Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal La Vera 1 stars

Magdalena, 21, 2º D, Madrid City Centre, 28012 Madrid, Spain

#244 of 375 B&Bs and Inns in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 377 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.2
    Should have realised that Madrid would be quite expensive, being the capital city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Occasional noise from outside and also inside but not too much. First impression of the street was that it looked a run down area. Property itself though was a lovely old building and the area felt safe.

    Beds were comfortable. Sufficient hot water and powerful shower. Convenient for metro from Atocha train station, second stop on line 1. Also good for exploring Madrid by metro. Very nice side streets a minute's walk away with lots of bars and restaurants. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    No hassles and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no explanation in English in how to get in the building the first time. Toilet was a little close to the wall. No airco in room. It did have a fan.

    Friendly staff. Room was clean and for a 1 person bedroom the size was good. The location is great. Close by all the museums, the metro and the famous Sunday market.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Good location, clean, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes, All good.

    Good location, clean, friendly staff. Special thanks to Maite who was really friendly and helpful. She's a role model for hotel staff :) gracias!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    On the whole I was happy and comfortable and would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could perhaps have been quieter. I know that depends on the other guests, but sometimes the staff were also a bit loud in the corridors.

    The bed was very comfortable indeed and the shower wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was located towards the street, it is a busy street, so during the night it can get a bit noisy. It is not extremely bad, but if you are very sensitive try to make sure to get a room that does not face the street. The toilet is a bit too small, lets just say that if you are too tall you may have to do your things with the door open.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room had a nice classic touch. The room was well priced and it had it own toilet which was really good although the toilet is very very small. Madrid was quite cold this time of the year but still the place was really well heated so that added up to the comfort. Also the location is perfect, on our way out we were a bit worried because the staff told us we would not need to book a taxi to go to the airport (at 4 am) because there were taxis all night long, and it was true, we walked out and within 5 minutes we were able to take a cab, it only took us about 20 minutes to arrive at that hour.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    Staff was great when we had an emergency. Would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom a little small if you have to be able to help someone.

    Clean tidy room with nice touches from the decorator. Location, close to all the life of the old town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.2
    satisfied!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    thin walls, it is very easy to ear other peoples voices.

    Clean and essential for an holiday spent most of the time outside of the hostal. Staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.4
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is tinny and unable to close doors when sitting in toilet. Towel have a smell and noisy. No shampoo. Should be correct this on their website.

    Location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For the toileteries , we had only soap.

    Very friendly and helpful stuff, the room is clean , the location is good, very close to the center and attractions, and 2mn walk from the metro station Anton Martin , Wifi works perfectly. In the area , there is a supermarket, many stores , cafés where you can have your breakfast with a good price ...we had the flight late in the afternoon so the lady there " Maite" was nice to keep our luggages after the check out . So for a short stay, it is good .. will come back again !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.8
    Short stay in Lavapies
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for bars and cafes, walking distance to art galleries and museums and Atocha station. La Latina and Lavapies are great areas to explore on foot for a slightly more alternative Madrid. The room was small but clean and the bed was nice and firm.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.6
    We booked last moment a triple room and we were given a...
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was noice from the street if you happen to sleep at the outer part of the appartment. You can also hear every chat in the corridor. But thankfully, this happend only once.

    We booked last moment a triple room and we were given a whole apartment. It was old but very comfortable. (It reminded me the appartment of my aunt Marike :-) ). The kitchen was fully equipped, with microwave also. Wifi connection was good. The beds were very comfortable and the staff very helpul. Thank you Hotel Vera for the nice experience in Madrid!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.5
    Cozy hostel close to metro station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The street that led from the Anton Martin station to the hostel was a bit rugged, so it was hard for us to push our 2 big suitcases. The room we stayed in was small. There wasn't much space left for us to walk if our suitcases were wide opened. There is no pantry for us to make food so we had to dine at restaurants nearby.

    Staff was friendly to us and provided us with travel tips around Madrid. The room was smaller than we expected but it was very clean, and we had a private bathroom. The building in which the hostel is in has an elevator, and we had no trouble getting our big luggage onto the second floor. It is quite close to the Anton Martin metro station so it was convenient to get around. It is also within walking distance to a lot of the attractions nearby (i.e. Palacio de Real Madrid, El Rastro, Parque de El Retiro, Puerta de Sol, etc).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    Would highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only complaint would be about the cleanliness of the bathrooms - they weren't horrible, but I forgot to bring a pair of shower shoes and regretted it.

    The staff was waiting there for me when I arrived, and lead me straight to my room. I was staying in a single room with a twin bed that had a sink, closet, and nightstand. I was very comfortable there, and the location was also fabulous. I was in walking distance of city center, fabulous restaurants, and the Reina Sofia/Prado. Great stay!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.7
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very tiny but it's ok it's ok if you need a place to crash after hours of sightseeing. The cleanness could be better.

    Perfect location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    8.8
    Great value near Anton Martin metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtain was too short & it was hard to stop water coming out

    The bed had a very comfortable firm mattress, friendly service & good location near metro.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    7.5
    1.Very friendly staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Tiny window 2. I heard my neighbors snoring and talking :( and some strand sound I heard like every 5min.

    1.Very friendly staffs. I met 3 of them and 2 spoke good English and very nice. (The other one was ok, he just didnt seem to speak much English) 2. Lovely room and old beautiful building. 3. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    5.8
    Nice hostel but no noise isolation in the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was too noisy and I barely got any sleep. The hostel is simply one long corridor with rooms along it. I was situated in a room close to the entrance, the door was modern but had no proper isolation, I could hear absolutely everything coming from outside, and even got woken up by it (the corridor had terracotta instead of carpet, so high heels created dreadful noise, the staff also spoke loudly sometimes and I could hear it from inside my room). I raised the issue with one of the staff members but was told nothing could be done.

    Overall nice atmosphere, excellent location and the hostel is clean. My room had all facilities I needed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    8.8
    Good location - only a short walk to the main town centre -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The window was small and didn't let much air in. Ok in the middle of winter, but I think I would want more ventilation in summer

    Good location - only a short walk to the main town centre - and was upgraded to a en suite room, which was very nice of them.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    8.3
    It was a great experience, would recommend for sure
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms could be a bit more bigger :)

    Great location, everything was clean and we came around 1 am, so it wasn't really good time, but we reached out to the personnel before and everything went really smooth. Thanks to French-Spanish man who is responsible for everything in Hostal and everything was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator and very dark space

    Friendly staff and excellent relations with the restaurant of the same family

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stay. The staff were super friendly and the room was very clean. I really enjoyed my stay here.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Location and cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift to the room. The room was quite hot.

    Location and cleanliness.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    The location near the city center and near metro lines, also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location near the city center and near metro lines, also good beds and good wifi

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Acceptable standard, but a bit expensive for what it offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    €56 per night seemed a lot for a tiny single room with shared bathroom and no breakfast

    Location excellent. Comfortable bed. Very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Couldn’t fault anything regarding the hotel or staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building works opposite noisy in the morning, but hopefully they will be finished soon.

    Couldn’t fault anything regarding the hotel or staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient location. Helpful staff. Comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location best of all close to main Atochi station to get the fast train to Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Acoustic doors would be nice

    Great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    Good attentio
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Private

    Clean bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.3
    Good location, walking distance to the main attractions,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition. One fan in the room but still hot :(

    Good location, walking distance to the main attractions, supermarket nearby. Reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Basic but very clean and comfortable and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic but very clean and comfortable and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    6.7
    staf ,near to metro station anton martin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    no have glass for drinking tea or ...no have shampo .and money for reat

    staf ,near to metro station anton martin

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.5
    Clean, comfortable, good location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls with heavy doors and noisy inconsiderate guests

    Clean, comfortable, good location and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.5
    Good for Reasonable Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Space is pretty narrow and windows can't be opened.

    Very good comparing to price and wifi works really well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    7.9
    Very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit small.

    Location and cost

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location. Everything you need is close by.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.6
    Nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice stay!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    7.1
    Decent place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Staff doesn't speak english at all - Extremely noisy

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    Excellent stay at La Vera
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Hostel is very well located and it is also a very nice place to stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    8.8
    Very comfortable, clean and in the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very comfortable, clean and in the city center. Close to Pubs and Bars. Nice and friendly staff. Best fresh Orange juice in Cafe Bar la Vera. Perfect value for money

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    6.7
    The location is nice,which is 10 minutes walk from Sol.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room is extremely small at the corner as the case for a single bed.

    The location is nice,which is 10 minutes walk from Sol. The shower is nice as the temperature is good enough. Standard staff service however do not expect too much.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    8.8
    I got a better and bigger single room with private bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Single room with shared bathroom is really small. The shared toilet didn't work that well. No shampoo and hairdryer.

    I got a better and bigger single room with private bathroom for second and third night. Staff is very friendly. Location is quite good for those who want to visit art museums! Reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    7.9
    I was delighted by the location, the comfort of bed and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    During the stay there was an issue with the front door, it was not very easy to unlock them and since Madrid is the place you easily stay awake long into the evening/night a few times I was wondering if I will have to stay outside for the night.

    I was delighted by the location, the comfort of bed and staff friendliness and readiness to help, there was also no problem with English language.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    8.8
    Myself and my wife stayed here for 3 nights and we really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea/coffee facilities in the room, you may want to bring a travel kettle...and maybe some shower gel.

    Myself and my wife stayed here for 3 nights and we really enjoyed our stay. No frills, but we found the 2 ladies at reception more than helpful. Great location and near Atocha Station, which is well worth a visit.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    8.8
    This place really exceeded my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Thin walls meant that I could clearly hear neighbours watching tv at times. Luckily I'm not too sensitive so I slept like a baby anyway!

    This place really exceeded my expectations. The staff were very friendly and the room was comfortable and clean. I even had a shower in my room which I wasn't expecting (toilet was just down the hall). The location is perfect - 10 minutes walk from Puerta del Sol and similar to the major museums and the beautiful Parque Retiro.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    8.3
    The location and the value for money was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Only one member of staff spoke English, but at least everyone tried to understand us and explain everything to us in Spanish.

    The location and the value for money was great! Noise isolation was poor but unless other visitors were noisy, it was alright. The staff was friendly and polite, and the rooms were neat.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    7.9
    Welcoming host and clean pleasant room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to complain about.

    Welcoming host and clean pleasant room. Reasonably close to Sol centre.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    10
    all
    • Solo traveller

    the night reception can speak english a littil bit becouse ı was wating front of the door about 30 min for the open the door

    all

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    5.0
    The samllest room and bathroom what I've ever seen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The samllest room and bathroom what I've ever seen. Very noisy.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    7.1
    Location and price value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    basic room and tiny bathroom. Check out was early 10:30am

    Location and price value for money

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    6.7
    Well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Single room was a bit cramped with the only window being in the shower.

    Well located. Friendly staff. Bed was comfortable

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, very close to the metro, central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff, very close to the metro, central location. Great deal for the money!

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    7.9
    Close to underground and train stations and Plaza Mayor,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to underground and train stations and Plaza Mayor, clean single room with bathrooms. Great value for money

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.8
    Noisy neighnours
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy neighnours

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    9.2
    Ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Ideal location. Very central.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    8.8
    Friendly and very helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly and very helpful staff! Amazing value for money!

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    10
    The location, and frienly staff
    • Solo traveller

    The location, and frienly staff

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: