Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Felipe V 2 stars

Gran Vía, 15 - 4º, Madrid City Centre, 28013 Madrid, Spain

#171 of 376 B&Bs and Inns in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 528 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Simple accomodation for a good price, cleaned and tidied up every day, hair dryer and umbrella to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Simple accomodation for a good price, cleaned and tidied up every day, hair dryer and umbrella disponible at the reception, very nice staff, central location in walking distance to everywhere, metro near. We were satisfied.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location, comfort bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unkind lady at the reception that gave us hard time and stress at the arrival trying to charge us double for the room. We had to call Booking to solve the issue. She doesn't speak English too. Extremely noisy at Gran Via side. The window doesn't close properly and it is like you are sleeping on the balcony of a busy street.

    Good location, comfort bed. Clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    good location, close to granvia stn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was hard for me to communicate with receptionist in English cuz he spoke a little English

    good location, close to granvia stn good for staying for a couple of days quite clean bedroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.3
    Central and convenient but a little disappointed.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room 24 was very stuffy and airless, with a radiator that could not be turned off, so it became very hot. The window got stuck sometimes and was hard to open. Quite often there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke coming from somewhere. It was also a very noisy room. The people who live in the property above stamp around hard on the floor and you can hear other people's converations through the walls and the phone ringing. I have an allergy to dustmites which means my nose blocks up if they are present. My nose blocked up entirely at night in this room so presume that the mattresses or bed linen were responsible. I paid for a room with a double bed which was shown on my booking confirmation in both picture and text. When I came to check in, they told me it wasn't available. I am tall and the single bed was narrow and short and I felt like I wasn't getting what I paid for but my Spanish isn't good enough to negotiate. There is a security locker but it costs 1 euro per use if you use it for 5 days multiple times, it becomes expensive.

    Some of the staff are very friendly. Not all. The property is very secure and central. The communal and reception areas are very clean. The WiFi functions well. They had compliementary Xmas chocolates and goodies available at reception.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location if a little noisy from traffic and sirens,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location if a little noisy from traffic and sirens, but to be expected in a major city. Would recommend to any one on a budget, well worth the money. Clean and everything you would need on a short break.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.7
    Madrid is beautiful city!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was looking to the street Gran Via which is extremely noisy! Almost no sleep at all!

    Hostal is close to several metro stations and historic sites.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.3
    Locked in behind 3 doors & a very serious safety/fire risk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    In the strongest terms possible I do not recommend you to stay at this location. It is a definite safety risk. Firstly on arrival it became clear that you are not given a key to enter the HOSTAL only a key for your individual room. The entrance to the HOSTAL is on the 4th floor is locked and one cannot enter and exit in the day. You have to be let in by staff but can exit by yourself. However the danger comes at night, when there is no staff between 2300-0800hrs. In the evening the outer door to the building is locked, it cannot be opened from the inside as it requires a key. On returning to the HOSTAL from a night out, one must ring a bell to be let into the building. The Porter is a short slow moving overweight Spanish man, who is very unhappy that he has to unlock the door in order to let you into the building. The two of you then have to go to the 4th floor, to be let into the HOSTAL. He then has to find your key so that you can be let into your room. I was standing over 20minutes outside waiting for him to hear the bell to let me into the building. However the real danger comes when trying to leave. At night time you can leave your room and the HOSTAL , but you are not able to leave the building itself as it is locked by the porter. There is no release to open the door from the inside but requires a key. If there is a fire, you cannot get out, (you can't break the glass), but must wait for a very slow moving old overweight man. If he collapses or has a heart attack, you are unable to get out. This is extremely unsafe, and having seen recent events of fires in London I did not stay here past the first night even though I had booked for 7 days. It is very surprising that a place that you pay for does not provide guests with keys to come and go as you leave, but are treated like a prisoner moving in and out of locked doors.

    It was clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel for the money. Brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Our stay was 10/10

    Location was central and accommodation was clean and straight forward. Alex on reception was very helpful and is an excellent representative of the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.5
    Does what it says on the tin!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one English Channel on tv - even a news one would be good.

    Excellent location on gran via, all attractions within walkable distance. Secure accommodation. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    7.5
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some of the staff doesn't speak Spanish and I'm fine with that as I can manage in Spanish. However they are not even trying to understand or help you. When we arrived we couldn't find the entrance , I called reception and once they heard I'm not Spanish they just hang up the phone. Wifi was disconnecting it us frequently

    The location is great! We didn't have to use the public transport at all. The room was clean and we had a small balcony with view of Gran Via

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    6.7
    It is really close to the metro station Gran Via.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff of the apartman speaks only spanish. No chance to comminicate with them in english. If you can't speak spanish, it is worth to refresh your pantomime skills. :)

    It is really close to the metro station Gran Via.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Central position
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central position Clean and beautiful rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.2
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wifi is not that good and on TV, the first and only time we tried, we couldn't find nothing in English or a music channel.

    Very good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.9
    Location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone else got the hairdryer. This is basic accommodation.

    Location and price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    Very clean basic accommodation in prime location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities in room. No hairdryer

    Very clean basic accommodation in prime location. great value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    Good visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I read it was a former palace. Which one, who's, what year?

    It's a good location, near metro, train station, bus stop, museums, plaza's.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    No one speaks English
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one speaks English

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location good value
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was weak.

    Location and staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Great location and rooms at center of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wi-fi was average but worked well

    Location and concierge service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi was weak

    Great value for money!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Fantastico hotel!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The ambience, & the owners were superlative. Alex on the desk was particularly friendly, & helpful, & spoke very good English.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.9
    In the middle of the city with a good price!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection is not so good.

    Clean, 24 hours receptions

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Home away from Home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was like being with your family very kind and helpful to a traveler

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Due to unavailability we had to move in the last 2 days and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to unavailability we had to move in the last 2 days and it was much worse.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.9
    Ear plugs necessary!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise from the street was terrible.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.3
    simple and good hotel in a good location, staff was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    simple and good hotel in a good location, staff was very helpfull and nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.9
    Good for budget business or tourism travel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints really

    Good value for money, central, simple and clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    9.0
    nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location staff are very friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    9.6
    staff, clean, central position,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no possibility to take friends in the room

    staff, clean, central position,

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    9.6
    I arrived early and the staff went out of their way to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived early and the staff went out of their way to accommodate me. Many thanks.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.2
    great option overall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    great option overall!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    6.7
    Most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy but had to be expected as the location was right in the city centre.

    Great location.staff very obliging.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Hospitable , safety and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a kettle available and English language is very poor

    The best location accessible to main highlights of the city

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    4.6
    Not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service

    The location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    7.9
    Location is perfect, on the main street ,close to Metro, .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The lady at reception doesn't speak English at all, but she does her best to help with your inquiries.

    Location is perfect, on the main street ,close to Metro, .... and still very quiet! Alex is helpful, he arranged pick up for me.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    6.3
    the cleaning lady was friendly
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    most of the time there was a ginger lady at reception that could not speak english, and refused to try to understand when you communicated with her

    the cleaning lady was friendly

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    6.7
    Good location in central Madrid close to most attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was noisy being next to a busy street and not double glazed. It was very basic which whilst perhaps normal for Madrid didn't seem great value for Spain. Room could also have been cleaner.

    Good location in central Madrid close to most attractions. Easy metro link to transport. Good, friendly staff. Happy to store bags.etc. Room was adequate.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    9.6
    The hostel is in perfect location where you can reach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-if could be improved

    The hostel is in perfect location where you can reach everywhere by walking. Staff are so helpful, friendly , patient and give you sincer assistance especially Alex. The owner is a great lady that would help in every way although she does not speak English . It s very very clean, reasonable size room. I did not miss anything I wished to have.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    9.2
    Alex .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was all good.

    Alex ...front desk man was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The owner was also extremely helpful and welcoming even though she didn't speak English and our Spanish is limited.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    7.5
    It's a very decent place in the excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I think that if you work with tourists you should speak English. It was annoying but amusing communicating via Google Translator. Eventually, we understood each other and it was ok

    It's a very decent place in the excellent location. Although it's hostal, and it was my first experience in hostel, but it is maybe better than some 3 start hotels. there is all you need for spending a night when you walk all day long.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    Location and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and service. Alex was very helpful when checking in, giving us recommendations and directions and helping us make reservations for the Flamenco show. Alex was awesome!!!

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    8.3
    Excellent location, clean and quiet double room with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location, clean and quiet double room with bathroom. Value for the money. Only remark is window view to building internal court with a/c units.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    The stuff is really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The wifi never worked while we were there. For family's with children stay away from a near street called Calle Montera, it is full of prostitues at all times of day.

    The stuff is really nice. They provided excellent and friendly service in every way. Alex was specially helpful providing for us everything we requested. The location is great. The facilities are super clean. Even though the hotel is in the middle of the Gran Via, it was quite inside the room and we slept well.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    9.6
    The location is in the heart of the city, at Gran Via which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The internet in my room wasn't working all the time due to a problem with the repeater. The reception is a few feet away, and there I had a good connection.

    The location is in the heart of the city, at Gran Via which is the best street. Very nice staff, especially Alex, who was exceptionally helpful in assisting me in anything that I needed and practically planned my stay. Very clean, comfortable and quiet rooms for a great value!

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    9.2
    Was able to book very late in evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No problems

    Was able to book very late in evening

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No breakfast included.

    Great location. Calm and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    The room was clean.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The locker requires 1 euro each time we use it

    The room was clean. The location is excellent, all the emplyees were nice and the price is great!

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    7.5
    Location is good, is' s center of madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    a little bit cold, A hit system is not good.

    Location is good, is' s center of madrid.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    9.2
    very central area, clean place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    very central area, clean place

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    9.2
    Convenient location, comfortable and quiet room, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Language difficulty with one member of staff.

    Convenient location, comfortable and quiet room, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    10
    Staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Staff very helpful Location

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small bathroom

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi didn't work in the bedroom. Works in the living room. Good speed btw.

    Great location.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    8.3
    Best location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Terrible Wi-Fi connection. No signal at all!!!

    Best location!

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    8.8
    The staff, My sunny high ceiling room And The location Close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff, My sunny high ceiling room And The location Close to excelent local restaurants which the staff recommended!

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is wifi available in the hotel, but a lot of times it didn't work

    Location

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    8.8
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wi-Fi not very reliable.

    Excellent location. Good value for money. Staff is very friendly and helpful going the extra mile to help.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    8.3
    The hostel was located in a beautiful building - great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hostel was located in a beautiful building - great location too! We walked everywhere.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    6.7
    Quite but central
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quite but central

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    8.8
    Clean, gr8 location, safe with guard after midnight hours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean, gr8 location, safe with guard after midnight hours. Everything is within walking distance

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    7.9
    location
    • Couple

    location

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    10
    Location was great;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location was great; staff are friendly and helpful; super-clean!

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    10
    Location, bed so comfy and cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, bed so comfy and cheap thanks to all staff from Howars and Denise la menise xx

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: