Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Cervelo 2 stars

Atocha, 43, Madrid City Centre, 28012 Madrid, Spain

#175 of 372 B&Bs and Inns in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1550 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to get into the bathtub/shower. It was very high. Did not supply toiletries as stated. Only soap and was from a dispenser . Did have a fridge in our room. Bathroom was very small. Breakfast minimal. Needs a bit of fixing up

    Location. When the light in our bathroom didn’t work, one reception clerk argued that we need to install room key (there was no place to put it). A second reception clerk the next day tried to fix it, did so temporarily and set up an electrician to take care

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit small for two persons. They had also just one big (not very comfortable) pillow.

    The location was great. Directly in the city center. Everything can be visited on foot. In addition, the accommodation was very clean and modern. The breakfast was small but enough. The stuff were nice and we had the possibility to leave our luggage in a locked room on our last day after check out. Overall I can definitely recommend the stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel rooms are rather dear in Madrid- for what you get- very small room, uncomfy bed, one large tube for the pillow, no boiling water heater in the room (and no coffee). In the room next door party was taking place long into the night, for 2 nights, more like a students´ apartements as a hotel.

    Location is great, although Atocha isn´t very appealing street- but during the day is fine. The room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast choices - certainly not worth the price Coffee was terrible, could have got an espresso machine to get something decent Rooms clean but no bin for rubbish Horrible long pillows, had to ask for more pillows No kettle in the room

    Location, use of the luggage room, shower Breakfast staff very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very difficult to think of anything negative, we were there in March and at night the central heating was so hot we had to open the windows .

    The location was excellent,a short walk to all the main attractions. Atocha is full of bars and restaurants and safe to walk about at night. The hostal is more like a hotel, recently modernised and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was just refurbished but wasn't ready yet. Lacking several basics like a trash can, a place to hang the towels and worst of all the WiFi was not working 95% of the time in our room. The breakfast was for the most part quite bad.

    They gave us a five person room for two. The location is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy at night due to the window which doesn't close well an to its location .

    It has a very good location, 5 minutes walk to the "Puerta del Sol". The staff was very friendly. Many restaurants, coffee shops and supermakets near the proprety.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is on a busy road rather than one of the more pleasant side streets. though I couldn't hear any noise from the road. It is very functional and lacks a little in charm and character. Breakfast is taken at the student residence across the street.

    The hotel is centrally located on Calle Atoche, near a metro station and 10 minutes walk to the main sites. The room was very clean, comfortable bed, good WiFi and shower. Overall, it was great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    air conditioning unit on the balcony.

    location was great, room was good and fresh towels everyday, staff were excellent and very helpful, breakfast was offsite and of good quality. we had a choice of rooms and wanted a room with a balcony which was at front towards the road, traffic noise did not bother us as we live in the city and were used to it. metro, shops, supermarkets and restaurants nearby. we will return here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so cold the heater didnt work and it was snowing..so much noises from the street that i coudnt sleep

    Nice staff and the bathroom was soo clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Everything is perfect. next time i travel to Madrid for sure I'll stay in this property. nice staff, good breakfast and most importantly the heater in the room is functioning well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room was not clean enough when we arrived at the hotel but after we complained about this issue it has been cleaned very well

    they offered us a complimentary breakfast the location was very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud construction and loud workers could be heard everyday very early in the morning at 5am since rooms are directly next to the balconies by the road :(

    Very central everything is walkable. Staff are nice and friendly!good included breakfast 3 min away from the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wider range of food at breakfast (inc cow's cheese!), room was too warm at night.

    Breakfast was good although fairly limited in range of foods. Only one cheese was available which was goat/sheep cheese - OK if you like it (which I don't). Good location, Anton Martin metro station only 100m or so away and near to tapas bars of the Huertas district.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was quiet as I asked and there were additional warm blankets - all you need for comfortable stay! The bathroom facilities were clean and working perfectly, the bed was comfy and also they have really good breakfasts downstairs. The location is 15 mins from Atocha railway station and about 10-15 minutes to Plaza Mayor, very convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some plain bread rolls for breakfast would have been nice. (there were croissants/pain au chocolat and sliced bread for toasting) Otherwise the breakfast was very nice.

    Brilliant location, central to everything. The hotel is completely modern inside, new fixings and furniture, bathroom etc. We had a room overlooking an internal courtyard which was really quiet, despite the hotel being on a busy street.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    However the room was occasionally noisy, could hear plumbing sounds from room above, plus movements of occupants.

    The beds were comfy. Breakfast was nice, but on second day we were unable to have it as we had an early start before 7.30. Early breakfast option would be nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are very thin and in the rooms is very much noise from the neighbors. The room is very dark because the window have the view in an interior yard. The bathroom have an unplesent smell. The bed is not suitable for two people because is very small

    The property is close to Madrid center (for example Plaza del Sol is 10 minutes walk) and have 24/7h reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was basic and rather dark. The windows opened onto an internal courtyard. If I had to go there again I would ask for a room that looks onto a street. Double bed a bit too narrow. Pillow was just 1 long one for 2 persons.

    WiFi really good, room very clean, good breakfast. Staff were great, I twisted my ankle outside and when I asked for ice, which they didn't have, they very kindly offered me a bottle of frozen drinking water which belonged to the receptionist! Oh and the water was hot and with very good pressure! The location is excellent, all important places within easy walking distance and a metro stop just a minute's walk away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    -The room and bathroom was extremly small -Size of the bed was also small for 2 people. -Front side room should be very noisy

    -The location of the hostal is perfect. Very close to all touristic attractions. -Lot of bars within 50 m where you can have excellent breakfast (coffee+sandwich for 3 EUR) -Our room was very silent as it located in the back side (no view from window, but it was not a problem) -Hostal has closed parking place 100 m away. This is priceless in Calle de Atocha

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The property was very easy to find, the staff was friendly and very helpful. The triple room was great as every bed had a night stand, light, and outlet. The location was great. Walking distance to bars, restaurants, and lively squares. There are several public transit options near by. The internet was fast and reliable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was on a busy road no double glazing so there for very noisy at night and the staff rarely say hello unless spoken too and only discovered when there the parking was extra and expensive

    the location is excellent full access to the city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of this hostel is quite good, loads of restaurants nearby. I stayed in a triple bed room and I have to say the cleanliness, confort and facilities were great. Staff is helpful and overall a modern place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view from the window -but hey for the price this was really good value and would definately stay here again

    Although the breakfast was just around the corner-IT WAS ABSOLUTELY GREAT ! The staff there kept everything topped up and clean constantly and always a fresh varied selection-really looked forward to breakfast. Ideal for a city break with my 18 year old daughter

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe didn't work and even if it did, it would have cost €1 every time you opened it up

    Good location to all main attractions. Very close to a tube station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no frigobar and safety box in the room. We are not usually concern and looking at these details, so it was disappointing not having them there. Possible improvement for the hotel, especially the frigobar, since during summer, it is so hot that would be nice to carry some frozen water around.

    Very good location. We basically did everything by foot, and it was very close to the train station, less than 10 euros by uber/taxi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cafe where breakfast was served is probably a little far from the hotel, but it wasn't a big problem

    Really great location! Reasonable price, quite a nice breakfast, there is a good choice of food to make yourself full. Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Perhaps I could only complain about the air conditioning. It was an old machine so it took longer to cool the air in the room BUT we could sleep just fine (+25C during the night in Madrid)

    + The location is the best, just in the center of Madrid, it couldn't be better. + The facilities are fine. It seems like it is under renovation. The rooms look old with the furniture but everything was clean. The bed was comfortable. + The relation price-quality. It's a very reasonable price (less than 30eur for a double room) + Staff is friendly and helpful especially during the day. + Wifi is reliable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room the first night that wasn't anything like the room we booked. Only after complaining, we were given another room but only for the next nights of our stay. No explanation was given to why they did this and the next day we saw that that room was being renovated. There should be more staff as the main door into the building is closed if needed to leave the reception area.

    The hostal was in a great location.Breakfast was good. We were able to leave our luggage when we left for Valencia for three days to return back for another night at same hostal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is not served within the hostal, but in a café nearby.

    This property is very well located. It's central to get to all main attractions in Madrid. The bedrooms are very comfortable, though the twin room is not spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think that 6 euros for breakfast is too expensive for the food served. The rooms are not at all sound proof and there was a baby in the room next to mine who kept me awake with the crying.

    Easily walkable to the Puerta de Sol and other areas of the city centre. The room was comfortable and bathroom was clean. There's a cloak room facility which was useful to me because I arrived on an early flight and had to wait for a few hours before check in. Madrid is a relatively expensive city in Spain, so keeping that in mind the place is a value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful stay in the city Center for a great value, next to the Angel & Santa Ana squares I was delighted to rediscover the quality of the service. Already stayed at Cervelo once upon a time and enjoyed its geolocalisation. The bréakfast taken next door is awesome and contributes to a magic stay where all essential elements for Globe trotter and experienced traveller may look for. Ideal seeking a city center stop as shops located next doors. The Happy Sharing Company

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room with busy road outside, including building site opposite.

    Good value for money, clean and central. Simple easy wifi. Nice cheap breakfast at adjoining cafe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Walls were quite thin, you could hear people talking in the next room or corridor.

    Good location, walking distance to sights and metro. Good to have kettle and tea/coffee in room but they didnt restock them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given room 103. The window faces Atocha, a street with heavy traffic all the time, so the noise is unbearable and could not sleep well. This room is one of the smallest I've ever seen in a Hostal; it lacks elementary household, as a side table o drawers where to keep your clothes and things. It is even difficult to walk around the bed.

    We liked the location, which is a few steps from the main attractions in Madrid's historical and cultural center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was absolutely tiny, literally had to cling to each other to avoid rolling out! Unless you like to spoon entirely while asleep I would maybe avoid or accept separate beds would be a better idea, as the singles were nearly as big as the double. No hairdryer. Hotel entrance/area in a slightly intimidating area at night and shares building with a number of other business and places so there are always people in the lobby.

    Very good air conditioning which was helpful when it was nearly 40 degrees outside! Close to the centre, 5-10 minutes walk to most things.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the staff should be more friendly and interact more with the guests

    the location is amazing! close to the tube station and to all the main attractions the room was always clean and neat; quite place and guests

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The safe cost 1 euro to use, but we were a little disappointed to find that we had to insert another euro every time we opened it. Because of this we rationed ourselves to opening the safe just once a day. No big deal I suppose but worth knowing.

    Hostal Cervelo is in an excellent location just minutes walk from Plaza Sta Ana which is very lively. We like to explore our surroundings away from the crowds, and found some lovely bars and restaurants in the areas around Anton Martin and Lavapies where we seemed to be the only tourists. Our room had everything needed - tea & coffee facilities, TV, safe and most importantly excellent air-con! The temperature was 39 degrees when we were there so it was much needed. The room was clean and the shower had good power.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we booked we did not know that breakfast was in another hostel which was up the road and across the street,we couldnt find it the first day so we missed that one,then we found it the next morning and walked straight out!!couldnt get moved in the small area,so went and paid for breakfast near by,but overall excellent stay.

    The location was fantastic for all sights,ideal to get around everywhere,couldnt fault location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Painting walls n renovation. Stairs!

    Close to food n metro. Lots of stairs to climb! Elevator/life old n slow n always busy. When we were there, renovation going on daily so smell of paint irritated my nose as I'm allergic to paint n cleaning agents used. However. It's only temporary so hope they will finish soon.Abdul at the front desk very helpful but suffering from toothache so he couldn't smile😂 He is efficient in checking us in. Breakfast down a side street about 2 minutes walk and excellent buffet for 6 euros.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little attention on details needed in the room or the bathroom would make a big difference.

    The optional breakfast offered for 6 euros at a restaurant nearby was great. We got a refurbished room so everything was new. Very modern bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard and too small for two people.

    This hostal was the best price I could find by far for the months that I kept checking. The air conditioning kept us cool. I thought it was a good value for price paid. If I had paid a lot more I would have expected more but since it was the cheapest option by far I was quite satisfied. The room was cleaned well. The hostal is in a great location. You can take the 5 euro aeroporto express to cibeles and it's a 15-20 minute walk to the hostal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were actually taken to a hostel nearby due to construction work (apparently from the same hostel chain). One of the reception girls wasn't that nice/polite when asking her questions about a Shuttle bus service to the airport.

    Great price for Madrid, within good location (near Puerta del Sol), and with breakfast included. There are washing machines facilities in the same hostal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon not working during our stay (2nite). The receptionist at the 2nd floor, but they provide lift dont worry, the atmosphere in the 1st floor not quite good.

    At the time when we check in we just realize that the aircon its not working and the receptionist said that it' will be fixed during the week we stay but until we check out the aircon still not working. They didn't provide the ketel at the room but we can ask for that if we need it. The location was perfect, many places for eat and cafe around. Near to the bus stop and metro station and you can go by walk to Sol , Gran via or Plaza Mayor. Graziee!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Soundproof between rooms and bathrooms need some development.

    Very good breakfast. Perfect place for visiting main Madrid's museums. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows not very good; also slight noise echoes around at times.

    Location excellent for getting around Madrid; staff very helpful. Rooms clean, water hot.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was great value for money. We didn't get the breakfast because it didn't look very apatising. Maybe if they had improved it and made it look more appealing?

    The staff were really friendly and helpful. The main concierge had excellent English language skills. The bed was really soft and comfortable, most likely foam. The bathroom had a good size shower. (I think the tiles may have even been heated)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had absolutely no complaints and would recommend to anyone going on a budget. It is not the Ritz , but the staff were all helpful and the location is brilliant, you can walk to all the major sites.

    The hotel is excellent value for money in a great location. the beds were comfortable and breakfast was great, lots of choice in a continental style plus scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage. the breads and cakes set you up for the day.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located within walking distance of the train station , and of the Prado and other museums, and of Sol, the geographic centre of Spain and a major hub of activity. Its reception is not on the ground floor, enter the building and take the elevator. Also, breakfast is not in the hotel but in a small cafe up the street (but very close), no great inconvenience and the food is good. Wifi was good. Overall, value for money for a few nights when you want to visit the musuems or just have fun in the centre of town.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noisy street, people partying outside nonstop and to hear ringing the bell of the front door whenever people came from outside at night...

    The proximity to the centre and to the amazing Retiro park that is absolutely a must to visit in Madrid (have to be amazing in spring!)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, really small bathroom and smell bad all the time, it has a problem with sewer, depend on the room you can have too much noise from street, room 101 was horrible. To me was a bad experience

    location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The one thing that actually make us angry is the fact that the walls are not soundproof at all. so we did have to talk so so quietly and we didn't even try to make a music.

    - The staff was helpful - The position of the hostal is just perfect.You are just minutes away from all the activities. - Everything is clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is the best everything is in a walk able distance. The staff was really helpful and friendly. We loved our room it was clean and pretty my favourite thing was the balcony

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIFI connection is not stable. If a hair dryer could be provided that would be wonderful.

    The Location is really good. 5-mins walk to the Sol plaza. 15-mins walk to Atocha. Or you can take a metro which is near by the hostel. It's also surrounded by various restaurants as well as supermarkets. Very convenient for staying a few days as a tourist.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hostal Cervelo is really great. Value for money. The hostal and its partner hostel is well located in the center of Madrid. A lots of bars, shops and sights are reachable within 5 minutes walking distance. Our room was tidy, very clean and had enough space. The bathroom and windows were new. So you can't hear a noise from outside. The service was really nice. The breakfast for 4 Euros was really good. I would visit the hostal Cervelo at any time again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little difficult to get parking to go into Hostel to get key for parking garage, but this is a traffic issue.

    Staff very helpful and obliging. Room very big and beds comfortable. Great location. Parking available and breakfast very nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were hairs in my bathroom. Breakfast is served outside the building, in a restaurant in the nearby

    Excellent location, a luggage room where you can leave your bags while you're exploring the city on the last hour. Air conditioning in the rooms

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was not knowledgeable about parking situation. Room was not very clean. Ceilings were cracked from water damage, probably because there are no shower curtains and water gets everywhere.

    Nice old building, lovely stairwell.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old furniture, old shirts and towels, bad cleaning, bad sound-absorption

    Good breakfast in the nearest café, good location for sightseeing, safe box for 1 euro in the room, air conditioner in the room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was so tiny you couldn't properly sit on the toilet. Wasn't particularly clean.

    Good aircon, private parking nearby , and friendly staff. Elevator is available if you have heavy luggage.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the highlights is the proximity to the metro Ⓜ stop but because the Atocha metro line is under construction, the Anton Martin stations are closed. The closest station is in Sol. not far, but still a wee walk from the hostal. The room was a bit on the small side and it's decor could use brighting up and updating but in all, it suited the needs for a week's stay.

    Easy access, easy to find, great location - very close to most of the city sites and smack in the middle of Huertas, Sol, Santa ana heart of Tapas bars loads of restaurants shops and great nightlife. The staff were always available, ordered a shuttle service for us and gave helpful advice. Our room was upgraded and was tidied every day.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No plug in the wash basin.

    Clean. Friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast. The location. The quick reaction to a problem - the air conditioning was not working and it was fixed on a Saturday! Lift.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unhelpful and unfriendly staff - my debit card was charged without my consent (on the day of my arrival). As I stated that I preferred to pay with cash, the hostel staff proceeded to refund the money to my card. However, this resulted in my card being charged twice for transaction fee, which added up to around £3 (along with exchange rate fluctuation). When asked to be cover for this difference, the hostel staff defended by saying he was 'checking the validity of the card'. Imagine if every hostel does this, I would have lost £12 simply by booking with four hostels - which is not uncommon for a one-week trip. Prior to my arrival, I also emailed the hostel with regards to storing some luggage (as we were planning a short trip to Granada). No response at all, not even a reply to say: 'I'm sorry but we do not store luggage'. Everything was conducted quite business-like in an unfriendly manner. Didn't even bother to show us where the room was or to point us in the right direction, he simply left the key on the reception desk. Soundproof of the room is not great. I was woken by noise from other rooms, for example, the opening and closing to cupboards.

    The hostel was centrally located and the hostel staff did help us book an early-morning taxi to Atocha Railway station. The place was relatively clean and spacious. We were given a three-people bedroom, though there were just the two of us.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. slightly small room for 2 adults and 1 child

    1. location - perfect, city centre but windows overlooking the courtyard and not the busy Atocha street. 2. very nice breakfast 3. staff - friendly and helpful 4. clean and cosy 5. WIFI - good connection and free of charge

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very cosy! We ended up beig upgraded to an apartment and it was really nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bed, noisy neighbors.

    Good location, very kind personal and very helpful, clean and nice room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was spotless and modern. Best shower ever!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It served. It’s purpose as somewhere to sleep

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No remarks.

    Good location. Helpful staff. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short stay and served my purpose.. 12 Kn walk from the Atocha station And 500 m from Sol, Reina Sofia museum

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damages on the ceiling of the hallway and the noise of construction on the property! Smell of oil!

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't have complains

    Great facilities similar to a hotel, comfortably beds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was excellent. Best central location. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bad bed and i got disease in my skin they are not honest beware of them

    nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked location, price, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostal Cervelo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: