Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal de la Gavina GL 5 stars

Plaza de la Rosaleda s/n, 17248 S'Agaro, Spain

#1 of 7 hotels in S'Agaro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 129 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    staff very friendly;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Extra Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's too quiet; a coffee machine and a water boiler for tea in the room would be a good idea.

    staff very friendly; comfortable room; good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    A gorgeous short break in one of the most beautiful hotels in Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I didn't like!!

    I LOVED everything! This hotel is one of the most beautiful in Europe. The area is gorgeous, fabulous restaurants a short 5 min stroll away, close to a wonderful beach, it was a perfect stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxing stay on the Costa Brava.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace and Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeper turned off our air conditioner every time we left the room, so we returned to a hot room, which required 20-30 to get comfortable again.

    The beds are great. The pool and spa are terrific. Breakfast is excellent with lots of choices and a beautiful room and terrace for enjoying breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.7
    Wonderful - fantastic pool area, lovely people. Also S'Agaro has a bu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service

    An excellent hotel! But service was slightly lacking for a 5 Star rating. The staff were excellent, there just weren't enough on duty either at the pool or the bar in the evening. I was told it was because it was the weekend - not a very good excuse!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    A most enjoyable few days . Very easy to relax- the pace was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Terrace and Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being fussy - the bar area was very nice but more for winter time . A brighter area would be nice for Summer

    A really lovely place. Service was attentive but not too much fuss. There was a very nice atmosphere generally . Everything was of a very high standard . I would stongly recommend it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    It was an "old fashioned" hotel with excellent (if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    First night was a bit of a disaster. If stating at a hotel any length of time and arriving late the first night I usually book a 'standard' room and then pay for an upgrade to a suite the next day when relaxed and one can also view the accommodation first. Around the entire world at this level of hotel it has been an excellent solution with a suite always available. On arriving at the hotel in the evening we were escorted to Room 119 saying we had been"upgraded" to a room with a balcony. This was the worst hotel room I have ever had in my life! Should have been used as a store room as was made out of a corner and was like a dungeon, no light and really depressing. Had a terrible nights sleep. Management agreed to move us the next morning to a room of the same category (I had not got as far as saying I would pay for a suite) so asked to look at it. It was more than adequate albeit at the back of the hotel overlooking a road, but was quiet. I did not feel like paying more as I felt we had been somewhat taken for a ride the first night (at £340 per night for the standard room.) I would also add that even at 5* level where one expects high prices, both the food (although excellent) and drinks prices were exorbitant.

    It was an "old fashioned" hotel with excellent (if slow) service. Pace overall was therefore "slow" = restful and easy to relax. Great swimming pool filled with sea water but crystal clear. All us oldies doing lots of real swimming lengths.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Classic Retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit limited staff were disinterested and coffee was limited to drip-olator type.

    Great Location Classic European property with excellent dining and service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.1
    Luxurious hotel in superb location but hampered by low staffing in the 'off' season (October-May)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Terrace and Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not realize that early May would be effectivelly mid-winter! Main desk staff were very helpful and pleasant. Occupancy was very low and service staff very few - thus service was frequently slow (even disappeared) in the bar dining area. Dining options were few (2); the bar dining area had a very limited menu; conversely the gourmet dining had a good menu but the dishes were not up to the expected standard - more of a place to be seen rather than to enjoy good food. In contrast the breakfast-room was superbly appointed and staff and breakfasts excellent.

    Rooms very pleasant and hotel very well appointed with a county-house ambience. Gardens and grounds are lovely as is the swimming pool. One of the most pleasant aspects it the location near the headland and the great care that went into designing (1920s-40s I believe) and conserving the whole headland community - beautiful classically inspired architecture, wonderful tree-shaded coastal footpath, uniquely informative information points on the local geology and wonderful views.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    Seamless experience from start to finish; as a solo parent with three children - impecable y gracias
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children) with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    Your welcome was very warm and friendly and you all remained faithful to that initial impression right to the end of our stay. We were visiting the area to rendez-vous with Catalunyan friends with similarly aged children and after having spent time on the beach on the first morning, followed by lunch, I suggested we all visit the pool at your hotel. My children were impatient so Antonie and Emilie went ahead with Julia and Laura to ask permission, which was graciously granted by the same reception staff, as well as swim towels being offered. This was an altogether very welcome and appreciated gesture since it allowed the children of both families to spend more time together. Of course our children were respectful towards other guests in and around the pool. My 5 year old son loved the fact that there was a bath in our room and not only a shower so he could extend his play with his boat. We enjoyed everything to do with your hotel, thank you so much! Best regards, Michael Grant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace and Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lumpy bed

    Walking path

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    It was all in all a magnificent stay...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    Good but it can be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you pretend to be a Michelin star restaurant you should serve all there meals at once..

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Devil is in the details..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for shower in morning. Restaurant somewhat dated regarding food offering.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    10
    overall location and hotel is perfect;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    overall location and hotel is perfect; would have loved to stay more than a few days: service, pool, location, breakfast, really everything is top class

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    10
    Hotel rooms, staff, food, the beautiful walk that leads to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only thing we did not like about Hostel de la Gavina was having to leave on our check out date. The Hotel is beautiful, the staff is attentive, the food is delicious. Yes it is very expensive, but it is well worth the value.

    Hotel rooms, staff, food, the beautiful walk that leads to the beach to the north. All is good at La Gavina!

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.6
    Location is unbeatable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel provided a car to pick us up at the airport - all worked perfectly except he drove so fast I was stressed out when I got at the hotel

    Location is unbeatable. The views unmatched. Unhurried and relaxed. We stayed in a suite with a great view from the balcony. The bed was enormous and comfortable. The decor is not modern but it all added to the relaxed feel

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    8.3
    location was beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    casual dinner, ordered hamburger with fries, never got fries, even though they had a english menu, the staff could not understand the english order. i complained at check out and they modifed bill. 80 euro for a hamburger and salad-wow

    location was beautiful

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    7.1
    The service provided was very good and of high standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No bad experience more than the price of the room was too high for what it was. Super deluxe standard was not quite reached.

    The service provided was very good and of high standard. Breakfast excellent and inclusive in the room rate.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    7.1
    pretty position lovely grounds and building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    service was very poor ... staff were young and hopeless with no idea how to look after their guests

    pretty position lovely grounds and building

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    Beautiful grounds, excellent restaurants and a pool that is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful grounds, excellent restaurants and a pool that is top grade.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    7.1
    Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool area is badly managed, the bar closes early

    Food

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    9.6
    Attention to detail -nothing too much trouble
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience

    Attention to detail -nothing too much trouble

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    10
    Ambience, décor and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Ambience, décor and service. Everything.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: