Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Cristina 1 stars

Avenida del Cid, 5, 03700 Denia, Spain

#6 of 8 B&Bs and Inns in Denia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 635 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    6.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the window was just other windows, and the staff didnt feel very welcoming!

    The beds were comfortable and the location was perfect, they cleaned are rooms everyday aswell which was a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice clean rooms,great location in the Old Town for views and access to nearby tapas bars and restaurants. Also there is a bar/restaurant adjoined on the ground floor used by locals. Good food at low cost. Hostel Christina is superb value for the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was I couldn’t work out how to make the heating work on the air conditioning unit, as it was a little cold Maybe some instructions would be helpful No parking facilities

    Our room was clean it had a toilet and shower. there was a little fridge, It was basic but good value for the money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrival, hotel door not open and reception closed - slightly irritated that I needed to call the number at the hotel entrance to locate the keys to access the property. Felt that this information should have been communicated to me.

    Simple, basic yet comfortable accommodation. Bathroom was a bit of a tight fit and the room was at the rear of the property with view from the window overlooking other rooms with a 'lift shaft' perspective. Will request front facing room when we next visit. Adjacent bar was hospitable for breakfast. GVFM. We live quite locally and were in Denia for the 3 Kings, return taxi from home cost more than the room price, so we'll be parking up and staying again for our next night out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    travel companions thought their room smelt of cigarettes. The walls are quite thin, unfortunately I had a very noisy couple next to me.

    The hotel was in a great position. We booked two rooms, I was more than happy with mine, decent shower, tv and heating/aircon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    EVERYTHING WAS OK, except for the shower that had a small leak and a bit of mould. reasonably clean though

    EVERYTHING WAS OK, except for the shower that had a small leak and a bit of mould. reasonably clean though

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The atmosphere surrounding the Hostal, the bar next door, the general darkness of the building, furniture, room bedding/towels/beds very tired, nowhere to sit, shower imposible to get into as entrance too narrow etc./no breakfast available before 9am when bar next door opened

    air condicion and a friendly guy who helped with bags up flights of stairs to room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be tea and coffee making facilities in room.

    All very clean,ceiling fan and air-con if needed . Small fridge provided Hot drinks machine in reception

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room / bathroom small. Had a triple for single occupancy. Wouldn't want to be in there with 2 more people. Thin walls - you hear every word / sound from neighbouring rooms, even at normal volume.

    Clean. Great location close to the historic district and castle. But quiet area. Vending machine for hot drinks at reception. Balcony. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar attached to the Hostal Cristina is basic and very spanish - serving tapas, and sandwiches,

    The location is excellent for viewing the fallas in March. The accommodation is very suitable for an overnight stay in Denia

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are used to softer beds and pillows

    Excellent value, clean, excellent location for Denia city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from sliding doors from other rooms during night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Miserable reception. Staff unhelpful .

    It was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in the shower

    Spotless

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and shower

    The price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed there before and it's always comfortable and clean, and really convenient for all the best restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good quality. No noises. Staff willing to help

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed kind of uncomfortable

    Very well located, nice place for one-two nights,good air conditioner inside the room and small refrigerator

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is good for bars and area for shops ect

    Having English channels on tv in room cheers

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many steps to climb to bedroom

    Bar.airconditioning.bright.comfortable.private

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was really good to have a fridge in the room, specially when it's still 28 degrees by the time you go to bed!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds comfy and good AC!! Basic but no complaints!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location was fantastic and the accommodations were very satisfying.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow neighbors noisy

    Bad pillow

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location is excellent, good value.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear everything going on in the surrounding rooms and outside.

    Great atmosphere and good size room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard Beds

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff! Great location inbelievable price

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To further enhance this excellent hostel l suggest a kettle for making tea and coffee in your room.

    A lovely place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal could have been stronger, but that's just being picky....

    Friendly, helpful staff, clean, well-furnished room, central but quiet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price did not include breakfast.

    Location excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit more basic than the description

    Location. quiet clean room. price for the time of year.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Couple

    Everything. No-one was ever on reception and all paperwork organized from a Bar adjoined. Strangely my Samsung Notebook dissappeared from the Bar vacinity! Loads of noise from the dustcarts emptying the bins & bottle banks outside, plus noisy next room occupants. Most distgustingly, the bed was at the side of and less than 12 inches from the toilet sliding door! Exessive extra charges were put on my miniature poodle - the only time out of five other places on this trip that had also said they were dog friendly! You had to pay for the room in "ADVANCE" even before being able to see it! I hasten to add, this place did not appear to be spanish owned! If I am able to influence anybody, I say, "keep clear" of Hostal Cristina.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi when I arrived but the same night no wifi all night. No one on reception to sort it, went to the bar attached next day who told me to put another password in which worked in the bar but then went off when back in room.

    Nice friendly man on desk, comfy double bed in a single room! Balcony with nice view, quiet area, but ideal location, not far from bars etc and port, (10 min) friendly bar staff attached to hotel- they let me leave my case when I checked out as reception was closed.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bathroom was clean but small but as usuall with a plastic shower curtain...it has a mind of its own and doesn't keep the water in and wants to clink to your body..get rid!!!

    The room was lovely and clean and a good bed.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff was helpful, though minimally present. The reception is pretty much empty most of the time. Didn't have a problem, really, but know that you'll be on your own.

    Had everything we needed: heating, enough hot water (depending on time of day), and comfortable beds. Despite other reviews, we found it quiet (we're on second floor, and it was low season).

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only fault a little black mould in shower but hayho not 4* good bet.

    Good location very nice staff spoke Russian and English plus other languages good food and drinks friendly clean beds

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we had a non smoking room with a smell of smoke. Bed was small and not the best. Parking was difficult and we had to park a long way away, partly because of congestion and partly because of road works. It was early December.

    Close to where we wanted to be, friendly staff. Very cheap.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had two single beds. Very noisy group of men in hotel, noisy all night couldn't get refund. Manager didnt want to help. No chairs for balcony. Shower was rubbish.

    Balcony was nice. New toilet roll daily.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bad parking at streets - we had to go about 1 km to the hotel. Small bed and noise from the downstairs bar in the night. We realized that light does not work after 11 pm but nobody was at the reception so we had to take a shower in dark. Very far from the beach. Not worth the money but all other accommodations were sold.

    Wifi was ok, staff can speak english, the room was clean.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking. Like everywhere in Granada it is quite difficult . But there are 2 parking a close to apartments which are 16.5 per night

    The location is nice, close by walking to the main sights and lively areas, quiet to sleep at night , and not hot .

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would get woken up at 4am by the lorries emptying the rubbish containers on the road outside - the room had double glazing but this didn't stop all the noise from this activety but otherwise I slept well. Small point is that the tv would sometimes lose reception intermittently (local channels).

    Great location, clean, comfortable and the Wi-Fi worked.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The second night an alarm in the hotel began to go off around 2 am. I am a light-sleeper, but hey, if an alarm is going off, there's a problem, right? A big, unsafe problem at Hostal Cristina. I went to check the source of the alarm, right outside my room on the second floor. I went down to reception on the first floor, and rang the bell. Nothing. I knocked on the door. Nothing. I called out. Nothing. I rang the "emergency" number on the sign. Nada. I went down to the bar, and knocked: it was all closed and locked up. So I rang it three or four times more. It just rang off. I then rang the emergency alarm people. She said it wasn't their alarm, that was now echoing all around Avenida El Cid. She suggested I rang the emergency services. I asked for the number. I rang Spanish emergency services (Spanish 911). Within a few minutes, at 2:30 am, 5 policemen and two Bomberos (fire-men) arrived. I was greatly relieved that the alarm was not a fire-alarm - as my 7 yo son was still sleeping in our room. The police contacted the (Russian?) owner of the hotel, who arrived angry & aggressive at 3am. What shocks me most about this incident, is that we were the only occupants in the hotel, and that after the bar downstairs shuts at 11 pm, that there is no-one on site at Hostal Cristina. No night security is present, and the owner (who had been drinking?) lives off-site. Thank God for the Spanish Guarda Civil, who were kind, civil, and responded immediately. Think *very* carefully before you book yourself in this Hostal! what if it had been a real fire?

    All is well & good upon arriving at Hostal Cristina in the Old town of lovely Denia. The room was clean, if the beds were a little hard. First night all was okay.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The sole downside was the breakfast was not going to appear until after 10am at the earliest ,too late for us.

    Clean,roomy, excellent value for money,would stay again

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Changing of the bar owner attached to the hotel. To noisy and full of rusians, we avoided taking our last drink there this yea

    The location, close to town center and what we call the tapa-street ( via Loreto)

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hostal is run by a Russian couple who are as welcoming as Siberian prison guards. Particularly striking after all the cheerful Spanish experience.

    Rooms are spacious but basic, for the money that you pay it is fine. There is a nice Andalusian restaurant in the corner of the street having live flamenco performances in the evening, worth visiting. Nearby parking depends on a luck.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The owners were great, very helpful with local info.Very welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No kitchen available in the hostel.

    The room looked very nice.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Solo traveller

    good price

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything noisey, people having sex, think it was a brothal

    the checkout

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    People friendly ok location clean comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very nice room for the price and a very good feeling of the place...

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We especially liked the food at the restaurant and the price is acceptable

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: