Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa de Huespedes Dolce Vita

San Bartolome, 4, Madrid City Centre, 28004 Madrid, Spain

#143 of 372 B&Bs and Inns in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1713 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small breakfast area, no lift :)

    Clean, great staff, comfortable, quite.. really nice place. Didn't image how nice and quite it was, it is a noise area, that is why... really recommend this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The recepcion lady told me I couldn't have any guests in the morning, afternoon, evening or night. This is something I do not really appreciate because I may be in the mood to meet my friends outside the hotel but sometimes I would like to have a guest in the room for a coffee. I do not like being restricted.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The building is old, and has some issues related to its age. The accommodation is at the top floor and the steps are worn and there are a lot of them - therefore not suitable for somebody with bad legs. The room has "atmospheric" lighting and it's quite dark, therefore not the best for somebody with a poor eye sight. There are some issues with plumbing, again to do with the age of the building. However, the building has character and the little flaws are understandable.

    Excellent location, good breakfast, good value for money. The shuttle service to the airport (priced at 31e per person) was excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great deal for a 3 night stay in Madrid. Insanely good location convenient walking distance to everything you would want in the old town. Very helpful staff. Super clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everybody is complaining about the stairs. I didn't have any problems with the stairs. Just normal stairs, not dangerous at all. Of course, it will not be suitable for someone with disabilities. But in all other cases, you should be okay.

    Location is great, just a few minutes from Gran Via. You will not need to use metro at all. I stayed in a single room with shared bathroom. What was cool is that there was a washbasin in the room. So you can wash your face, brush your teeth without waiting for the shared bathroom to be free. The room was cleaned every day and the towels were changed every second day. There were shampoo and shower gel available. And the room itself, the bathroom, the linens were nice and clean. The breakfast was buffet style, mostly sweet stuff, also coffee, tea, milk, juices. If you prefer to have a healthy breakfast don't worry. You can choose unsweetened yogurt, muesli and some fruits. Staff was nice, understood English well. I didn't hear much noise from outside with the balcony doors closed. But I did hear noise/voices from the other rooms as the walls were quite thin. I would definitely choose this hostel again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few more choices on the breakfast menu. i.e. a selection of fruit.

    Absolutely value for money for the facilities on offer and the excellent location. The stairs were meant to be a problem but we didn’t find them too bad.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only small inconvenience for me was that there´s no elevator in the building and, depending on the size of your luggage, getting to the 4th floor can be more or less of a struggle =)

    Super friendly staff, very helpful and efficient. Very comfortable individual room, small size doesn´t cause any inconvenience, nice design which I dind´t expect to find gives it a cozy touch. Everything in the room is in good condition. Very good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator and it’s on the 4th floor (the floor in which you enter is considered 0, so the “3rd floor” is actually on the 4th level.)

    Spacious. Great location. Nice and attentive staff. Luggage hold.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not believe this property gained an 8.4 rating. It was on a sketchy street next to a gay fetish bar. Very difficult to find with a huge locked iron door and no instructions as to how to get inside. Finally a family came out and I was able to enter. The rickety six flights of stairs were very challenging to navigate with luggage, and the place was extremely old and run down. It did seem clean, and I did look at the room before I accepted the reservation because I was so tired and cold I could not think of trying to get another place for that night. The lights in the three pink plastic daisy flowers on the wall shorted out leaving only a desk lamp and the bathroom light to navigate by. The TV was attached to the wall mount with packing tape. The Booking.com ad mentioned laundry service available at extra charge. The laundry is many blocks away. I left early in the morning and didn’t even bother to ask for a refund. I certainly could not recommend this place and I’m shocked that anyone has in the past

    The staff person at the reception desk was friendly and spoke English very well. He tried to be helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was a disappointment. There was not even always enough bread for everybody and it seemed that nobody cared if it's enough or not - it was like a competition - who grabs what first. There wasn't any meat or cheese, which is usually typical for any breakfast. Another strange thing was that at the reception they couldn't exactly tell me where the bus stop to the airport was (at Cibeles roundabout), which I suppose is one of the most frequent questions asked by tourists, and the exact answer just makes your stay so much easier and less nerve-breaking when it comes to getting to the airport and then asking everybody at the spot who don't speak English where this needed stop is out of some ten of them.

    The room was very cozy, excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    because there is not lift ....they are stairs after a day shopping the only thing you would not want is go up all the stairs

    for the money we have pay its good we can not pretend nothing special

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wall in my room was very thin. I could hear my neighbor's voice, alarm clock sounds, and even cell phone text messages receving sounds.

    convenient location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of stairs- old and uncomfortable.

    It is the ideal place to visit the most important places in Madrid. The hostel is very cosy and pleasant. I think I will come back there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel has no lift and it is at the fourth floor. Also, tgis in an old buildingwith central heating and therefore the room wasfairly cold for most of the time. Also, the coffee provided for breakfast wasof poor quality.

    The location was excellent!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no elevator so it was a bit hard to carry the luggage. Be careful when pressing the call button from the door because I got scolded for pressing the wrong one (another hostal one floor below). Breakfast place was really small and you might have to come back a number of time before you get a seat. Internet is not good either.

    The property is close the to city center especially in plaza del sol. There are also a number of food stalls and restaurants nearby including Dia grocery store. The room was clean and the staff was welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude when we wanted to have coffee they said it's closed and we informed them just want to take hot water as we were carrying our own coffee n creamer. Rooms on level three difficult to lift heavy bags as there is no elevator.

    Clean Rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Found a used condom casing on the floor. Third floor, rickety staircase - no elevator. Very tight corridors and small doors. Bad soundproofing.

    Great location. Good value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only negative is that the walls are very thin, so if you're a light sleeper bring your earplugs!

    Excellent hostel! The breakfast was lovely, the bed comfy, the wifi worked and the location is amazing. Right next to two plazas and a lovely market, lots of nice restaurants and bars around too. Staff are really friendly and speak some English.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Poor sound insulation - you can hear people talking from other rooms and corridor; and you can hear other people's alarms ringing early in the morning, which is very frustrating if you want to rest. Wifi interrupting. I was upset by the staff for not letting my friend in my room for a few minutes, which I think it was totally stupid - and will never book here again!

    The only good thing about this place is the location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thin walls, need to get earplug for light sleeper. The location is a bit away from the attractions

    Staff is nice, room is great, and breakfast is okay. Room with a sink, heater, balcony and TV. Good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is not an elevator and it's difficult if you have heavy bags. You can hear your neighbours from the next to you, rooms. Also, there is an indiscriminate cleaner. I closed my travel bag to the end with the zipp, and after when I came to my room, the zipp was half-half opened.

    Very good location. The staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a dissapointment. The dinner room is too small, so I had to wait quite a time to finally have breakfast sharing a dirty table -even it was Sunday morning around 9.30 am. They do not have any veggie milk nor fresh toasts.

    The staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we didnt like our room was 5th floor nd no lift,we have to go by stairs.our age is 70yrs nd 64yrs other wise it was very good near the center only 50mtrs so we seen every thing by walking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    4th floor without elevator, old wooden stairs. old fashion decoration.

    Good location:close to the metro chueca. Clean and conf. rooms. air conditioning. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room: old furniture, the toilet was a new built-in thermopane one which didnt match the rest of the room (which was very small anyway). The room view was disappointing as you couldnt see anything (back of the building) The noise from the people above and from whomever was passing by our door. The breakfast didnt include vegetables or eggs or any other protein except butter: Butter, jam, cofee, milk, some pastry and cereals.and you have to take a lot of stairs which sounds healthy, but very hard when you have luggages to carry. Not child friendly place to stay.

    The staff was very nice and the property is close to center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls of the rooms are paper thin, I have heard everything from the two adjacent rooms, which was very annoying - without ear plugs it would be impossible to sleep. The room was tiny and the bathroom was in fact built into the middle of the room - so half of its (very limited) space is occupied with a plexi cubicle where the shower and toilet are located... The look of the room was very basic and hostel-like - so although its quite good value for money (taking into account the location of the place etc), next time I would rather pay a little more and get something at least a little nicer. The breakfast is very limited (but again, you should not expect too much for this price).

    The location is very good, 5 mins from two metro stops, in the very heart of Madrid. The room was clean and cleaned every day, they did some effort to decorate it and make it look OK, although the building is obviously old and not fully renovated. The staff were nice and helpful, they waited for me to check-in although I arrived around midnight and the check-in was foreseen until 23.00. It was warm inside the room (important since we are in the late November!)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are 72 steps to climb every time you come back to your accommodation. The more you go out, the more weight you lose! I did not mind the stairs, but it is not for everyone.

    Location is excellent. The whole center of the city is within walking range. Lots of facilities , attractions and shops are nearby. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The premises were warm and were kept very clean. You get some nice coffee and a continental breakfast with oj to set you up in the morning before you go out seeing the sights and enjoying the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sound-proofing is extremely inadequate, and it is not easy to sleep well. I am not a light sleeper at all, but the bathroom especially lacks reasonable sound-proofing.

    The decorations are very nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Staff not that friendly.. exept of one. You have to go to the 3 floor from the stairs... breakfast was NOTHING they buy things from DIA Supermarket. Was clean but.... the staff did a lot of noise doing stuff... if i visit madrid again i will try somewhere else...

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location of the apartment can be a problem for those easily annoyed by noises on the street, as the neighborhood is very lively at night. Breakfast was good but it started too late (8:30).

    The location of the appartment is very good. Close to the center of Madrid and also very easy to reach by public transportation. Also it is very close to some lively night zones. I was provided with a double bed although I only reserved a single room, very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tight room and bathroom but acceptable Breakfast was too little comparing to our culture, but this is Spain

    Clean room Near the city centre and very close to the metro station Kind personnel Useful maps and guides of madrid at the reception

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    the location is great, the decoration makes average rooms look beautiful and the free breakfast is a nice addition. really helpful and nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would have helped if made aware that reception was on the third floor of a building with no lift. Whilst it didn't really detract from the overall enjoyment of the trip it's certainly something which might have made me think twice before booking.

    The staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly. The location of the property couldn't be much better. Two minutes walk to the nearest Metro station and only a ten minute walk to Sol and Plaza Mayor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The street is very loud but with closed balcony I didn't have any problems with sleeping.

    The staff was super nice, speaking both English and Spanish. Location is perfect because you can walk to most of the museums and other interesting places. Metro station is very near. Very good breakfast: there was coffee, muesli, cookies, croissants, yogurt, toasts, tomato sauce and fruits available. The room was small but had everything I needed (table, balcony, towels, shampoo etc.)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was okay-ish. I appreciate that they offer something to eat, as it is not too common in such places. A lot of pre-packed snacks were served, in addition to coffee, tea, milk and juice. The breakfast room is very small; you may need to wait in line. The walls are very thin, so you can hear the neighbors but also people in the main hallway.

    The rooms were surprisingly large and had everything you needed. We had a sink in our room, and a separate private shower and toilet. A blow dryer can be picked up at the reception. A late check-in was possible, but make sure to inform the staff in advance. To find the property, look for a pink sign stating 'Dolcevita'. There are quite some stairs to use, so if you have issues with that, you should skip this place. The location is great. It is close to the city center and easily reachable from the airport using public transportation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Six flights of tricky stairs. Could be dangerous. Breakfast room was only the size of a large cupboard which got cosy when it was busy. Also the communal shower room was very compact but everything worked.

    Clean,comfortable, great value hostel. Satisfactory breakfast.comfortable bed, hot water. Would stay again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3rd floor with no lift, and u need to mind the steps, since they're very old.

    Great value. Great location, near 2 metro stations and the Gran Via. The bedroom was large and clean. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Third floor without elevator, very steep and narrow stairs, no air-condition, only ceiling ventilator, very basic breakfast in very small room, window view only to the opposite room, distance cca. 2m.

    Location and price, proximity to public underground parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no air conditioning but i knew this before arriving

    location was amazing and its a cute little place, the staff are AMAZING! you get your own key for the main door to the building so you dont have to bother anyone when coming in late to get access. i had a single room with shared bathroom, i had a tv in the room which was good for music channels, the room had a sink which was handy for brushing my teeth, washing etc. i would stay here again 100%. considering the central location, i found the place to be quiet, no problems with noise at all

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    better breakfast and a proper storage room for suitcases that are left to be picked later

    STaff were ok room looked like entering in a whorehouse had to climb nearly 100 steps to reach room no lift ,bath a joke!!as big as a wash hand basin breakfast a bigger joke not even a toast smallest pieces of bread I have ever seen !!!!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    3 floor and there wasn't lift. So if you have heavy bags, it is hard to pick them up there.

    The most friendly and helpful staff I have ever met. The man at the reception was super. Breakfast was without meat, eags, cheese. But a lot of beakery, was a cofee, tea, orange juice, jogurt.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being told by the guy in reception the rules e.g. Don't use towels to take off make up. I felt like I was on a school trip! Also the room felt like a prison cell, small, cramped with a very tiny window and very little natural light. The fitted shower smell musty:

    Nice girl on reception very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like that breakfast starts so late (8:30am). Be careful on the climb up the stairs (there's no lift): they are old, uneven, and slippery! (Older guests and those with heavy luggage may find this to be a problem.)

    I really appreciate the double window, which actually does soundproof the room from the many noises emanating from the busy street below. However, the walls and door are quite thin, so there's always a bit of noise from other guests. The ceiling fan was a life-saver during the August heatwave! Although breakfast is the typical continental affair you'd expect, there was fresh fruit and muesli provided. Wi-Fi signal was good, the shower was roomy, and the bed--though small--was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked an air conditioned room, but didn't get one. Management told me that only one room had air conditioning and since someone else was already there, they couldn't accommodate us.

    Location was excellent!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and accomadating reception staff. Rooms were super clean, and a good size. The location is perfect for visiting the Chueca district and the rest of the city. No real noise issues and it is a short stroll to Gran Via and from there most attractions. Breakfast is adequate and tasty. I would recommend this hostel and will stay there again when next in Madrid.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NO proper Air conditioning .. Fans are no good and noisy. 4 flights of stairs .. location of accomodation is not great. No staffing contact point 24 hiurs

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The heat: stuffy rooms with a fan that you are requested to turn off during the day. In no way this can be listed as having AC/ Madrid is hot in the summer. The noise: street full of all night bars, so even though the hotel is quiet, outside there is non stop noise with drunks carrying on loudly all night. You cannot open the windows at night for some air because of the noise. Staff: I did not feel comfortable asking for any kind of info as their English was minimal , they did not seem to want to have much to do with guests. Third floor (6 set of stairs ) no lift.

    the price , and close to center BUT- very noisy, all night !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hostel is located on the fourth floor and the stairs are rather steep. It is hard to transport heavy suitcases if one is travelling alone. The breakfast had yogurt and cereal which is nice but lacked something more substantial (to my taste :)), something like cheese and ham, or fruit.

    The staff is at the reception until 23:30. It is possible to leave the luggage for the day after check out and pick it up late at night. The neighbourhood is fantastic, the location - very convenient. It seems that the house itself is rather old so it has its own "character". :) It is great that breakfast is available until 11:00.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe a bit pricey for what it was - a small room with a shared bathroom. And the 3 flights of stairs were very unforgiving!

    Really friendly, helpful staff (even put up with my poor Spanish!) Super-clean room. A great base to explore this colourful quarter of Madrid (although we came to see Aerosmith).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night I stayed in one room that had a hard pillow, at least according to my preference. Because the next day I was switching to a room upgrade with bathroom, I didn't mention it in that moment. The next room had a better pillow. I did mention this as I was checking out. Of course they could have switched the pillow on the first day if I had said something. The walls between rooms are thin but, during my stay, other clients seemed respectful and aware. I can imagine it would be challenging if someone chose not to consider others. The place is a third floor walk-up which you will notice when you are lugging things up or down.

    The staff was exceptional and very nice. Everything was spotless. The breakfast was included and the staff were very attentive to keeping everything clean, even the little drips from the coffee from the messy guests. They called me a taxi when I checked out and helped me carry some of my luggage. Really great customer service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I knew that it was a 4 story walkup. I had a heavy suitcase and a few other bags that I brought up by myself. By the time that I reached the top I was drenched in sweat. The staff barely speaks English although they tried. Lighting was barely there, could use a real ceiling light instead of those butterflies on the wall.

    I was actually surprised by how clean it was especially the bathroom area. I'm happy that I had my own private bathroom in my room. Location is topnotch, very close to the metro and every thing that you want to see in Madrid center. Breakfast was also good for being included in the price. How much I paid for my stay was excellent compared to other properties that I checked in the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was not negative for us, but I could imagine that someone might bother the really tiny bathroom and walking 3 floors up by stairs. Some people outside on the streets were loud at night, but that's no point to blame the hotel for.

    Nice location, friendly staff, the possibility of checking in late at night, everything is clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel is in the 3rd floor of a very old building with wooden steps, very very hard specially if you are carrying massive luggages

    Location is nice, breakfast is ok, wifi is good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accommodation is on the 3rd Floor & getting there by wooden steps is very hard Breakfast is not that good, very basic. The property is in an area of Gay Clubs, but didn't find much concern because the same. Rooms without A/C. During our stay we didn't had much concern as the climate was good. It may be difficult if you visit in summer

    Casa de Huespedes Dolce Vita is in Good Location. Room was clean Shared Toilet was also clean. Easy access to public transport and major city attractions within walking distance. Staff speaks English.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many stairs to get to the apartament and to your room. Might not be suitable for some people.

    Excellent location and comodities. Good service and breaksfat.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it was very hot inside the room at night and very loudly outside for eg. if you want to keep open window - it is impossible to sleep, no tv channel in English, staff almost don't speak English, breakfast is only for sweet tooth.

    great location, clean room, good price for staying in the city centre

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is on 4th floor and there is no lift. so be aware if you have lot of luggage or travelling with young kids.

    Clean rooms, Tastefully decorated and well managed. Staff is friendly as well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent little hostal, staff were very friendly and helpful. My room had just been refurbished and was really nice. Great location too. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bad was very small and not comfortable for a young couple. We were surprised by tiny room. The breakfast was very poor.

    It is generally not easy to find valuable accommodation in the city centre of Madrid. This hostel has a great location near Gran Vía and close to all major sights. The staff was helpful but obviously overworked. I cannot really write any positive feedback.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My room was the tiniest ever. And most basic I've ever had. The bigger problem are thin walls. You can hear everything that is happening in the room next to you. If not lucky with the neighbors it can be painful.

    Excellent location, close proximity to all the attractions in the city. Clean room, free very basic breakfast, nice stuff. If windows are closed you can't hear any noise from the street. Overall good value for the money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't a lift which wasn't a problem for me but it might be for some.

    The staff were so helpful and friendly and the location fantastic. It's in a vibrant area but you can't hear anything from the rooms. It was so clean too and the bed was really comfortable. They also lent me a hairdryer! I had a lovely stay and would definitely go back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hostal is a short walk from Sevilla and Grand Via metro stations so it's easy to connect with the airport and railway stations. The room was small but comfortable, on the 3rd floor of a secure building (no lift). Staff were friendly and helpful. A simple but tasty breakfast is offered each morning. I was able to leave my luggage before checking in and again after checking out to take full advantage of the early flight to Madrid and late flight home.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst?..,....parking! If you cam with car you will pay a lot! If you are not "young and restless" and you have a medium or big suitcases with you the 3 floor will be a challenge because there will be no elevator. And this stares up and down you will get every time when you go out or return. Breakfast- for students - super ok, for other ....... to many sweets. If is cold outside (0-4 degrees) will be cold inside too.

    Close to many turistic attractions. You are in the middle of Madrid. The info on the web page was a realistic description of what you will find when you will arrive. A lot of bars, music, shops, supermarkets near. Confortable and clean room. Safe zone. The personal are courteous and offer you a lot of good info to discover Madrid or to have a good shopping day!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Much too noisy!! Everything too old, wardrobe with smell and to cold in the room and even colder in the bathroom. Shower space very small and shower broken. To noisy between rooms.

    Exelent location. Very confortable bed, good sleeping and sex. Breakfast good but poor.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have done with decorating but it was very clean so not too much of a problem. Some cheese and ham with breakfast would have been good - but nearby market had a huge selection at good prices so you could always take your own down to breakfast.

    The location was excellent - you are right in the heart of the City and everything is within walking distance. The reception staff were really friendly and helpful and despite our lack of being able to talk in Spanish they were able to understand us! (our fault not theirs). The hostel was clean and tidy. Breakfast was plentiful and they kept replenishing stocks. Really impressed in view of the price!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room bathroom- had to almost get into shower to close door! Room also bit smelly.

    Lovely big family room not far from 2 metro stations and lots to do nearby. Great priced hotel for centre of Madrid.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no lift. I had to carry my bag six flight of stairs. It was a bit cold at times in the room.

    The location is fantastic. It is very near train stations and the city centre. Also it was a 10 mins walk to the express airport bus stop. The staff was great. They were very helpful. The rooms were always kept clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms a little small, TV didn't work, noisy fellow guests at 2am.

    Great value, very central location, friendly staff, decent continental breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no lift, so it's problematic for guests with heavy baggage. The area is a noisy area with a lot of pubs and restaurants, so , it can be problematic for the people looking for quiet.

    Perfect location, clean & renovated rooms,very very friendly personal and even breakfast for such price))

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's a small space, but so is everything in this area, I would assume.

    Outstanding location, great breakfast, good wifi, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift and three flights of stairs!

    The decoration, the details like putting decent shampoo and shower gel in the shower, the christmas tree outside, the receptionist helped me with my luggage down the stairs. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi connection was unstable and slow ... breakfast was ok ... self-service

    well situated ... in a lively neighborhood ... close to Metro Chueca and Gran Via ... staff is friendly ... decor is kitsch but clean... beds are very comfortable

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    7 flights of stairs to our room and no lift. However, it was good for the exercise. We didn't realise when we booked that we were literally next door to Madrid's fetish and leather club, perfect if you wish to visit!.

    Beautiful building. We had the room in the attic which was rather compact, but very functional. The breakfast was average but good value for what we paid. Roof terrace was very pretty.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit small for two people but we managed. Only other thing was no English speaking news channel. Not that big a thing really, just like to watch the news in the morning

    Good location, just off of Gran Via. The staff all spoke English, which was a relief as my Spanish is only slightly better than basic. Wifi in all the rooms too. There is a mad fetish club next door, not really my thing but they played banging techno so we went iñ and had a great night, some sights though. Haha! What an experience that was!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Well, the building was ancient (no elevator for a hostel three floors up!), but that's to be expected of Spanish hostels. The walls were paper-thin, and there were two decorative pots outside my window whose poor flowers had long dried up for want of care and turned to straw.

    I liked the warm friendliness of the hotel staff, the unfailing cleanliness and the Almodovaresque decoration. All promised amenities worked perfectly, and though the room was tiny, it had everything a traveler could need. Bonus: it's in the gay district of Madrid, so there was a colorful, multi-culti environment quite close to the city's main sites.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Casa de Huespedes Dolce Vita traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: