Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Ciutadella 2 stars

San Eloy, 10, 07760 Ciutadella, Spain

#26 of 46 hotels in Ciutadella

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 618 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ceiling fan was a squeaky noisy contraption so I couldn’t sleep with it on. Not a huge drama as there is air conditioning or a nice big window you can have open.

    Excellent location! Very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Warmed and practical place to stay at Menorca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are beyond the value for money but I expect an improving if hostal running into the high assistant as currentlty.

    Warm Staff and excellent and nearest dealing with guesses, very clean. I would remark a very good location close to three different public parkings and no longer to 8 minutes walking everywhere at the center and comercial locals. Breakfast includes european type one and a few flavoured cakes with a good machine coffee.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    All the staff were friendly and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our room was fairly loud due to being right over reception desk and restaurant. Next time I'd request a room on an upper floor.

    All the staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast included in our room rate was great and enough selection of everything for a good start to the day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location Great VFM
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent location, in the old town, very clean and the staff were wonderful, right next to Placa le Palmes where you can sit, have a coffee and watch the world go by. Only 5min walk to the Cathedral, do check out the fish restaurants down by the harbour, you can get good set menus of the day for 20 euros.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.0
    GOOD VALUE, CONVENIENT, COMFORTABLE STAY IN THE HEART OF CIUDADELLA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We genuinely can't think of anything negative to say as the hostel met all our requirements and we are not easily satisfied.

    Our room, on the first floor and usefully accessible by lift, though not large, was very comfortable, with a view of a pleasant Ciudadella street. The bathroom was compact but fine and spotlessly clean. There was an optional buffet breakfast available for 5 euros in the café/bar which offered good choices with some variation each day, so we were happy to take advantage of it each day of our stay. The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful and friendly throughout our visit. We particularly liked the quiet location which was minutes from shops, restaurants and everything Ciudadella has to offer. Getting to the hostel from the airport, that is if you want to avoid being fleeced by a taxi driver, can be achieved by a 15 minute regular bus journey to Mahon Estacion de Autobuses and then taking either an express or stopping bus to Ciudadella, a very scenic and highly recommended experience. Hostel Ciudadella is about 15 minutes walk from the Estacion de Autobuses. NB Hostels in Spain tend to be of a good stardard and to be more like Pensions in France, not at all like the backpacker places found in some European cities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay when walking the Cami de Cavalls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great welcome from the receptionist, who showed us to a spacious apartment close to the hotel. Breakfast was very good. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    We loved the room, the Hostal's situation and Ciutadella itself - we will go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Kaving a kettle rather than boiling water in a pan useful maybe though realise other folk probably not so into their tea as us English? Bed was a bit hard.

    Brilliant little apartment - lovely having fridge and tiny cooker to chill wine or make a cup of tea. Excellent situation near centre of town, square with fountain - Placa d'Artrutx - a couple of minutes down the road and useful supermarket a couple of doors away. Breakfast was excellent and staff were helpful. Hope to go back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    Great value for money in the heart of Ciutadella
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has its own restaurant which seemed very popular. I didn't use it for meals as I am a vegetarian and all dishes on menu del día were meat or fish. However I did get a cheese bocadillo on request to take away with water and 2 pieces of fruit for 5€ which was great to take to the beach. Perhaps a consideration for the future to include a veggie option as many of the restaurants in the town did offer this.

    Very central location in the heart of the old town. Bars, restaurants and places of interest all on your doorstep. However not noisy at night with windows closed. Air con included but I hardly had to use it. Female staff at front desk very attentive and helpful with directions and bus times etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Ciutadella
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay in Ciutadella, close to the main street. However, still relatively quiet during the night. Very nice and helpful staff! Cheap breakfast, including some bread, rolls, ham and cheese, yogurts, fresh fruit, pastries, can be bought from the cafe on the ground floor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    Recommended stay in Ciutadella
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit pricey for the size of the room but compensated with the location, elevator and the clean bathroom

    The staff was friendly and helpful and the location is great right in the city centre. Walking distance from the bus stops / any other public transportation . Recommended !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    Clean hostal in city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small and there is no minibar (it could be a problem during summer). Wi-Fi loses the connection everytime you put the phone in standby (and it asks to enter the credential).

    Great location in the historical center near the market, and very nice and helpful staff (even though they could not speak English very well). The breakfast is quite good for the price (both savory and sweet breakfast available).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Great find in Ciutadella
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    lovely staff, very helpful, excellent value for money, breakfast very good for the price. good location and facilities in the hotel. Most suited to couples in my opinion and that is who were the guests whilst we were there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like was to find car park.

    Is very clean place, new, the staff was very attentive, and it doesn't look hostal it look more hotel of 3* is even much better than hotels, they make you feel so relax without doing nothing, I really enjoyed my stayed and for sure I will be back soon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location just in the historical center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room have no fridge so we bought some fruits to bring with us at the beach but it didn't last until the day after. However the day after we asked them to keep new fruits in their fridge and they were really willing. Our room was on one street which mean that sleeping with the windows open was a bit noisy, I woke up several time in the night but my husband didn't.

    Great location just in the historical center. The stuff at the reception were really nice they welcomed us at the door suggesting the best place to park. The room and bathroom were exceptionally clean! Despite a couple of points mentioned below it is a great value for money and probably going back we will look for availability here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    wifi is a bit troublesome to connect because it very often asks to re-enter the credentials could also be nice to have minibar in the room. still the staff was nice to allow us storing few things in their fridge in the kitchen.

    very friendly and helpful staff, perfect location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    Ciutadella experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are fairly small, staff were polite but indifferent.

    The location is just on the edge of the old part of the city, in a quiet part, near the lovely local market, with the odd noisy motorbike. Everything was clean and fresh and well presented. A reasonably priced Spanish hotel with the bar usedby the local residents.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Definitely Best Choice in Ciutadella!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was absolutely nothing I didn 't like.

    Great location, very clean and airy, great bathroom facilities, excellent breakfast, friendly, welcoming, helpful staff and excellent value for money. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.2
    The staff are brilliant, excellent restaurant for a budget...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't fault it for the money

    The staff are brilliant, excellent restaurant for a budget hotel, but this place is all about location. Public free car park nearby, it all works.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    6.3
    Overall, I enjoyed my stay. A very beautiful island and very nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Once I arrived in my room at the hotel, the surrounding noise was something else. I could hear people talking in the restaurant just below my room and the motorcycles and cars passing by in the very narrow one-way street approximately 15 feet away from my windows. After I closed the windows, and went to bed, I somewhat got accustomed to the noise which receded as the evening went on.

    Proximity to old section of town. Easy walking amongst very old buildings such as cathedrals and other interesting sites. Closeness to a small open area with public benches surrounded with palm trees. It was interesting to observe the way people interacted because I made it a daily habit to sit on a bench and relax.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value, walking distance from centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls were a little thin so you could hear people in next room talking. Bad for me because I got some ignorant ****s who were talking until at least 3:30 am on second night making it difficult to drift off to sleep. Take ear plugs just in case!

    Breakfast in the restaurant, self service with good choice of cold options, including some delicious pastries. Room good size with good bathroom at almost bunk bed hostel price made it excellent value. Staff friendly, especially lovely lady looking after guests in evening who was always smiling so you really felt welcome. Location was good a little quieter and only a short walk to centre and old town.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.3
    the service at the reception and especially the guy in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pictures of the room were not the ones displayed at the time of booking. We got a smelly smoking room when we requested non-smoking.

    the service at the reception and especially the guy in the bar/restaurant was REALLY GREAT: friendly, attentive, professional. My boyfriend was sick the entire weekend and the waiter was extremely helpful. A great plus for the hostal! Other plus points: location: centric but quiet price: good value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful Ciutadella!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony area and furniture

    The Hostal is located conveniently for the historic centre. When we arrivived at the Hostal we were told that the room that we had booked was quite small and that for the same cost we could have a 2 bedroomed apartment that was 10 minute walk away and had a pool. We accepted and the apartment was in a large block, very spacious and well equipped, the pool was large but a little souless. Initially we didn't take to the location but soon discovered that it offered opportunity to see different parts of the city and that we could choose to walk along the inlet path towards the port. The sunsets here were fabulous

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.8
    Great location, clean and a good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to really dislike about this hostal, although perhaps the choice for breakfast could have been a little better. Overall a very good stay so no real negatives.

    Great location next to the old part of town, only a short walk to the main streets. The hostal was very clean (the cleaners do an excellent job there). The bedroom, although not large, was fine so all in all, a great choice for Cituadella. Would gladly choose this hostal again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly stuff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    A little bit noisy street (cars, motorcycles) in the evening/night time.

    Very friendly stuff, great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice welcome, airy and sunny room, next to the old town and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything o.k.

    Nice welcome, airy and sunny room, next to the old town and 7 minutes to the bus station for busses to Mahon

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Location and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money, spacious room, excellent breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Great value for money, spacious room, excellent breakfast, great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    A gem in the heart of Mahon
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic staff who could not do enough for you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location in the center of Ciutadella
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location in the center of Ciutadella, basic room in line with the price. Very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Best values and best hotel in town.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking in the old town.

    Lunch and dinner are good values. Friendly staff works hard to accommodate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    The whole experience was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience was great! Language barrier was a bit tough at times but the workers really helped out with all my questions. Awesome people!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Everything we needed in a great location to see Ciutadella!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything we needed in a great location to see Ciutadella!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Spanish character with very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spanish character with very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are on the small side

    Great location and value for money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.6
    Good value hostal with excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Differents fruits for breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel for little money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean rooms, comfortable bed, great service, excellent meals we loved it all and yes they have free wifi!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    8.3
    Great character in historic city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on day 1 was a bit disappointing - several items had run out.

    Good sized room, Powerful shower, useful fridge for our use

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.2
    Yearly visitor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little hard for "older bones"!!

    Location, friendliness, cleanliness, cost

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    10
    Would be my go-to accomodation for any future travels to Menorca
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the location and the breakfasts. I checked in around 10:30 pm and was greeted warmly and checked in promptly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    8.8
    Great location in a quiet area of the Old Town of Ciutadella...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is quite basic but does the job.

    Great location in a quiet area of the Old Town of Ciutadella, a few steps away from shops & restaurants. Friendly, helpful staff who gave me local information at check in & asked how my trip was going. Rooms are simple but comfortable and very clean, with heating and air conditioning.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    7.9
    the excellent location.
    • Solo traveller

    very unreliable WiFi connection, hardly worked.

    the excellent location. it was quiet & peaceful. It was vr clean. Kindly allowed me to have the room x hours free when my ferry was cancelled.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    8.8
    Location very central in attractive Old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No problems.

    Location very central in attractive Old Town. Helpful friendly girl on reception & nice, efficient staff in restaurant. Very clean and comfortable room, immaculate modern bathroom. Half-board was incredible value for money.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    10
    The hostal is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hostal is great! The location is awesome! All the staff helped us a lot in everything we needed! the room was really nice and confy. I would higly recomend it!

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.6
    Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was a bit hard for my boyfriend although it was fine for me, also a double bed was twins pushed together

    Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, nice room

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    10
    I did appreciate that both the room and mainly the bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing at all

    I did appreciate that both the room and mainly the bathroom were extremely clean. Bathroom Towels were exchanged when requested and each two days the bed the bed clothes. The staff was amazing, just like a family. When I come back I will stay here again here again with no doubt.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    10
    Friendly and efficient staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and efficient staff . Made to feel very welcome . Help was offered when not asked for (directions to bus station on leaving )

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    8.3
    Very helpfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpfull staff

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    8.8
    location is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location is perfect!

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.6
    The young woman at reception was really kind and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The young woman at reception was really kind and helpful!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.3
    Very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a bit hard to find. People could not help us locate it other.

    Very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    The staff is extreemly nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff is extreemly nice. The hostal is simple but every thing is managed seriouly, very tidy

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly staff! They were always ready to help...

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.9
    Location- was a simple clean nice hostel, helpful staff, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All was good

    Location- was a simple clean nice hostel, helpful staff, but with limited English...

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    10
    Charming hotel with spacy rooms, right in the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charming hotel with spacy rooms, right in the centre.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    10
    view from room, central location, very nice staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    view from room, central location, very nice staff, especially the maids.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    8.8
    Decent accommodation 5 min.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decent accommodation 5 min. from touristic sites with a very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    7.1
    Friendly people,good value for money,god location to visit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking might be an issue, but it worked out OK for us.

    Friendly people,good value for money,god location to visit Ciutadella.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: