Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal La Fontana 2 stars

Valverde, 6, Madrid City Centre, 28004 Madrid, Spain

#171 of 372 B&Bs and Inns in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1206 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    The location is perfect waking distance from everything you...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didnt change the bed sheets but its okay we didnt ask for it anyway our stay was short

    The location is perfect waking distance from everything you want and metro station is a 1 min walk

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Very good hostal with lovely staff in excellent location!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The receptionist was very helpful. I think it was lovely that a good breakfast was included. The location is superb and the price was excellent. I had everything I needed in my room and the wifi worked perfectly. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location, decent hostal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathrooms. No parking. There are a few public lots a few blocks away for a steep fee.

    Great location, close to the centre. Decent breakfast included in the cost.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    great location, cheap room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the walls are very thin (a glass only was separating my toilet from the corridor) and there is noise during the night and early morning, when the other guests wake-up. it is not a good place to sleep into the morning (after a night out)

    the location of the accomodation is amazing! very close to Sol and to the nightlife close to Tribunal. the staff was nice and the rooms clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We reserved a 2 twin bed room for my brother and I. They put us in a 1 double bed room and then when told of the issue stated they were sold out and couldn't do anything for us. They didn't even try to compensate us for their mistake.

    Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.4
    Good location, NOT good hostal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We got a room with 2 beds, i'm sorry, but it looks like prison The beds were old, the leg was saddled, the blankets looks and smelled like 100 years old, and the towels that were changed once in two days was stinky, I could smell the smell of the person that was using this towel before me. The toilet and the shower together in the room, really tight to each other, and the using the sower is not comfortable at all, you need to push all the time for water (really weird) The breakfast is fine, mostly bread. I don't think that it worth the money that you pay for.

    The best about this place is the prime location (real central) and the staff. The design of the hall is nice, and there is an elevator.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Great Hostal for a one night stay in the centre of Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked to know where the parking was before arriving at the hotel as easier to walk than to drive in the centre of Madrid! A bit noisy during the night as we were at the front of the Hostal.

    The guy was so helpful to us with finding the parking, Red Bus Tour and restaurants. The location is very central and good value for money for a short stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Perfect location, great service, clean rooms, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absolutely nothing, everything was perfect.

    Perfect location, great service, clean rooms, excellent staff, fast wi-fi, tasty breakfast, hot shower and comfy bed (room with private bathroom).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Great accommodation taking into consideration the central location, nice staff and good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We reserved a room for 3 people and it was quiet small, would be better to reserve it only for 2 people. Also, would be great to have tea for breakfast as well.

    Great staff,perfect location, good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a very small window.

    The location is perfect. Very central. It's a simple hostal but with all that's necessary. They provide towels, hair dryer and even have shower gel and shampoo in the bathroom. It's an old building but it is very clean.thr staff is very nice and helpful. Very good relationship between price and quality fir the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was the same every day, but as we stayed for several days, it was ok

    The owners were very kind, the location is excellent, the rooms are clean and relatively quiet having in mind that you are in Spain. The breakfast is enough, have froot, yogurt, sweets. I would definitely come back. The wi fi is quite good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Very nice place,lovely personal with great English skills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place,lovely personal with great English skills. I have got a lot of very necessary info and recommendations from them that made my trip a lot easier. Room was very clean and breakfast was simple but nice. Located just perfectly to everything and still a quiet street with not that much action.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.5
    Very good stay for the money given.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They switch off the heating during the day, so it's damn cold in the room. If you plan to stay in the room during the day and it's winter or just cold outside I wouldn't recommend to stay there. However, nights it's ok, warm enough. I guess it's the only con, also, walls are thin, but it's ok for any hostal.

    Prime location 30 seconds to walk to Bus Turistic stop, a couple of minutes away from public bus' stop, not far from metro and rail on Puerta del Sol. Hostal is located on the 1st floor of a living building, safe entrance. The single room includes everything you need for a basic stay for a few nights. Bed, towels and shower cabin were clean. Staff were responsive and kind. Breakfast was basic but ok (coffee, croissant, jam, yogurt and mandarin).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Good hostel in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small, there was not always hot water. The breakfast was enough, but every day was the same and a bit boring.

    Very good location, everithing is close to the hostel, helpful stuff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, nice and friendly staff ready to assist,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was pretty much fine, maybe it was a little bit cold in the room for February.

    Perfect location, nice and friendly staff ready to assist, extra baggage storage at no cost, breakfast included in the price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    The person in charge of the administration was really nice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The person in charge of the administration was really nice, he offered us maps and imprint our check ins, gave us tips and directions. The room was preety clean and tidy, and breakfast was delicious. I would definetly recommend this place for budget trips. Of all the hotels we stayed in for this vacation, this was the best by far!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.3
    On arrival my room wasn't quite ready & I was given...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There appears to be only one shared bathroom which was just sufficient on this trip. As usual in a lot of places I've stayed at in Spain there's no hot water in the room. The room could've done with some heating as it was a bit cool.

    On arrival my room wasn't quite ready & I was given a free bottle of water. Excellent location in the centre very close to a metro station. Due to my schedule I only had breakfast once but was fairly happy with it. Good Wi-Fi connection. There was a blanket which I needed. I'd certainly be happy to stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a strange sound from upstairs. I don't know if was the sound of the gas.

    Good accommodation and close to city centre. The breakfast was nice. The staff was helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    5.0
    Cheaters
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You are the Hostal and you are comparedly cheap, but nevertheless you should not cheat on your guests. Our so called "15 m" room appeared to be 10 m at best, and that 10 is INCLUDING so called "bathroom" - tiny boarded area with douche cabine and toilet bowl, plus the sink placed right in the room. There was no hot water at all. That "optional parking for 18 EUR per day" appeared to be 27 EUR per day "you should find it yourself parking". There was dirty in the douche - a lot of trash between douche cabin and the wall. Audibility between rooms is 100%. Also, please, be aware, that if you have a room face to the inner yard, you will listen to the very noisy guests of the restorant a floor behind during half of the night. The stuff didn't speak English. At all. Breakfeast was nothing.

    The hostal is really in the center

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    Staff is nice, fast wifi, breakfast is okay, room with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room is next to the Laundry room, which is annoying, as you can hear the washing machine working. Heater(at night) and hot water is not available all the time, something is wrong with the heating system in the building. Thin walls, need earplug for light sleeper. I expected more from this hostal, as it's not cheap, and I had a better stay with other cheaper hostal in Madrid.

    Staff is nice, fast wifi, breakfast is okay, room with balcony, sink and heater(not working at night), location is really close to the attractions!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money, excellent location & excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Young man at the front desk who checked us in was excellent very apologetic when our room wasn’t ready, wasn’t a problem for us to wait 10 mins but couldn’t apologise more.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.9
    Great staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The way they placed the toilet (it was difficult to seat on it) and hot water issue in cold weather like these months.

    Location for night life especially for Gay people, shopping, food, theatres and all other land marks on walking distances. On reception a Moroccan young lady and handsome green eyed Spanish was always smiling and ready to help.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.1
    In this price range - worth to choose
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast - very basic, so better choose option without and get fresh and tasty breakfast in cafes around. Room very cold - in November, the temperature in the room cannot be adjusted. Take warm pyjamas in winter months...

    Firstly, for that price one cannot complain a lot. Good location - close to the metro, main Gran Via street. Chatty and friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    5.8
    We will never book it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Almost everything else was disappointing: There was an ugly smell in the room, especially in the bathroom. The "double bed" was only 1,40 m by 1,90 m and far too small for 2 persons. And finally - the breakfast was a joke, we tried the dry white bread which could not be toasted, a tiny little "cake" packed in a plastic foil (not more than 1 bite) and the very thin orange juice - and then took another breakfast outside in a street bar.

    The good news are: Great location and fairly good price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.8
    It was ok
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in city centre

    No breakfast wasn't what it look.like on the photos and the bar down stair not door playing music loud till 2 in morning and was hard for my son to sleep.and they wouldn't move us...which wasn't to happy about

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Great location and great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely helpful and treated us like family! They found rooms for us in other places when they were booked up. The coffee was great too!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Small and friendly property for a weekend stay in the middle of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately they should improve such things that they cannot - for instance the walls are a bit thin which means the neighbours can be heared at late evening.

    Staff was really helpful and kind! My late arrive wasn't problem, they knew my name when I've arrived (They know exactly who is coming at the property) If it is important, when you pay by credit card you can pay in the currency you want. They can provide you free city map and so on.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Cute place great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was not the best for us. Is in an ideal location for those wanting to shop. The room got loud at night with the other guests and traffic.

    Dog friendly; were very accommodating for our dog. Was very clean, easy to get into the rooms. Bathroom was clean and an ensuite. Breakfast was cute and served early.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location by Gran Via in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms are very small and a little bit noisy because of adjacent bars. Breakfast is very limited, prefabricata packages only.

    Excellent location in downtown Madrid, easy reachable by metro or bus from airport. Very friendly, englishspeaking and helpful staff. Very good coffee for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.9
    If you looking for a budget stay, then it's totally worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room and bathroom

    Very convenient location, centrally located, amazing restaurants options, staff very friendly, the hostel is very clean and artistic, like the cozy ambience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful place to stay in the center of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Breakfast was not really what we expected, we got some white sandwich bead and crackers with simple jam and yogurt. The room was a little too small as well and seemed cramped.

    The Hotel is located in the center of Madrid and therefore you can walk everywhere. There are countless shopping and dining possibilities in close proximation

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.7
    Good location for those on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small, particularly the bathroom- a little bit of a struggle getting in and out.

    The hotel was in a good location right in central Madrid. Walking distance to Grand Via and easy to get to public transport. The staff were very friendly and considerate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    Great spot for walking to the main attractions in Madrid.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a nightmare in Madrid and the hostal doesn't have any parking (which is understandable), but the little garage across the road took our car and were very friendly. 30 euros for the night until midday the next day! We couldn't complain, especially as we didn't need to take the roof box off the car!

    Great spot for walking to the main attractions in Madrid. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Great experience in a centric location at Madrid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say about that

    It was a great experience staying at La Fontana. It made easier my activities due the centric location. Also, the staff, the great service, was crítical for my trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    The position, 24hr reception staff, all lovely.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast but it didn't matter as there are a trillion little hidden favourites nearby..

    The position, 24hr reception staff, all lovely..my dear little room with its balcony

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.5
    Great room, great location, but needs coffee making and English TV channels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No in room coffee making facilities. No English channels on the TV.

    Room was large and the bathroom was very large. Clean and modern with great park views.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    6.5
    I was satisfied with the property, but they had advertised...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was satisfied with the property, but they had advertised free pick up from airport. However, when I called the hotel, they said they had terminated their contract with the shuttle service and I was asked to pay taxi fare to get to the hotel. This was not cheap. it cost me 30-35 euros to get to the hotel. I would have avoided this hotel if they had told me upfront that the shuttle is not free and chargeable. They should be clear in their advertisement that they do not offer free pick up from airport. Even booking.com was not helpful in this case in waiving the fee for me

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    6.7
    Fine for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic comfort level Bathroom lets to be desired : walls not clean Shower screens broken etc... - Very small room : if you put and open your luggage on the floor, then there is not enough space left to be able to walk around your bed - Inexistant furniture : just pieces of wood assembled. Perhaps the room we were given was the least maintained or the smallest but there is no way I can give it an 8.

    Kind and helful staff - Central location -

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    10
    My fourth stay @ La Fontana in 12 months
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints

    Extremely welcoming staff, very clean rooms, an exceptional value in central Madrid, close to public transportation, historic sights, restaurants, shopping. This hostal offers guests very affordable hostal rates w/ a basic & simple breakfast included. I have noticed a few guest complaints regarding size of room and type of breakfast. For those seeking to be pampered and expecting more, I would suggest a stay at the Ritz Hotel in Madrid! La Fontana offers everything I would expect and more at this level and price of accommodation.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    4.2
    Location is perfect but see first before you check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is not as polite as others except two. I like the roman guy in the reception and the housekeeping girl. They know how to handle things, polite and very nice. After we arrive we where disappointed because we expect the room we get is a good room as what the picture shows us that they sent to us in the booking.com. We book our stay in Hostal almost 2months before the date we arrived. We got some arguement and the lady didnt understand my point. She said that the room was reserved before us so that means that the people who stayed in the room(the room in the picture that they sent us)book before us. We paid to much for what we expect to get. The room is only nice in pictures. In the other hand the room is quite old. In our first 4days we got the room with leacking bathtub and insufficient heating equiptment. We almost got sick because of cold. The rest of the days of our days i ask them to transfer us in another room which they gave us a good one. I gave them 4.2 because of the things we experience.

    No doubt the location was perfect. The room is quiet clean for some time but not as good as others. Access to metro and food store was perfect

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    6.7
    Less value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was not spacious enough. The croissants and other bread are not freshly baked. Breakfast was not satisfatory in general.

    The location was indeed very near the metro, though not quiet in the early morning.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    7.9
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very loud at night..

    The palace is netxt to to Telefonica building at gran via. The Hosta is at the center and perfekt for every one who is looking for good value for money and a safe and clean place in the center of Madrid.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.5
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy inside: watertubes work very laudly, shared bathroom next to the room I was accomodated was used by other people all the night.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Good location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast was sweet but enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed mattress was a little bit hard. I've missed the morning tea :)

    Breakfast was sweet but enough. The Hostal is very close to the Gran Via but luckily it wasn't noisy. Every day cleaning. Every second day new towels.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    5.4
    Fine for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that it's next to the center means that there is much noise at nights. Located at a not-so-nice small street. The hostel itself is extra small, occupying one floor. The breakfast was basic and there was enough space for 7 people in total. The room was tidied daily but not cleaned nor the sheets were changed.

    The staff was polite and helpful. The room was clean when we came. The bed was comfortable to sleep in. The hostel although quite small, gave a feeling of coziness. It's close to the center, the metro and almost all sights and places of interest.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    3.8
    Not recommend room 114
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked for 2nights but i only stayed for 1night because my room had terrible smell (smell like someone smoke in the room or near the room/ i stayed at room 114)

    Just the location is good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.2
    Unbeatable location in the heart of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    For the first time since I have been using Booking, the property did not respect the stated conditions. Even though they said that no deposit would be charged, and I was supposed to be charged in August, the total sum was charged on the day of booking, in May. This was a very unpleasant surprise on my credit card statement and the property did not respond to my e-mail when I asked them about this. I chose this property over some others because of these conditions and I thought this was unfair.

    The location of the property is probably one of the best in all of Madrid. The public transportation is very close, but all the main attractions can easily be reached on foot. Nearby there are many places to eat, some of which are open all night. Cinemas and theatres are also very close by. The property itself is nice and cosy, in a beautiful old building. The area is safe. The selection of TV and radio channels is good, and the wi-fi great. The staff are forthcoming and kind, so you can feel at home.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    7.1
    It was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too many corners cut for breakfast: pastries were of the packaged, long-life variety (not fresh), margarine not butter was provided, and the "fruit" juice tasted more chemical than fruity.

    It was clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    8.3
    Cheap accomodation in the downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Without AC the room can be a bit hot and muggy even if there is a noisy fan on the ceiling.

    The location of the hostal and the WiFi connection were pretty good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    8.8
    Hostal De la Fontana was perfectly situated Close to both...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hostal De la Fontana was perfectly situated Close to both Madrid central City and the lovely hipster quater of universidad. Close to metros. A very god esxperience staying there.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.2
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hosts, provided a wash dry and fold laundry service for €5 which was lovely! Rooms a little small and cramped but everything you need, bathrooms clean. Really good for the price you pay!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    9.6
    Great experience in the heart of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware there is no aircon, just a ceiling fan, so if you're travelling in the peak of summer just be aware it'll be quite warm.

    Perfect location, very clean facilities, comfy bed, super cheap laundry options

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Friendly, helpful and nice staff, clean and quiet room just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly, helpful and nice staff, clean and quiet room just located in the city center!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    The location is superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is superb. All best spots in Madrid are within walking distance from the hostel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.8
    Smells bad no air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smells bad no air conditioning

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Everything, location can't be better, is on the heart of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, location can't be better, is on the heart of Madrid. Georgian and his team are awesome!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was really small, I can not move there

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    de ligging was top.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    de ligging was top.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped quarters, thin walls and the shower is very small.

    The staff was very helpful, the bed was comfortable and the location is superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    Convenient for access across the city and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was decent value but rather unimaginative and altogether too sweet for our tastes!

    Convenient for access across the city and good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location associated with street noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of noise from the street

    Excellent location associated with street noise

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    It was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water was quite cold when I wanted it hot when I wanted to have shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    Great helpfull staff, great location and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed or mattress was too hard.

    Basic but not bad apart from bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Great city break location at a very good price!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in our room was not good but not really a reason not to stay there again

    Fab location, very reasonable price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.8
    Great stay in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That said that we get a patio but its more like a windows.

    The staff are really nice and sweet and the breakfast is great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.9
    Very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. Not sound isolated rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cool place, and could hold my carry on, even after check out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable for the hostal.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very cold in the room... I would advice to increase the heating temperature.

    Very comfortable for the hostal. There were breakfast)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location, friendly staff, nice and cozy hotel and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Perfect location, friendly staff, nice and cozy hotel and good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    friendly,central , nice breakfast.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    An extra blanket. I should have asked.

    Nice basic breakfast. Great central location just meters from the metro Gran Via.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    Great deal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms. Shared bathroom.

    The location is great. The staff very friendly and helpfull. Very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    Central location, friendly staff, everything was fine
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location, friendly staff, everything was fine

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.0
    poor. Will not use the facility again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    breakfast. you need to offer varieties. Also try to offer hot breakfast i.e. porridge, cornflakes, eggs and so on

    nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    The central area to City life and sightseen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The central area to City life and sightseen

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.1
    Cheap and friendly - great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No plugs in room, had to unplug the lamp but the room was already really dark. Rooms were so tiny.

    The staff were really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostal La Fontana traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: