Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Casais 2 stars

Lepanto, 16, 36201 Vigo, Spain

#8 of 15 B&Bs and Inns in Vigo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 342 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Good place to stay on Camino Portgues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic Breakfast - coffee and croissant. Can be noise at night.

    The room was comfy with street view . Clean room. Good value for the money. Close to train station and restaurants. Really friendly girl at the bar from South America.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, simple, inexpensive, quiet. Private room with private bath for €25. Decent bar cafe on ground floor. Wifi works well, as does hot water. Nice people. Very good value. Ask for a room away from the street for quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    Comfortable place to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite prior arrangements for the check in time, there was no one at the place to open the door. Fortunately a kind local phoned the contact number on the door ( different to Booking.com contact number?) and we waited for the owner (?) to arrive and let us in... Street traffic and downstairs TV noise also disturbing if you a light sleeper.

    Spacious facilities- it’s like staying in someone’s house.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Usual noises that come with staying in a hostal such as snoring in another room, cars driving past and a couple having intercourse upstairs. It took me awhile to fall asleep but the beds were so comfy, once I managed to fall asleep, I was out to the world

    The staff was amazing! As a solo female traveller who isn't fluent in Spanish, they helped me a lot and pointed me in the right direction with all of my questions. I would've been lost without them!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommendable and welcoming low-budget hotel - I would chose it again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No hair dryer in the room. Not a problem for me - always travelling with my own. Suppose it is possible to borrow it from the reception desk. My room was quite dark (not enough daylight - due to back side position and specific shape of room plan). Rooms on the opposite side, overlooking the street, probably have more sun, but are for sure nosier. Mine was rather quiet. I don't want to complain about this issue for two reasons: - I was out almost all the time, leaving room in the morning, coming back in late evening; - I was so happy and grateful for getting room immediately upon arrival (very early check-in), after 9h in bus, so that I didn't want to rise an issue of natural lightness. :-)

    Kind and friendly staff (I am particularly grateful for allowing me check-in early in the morning, well before official check-in time!), convenient location, high quality Wi-Fi (stable and fast), nice breakfast (plain, but tasteful, with fresh orange juice; Spanish style, always served with smile!), more than perfectly clean... I really have to point out the cleanliness and regularity of cleaning service - in every aspect (from hygienic layers of bed linen, through general spotlessness, to supplies of soap, toilet paper, towels) - much, much above average, even at a higher level than in some 5* hotels. Casais offers everything you really need on a trip, without unnecessary luxury. Excellent value for money. Highly recommendable. After this happy week in Casais, it would be my pleasure to stay there again, on my next visit to Vigo! :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.5
    Good for it's price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Isolation from the street noise was poor. The hotel is just next to the street. By offering breakfast they mean only coffee+croissant.

    Clean, price was ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    Great place to stay on a short city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good.

    The staff were very nice and the location was ideal (close to train station and airport bus stop). The property was spotless and the breakfast was just right. The balcony was a welcome added bonus. Overall I would recommend this as a very good place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    4.6
    I didn't feel comfortable at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't feel comfortable at all. I had to wait the woman at the reception to finish her personal call. Plus, she mentioned nothing about the breakfast. The room was small and there was dust. I also found hair in bed and on the towels. The breakfast I had was a croissant and half a cup of a tea. The man at the bar seemed confused. Wouldn't recommend this place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    7.9
    Worked out fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only problem with our room was the lack of a dark curtain - which let in the street light.

    Nice historic building and location. Interesting town to explore

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    Private room.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Private room. The breakfast is not enough for walking. But there is relaxing place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    4.6
    Nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was very small.

    Nothing special

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.3
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok

    Inexpensive. Location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place, just right for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Staff was very friendly. Relaxed atmosphere. The room size was just perfect. Accommodation perfect for one night

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Near city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and efficient staff. Not a difficult place to park for free.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.8
    Vigo Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Handy to everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Lovely room with warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room with warm welcome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    5.0
    Room was VERY cramped!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was VERY cramped!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.1
    Perfect location to see the city walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was closed most of the time

    The bedroom was kept spotless

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    8.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff is not speaking english.

    Location. Bed, room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    8.8
    Good value for the price. Great choice for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were very small

    Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    7.5
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor fitting power sockets & out dated

    Price

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    5.4
    there was a really noisy drip in the room above mine, woke...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    there was a really noisy drip in the room above mine, woke me up a few times. Television didn´t work, and it was quite noisy. It was ok but I wouldn´t go back, a bit depressing.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    6.7
    Close to the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Personal does not speak english. Street light was opposite to the window and window looked out onto the street, so it was very noisy and light. No jalousie out of the bathroom's window.

    Close to the city center.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Everything was good about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was good about this hotel. The staff are very friendly, the room is comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean and the location very central.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    8.3
    In the city centre, friendly staff, more or less quite (good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mattress a bit old Bad acoustically isolated from other rooms (if neighbours noisy...) They close the doors of hotel when they are busy in the bar, this is dangerous in case of fire!!

    In the city centre, friendly staff, more or less quite (good isolated from the street)

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    9.6
    Good loaction~ friendly and so kinad & humane staff~!
    • Solo traveller

    Staff members' english speaking skill is bad.

    Good loaction~ friendly and so kinad & humane staff~! Very comfortable bad, enough towels, good facilities. Very worthy~! Beautiful Cies iland~~!!

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    9.6
    The location of the hotel, private bathroom, the staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was a little bit small.

    The location of the hotel, private bathroom, the staff, breakfast included.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    8.3
    very friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    5.4
    The staff were very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was extremely small with no room for luggage or to move around.

    The staff were very nice and helpful. The room was very clean.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    6.7
    It is very conviniet to access to dnwntown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staffs can't speak English.

    It is very conviniet to access to dnwntown.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.1
    Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Booking.com says that staff speaks 4 languages (french, english, german, spanis. Yes they speak only spanish, so there's a big problem.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    7.9
    The staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The internet didn't work in the rooms

    The staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    7.9
    Location: easy access to the train station, city center and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location: easy access to the train station, city center and port area.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    7.5
    Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately, no maps available at reception (so we didn't understand how near was the hotel to the city centre!)

    Nice staff

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    10
    good location, comfortable rooms, very clean, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good location, comfortable rooms, very clean, great staff

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: