the price. Most importantly, it is really affordable and the best value-for-money deal you can possibly get.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    9.6
    Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Got a twin room instead of a double although it was for single occupancy. - A kettle and a fridge in the room would be beneficial.

    The atmosphere is fantastic. The location is right by Toledo cathedral. The place is spotless and the staff are nice. Unbeatable price.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    9.6
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Seems like every street either went uphill or downhill; but that was part of the charm

    great location near the cathedral, short walk to many other sites. Gave good advice for a fine dinner at a restaurant around the corner from the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Toledo gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom and bed were comfy in an 'olde worlde' building that added to the character - location was excellent right near to the cathedral. Breakfast was basic but very sufficient. Staff were excellent and helpful, explaining the layout of Toledo and what to see where etc.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    8.3
    Atmospheric and charming Hotel in a perfect position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff speak no or little English. Our room had the Worlds tiniest shower (although this is understandable as hotel is a historic building) so be aware if you are very large, you may not be able to shower

    Outstanding position excellent breakfast beautiful rooms Terrace with views over city

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    8.3
    LOCATION, directly at the foot of the cathedral, furnished...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Size of the room (ca.15 sqm) and bathroom (ca. 2,5 - 3 sqm). The hotel has altogether 2 twin rooms, one is with view, the other faces a narrow street with a demolished house. The hotel charges for both rooms the higher price.

    LOCATION, directly at the foot of the cathedral, furnished and equipped with lot of charm giving us the feeling to stay in a noble house of the 18th century.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel and good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were attentive and genuinely nice. We travelled with a baby and they made sure we were comfortable. The hotel is beautiful and well maintained. We would return.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.6
    An Utterly Charming Stay in the Heart of Old Toledo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for a matrimonial but got twin-- beds were pretty hard.

    We had difficulty finding the hotel and had to rely on Gregorio of the front desk to help guide us in. When we arrived, we learned the parking was quite a ways. Gregorio kindly drove with my husband to the parking garage and walked back with him--even though he was already off work. The Cisneros is a charming little hotel in the heart of Toledo. If you're up to taking stairs climb up to the roof for stunning city views. Breakfast can be taken right in the hotel and is delightful. The historic designation of the building does not allow for an elevator-- so stairs it was. The staff was absolutely welcoming and sweet beyond our expectations. You can't go wrong here!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    Perfect location for walking everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for walking everywhere. The owner gave us directions to parking. Not far and reasonable price. We were greeted with a warm welcome. Someone carried our bags upstairs- no elevator. We wanted to have a drink - this was our first night after landing from US - and the owner brought us fabulous wine, beer, and a dish of paella to share in the breakfast area. Very very reasonable. We then headed to the rooftop for 'happy hour' and more treats and met other people. The funniest part is that when we went to leave, two of us walked to get the car and two hung back at the hotel. When we got to the garage we realized we didn't have the garage ticket. After texting our friends, the owner actually walked over and rescued us, bringing the ticket and a discount card. He then drove back with us to make sure we took the fastest, albeit narrow, route. The rooms were pleasant and traditional. I would stay here any time and recommend it highly!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few hangers and an extra light. We had breakfast a little late like 9:30 and nothing much left. It took a long time and didn't really refill any meats, place settings etc...It just felt uncomfortable.

    Beautiful accommodations. We would definitely go back. Front staff was superb!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    The room and furniture were beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was just adequate for the price. No warm food.

    The room and furniture were beautiful. The rooftop patio overlooking the city was amazing. The perfect place to share a glass of wine.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    8.8
    Real old time character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi didn't work. Breakfast looked good but wasn't included.

    Real old time character. Roof balcony to share quiet time before diner Cathedral bells kept quiet most of the night.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Helpful, friendly staff. Good breakfast. vety enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    We thought the hotel had lots of character. We especially liked the roof top terrace where it was very relaxing to sit and enjoy the views .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Restful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location, really peaceful by night and by morning. Fab!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    The roof terrace had a beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist that recieved us was a bit arrogant.

    The roof terrace had a beautiful view. Nice place in the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    War super
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hospederia Casa de Cisneros traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: