Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Marenostrum 2 stars

Carrer Sant Pau, 2 , Ciutat Vella, 08001 Barcelona, Spain

#67 of 281 B&Bs and Inns in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1868 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Even smaller bathroom with the toilet ‘in’ the shower. On top of that, even the shower flooded resulting in the water streaming into our room...

    Only the location is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small but otherwise everything else was fantastic.

    Great position just off La Rambla. Very easy to get any where we wanted to go. Our tours left from Placa Catalunya which was a 5 min walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although it was really nice and modern installations, we felt a little tight in the room (we were 4).

    I like the decoration, the location, the breakfast and the staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom, when you were taking a bath it was flooded the water and you couldn't use the rest of the bathroom because all are in the same place.

    Great place right at the city center, good European breakfast, friendly staff, music on the room, everyday cleaning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very very small for 2 adults and 1 kid. Pictures are not representing the real situation which is much worse. Maybe there are one or two apartments in the whole hotel with decent windows, but the most we saw are terrible. "Window" into another wall outside, no natural light. Breakfast was with little options. We had 2 nights booked but left early after only one night to another hotel, no refund was possible or suggested.

    Location near La Rambla. Good WiFi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not very comfortable - hard mattress and thin pillow. The sink was blocked but it was fixed promptly.

    Good location , helpful staff, breakfast until 11am, 24h reception, vending machine with cold drinks, lift to get to the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very compact, notably the toilet and shower in separate small rooms on either side behind the bed. No real complaint as it was all quite functional and worked nicely. Reception is first level up stairs, which could be problematic for those with heavy of luggage. A lift available from reception to higher levels.

    Ten metres from the lift of Liceu metro station makes it a breeze to use the metro to and from the airport or Sants train station. Location on La Rambla and 10 minutes walk from Placa Catalunya. Neat and tidy room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room so small we had to move our luggage around before we could get to bed or bathroom. There are 25 steps in groups of 5 at right angles to get to reception. Very hard to drag luggage up stairs

    Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to carry bags up one floor. But this was advised in an email so we were prepared. Air conditioning did not work well when it was more hot or cold, had to manually switch it on and off to adjust temperature.

    Stayed 3 nights and enjoyed it. Brilliant location just opposite the Liceu metro station, convenient for a direct link to Sants train station and the airport bus stops at Catalunya 10 minutes walk away. The Miro mosaic on Ramblas is just opposite the hostel. Very nice lively area, we were here during the 23 April Sant Jordi day celebrations with all the rose and book stalls. Check in was smooth and quick. Was given Room 103 on the first floor. The reception is actually manned 24 hours and all the staff speak good English and were very helpful. Was requested to give the keycard back whenever we left and it was nice to be recognized and greeted by name whenever we came back. Asked Mickey about vegetarian restaurants and was given a printout of 5 places within walking distance. They had maps, gave directions and always had a smile. Impressed! The room is small but very well set up, folding shelves and practical hangars, cubby holes, comfortable bed. Very good space management. Good wifi and enough charging points. The bathroom is triangular and small too, the shower is basically a space between the loo and basin but good hot water and housekeeping kept the place spic and span. There was a small balcony with 2 chairs looking out onto Ramblas. Shutting the French windows and shutters cut down the outside noise completely, slept well. Breakfast was free and good, selection of cereal, fruit, boiled eggs and sandwich makings. The view out of the breakfast room is really nice too. We had a 7.30am train the last day and they had a basic breakfast selection available at 6am as requested. Great service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room configuration. Very strange, but adequate

    The location was excellent, the room tiny. But it had nearly everything g you needed for a very short stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small. The hotel is on the first floor....with stairs to reception. No lift from ground to first floor.

    Position of hotel excellent for sightseeing. Staff very helpful with information on sightseeing and restaurants. Super breakfast. Staff offered to carry cases up to reception (the hotel is on the first floor and the lift only operates from the first floor upwards) Room small but adequate with good en-suite shower room. All very clean and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn ´ t like the family room without balcony

    I would sppreciate at the reception the computer which would have microsoft office. I needed to check something and I had to ask the receptionist...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inflexible attitude to cancelling one nights accommodation ( even with 3 months notice) so I had to pay for a night I couldn’t use. They could have helped but refused to do so, even though they could easily have rented that room in the three months notice I gave them. Very disappointing.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep Stairs to the reception difficult with suitcases. There is an elevator from that point on but if you are older you might have problems.

    Great location. Good breakfast in a renovated room facing the Ramblas with good people watching big window. Very nice staff with 24 hr service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    the night shift male staff enrique (im not sure about his name) is awesome, considerate and helpful to guest. he deserves a pay raise or an award. thanks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t stay longer

    I had previously emailed and asked if we could request a balcony room as it was for my partners birthday. Although they couldn’t guarantee, when we arrived we found that not only did we have a balcony room with the best view of over Rambla , but they had also left my partner a birthday message and some chocolates. Room was small but extremely comfortable and very practical for our 3 night break, kept clean and made up daily. The location of the hostel is perfect, and although located right in the middle of Ramblas the rooms are very quiet and have excellent soundproofing. The staff were all very pleasant and friendly. Breakfast was of a good quality with enough selection, and the location of the breakfast room looking out over the street below is perfect. All in all a great little find, reasonable priced given the location. All in all, fell in love with Barca and will definitely be booking this hostel when we return in the near future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air-condition in room is not functional. Thankfully opened the windows. Room is really small for 3 beds but comfortable otherwise. The pictures looks deceiving.

    Location! 50 meters from Liceu station, 5 mins away from the Mercat, lots of restaurants around. 25 mins to the port. Just situated across LA rambla and about hour walk to Plaza Catalunya (me walking leisurely), where you can catch your bus and buses to airport Our beds were made up every day and breakfast is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I thought I paid a bit too much for my room based on the size.

    Loved Hostal Marenostrum. The staff were great. (Claudio) Full of information, made you feel very welcome. Breakfast was great. The rooms may have been small but they had everything you needed.. after all we were only sleeping there.. so much to see and do. The Hostal is in a great location very central and great places near, including beach and port.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down side was noise late evening from La Rambla ! Not a fault of the hostel just drunken idiots.

    This is rated as a hostel but is better than some hotels we have visited. Excellent location really good continental breakfast and staff rooms cleaned and towels etc changed every day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred to have a kettle in the room. Would also like breakfast to be earlier (7am).

    The location was brilliant, could see the Ramblas from our room (can also hear it). The staff were really friendly and it was really clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator on the ground floor. You have to carry your suitcase and use the stairs. But when I arrived, the nice gentleman from the front desk was gentle enough and carried both my suitecases.

    The croissant was super delicious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small. We barely had room to walk around the bed and almost no room for our luggage. There was also a moldy/musty smell coming from the bathroom when we didn’t leave the window open. The walls are really thin so you can hear everyone else’s conversations in their rooms. The last night we were there other guests were being quite loud at 2am. Staff finally came up and asked them to quiet down, which they did. Breakfast could have used more fresh fruit and better coffee, but overall breakfast was great.

    The staff was very helpful and pleasant when needed. Room where the breakfast was served was lovely and updated with a beautiful view of Las Ramblas. Our room was updated and clean. Location is really convenient to lots of attractions and the airport bus stops about 10 min walk from the hostel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room provided to us had some sewer smell. Complained at the reception and were offered to shift to a higher floor, however, room offered only has a small window and no balcony. We just ended closing the bathroom door to minimize the sewer smell and opening our balcony door at night. Air conditioning is also not running. Were told by a guy that were called by the reception that they do not use air conditioning. Thermostat seems to be there as a mere display on the wall. Did not have good sleep (we stayed for 4 nights) due to noise coming from main street of Las Ramblas even after the wee hours. We probably would not hear the noise so much if the balcony is close but since air conditioning is non existence and the sewer smell issue, we had no choice but to leave the balcony open to get some fresh air outside. Elevator is also only available from 1st level so if you are having big luggage like we did, be prepared to flex your muscle you will have to drag your luggage from the ground floor to the 1st floor (reception is at 1st floor). Would be nice at least if they have a staff who can assist guests (specially those who does not have any male with them). It was a struggle for both of us to carry/drag our heavy luggage up to the 1st floor. Receptionist (night and day shift) were also not friendly and not welcoming at all.

    Love the location (right in the middle of Las Ramblas, next to Opera House and just a step away from the Opera metro station!). Friendly cleaning and breakfast hall staff. We enjoyed breakfast offered with the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Very tasty breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff. Before our arrival I received a user guide from the hostel with very useful tips, for example, how to reach their place with efficient and cheapest way. I can honestly recommend this place

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In bathroom, shower and toilet was seperated with a glass door and water was leaking inside we had to cover the bottom of the door with towels to deal with the excess water. Our room was cozy and comfortable but there wasn't much place for out clothes, I totally get that to room was too small to add a closet in it but maybe some shelves could be a smart solution.

    Facility was extremely clean, staff was so helpful and positive. Location was excellent; easy to find and was close to lots of tourist attractions (bonus:Our balcony had a very nice La Rambla view.) Beds were comfortable, hot water was 24/7 available. Breakfast was beyond my expectations, it was full of fresh and tasty goods to eat. They offered us a glass of cava as a welcome drink, it was very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are really small. The position of bathroom and toilet is just behind the bed so at least for me it wasn't the best feeling being on the toilet knowing that your partner has his head 20cm away :) Walls are very thin and you can hear almost everything through. For me it wasn't a problem, but bare in mind that there is no elevator from the entrance to the reception. There is one very claustrophobic elevator which can then take you up to the upper floors.

    I must say that staff were really extremely friendly and helpful! They are the best feature of this hotel. Location is really good, it's just next to La Rambla and to the tube station and very close to Playa Catalunia where you can get the bus to the airport if you don't take a train. Breakfast area is really nice with a nice view of La Rambla. Breakfast itself it's very tasty.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't welcomed nicely at night Lift is from the lobby onwards which is 1st floor Heater wasnt working very well, i think

    Very close to Metro Good value for location, la rambla

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very vertical small but comfaterble the toilet with shower also very small but O. K

    The hotel is nice and clean Great location Nice brekfest

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was provided too late (would normally expect from 7am, not 8am). Rooms are *very* small and no chair/desk space for working at. I wouldn't want to spend more than just the night in the room as they would be too small.

    Clean rooms with a good location. Very polite and helpful staff who were happy to look after my bags when I checked out on the last day. The rooms were cleaned daily. Breakfast is very good however would be good if it could be provided earlier (pre 8am as it was rushed to get to 9am meetings). Location very good for restaurants and connections to airport and metro

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with couple of extra pillows in room

    Breakfast was excellent and breakfast area has views on to las rambles where you can sit and watch the world go by

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The rooms were lovely, the addition of music was wonderful and the breakfast and staff were amazing! Couldn’t thank the guys on reception more for helping us and giving us advice of getting around the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of a gorgeous 23 year old lady companion, perhaps? *Seriously, no complaints.

    *Staff are very supportive to travellers. *Position of the hotel is near-perfect. *Breakfasts are fine. *** I had stayed there 5 years previously.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bit noise during the night, but of course rambla was under my open window

    very nice look from the window directly to Rambla in the dinning room when you are having brekfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose this hotel due to fantastic location; it is located on Rambla and Liceu metro station in only 50 meters away. The room was small (we stayed in quadruple one), but we did not come to Barcelona to spend time in the room ;). Breakfast was from 8 to 11 and was good and they also arrange for you early breakfast, if needed. Very friendly and helpful staff. Noise from Rambla did not bother us; windows are well isolated. In summary, great value for money!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was clean and new but very small. The toilet facilities were in the shower which was open to the room, no storage or space for luggage, and no place to sit.

    cleanliness and service. Staff was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered a taxi to get to the airport on our way home. Reception said it would be about €25-35 depending on the traffic. The taxi was about €31 when we go to the airport. He pressed a few buttons (and bear in mind there was already an initial fee on the screen when we got in the taxi) and suddenly the fee shot up to €41. He said there was a reservation fee because we pre-booked the taxi. He may have been right, but we weren't told about it. Just something to be wary of.

    I thought the hotel was excellent. The location was superb - hard to beat. Our room was small but it had a great view over La Rambla and it was exceptionally clean and that is the most important thing to me. The staff were very friendly and we had clean sheets and towels every single day. The breakfast was great, good choice and a good view as well. I cannot fault this hotel and I would definitely recommend it to others.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was next to reception and coffee machine so there was a bit more noise than average. But overall everything was very good.

    Awesome location with a metro station right next to the hotel and great view over la rambla.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are a bit too small but they have made good use of the space available. No room safe. Rooms overlooking Las Ramblas ok but the street never sleeps so can get noisy into the early hours.

    Great location half way down Las Ramblas and less than 10 minutes walk for the airport bus. Metro station right outside. Pleasant and helpful staff. Ample buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was quite compact.

    The free glass of cava was a nice touch. Although our twin room and bathroom was small and compact they were both spotlessly clean and our towels were changed daily. The breakfast was excellent with a great view from the window. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was that the bed was very hard.

    Location is excellent. Room was basic but very clean And has all you need for a comfortable stay. Couldn't stay in a better position.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough space for putting our clothes. Not enough for us as we were 4 and didn't have enough room to put things and move.There are 25 stairs to the reception desk. It is too much with luggage or when you are tired.

    The friendly and lovely staff and atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room - no place to move, tiny bathroom when you take a shower all the bathroom getting wet

    Location, location, location, very clean and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs to the reception, no lobby or area to sit and rest.

    location is perfect, single room was small but meets all basic needs , cleaned every day, linen and towels are clean. Breakfast is very good. Next to the opera house so if someone interested easy access. I strongly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A great location next to La Rambla and the opera house with the Liceu metro stop right outside on La Rambla. Getting around the Gotic area and seeing all the sights was great, as was getting to the harbor. Going to Sagrada Familia, Montserrat, Parc Guell, and Montjuic was simple to do on public transportation. Plus the best part of all was experiencing the Spanish lifestyle was wonderful. The rooms are small - but you shouldn't be spending time in the room except to siesta and sleep, the bathroom was excellent, and the breakfasts were good and the breakfast room looks out on LA Rambla. Finally the staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are stairs to the first floor. The elevator start from the second floor. Not a real problem but not recommended for people with disabilities.

    Clean, staff was very kind and helpful, nice breakfast, amazing location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small for four of us, but we managed.

    Room clean, staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good choice and variety of food excellent. Bathroom and shower clean plenty of hot water. Central location could. Not have been better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    on the downside the is no lift have to carry own luggage up 1 floor & a bit noisy from the street but we are find with that

    location was excellent directly on La Ramblas metro just right in front very convenient breakfast was good front desk very helpful daily room cleaning & toiletries refilled perfect for us

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were next door to a triple room, 2 nights fine and quiet, but one we we had a group of spanish lads who returned arguing loudly in the middle of the night and then went out again still arguing, and one a couple with a young child who seemed to be running around the room and kicking the wall for half an hour at two a clock in the morning. Luck of the draw I guess, and would definitely stay here again, but I'd be tempted to ask for a room away from the triples next time.

    Perfect location, helpful friendly staff, excellent breakfast. Room small but great for a short stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, metro station just in front of the hotel. Kind stuff, clean rooms, superb room view on La Rambla street. Breakfast is also included and dicent. Been traveling to Barcelona many times, this is the best hotel I've been in that price range.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carrying bags up stairs to first floor. We knew it was necessary for the great situation.

    Great location Very nice breakfast included. Rooms small but had everything we needed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small stairs wd big luggages is hard to go up and down. But its very understandable if you arenin Europe esp. Hostal isnin the best location. Room is very clean n comfortable. Staff is great

    Breakfast is good. Coffee needs to be improve the taste and the quality. I love brewed coffee its my good start for the day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To get to the 2nd floor (equivalent to 1st flr in Europe) where the reception is, one has to take the stairs. There is no elevator, so be prepared to do some exercise. Once on the second floor, the elevator to the higher levels, is tiny.

    The hostal, was an ild fashion hotel, charming and in the heart of Las Ramblas, a few steps away from El Mercado de La Boqueria. I also loved that it was right across the street from the metro L3 and the bus stop 59. It made our navigating around Barcelona extremely easier. Barcelona was our last stop after two weeks traveling in various cities in Europe. We found our hotel rooms comfortable. We booked two bedrooms , mine had an excellent view of Las Ramblas, the other one not so much. The service was great, we got a lot of tips from the staff at the reception desk. Everyone working there was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift when entering hostel. My cousin was pregnant too so alot of stairs wasnt ideal. The lift in the hostel was so small. And wasnt much choice for food at breakfast. i have ibs n lactose intolerance no soya milk available.

    That the hostel was located in the centre of town, and also value for money. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had to walk up three flights of stairs, bit hard when you have heavy bags and no one willing to help. If I had of know this I wouldn't of booked this place. Has had a make over but very cheaply done. Very tiny rooms I was on my own so if two people had to stay in this room it would of made this very hard.

    It was clean, breakfast was good and staff friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress too firm for my personal taste

    Perfect location on La Rambla. Carmen at front desk was very helpful and knowledgeable. Free breakfast exceeded expectation. Room for four and bathroom spotless..towels nice and fluffy. Mattress too firm for my personal taste..thats the only thing I would improve. Had a FABULOUS stay. Would definitely go back

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely small, smaller than you'd expect from pictures. These kind of rooms I think are suitable only for solo travellers.

    The location was really excellent and also the breakfast was really great. Rooms were clean and tidy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight damp smell in bathroom but nothing major. Great value for money.

    Basic rooms but very clean and excellent breakfast. Appreciated the warning about the stairs up to the main reception from street level. Staff very helpful. Free glass of cava in local tapas bar was a great touch! Perfect location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more space in the room would have been nice as there was 4 of us but overall it was excellent

    The breakfast was amazing, staff very helpful and absolutely perfect location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could've done with a little more space in the room but as a base for four days it was adequate. We had a late night flight home and had to check out at 12, we asked if we could use the shower in the downstairs toilet to freshen up but it was an absolute no go - we found this to be fair I'll unaccomodating especially as we could see the shower there in perfectly good working order

    Modern facilities, great shower

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our quadruple room was a bit small but it was comfortable.

    Great location. Our room overlooked La Rambla but was very quiet at night when we shut the balcony door. Excellent breakfast with many items. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was dirty, a bad odor, it's no comfortable room, there is a lot of stairs to up the lobby. The hand washer is on te room and not in the bath.

    Location at Ramblas

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Although there was a window, it didn't help much and our room was really dark - High humidity in the bathroom

    - Good breakfast, we liked the selection of hams and there was a sandwich press which was useful - Great location at La Rambla, very close to the subway - Our room was quiet, we didn't hear the noise from the street at all

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there is no left from the ground floor and i carried all my luggage to the 1st floor as there is no staff to help for this issue.

    location and room view are amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    Friendly staff, very nice breakfast with good selection, great location, good wi-fi, stylish decoration. The hotel is well maintained, looks supernew

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As it is located right beside the very-busy La Ramblas, it's not for someone who's looking for peace and serenity, but this did not bother me at all!

    The location was amazing! Literally less than 1 minute walking distance to Liceu metro station and about 15 minutes walking to Plaza de Catalunya where you can catch the Aerobus to the airport. There are several eateries all around the hotel (with a few Halal options for Muslim tourists). It is right beside the La Ramblas walk. Very exciting and buzzing with life and activity. The staff were very friendly and helpful! The room size was just nice, the bed comfortable and the room clean (it has been refurbished).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Avoid calling a cab from the hotel reception, as it comes with a 10 euro pre-start fare. We wasn't told this when we booked it. Better to take it from the street.

    We received a complimentary glass of Cava at a nearby restaurant, which had very good choices of food as well. The hotel is very clean and the breakfast room is great, with good food offering and nice view of Rambla.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The ventilation of the bedroom is not so good in my opinion. It can become very steamy, but as the built-in fan not very effective, mold can form easily on the tiles. There was no tea and coffee making facility in the bedroom, there was only a machine near to reception and I think it worked with coins. But as we didn't use it, I don't know for sure, and it wasn't really a problem for us, but can be uncomfortable for other guests. I had more problems with the breakfast, as I really missed some sliced vegetables for my morning sandwich. At least some sliced tomatoes and cucumbers would be good to be added to the choices and also there was a bread problem. They only provide sliced white bread and they provide sliced baguettes (white and brown), but the brown runs out very quickly, so I think this is a sign for the hotel operators, that they should add brown bread to the breakfast selection. More fruit would be good too, but I know it is a budget hotel, so they can't provide a large selection for this money.

    The hotel has an excellent location, as it's at the corner of a side street of La Rambla, and only one stop away from Placa de Catalunya with tube, which can be walked down easily. The airport bus stops at Placa de Catalunya, so it can be easily reached from airport. The room was small and very functional, but we didn't mind as we spent most of our days outside, discovering the city. The hotel is just next to the Gothic Quarter, so you can find many attractions within walking distance. There are all sort of restaurants and cafés nearby, so you can find cheap and expensive ones too. The room was clean and the housekeepers came everyday to make the bed and to change towels (unless you told them not to do it). Our room had a balcony, so we were able to stand out and watch the crowd as they walk on Miró's mosaic in the middle of the street. The view from the breakfast room is very nice as you can watch the 'life' of the La Rambla. Highly recommended to sit by the window! Staff was friendly and helpful, they provided all the information we needed. And yes, there was free Wi-Fi, which wasn't slow! I also liked that we could have breakfast until 11am, and that the last check-out time was at 12am. They have a luggage room that can be used for free, and only the receptionist goes into that room to get your luggage, so other guests can't touch your luggage.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hostal however the rooms are small and get very hot. Aircon did not have enough power.

    Great location and value for money. The staff are friendly and overall the hostal itself it great! Breakfast has a good selection for short stays.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls - could hear another room playing music and talking loud at 12am! Hotel staff were able to rectify promptly though which was good. The beds were a little uncomfortable and two beds pushed together which wasn't as nice. Also there seemed to be a bad smell (like sewage) in the room. Not too strong but it would randomly come about.

    Close to the metro. In a great neighbourhood. Small breakfast but still good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are quite small

    Great breakfast, the location was absolutely phenomenal, staff was kind, was quiet with windows shut, again and most importantly... location couldn't be better!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room and bathroom (and the sink was inside the room, in front of the bed!), not exceptional breakfast, not clean blanket (sheets were ok).

    Excellent position, just few metres from the Ramblas and few steps from the metro station! Very comfortable bed, breakfast with view on the Ramblas, very polite staff, available to provide a map of the city and advice on the best places to visit and on the transports, reception open 24h/24h.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was good,selfservice,room wasn´t too spacious but clean and effectiv,before departure we can leave luggage in storrage, seating on balcony was inside ,,La Rambla " ,everywhere you can reach by walk , from cathedral to beach , warm staff :-) !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great little Hotel just off La Rambla. Small but comfortable room. Rainfall shower was amazing! Slightly noisy but nothing ear plugs can't fix! Impressed with the breakfast, good choice and nice selection.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Watch out during the night, because there are a lot prostitutes and weird people in the area (next to the hotel). They are harmless, they care only for customers, but in any case take care.

    The location of this hotel is in the heart of the city, near La Boqueria, Opera, Bari Gothic, El Raval. We had a room with a view to Las Ramplas. Breakfast was great. The area is full of people all day. Fresh towels and tided room every day. Metro station is opposite to the hotel (20 seconds walk).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a Twin rm with extra bed. The room is quite small, we end up the three single beds almost side by side. Only heating and no cool air con, they told us they only turn it on in summer. It was quite warm that day. We then try to open the window, but it's not fresh air (smell like air from kitchen extractor fan ).

    Excellent location, its on La Rambla. Very friendly staffs.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostal Marenostrum traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: