Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal del Pez Azul 3 stars

Pez, 9, Madrid City Centre, 28004 Madrid, Spain

#89 of 372 B&Bs and Inns in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 318 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    A nice location and very comfortable with easy access to all Madrid has to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the location was quite noisy and rather difficult to initially locate, no-one answered the door when we initially arrived so there was a delay getting into the room even though we waited until after the check in time specified on the booking paperwork . Although I had booked a Double room we were given a Twin.

    We liked the location of the Hostel and the proximity to the centre of Madrid and the network of Metro stations within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Hostel is highly recommended and my stay in Madrid was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet (wifi) was very slow and bad. Although noise from the street you can`t hear, noise all around room is to much at some point (from people in other rooms).

    Location is PERFECT. Everything what you need was around and on foot. Room was clean, bathroom also, Stuff helpful and polite. Would highly recommend place and if I go again in Madrid will stay there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Not bad at all.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not bad at all. The owners are kind and helpful. The room is comfortable enough except for the minuscule bathroom (there's a bigger one, to be shared with other guests, if you don't mind sharing a bathroom). Generally, you can't do much better for the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, Madrid is wonderful, WI-FI upgrade needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wi-Fi Connection was very weak. This way, did not find out that return flight was delayed, and was not able to pick up luggage in time, for final destination.

    Location is EXCELLENT, owners are very nice, close to San Antonio de los Alemanes Church (opens at 10 am), and the Gran Via (cross this to get to the Corte Inglés). Keep going on the Calle del Carmen at 17 for breakfast (wonderful orange juice & churros). This street will take you to the Puerta del Sol. Make a right on the Calle Mayor, in order to get to the Plaza Mayor. Back at the Gran Via, look for a kiosk to buy the City Tour bus tickets, and at the blue bus stop wait for the hop on and hop off bus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Nice complete room with all facilities you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is a bit dark. You need the light on during the day.

    The room is very close to Gran Via. It is also very quiet in the room, no noise from outside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    Great for short breaks spent in the heart of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel can be a little hard to find and noisey at times with people going up and down the shared stairwell. I was next to it so it may not be an issue for other rooms. Look for the double glass along the street, the doorway is there.

    Great friendly staff, very helpful and in a good location for tourist visits. I would happily stay there again if I am in Madrid.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    Simple but comfortable enough and quiet place in the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had to open windows periodically to ventilate the room

    Simple but comfortable enough and quiet place in the city center near Gran Via and Plaza de Espana. Great friendly owners. Comfortable beds, air condition as a heater. There are a lot places nearby to have breakfast or dinner or drink.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Very good location, close to main attractions and 5min walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was poor in a room, also once even though we left note on the door we don't want room to be cleaned it still was done, very eager I guess :)

    Very good location, close to main attractions and 5min walk from underground station, nice, friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Friendly, clean, comfortable, central
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wi-fi was a bit problematic at times.

    Excellent friendly, clean, comfortable hostal. The cafe/bar next door is no longer quite so good (it has gone a bit too upmarket for my taste) but there is plenty of choice within easy walking. Also only a short walk from the Metro (I think Noviciado is the closest). The neighbourhood (Malasaña) is either vibrant or a bit noisy according to one's point of view, but it is very central.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    The owners are lovable couple, location is just excellent,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owners are lovable couple, location is just excellent, and it was super comfortable and clean. The room was equipped with very big wardrobe and with really efficient air-con device. I will definitely go back there when staying next time in Madrid.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Hostal Pez Azul
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could be a bit more clean, the room is small but comfortable.

    Location is perfect in the centre, it's very easy to reach the most important places by foot and there's underground just 3 minutes walking, staff is nice and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.6
    We booked parking at €18 per 24 hours .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea/coffee making facilities would have been good.

    We booked parking at €18 per 24 hours .. a good rate for centre of Madrid. Due to health issues we had to leave a day early ... the owner insisted that the parking be free as we'd already paid for the night. Excellent service!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    6.3
    Good location, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the room was much smaller than pictures on the webpage. Additionally my room was completely out of style and incomparably uglier than shown of the pictures available. The host had charged my card without given consent. English level was mediocre and communication was very poor

    Good location, clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    7.9
    A very decent place to stay near the centre of Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is pretty small. Because it was near the entrance you do hear all the noise of people buzzing in and talking.

    The owner is very nice and accommodating. The room he initially gave me didn't have wifi signal and after I stressed how important it was for me, he moved me to another room with good signal.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.6
    Clean, simple, excellent location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Key in the safe was a bit sticky - had to work hard sometimes thinking what do I do if it doesn't open.

    Shower - fantastic, clean room, location and ample for my stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    10
    I recomand this hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's in the heart of Madrid. It's more like a hotel than a hostel. It's clean. The staff is very friendly. We'll stay here again for sure! :-) Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    Great time in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hosts were very friendly although their english is not very good but we managed to understand each other. Lady did an excellent job cleaning the room and bathroom every day, also the towels were changed every day. I really like the location. The Hostal is located in Malasana area of Madrid with lots and lots of little caffes, fast food places and other stores that come alive when the sun goes down. Really great place for young people (and others) to stay !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    The room was neat, nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was neat, nice. The staff was create! We feel like home. I recommended 100% lots of alimentación or small grocery store

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Great location at an affordable price.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wi-fi was a bit spotty.

    Clean and comfortable room, amazing location, friendly staff, great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Small spaces for room and bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Small spaces for room and bath

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    O
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    O

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    great bed and pillow!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    great bed and pillow!!!!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice place but small rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, you would struggle with 2 people in a double room.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Very good location, in the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location, in the heart of the city. Very kind host.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so quiet

    The location is the best

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N /A

    Extremely clean and tidy. Very helpful hostess and vert kind.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel in the top centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wooden floor is very noisy. The room is too small.

    The staff was very friendly and ready to help in everything. The room is very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    Clean and good price performance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The toilet with shower was a little small, had to squeeze in to the sitting position.

    The lady owner was very kind.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    5.4
    Boaring hostel at happening place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find the hostal and feels insecured in the hostal . Very lonely inside the building

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.1
    Clean, and comfortable but rooms are very small
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very small

    Clean rooms, great location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    9.6
    Great place - will return there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old bedcovers, creaky stairs.

    Great location, friendly staff, clean and decent room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    8.3
    - Awesome location, in the heart of the city, really close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - The room was really small, i mean really small - Too much noise sometime, when the guests came back to hotel and in the mornings on reception

    - Awesome location, in the heart of the city, really close to Puerta del Sol and Gran Via - Very friendly owner couple, even they dont speaking english, very friendly and helpful - Near Metro station (Callao) - Room was clean

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    6.3
    Location was good, easy to walk everywhere and loads of bars...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room and bed were quite small and there was a bit too much noise in the hostel in the mornings from the reception. Paid for a small outdoor space but we didn't get that.

    Location was good, easy to walk everywhere and loads of bars, shops and restaurants around.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    7.5
    Our visit was late May/early June 2015.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't get locked out! Access to the 3rd floor room that we stayed in required a total of three keys: a key to open the door immediately off the street, a key to open the door to the floor containing our room, and a key to the room itself. Although the pleasant woman owner/manager demonstrated how to unlock "door #2", it turns out that door had a trick "pull" that must be executed at the same time the key throws the latch, by pulling hard on a knob centered in the door. On our first night, returning to the room at midnight, we did not know the "trick". We were locked out! We rang the Pez Azul doorbell to no avail. We called the Pez Azul phone to no avail and the answering machine did not pick up. In desperation, after many tries, we somehow accidentally discovered the "pull" motion, and were able to enter the floor. The street key and the room keys always worked. Our host explained the next day that she had gone out for the evening and her answering machine had no battery (though that would have done us no good!). The lesson here is try all keys several times with the host before leaving!

    Our visit was late May/early June 2015. Hostal del Pez Azul is on a busy, urban street; part of a larger building, which contained commercial and other residences. Our particular room was on the 3rd floor, and we walked up, although there is an elevator. It is near a Metro stop, which was less than a 10 minute walk. We literally rolled our suitcases behind us as we walked there from a Metro from the Atocha train station to arrive. The owner/manager greeted us warmly and provided good local advice on places to visit, etc. We speak a little Spanish, which was helpful. We never saw or heard any other guests our entire 3 day/night stay, but we only came back at nights. Our room and bathroom were quite small, similar to a college dorm room, modernly furnished, with A/C and a TV, neither used by us. A window opened on an interior courtyard, with a quaint view of other tenants drying clothes, flower pots in windows, and general distant sounds of laughter and the pleasant smell of cooking. We enjoyed this sense of urban living and it enhanced our understanding of Madrid city dwelling. It is not fancy, but comfortable and adequate. Comparing a stay in Cordoba that preceded, we felt the price per night in Pez Azul was a bit high for this room, by 10-20 Euros, but that could reflect a "big city cost of living differential". Both the owner/manager and the strangers we met on the streets gave us a great deal of appreciation for Spaniards hospitality and friendliness in the heart of a huge city.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    8.8
    Awesome location - walking distance from everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy - soundproofing needs work you can hear everything through the door.

    Awesome location - walking distance from everything interesting. Relatively fast internet access - fit for streaming and skype but not all the time.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    8.3
    It is basically a good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is quite small and the people in the other rooms are very much audible. No window to the street, only to a courtyard, so you only want to sleep in the room.

    It is basically a good place to stay. Very good neighborhood with lots of bars and easy access to the city. The room is clean an the woman at the reception is very nice.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    The manager of this hotel was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, the room was great.

    The manager of this hotel was very friendly and helpful. The room had air conditioning and a refrigerator. The shower had great water pressure. We travelled with three people and this hotel was able to accommodate us all in the same room. The location is very convenient as well.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    8.8
    I liked the hospitality of the owners the most and also,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didn't like that the walls of the rooms are not soundproofed, so when you speak with someone in your room you can easily be heard by every guest in this hostel.

    I liked the hospitality of the owners the most and also, they were cleaning the rooms every morning and always provided new towels.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    9.6
    location is awesome, you can go everywhere in the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    wifi is not so good, it goes off from time to time.

    location is awesome, you can go everywhere in the city centre on foot. Hostel is very clean and the lady is a very nice and smart person.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    6.3
    Location and cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room & double bed too small. First night very noisy as hosts got the room next to us ready at approx. 10 - 11 PM.

    Location and cleanliness. Host very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.6
    In the city center (near Plaza de Espana metro station, 5-mn...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    In the city center (near Plaza de Espana metro station, 5-mn walk). Very quiet and clean hotel. Unexpensive. Friendly manager (Angela Sanchez).

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    8.8
    very friendly host lady, clean room, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    none

    very friendly host lady, clean room, great location

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    10
    Very friendly owners and very accommodating, nothing was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nada

    Very friendly owners and very accommodating, nothing was a trouble for them, very central, will recommend

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.2
    Clean and very confortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean and very confortable room. Very quiet despite beeing located in a area with many bars. Very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    5.8
    Near the metro station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very dirty. The toilet paper, the bed sheet and cover.

    Near the metro station

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    10
    The location, cleanliness and helpful, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints

    The location, cleanliness and helpful, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    9.2
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Location. Staff. Excelent

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    7.9
    The owner couple is so friendly and nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The owner couple is so friendly and nice!

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    7.5
    Excellent hospitality from the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent hospitality from the staff

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    9.6
    Nice location, clean and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice location, clean and tidy

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    10
    Excellent location in old downtown, nice and attentive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent location in old downtown, nice and attentive owners. No complains

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    9.6
    Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel is a single storey in a building. No lift, you have to use the stairs to the first floor.

    Staff. Cleanliness. In the heart of the city.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    8.3
    Gentillesse
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tv

    Gentillesse

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    6.7
    A third bed was squeezed into a room that should only have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A third bed was squeezed into a room that should only have two.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    9.2
    Clean, nice personel, super localisation, good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean, nice personel, super localisation, good price

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    7.1
    i like the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing for me everything is ok

    i like the location the clean room

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    9.2
    Position of the Hostal, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Position of the Hostal, clean

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    8.8
    The walls are thin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walls are thin. You can hear everything from the other rooms and doorway.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    8.8
    Friendly stuff, good location, new furniture in bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    In the room near the door was very noisy, you can hear every visitor comes and goes.

    Friendly stuff, good location, new furniture in bathroom

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: