Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Centro 2 stars

Nueva, 13, 45001 Toledo, Spain

#13 of 23 B&Bs and Inns in Toledo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 998 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is close to a very economic place where you can have breakfast 😁👍🏻, lovely staff ,great location 😍! There is a lot of places where you can eat in Zocodover and banks 😄

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny television with no English channels whatever. Intermittent Wi-Fi Friendly but slightly disengaged staff Slight smell in the lavatory Unavoidable steep stairs before reaching the left

    The very reasonable cost Cleanliness and modernity in an old setting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything.

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful. This hotel is definitely baby friendly. The room was massive and spotless with a view to Plaza Zocodover. Highly recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got a little cold while we were in our room, the central heating only kicked in in the evening but stays on all night. Seemed like people were smoking on our floor, we could smell cigarette smoke in our room (a lot stronger smelling in the hallway!). The internet was a little hit and miss, the slowest we’ve experienced in Europe so far!

    Great location less than 5 mins walk from the Alcazar and lots of restaurants within short walking distance. Good sized room. Shower was good while the hot water lasted - only a small hot water tank in our room. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The blankets were warm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hostal shows that because of the fact that business is ensured, due to it's location in beautiful Toledo, there's no extra effort or dedication to make any improvements whatsoever. It's a place to sleep in, quality not top though, and go out. The lowest point was, without a doubt, the restaurant recommendation (La Parilla or something). I'm not the sort of person that complaints, but this was without a doubt the worst restaurant where I ate in my life.

    Location was definitely the reason why we stayed there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cant point anything out !

    A very comfortable Hostal in the centre of Toledo, a step away from a variety of Restaurants and cafes - even Burgerking and McDonalds. recommended

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff smoking in the entrance, with smoke blowing into foyer. Pictures made it look like you would be overlooking square, but most rooms were up a side alley. Bit of a pokey room, but good value. Very noisy in the square at night, right through to 5am on Sunday, but that's to be expected- just take ear-plugs!

    Friendly staff; minimal fuss. Good value, and nice bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not informed on booking (Mobile) that before the elevator there were stairs. We had serious mobility difficulties due to medical conditions. When we questioned the lack of information for the stairs the receptionist was rude and offended us. He ended up helping us with his suitcases but he shouted that we had no character and that he would make a personal help because of our conditions. Terrible experience.

    Localização

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no parking and can't get to the hotel by car. you have to take the stairs and a weird ramp to get to the elevator, not really good if you travel with big bags. staff are not helpful.

    the room was quite spacious. central location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Great location for the city center and local buses. Within easy walking distance of the bus and train stations. The a.c. was not the best, but it was in the lower to upper 90s at times.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car parking within reasonable distance. You get what you pay for. A very basic hostal, but wonderful location in the old city.

    The hostel is totally INACCESSIBLE by car. There is public parking about 500 metres away up a hill.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean, very good location, friendly staff and they understood some english. Wifi worked fine. I didn't expect to get this good room for so low price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was limited amount of hot water for a double room. Internet access was just terrible, and did not work at all.

    The room and bathroom were big. Localization was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the street kept us awake. Don't get a balcony room. Shower leaked water all over the floor so that was a nuisance!!

    The room was a very good size but quite dated. Good central location,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Free wifi kept dropping out. No air con so room got warm during the night. No tourist information or brochures.

    Location was excellent. Price was great. Room had plenty of space.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning staff could have done a bit better job.

    The location is fantastic, though i reccommend not to arrive by car. Closest is public parking 15 minutes walking. The hotel is in the very centre, close to all monuments. You can enjoy many restaurants around. The receptionists were very nice and helpful. The bathroom was very spacious and the room comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that I didn't like, just wasn't a plus. Room was cozy! No desk or other surface but closet/cupboard was helpful since could store bag there. Also elevator is up 1 flight of stairs - a bit amazing they squeezed one in at all!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi connection a little weak. Someone was smoking in the building and it seemed to be coming through the air conditioning.

    Central, Quiet. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Location! The hotel is situated on the corner of the main street Calle Commercial (with an ATM at street level), 20 metres from the heart of Toledo, the Plaza Zocodover. The Alcázar (castle) is a 2' walk, the Cathedral 5'. The Plaza is a bus hub. It's a short ride with bus lines 5 or 11 to/from the bus station (Not 5D). If you're up to it, I would recommend the (< 20') walk from the station: it's a lovely short walk to the spectacular Puente de Alcantara (bridge), offering you an amazing view of town. Take the right past the bridge and walk up to the Palacio de Congresos. Take the (not widely published) elevator up to town, and walk a 100m to the Plaza Zocodover (it's not the well-known Toledo Escalator further down the road). - Cleanliness 100%. Room, beds, bathroom were adequate (and a bargain at € 75.60 for 2 persons/2 nights). Towels were replaced, toiletries resupplied. - Top floor is a large terrace, even the first November night turned out to be ideal to relax there after a busy day. - E-mailed to ask if we could come and leave our backpacks in the morning, way before check-in time (13:00). Received a prompt positive reply. Upon arrival we were welcomed warmly and could indeed leave the bags (pretty sure they would allow you a pick-up after check-out too) - Friendly staff - Safety: the front door is permanently closed, whether someone is sitting at the reception desk or not. You ring the bell and the door is promptly opened. - We had no noise issues. 3 electricity sockets, not well placed. There's an elevator. - TIP: take bus 71 from Zocodover (first: 7:45 am), and ask the driver to drop you at Cigarral (Hotel Cigarral De Caravantes) which is on the south bank of the Tajo. It's a 10' ride. Walk towards Puerta De Alcantara, the full 3km back to town. Stunning views of Toledo. Past a few viewpoints. You pass (Google:) Piedra del Rey Moro, Ermita de la Virgen del Valle, and Cerro Del Bu. Enjoy!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were quite dated compared to others of a similar price and location (we swapped after one night). Not overly clean, lots of street noise and noise from reception at night, and no lift from ground floor (starts on second floor).

    Location is fantastic

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be a little noisy at night as windows didn't shut closely (but it's a city in peak season, so expected)

    We stayed in 2 hostals in Toledo & this was the 2nd. It has a central position in Plaza de Zocodover. Great for accessing all parts of the historic city, plus great for buses if you want to get out (like visiting the Parador more cheaply)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was basic but good-sized for one person.

    The location was great! Just great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    LOUD! A nice hotel but the jackhammer started at 8 am and the screaming teenagers finally stopped at 4 am.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thin walls, noisy guests and grimy smell of cigarette in the room. Dirty floor.

    Nice staff, central location. Fast Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big room my friend said it looks like a 5 star Very nice désign in the room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two layers of double glazing made room very quiet in busy tourist area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi has problem.

    It’s perfect to know Toledo

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff is not kind.

    location. price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of the location it was very loud in the late hours of the night.

    The location of the property is very central.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    very kind and friendly staff. Room was nice and big and with a great view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Recommend reception have an English speaker to make communication better

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny shower, very spartan

    Location, size of room, view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A/C working bed. Veri hig noise on the street.

    Good location , clean room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small tv

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to a plaza where people drink and carouse all night on the weekends.

    Very clean, central, easy to get to, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not so clean... bed sheet had strange colour!

    Staff, kindly and very nice!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi didn't work all the time.

    Very well located, the room was spacious and comfortable, the staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very accommodating, we arrived earlier than planned and they held our bags and found us a room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There might be separate air condition for each room.

    location is perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Céntrico, limpio ,Personal profesional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle in room? :-)

    Great stay. Centre of Toledo. Friendly staff.:-)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable bedrooms. Maybe not the cheapest option, but definitely a good one

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position of the left. I have to carry heavy bags on the stairs

    The location The room The bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Interent is a bit slow sometimes,

    location is in the center,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The patio on the roof - how about a deck chair?

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are stairs to the lift that is not convinient if you have heavy luggage

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled of smoke

    The location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is excellent and the staff was very friendly and nice. The reception desk was staffed 24 hours a day.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Constarction works outside strated early morning, so it was quite noisy.

    Good location, clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Internet is slow and not working properly

    It has a very nice location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    poor shower

    location ok

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Value-for-money can be attractive or merely okay depending on season. Shower not very convenient.

    Friendly hotel front desk staff. Good location. Crisp, clean, stark, but cozy room.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No cooking facilities apart from the coffee machine. Okay for people who plan on eating out every day. The room was a little small.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was close to the centre of Toledo and near the attractions. The rooms and the hotel itself had a traditional cosy look. There is a balcony area that provides great views of the city.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All the furniture were shaking, but strong enough not to crash during our stay :)

    Location in the centre of Toledo, friendly staff and very helpful, clean room and bathroom, some touristic info and free postcards near the reception.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room shabby and out-dated. Shower head was falling apart and it did not hold properly on the wall, so it was quite difficult to shower. Room was cold and unpleasant. We had to ask to turn on the heating twice. Would never stay again.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Even though the wifi antenna was about 10 ft down the hall, as soon as we closed the door to our room, we lost the connection.

    The location, the staff, and the value for the money.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    If you want a fancy hotel, this is not for you, but if you are seeking a right in the old center of Toledo located hotel, this just might fit the bill! Nice people too!

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room (as it is common in Spain). A coffee dispensing machine (paid) found on a stair case partly remedies the issue.

    Hotel is centrally located in the historic town on the top of the hill but nevertheles it is easily accessible from outside of town either by bus, in taxi or on foot (note: nearby there are escalators inside the hill that conect to the river level). The hotel itself is very basic but for this price it is perfectly ok for one night.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I simply compliment everything about this hotel. Location: perfect Staff: all of them were very friendly and hospitable Room: beyond reasonable expectations given the price, I would even say that in my experience the room surpassed the pictures on booking.com - a rare occasion. Value for money: seriously yes Needless to say but I would most definitely recommend this hotel. (Sidenote: if you're fat you'll probably consider the shower small.)

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows hard, but when I requested, a soft one was supplied. wifi in room intermittent. air conditioning is controlled at reception who turn it off in the early hours despite 35-42 degree temperatures. I repeatedly asked reception to leave it on at night, but it seemed to go off about 2-3am, making it unbareably hot. on my last day I complained to booking.com and it was left on all night and I slept like a baby.

    Staff friendly, and approachable, who gave us maps and good advice of main sites. location easy to find in the Plaza next to everything you could need, including the bus stop from the railway station, main sites, supermarkets, river walks, a few branded high street shops, cafe bars and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Air condition was not working well so the room was hot and we had to open the window to get some cool air. It was very noisy outside if you got a room facing the street and therefore we had to wait until the room cooled down and then shut the window before falling back to sleep.

    City center, close to bus stop, close to restaurants, clean room.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The woman at the desk; she was not only helpful, but did a great job of speaking slowly and clearly in Spanish, so folks with minimal language skills like me could easily understand her.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's not just a few steps to the elevator. It's 20 steps/stairs, then a steep ramp to the elevator. Very difficult for me. If I had known that it had this many steps, I wouldn't have booked here. I also didn't like the shower. Very, very narrow and small with water overflowing from the shower stall.! I also had specifically requested a room with a balcony that did not give on to the 'inside, of the structure, and that's what I got, Uggly view of bad in shape buildings. Awful. If I had had more cash on me, I would have gone to another hotel, on the basis alone of the misrepresentation of the deal with the steps! I would not recommend the hotel for anyone who had mobility issues, like me!

    I liked the price of course, and the room itself was ok. I mean, double bed as I requested, and the entire floor, even in the bathroom was marble. The staff were very pleasant for the most part

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The large room with big windows and balconys.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    good location. the lady in the reception help me very much. very friendly

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Uncomfortable bed, weird shower. But good for a hostel

    Good location, very clean and spacious

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent location in the historic center of Toledo. Very quiet room on the top floor. Comfortable matrasses.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    a little bit noisy.

    location is very good,room is clean. wifi works.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    non

    location: hidden in the alley nearby Zocodover, so easy to go to the main spots and to take bus.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would be super if there is a safe in the room.

    Very good location in the middle of the old town. Friendly and helpfully stuff at the reception.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None!

    Everything is perfect!

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious, clean room great shower. Large beds with body pillows. Helpful, friendly staff. Centrally located.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Excellent location. Right at the main Zocodover Square. Helpful staff. Good room. Everything worked.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostal Centro traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: