Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Europa 1 stars

Boqueria, 18, Ciutat Vella, 08002 Barcelona, Spain

#197 of 281 B&Bs and Inns in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3416 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room only available at 3pm. Terrible furniture but mattress was ok. Had to ask for bathtub plug. Overall presentation.

    Location and quiet room at the back despite being close to Las ramblas.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First ever experience with bed bugs. Didn't kick up a stink at the time - but wow is it expensive, time-consuming, and generally horrible to try and deal with possibly contaminated luggage with jetlag. Dirty, thin walled.

    Bed bugs overrule anything good that could be said about the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really friendly and attentive staff who listened to my needs and adapted the choice of room sensitively and generously. Good and natural conversation about Barcelona and politics (in Spanish). Quiet room, impeccable rooms and shared bathroom, very reasonable price. Many thanks!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hostel location is excellent. In the heart of El Gòtic, near La Rambla, Barceloneta, and public transportation. The staff is super friendly. All of them were very helpful. I was even able to leave my stuff and go around after my checkout with no additional charges. The property is fine. I got a private room, simple and clean, ideal when traveling around. Shared bathroom was okay. Not luxurious at all, but with everything you need and comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bed was terrible in room 208. Mattress was thin/cheap and had a permanent deep sag in middle. Impossible to lay flat or get comfortable. Window opens to small inside ventilation shaft. People in other rooms above smoke and blow it into the shaft so it comes right down into your room. Bathrooms VERY limited -- only 1 per entire floor.

    Great location in heart of old city. A block from La Rambla. Nice friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like anything. The walls were TOO thin. I could hear everything from outside. Not a single minutes sleep. The staff was not very interested in giving a good service. They didn't seem to enjoy their job at all. The rooms were old and dirty and uncomfortable. And another thing. The sign? It's missing letters? How can the staff not fix that?!

    The only thing I liked about this hotel was it's location. Near the city. Everything else was a complete utter joke.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room wasn't very clean and the bathroom was quite old. Furthermore the walls are very thin, so we could clearly hear our room neighbors and people in the corridor.

    Great location and private rooms are cheaper than average hotels price. Our private room was very spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty small bathroom. Access to upper floors with baggage could be a problem for older or corpulent people because the staircase is very narrow.

    Great location for discovering Barcelona. Very nice English speaking staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was quite pricey for a hostel and too uncomfortable for a hotel. Being in the room felt like i was in a jail cell. A friend whom I bumped into stayed at an even better looking B&B within the vicinity. And it was way more affordable.

    The best and only great thing about this place is its location. It is so near the main La Rambla Street and the Metro is within walking distance. If Location is top priority for you and not design or comfort, then this is a good deal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared bathrooms for all the rooms of the floor, but that was kind of part of the charm of it as it made you feel like in a big family house sharing the bathroom with siblings again. We could hear if people were speaking in the hallway.

    Location was great in the heart of the Gothic quarter, really easy to access a lot of stuff: only a short 15mn walk to the beach or even to other parts of the centre. The size of our Twin Room was good and the cleaning was done everyday. The place is old but it’s quite well kept. The staff was always nice and helpful, the reception is open 24h so you can leave the room key at the desk when leaving the building and asking for it again when you’re back. All in all, it was good value for money, knowing that we were here to visit and go to the festival, and we only needed to sleep and shower at the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi upstairs stopped working for 48 hours and no one seemed very concerned about it when I reported it. An essential for a solo traveler that really put a dampener on what would have otherwise been a much better review.

    Location was fabulous, just a short walk from La Ramblas in the heart of the Gothic quarter. Single room was clean, bed comfortable and shower nice and hot. Wifi was good when it worked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit small but we were there just to sleep so it was okay :)

    The location was amazing and the staff was super helpful. I would definitely come back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    n/a

    the balcony/open door area was great to catch the evening sun Bed was comfy Reception staff were super friendly and 24hr so i didn't have responsibility for the key, which was great! really convenient location! next to a brilliant juice bar! ;)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathrooms left a lot to be desired. Also, elevator was very small and creaky.

    Perfect location in the center of everything. Typical hostal, but everything worked okay. Bare bones room, but the bed was comfortable. Worth it for the amazing location and good bargain. Staff was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy but that's because the streets are narrow and the sound outside echoes

    The place is basic but clean, staff were all very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a choice of road noise or noise from the lift as our choice of room, not really a good start.

    The hotel was very convenient but with convenience come night time noise. The position was super and the metro was nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers and toilets were far from the room, but in a hostel you have to deal with this kind of options. It was a last minute booking for’me, so it’ was ok for one night

    The staff is very welcoming, helpful and speaks different languages. The bed is very comfortable (I stayed in a single room with single bed,showers separated).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The initial room was very small and the shared bathroom not very clean, the rooms we got afterwards were excellent.

    The personnel was very helpful, initially we got a room with small twin beds, but then we got a much better room. We very much appreciate the flexibility and openness of the staff to help and accommodate our requests. The location is excellent, even if it could be noisy at night, the wi-fi works very well in the public areas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    However, you can only access the WiFi in the communal area not in your room which is very disappointing. The hostel was quite old although everything was clean, you still feel untidiness

    The hostel is located in the centre of Barcelona which was very convenient to access to the centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom has no shelves or hooks for clothes & towels.

    Excellent location for visiting all the beautiful tourist spots of Barcelona in a short time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of decoration makes the ambience a bit cold, but in a hostel this can be excepted.

    Great location in the Gothic district. The personnel was nice and helpful. The hostal provides all the basic necessities. It was clean, and they provide daytime cleaning (empty the trash cans and make the beds in the rooms)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was difficult to connect to wifi from our room. We had to go to the lounge for wifi.

    It was a nice place to stay in for a couple of days. The staffs were friendly and answered your questions. It was very clean. It had also facilities like fridge and micro-oven.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is amazing,hostel is located near La Rambla, metro station and very close to Placa Catalunya. You will get or you can ask for more informations (reception’s persons are awesome and talkative so if you have a question,don’t hesitate to ask.) Bathroom was clean and bedroom to. You can leave your baggage and just pick up before flight ( in locked room). Excellent location - near all what you need and what you would like to see.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel is located in a very busy and touristic part of the city witch have a lot of pros but of course it also meens it's a little noisy at night so it depends on what you're looking for. We had no problems at all and actually slept quite well.

    The staff was really friendly yet professional, able to communicate in different languages andavailable 24/7 and really helpful with any information we asked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfect location (1 minute to Ramblas, 3 min to gothic quarter, 2 min to metro station), nice and helpful staff, shared bathrooms were reasonably clean. Perfect for using a place to sleep only

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like it all

    GREAT LOCATION!simple hostel but nice and clean. Very close to La Boqueria market. Street is in front of train station Liceu. Convenient. Recommended

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of the hostel could not be better: right next to the main pedestrian street of La Rambla, right in the center, which allowed you to move around the city without using public transport. I lived in many hostels, but I did not sleep in such a large room with a view of a beautiful street. The room is modest but clean, as well as the bathroom. Although it was shared, there was no problem with queues or cleanliness. And to all this very nice service. Especially charming Argentinian :) I definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The moment we entered the room, it felt weird. He said at reception the ACs were not in use as it was winter. But the room was hot due to no ventilation. Felt like a box. The window opened to the emergency exit so we couldnt keep it open at night for safety reasons. The bathroom water leaked to the bedroom. The only good part was the staff without hesistating refunded my money for the next 2 nights. 210 Euros for 3 nights was a rip off for the condition of the room.

    The staff at the reception was nice. We booked 3 nights stay as Barcelona was pretty busy at the other hotels. We reached at midnite. Staff was friendly at check-in. First night was charged in advance. Remaining 2 I paid by credit card. Which in 15 minutes the staff refunded back to me after we decided to shift the hotel. Located at Las Ramblas.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little bottle of shampoo in the room?This isn’t anywhere like a business hotel and was expensive because of the conferences taking all the rooms in the city but I would gladly stay here again.

    Basic rooms, but very clean and well taken care of. Location is brilliant. Wonderful staff. Rooms are available with ensuite or sharing bathroom facilities. I managed to snag an ensuite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    > not enough value for the money spent > too much light in the room even when the light is off; not enough noise isolation (from other guests)

    The location is great and the room was clean but 110 EUR for a room with no bathroom and furniture from the 80s and doors thin as cardboard is not good value for money. The shared bathroom was obviously not so clean, but just because people don't care about shared bathrooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When there is issue, action from hotel was not promptly taken as it should be. May be wall is super thin so I could hear all conversation of neighbor rooms.

    very convenient to walk around, taking taxi/bus/metro. quite at night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet in room sporadic. Great one minute and nothing other times. Routers need to be reset about nce a day. If it doesn't work, ask at the desk. They can fix it.

    Central location in the absolute heart of the city. Right next door to a basilica, easy walking distance to the cathredal and a large market. Close to metro. Very secure.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The structure of the building was confused maybe because it was an old one to be re-innovated.

    Very convenient location, near La Rambla and Gothic Quarter. I booked a private bedroom with share bathrooms but the bathrooms were always available when I needed. The staff was helpful and accessible 24/24.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whole place looks like military school or prison, it is extremely old and probably needed renovation some 30 years ago. But my biggest concern was fact that it didn't look clean. Curtains in shared bathrooms were brown and dirty where they should be white. I know that renovation is expensive job, but at least do that for toilets and towels - that's simply must!

    Location is best you can get, reception is available 24/7, price was only 20 eur/night, out of season, in February 2018.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cheap room but it was absolutely satisfying. We just went to sleep to the accomodation since we were on sightseeing trip. For this purpose (sleeping, having a shower) it was really good for this price. And it is in the middle of gothic quarter close to many metro stations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the staff was nice and place was clean, the room didn't match our expectations. The room was everything but cozy. We heard every noise from other rooms and there was no extra blanket (just sheets) so we were cold in the morning. On the other hand, the shared bathroom was quite clean. We changed our further reservation for 3* hotel with delicious breakfast, which wasn't that more expensive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed covers had a smell and could use a wash or better yet, a complete renewal. There was no proper drainage in the toilet so there were puddles after showers.

    Near to Liceu station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only thing I didnt like was the shared toilet and shower if I was with my girlfriend she would have gone mad but luckily I wason my own.

    Great location and very helpful manager on reception.Room was basic but very clean and good value for money,would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap and clean! Bathrooms are not as shown on the website for the majority, guessing the higher quality bathrooms are in the rooms with a private bathroom. Cleaned everyday! Staff are friendly and the location was excellent!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Equipment, incl. bathroom, is on mediocre level, which is however expected in relation to price level. Some days there is serious noise during night coming from outside due to moving & celebrating people/tourists, making sleep more difficult.

    Very good location in city center, reasonable price, friendly staff, clean rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was uncomfortable, it was very cold in the room (stayed in the beggining of February), walls are like paper, we heard group of boys shouting and laughing and they were like 2 rooms behind us.

    Great location, near metro station (L3) which helps to reach everything very quickly. If you want to spend not much money then this hostal is good option, but only for one night, maybe maximum 2.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the wifi connection on the 4th floor must be fixed.

    the staff was very friendly and kind the metro station was very close ideal point in tne middle of las ramblas the cleaning ladies were coming every day!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -room needs reresh (and deep cleaning) -wi-fi connection was unreachable in the room -I didn't mind the noise from the street, but for some people it can be disturbing *kettle in the room would be very useful

    -location -personel was very kind -you can store your luggage after check-out -shared bathroom wasn't busy, because many rooms has its own bathroom -trash can was emptied every day -you can get additional blankets if you are cold -washbasin in the room -we got a big room and there was a small balcony :) (there are different types of rooms!)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Brilliant location to for sightseeing tours, everything You could reach on foot. If You come from the airport, so use Aerobus and it will be around 8-9 min. from the hotel. There is a shop nearby, so You could always grab something to eat, BUT if You have a chance, so go to the market where You can find lots of delicious fruits, sea food and other yammee stuff:)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the price

    Based on its price and location and being a hostle, the place is quite good and shouldnt expect more than that for 20€ per night for single bedroom with shared bathroom. The place is quite old and tge bathrooms doesn’t really make u feel wanna use it so i stayed for two night and didnt shower actually. That was my first ever hostle experience but definetly never again because u can hear the rooms from the end of the hall talking so u cant really sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of stairs at the entry, not suitable for weelchairs or baby trolley. Very thin walls, noisy, we could hear every guest on the floor. Every time someone would pass along the hallway the door would move and make a lot of noise. No kitchen facilities.

    Great location, clean and tidy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Leaving the key when we went out for the day was a bit of a bother and the bathrooms tub had issues draining. The staff also did very little to verify that we were the ones who were supposed to be getting our key back.

    It was clean and super cheap in an amazing location right on La Rambles. The staff were super nice and let us print our boarding passes and store our bags for our late flight. The room was also pretty large and the beds seemed decent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like the coffee machine, something was wrong.

    It was very close to the center and the turistic facilities. I loved the location. It was a nice hostel according to its price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi Fi could be better, while in a room it often disappeared. The curtain at the balcony in our room was transparent, so your neighbours could see you in a bed if they use the balcony.

    The staff at reception was extremely helpful and friendly, he also guided us about the city. The location is very good, you can reach most of the sights around by walk, there are also many shops and places to eat just nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in the rear building where my room was located.

    nice old fashioned Hostal right in the middle of things. I liked to have a room to myself in the middle of BCN for 26€ - nothing more, nothing less

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The most important aspect to be improved are the conditions of the common toilets both for maintenance and for cleaning

    Hostal Europa is located in a perfect position in the heart of the Ciutat Vella and the architectural features of the building are particular and fascinating

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were too many stairs....one long one up to the lobby. Although I was on the 3rd floor, I had to take the lift to the 2nd floor and climb up to my room. The shared bath was not on my floor, I had to either climb up to 3rd floor or go down to second to access the bathroom....not too convenient in the middle of the night.

    The location was very convenient to public transportation and to walking around.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred another & softer pillow but I must say the cleaning was excellent.

    Location & helpfulness of all the staff especially Enrique, the manager.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit old fashioned and very thin walls - not a real problem as I spent so little time in my room.

    Basic but clean and comfortable, excellent location. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need better windows. Normally if someone has panic attack, they may not stay there. There is an air condition but this is insufficient.

    Kindly personel, Clear rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - bed was very uncomfortable and small - sometimes loud people in the night

    - great value - great location in the center of Barcelona - public transport is really close, 2 mins - bakeries, and market just in 5 minutes of walk - many attractions in walking distance - staff is friendly and helpful - 0-24 reception

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was super cold. There was a blanket but looked like the used one so I couldn’t use it. I had to wear my knit, jacket... All I can remember abou this place is that the room freezing.

    There is an elevator and friendly staff. They gave us great information about Barcelona which was very useful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was some noise in rooms close to ours late at night/early morning hours from youngsters coming in after a night out, but it was not the end of the world, as one understands it is mainly youngsters in the hostel.

    Location was quite central to the tourist areas, and very close to public transportation. There was someone at reception 24/7 and there to answer any questions we had.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The linoleum flooring wasn't comfortable and didn't feel very clean, but worst of all was the noise. We were in a room next to the lift shaft which banged and scraped quite loudly, not to mention the church bell going off every 15 minutes and on the hour, even throughout the night. There is no sound insulation into the corridor, so every conversation and suitcase rolling could be heard. Someone was playing music from their phone after 11pm but no one came to stop them - it would be good if the reception person did a brief patrol after hours to check if anyone is making too much noise! We always bring earplugs on holiday but even they weren't good enough to block out all of the loud noises going on.

    Great location and good value for money if you're looking for a cheap stay for two in the centre of Barcelona. Easy access from airport and bus ride to centre and short walk. Beds made and towels changed during stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was superficially clean but needed to be painted and the flooring replaced - or at least scrubbed clean. Having to access room 401 and some others meant actually taking an elevator then going up or down outside metal stairs between two buildings - unless one opts to use 4 flights of stairs inside.

    Great location near La Rambla, cafes, restaurants, and the Metro, plus helpful staff, especially Osmel. A refrigerator, microwave, and electric kettle are available for use in the lobby plus, vending machines for coffee and cold drinks. The bed was very comfortable, the a/c worked well, the room was dark and quiet, and the small desk and chair were appreciated. The shared bathroom was never unavailable, though entailed going up/down a half flight of stairs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone came to our room through the window and opened our luggage trying to find something valuable. This was a bad part and we could not sleep with open windows later.

    The locations is very convenient, 3 minutes walk to many main sights. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms was cleaned every day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom - we had to ask for a plug to have a bath - we were given one by the cleaner. The grouting needed redoing in a few spots by the top of the tub - grey grout along the outside tiling bottom of the tub - think this was because the grouting from the floor tiles had not been tidied up. The bed post/leg broke on the single bed - it was repaired fairly quickly.

    The staff were so gracious and helpful - they advised us about booking at the Paua De la Musica & helped us print off our boarding passes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi is not very good.

    Friendly, helpful staff. The rooms were basic but clean and the best was the location close to the metro station and Ramblas, although quiet in spite of the close proximity to a very lively neighbourhood.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unbearable stinky smell in the room. Drainage smell in bathroom. Bad flooring.

    Staff was friendly and helpful. Vending Coffee machine downstairs. Good location right next to Liceu metro station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We arrived at 3'o clock but had to wait for the room to be cleaned for another hour. There was bedbugs in the bed and water leaked from the ceiling onto our bed from the floor above us.

    The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room could have been a little cozier, as in nicer lighting. There was no place to hang towels, overall the room wasn't very comfortable for anything but sleeping. Even relax for an hour, not nice.

    Some of the staff were really great. That appealed the most plus the location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the cost, nothing else was expected.

    This is small budget hotel in a fabulous location. The metro to the Sants railway is a 5 minute walk, the walk to the aerobus is about 10 minutes. The room was quiet, it was at the rear. A/C was good, bathroom clean and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was unhealty. It was lack of fresh air in whole building. The window in my room was opening to a closed gap full of dirth. It was hard to breathe at nights. On my fourth day I had sore throat and consequently respiratory track infection because of the air in my room. I had to move to another hotel altough I had two nights more which were paid. I don't recommend if you are allergic or have sensitive immune system. In the hostal there are few rooms with windows opening to outside though which may be better option if you want to stay at this hostal.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities in the room and no view.

    The location of this hotel is amazing. It is right off Las Ramblas and easily accessible. The hotel itself is basic but clean. There is air con in the rooms, the bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean. It is basic but perfect for a short city break where you don't spend much time in your room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelt of a urinal (and we paid extra for the privilege of a private bathroom), dangerous sockets hanging off the wall and other socket didn't work, room walls and ceiling stained quite badly, rock solid beds, ill fitting doors and finally traffic passing the door at all hours accessing the shared bathroom. Staff quite rude to begin with although did improve by the end but still not acceptable. Do not agree the price for the room and feel Hostal Europa and Booking.com have vastly inflated this place as what we got did not equate to what we paid. I don't mind basic but what we had was awful and at a standard way below basic! In future I'll book the nice looking 2 * Hotel Condal opposite for the same price or indeed slightly less.

    Liked the location, size of the room, shower and luggage storage. The water from the vending machine is excellent value - €1.50 for a 1.5 litre bottle.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to find, photos misrepresent the accomodation. So disapointed and depressed when I arrived, no telly, appeared to be like an old run down prison cell. Decided to drive back to UK at 11.30 at night rather than stay. Complete waste of money.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place was not very clean. The beds were old and the mattresses soft and uncomfortable. Our room had a tiny window which hardly let in any light. The men at the front reception were pretty unfriendly. Overpriced for what you get. We reduced our booking from 2 to 1 night as we stayed right after the Barcelona attacks. We wanted to cancel the whole stay but they would not let us. So we ended up staying for our last night before we flew out the next day. This was the response from the hotel at my request to cancel: "yes and in paris more and the people continue travel to newyork, , london ..etc now manhatan is more safe and never was september 11 second part like the year 2001., is not a logic reason , Barcelona was never as safe as it is now, in this moments barcelona es more safe city on the world" If you agree with them or not the point was they were pretty rude (I don't know which of the men at reception wrote it as there was no name) and didn't care about the safety of 2 girls travelling. Upon arrival I realised why they didn't want to cancel as even though it was peak season they were not full, presumably because of the above reasons.

    The location was fantastic and good aircon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price I felt it was a little expensive. This would be down to its very central location perhaps... the room is very basic and did get particularly warm at night. There was air conditioning but leaving it on all night it became very cold. One thing I did notice was how thin the walls are. Was no major problem but did have a snoring neighbour on my first night. This hotel does what it says on the tin.

    Great location and very easy to find! Staff friendly and always around. If you are just after somewhere to sleep it does the job perfectly. Had a room with a shared bathroom which I was sceptical about but I never actually saw anyone else use it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too many stairs.

    They made me feel like at home. Cleaners made my bed every morning and evenings´ guy of the desk asked me how was my day every time i got through the door. Although there is a shared bathroom I had a clean sink to have a morning wash. I asked for a quiet room and had a quiet room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in time is 2pm but we were able to go.to.our room at 4pm already. And still many guests are waiting.oitside for their rooms to be ready. The room and the sheets smell like hospital. Internet is not working in our room. We have to go down the lobby. No lift going upstairs. The place is noisy outside because you are just beside the street going to gothic quarter. I did not.get what i paid for.

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostal Europa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: