Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hostal Conchita II This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Campomanes 10, 4 Izquierda, Madrid City Center, 28013 Madrid, Spain

#280 of 372 B&Bs and inns in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 377 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owners were okey but they don't speak English. At least few basic phrases would help.

    Excellent value for money. Property is located in apartment block. I stayed at Conchitta I. which is around 0,5 km away from Conchitta II. but I didn't mind. The place has perfect location just few metres from Plaza de Callao. There are three metro stations around, many bars, restaurants, pubs and a small convenience store. The room was nice and clean but a bit small. The bed was very comfy. I would recommend this accomodation for solo travellers or couples who plans to stay in Madrid for just for few nights.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    8.8
    If you need something cheap but decent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The interior is outdated and the room tiny, but for the price...

    De location is perfect, close to Sol, but in a rather quiet side street. Price is very good, but you get what you pay for - the room could use an update, so don't expect anything new looking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    7.9
    This was the second time I stayed in this hostal. I hope to come back one day
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the tube and the sink were clogged and this issue was not fixed throughout our stay (5 days)

    Very central placed. The room was equipped with a fridge and a microwave.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    7.1
    Great location but questionable staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we left the hostel in the morning we put the "don't clean up" sign up since it wasn't necessary. We were shocked that when we came back the door to our room was wide open. All our valuables were in the room and no staff member was there! On top of that, the general key was in our lock, so we could have easily entered every single room in the hostel. I waited for around 10 minutes but still nobody showed up. So I took the keys, went to the reception and asked them to never do that again! The responsable person told me that he "was there all the time, just went to the reception for a moment". Which was clearly not true since we were back in the hostel for at least 10 mins.

    Great location in the middle of centre.5 minutes walking distance to Sol, Gran Via, Palacio Real and more.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    7.9
    In yhe center of Madrid next.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lift did not work when we left so we had to get down woth all our baggage from 4th floor and the building is under rehabilitation and renew hope to fix the lift .bcse it waste our time waiting for couple of hours to fix it but no one came. The staff at the hotel help us to get down the baggage.

    In yhe center of Madrid next.to Opera place near to all attractions of madrid and Gran via shopping center and restaurant and metro and public transport

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2017

    5.8
    Affordable, no frills, not for non-smokers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is not no-smoking as stated online. The office manager was smoking in the office and you could tell people were smoking in other rooms. There was no A/C so everyone had windows open and the smoke wafted in across the laundry lines. The keys didn't work for the front door so we had difficulty getting into the location after hours. When we were there the location was under construction so the stairs were out of use, so there was only the elevator lift...which worked only if all the doors on the other floors was closed...it was problematic.

    There was a fridge and microwave in the room. It was clean and the bath towels were in good shape. The shower worked well and there was plenty of hot water. Very basic accommodations, not much room for luggage.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    10
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is in an old building, but that is not really a problem.

    This place is perfectly situated for visiting Madrid. It is 2 min away from the Opera Metro, it has a supermarket right next to it, and a lot of bars and restaurants. Plaza mayor is 10 min away and Gran Via 5 minutes away. It is very clean, it has everything you would need for a stay in it (private room with bathroom): fridge, microwave, towels, even toiletteries and a fan for warm days and nights. The owner was very nice and helpful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2017

    9.6
    Value for money Hostel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was a bit small for 3 girl but was good considering the price we paid.

    Location is a 10+ ! Very central and could walk to most attractions. Room was bery clean, also cleaned every morning with fresh new towels. Owner even let us leave the luggages in one of the rooms because our flight was in the evening.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2017

    3.8
    Stinks tobacco all over the place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because it was very unclean, small double bed in a very bad location, no views at all, smell tobacco all over the place, the bedroom,the blanquets, everything. Me and my 11 year old son couldn't almost breath properly!! unadmisible!

    I did like before I went because it was in the city center at a good price

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2017

    8.8
    Small but nice rooms in the good central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We saw a bed bug, but I belive it was the only one. Beside that, the place is really clean.

    Everything was as described, location is great, comfortable beds and the room was cleaned daily. It is only a 5 min walk from the Sol square, 3 min from the Royale palaca. In the neighborhood there are a lot of options for food and a supermarket right next to the hostel. I would definitely go there again

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    5.4
    Kind and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building seems to be currently undergoing renovation; therefore, the trip up to the fourth floor, where Conchita II is, felt like passing through a construction site (white dust everywhere, doors covered in plastic, etc.) We would have thought we were in the wrong place if an employee didn't happen to be at the first floor when we entered, and escorted us back up to the fourth floor. It would have been helpful to have been alerted of the construction ahead of time; it also made the price seem too high.

    Kind and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2017

    7.9
    Better than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the heating is stopped during the night so by morning the room is quite cold.

    Great place! Everything needed is pretty close. Rooms are cleaned daily. Beds are big enough and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location but super thin walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The walls are so thin that you not only can hear your neighbours talking, but even what they are talking about, and Wi-fi connection was quite poor.

    The location is perfect, close to all main tourist attractions, restaurants and there is even a supermarket on the same street. Raul at the reception was really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2016

    9.6
    Basic, cheap, friendly,secure, very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Locks on the front door and hostal door were a bit fiddly, but very secure, no worries

    Very basic hostal, this is exactly what we expected. Hot water, private bathroom, very near to central Madrid, very near metro, clean towels, daily maid service. Free drinking water.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2016

    7.9
    Well located, just for sleeping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    air con would've been nice. The key to the front entrance did not work, but we lucked out with a local tenant who let us in.

    Location was amazing, beds comfy enough, quiet and clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2016

    6.3
    Central location, clean and cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff does not speak english and there is no office. Check out was confusing (needed to shout the name of the person who let me in).

    Central location, clean and cheap.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    6.7
    Room was far too small
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was far too small

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    8.3
    Very kind host
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small bedroom, But we were always out.

    Very kind host Three is the hairdryer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    6.7
    Consider okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No kettle

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    8.8
    Cheap cheerful and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little dated but clean and central. Ideal for a jolly boys outing. Cheap and cheerful

    Good for the money staff helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    7.1
    Pretty nice place given the low price of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very limited hot water, the second person to take a shower had to take it cold.

    Pretty nice place given the low price of the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    7.1
    Location and calm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location and calm. The owner also was ready to help at any time. Thank you, Ana.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    10
    We loved, the location couldn’t be better, we are coming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved, the location couldn’t be better, we are coming back for sure.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    7.1
    The owner & staff are approachable & friendly. The place is clean & well kept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We have to walk outside in the hallway just to go to the toilet at 3am. How is wish they have a family room with a private bathroom & toilet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    8.8
    no air con
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    no air con

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    7.1
    Re
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It needs just a little touch and it will get far

    The price

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2017

    7.9
    it was a good price and nice and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    They took the money out of my account before checkout and mad me overdrawn. We were going to pay cash.

    it was a good price and nice and clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2017

    6.7
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Refrigerator noise

    staff ok, location in downtown, cleaness

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2017

    7.5
    Friendly host, clean room and an ideal spot in the heart of
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The noise, but this also is Madrid

    Being in the heart of Madrid and see how Madrilen life really is.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2016

    8.8
    Location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location and value for money

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2016

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not very obvious where the hostel is, needs better sign posting

    Friendly staff, bathrooms were always clean and had everything we needed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2015

    5.8
    The place for traveling is perfect
    • Business trip
    • Group

    English is not a language what is possible even to get a taxi. Prices from reception was different then from taxi driver about 10%. Of course it was higher.

    The place for traveling is perfect

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2015

    5.0
    Very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Property reeked of kerosene or similar, to the point of producing a headache and nausea the next day. On the first night. I had the windows closed because the street outside is VERY LOUD into the night. Sleeping is only really an option with the window open and earplugs in.

    Very central location.

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2015

    7.9
    Fantastic location (old town) and a 2 min walk to the subway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit hard to find as the place is on the 4th of a shared apartment complex (look out for the sign on the side of the wall and push the buzzer for the reception). Room was a bit hot as the sun poured in all day and there was no aircon. Noisy at night (street noise). No kitchen, just a fridge in the room. No washing facilities. We also kept returning to the room at about 2pm when they were cleaning it which was kind of awkward but was ok.

    Fantastic location (old town) and a 2 min walk to the subway. Great wifi connection in our room. Really nice staff, they even left a fan in our room which was really kind of them (as it was 35 degrees and there was no aircon). Very basic but clean. Had a balcony that overlooked the street. Close to supermarket and restaurants. Our room had a fridge and microwave. There was a lift which is handy on a hot day.

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2015

    7.9
    Hotel is very closer to the metro station .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was so small, and it was just besides the main street. So, it was very loudly during the night.

    Hotel is very closer to the metro station . A few minutes can walk to the major street and attractions.

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2015

    5.4
    The location was very close to:
    • Couple

    Bad signal of WiFi(at least at our room). The "hotel" is an apartment at the 4th floor of a very old building. It hasn't even any reception. The staff of the "Hotel" they didn't know English (as the most of Spanish people).

    The location was very close to: a) metro station (opera) b) palacio and cathedral c) plaza Mayor

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2015

    6.7
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I could not get wifi. They would not hold my bags on the day I checked out. At the last minute they changed room on us - to a louder location.

    Location was great.

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2015

    9.2
    The staff is very helpful and very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The staff is very helpful and very nice! Even if my spanish was poor they tried to understand myself as much as they could! Very quiet place to stay and very well located!!! I did enjoy my trip there and would book with them again!! I recommend this place if you want to enjoy Madrid, very good value for money.

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2016

    6.3
    Clean, nice staff, warm room despite outside temperature
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Extremely small room for 3 persons. Loud outside. Fridge noise.

    Clean, nice staff, warm room despite outside temperature

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2016

    7.9
    location great and for price good, Basic but clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    location great and for price good, Basic but clean

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2016

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hard to communicate with Rahul.

    Location

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2016

    7.9
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    receptionist(disappear almost all the time)

    location

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2016

    7.5
    No wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No wifi

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2015

    7.9
    Excellente ubication
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Excellente ubication

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2015

    7.5
    Location of the hostal in the center of touristic Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location of the hostal in the center of touristic Madrid. Walking distance to all important monuments in the city.

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2015

    7.1
    good value price/place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    good value price/place

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2015

    2.9
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    access

    value for money

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2015

    9.2
    price quality ratio is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    price quality ratio is perfect

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2015

    9.2
    Bathroom nice, room was big, great location in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Bed not the best

    Bathroom nice, room was big, great location in Madrid. Really unbeatable for the price though.

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2015

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Very small, basic accommodation

    Location

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Browse Hostal Conchita II Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: