Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Maribel 1 stars

Avenida Federico García Lorca, 153, 04008 Almería, Spain

#17 of 30 hotels in Almería

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 488 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    The onsuite room I had was very clean & comfortable,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The onsuite room I had was very clean & comfortable, & kept in that condition for my 14 day stay. Staff & management went out off their way to help & guide me, with diffarent aspects

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Great little hotel with sparkling clean room, good wifi, great location - and fantastic price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all good!

    Great little hotel with sparkling clean rooms and friendly staff. Be sure though to ask for a room with a window. My room was simple, but nice and clean with my own bathroom. They call it "Hostal", but it's really a hotel and very nice people - and very helpful. Internet was also good speed. The only tiny wrinkle was rather thin walls. The room next to me had the TV blaring and was also snoring at night, but front desk called them and had them turn down the volume. So again - very helpful. Location is great - is easy walking distance to the historic part, many eateries and bus/train terminal is good 15 minute walk away. Would defintiely stay again - great experience, especially at just €32!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    6.3
    Book if you are going for a one night sleep only
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor noise isolation, thus whole night you can here everything as with an open window. Room is very small, blankets are old. The place itself needs renovation. The price is too high for such place

    The location was rather good. You can park for free in a Lidl nearby. Staff was very friendly, however didn't speak English

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.6
    Great value place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was some noise from the corridor but I think that's normal in any kind of hostal/hotel.

    For the price, this hostal is absolutely fantastic. It's really clean, the WiFi works well, and it's at the top of the main street in the town. The bathroom was modern and the shower was fantastic - good water pressure. The man at reception was really friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.1
    Good location, easily walked to my meetings and we have...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy , old building didn't sleep well there. Rooms are small and dark .

    Good location, easily walked to my meetings and we have restaurants around the corner Staff were fantastic!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    People were nice and friendly and the hostal was quiet, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it says so in the description, there is no free parking near the hotel. I had parked my car in a secured parking garage near the bull fighting arena.

    People were nice and friendly and the hostal was quiet, but on a 10 minutes walk from the centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Love it - as usual
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This has been the 3rd time we've stayed here while visiting family in Almeria and we love Hostal Maribel! The staff is friendly and efficient and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Great shower and water pressure and AC which works great. Will stay here every time we're in Almeria

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.5
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain really. Clean and comfortable.

    The location was nice and the price more than nice. During the hot august a working aircon is a must...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    A comfortable friendly place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff very helpful. Room very clean and quiet . We would go back. Price very reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Great central position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No daylight in my room. A bit noisy at night with other people coming and going. Also could not leave my bag early

    Clean and comfy for the price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    great quality for money, perfect location, friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    great quality for money, perfect location, friendly staff, all great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard bed. No light from window

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, good room. Excellent hostal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving 😂

    Clean room, helpful friendly staff exceeded expectations

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.9
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Very helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    3.3
    Abysmal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower overflowed with the floor of the room soaking wet.

    Not a lot

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Excellent little place and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit smelly when we arrived and had to wait a while for room to be ready but all Ok

    Perfect for a base to go and explore the city

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.9
    Friendly, clean, cheap, basic accommodation close to the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought there was going to be shampoo supplied in the bathroom but there was not.

    Great staff. Really comfy beds. Close to centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    Good value for central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very close to the city core. Excellent value for money. The person in charge was exceptionally helpful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    Quite basic hostal but good value and spotless
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Unbelievably clean

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    10
    Muy muy bien
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean comfortable accommodation. Staff excellent even though we did not speak much Spanish. Very helpful. Thank you.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.6
    City stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, helpful friendly staff made our stay easy. Many thanks.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    5.0
    Friendly and clean, almost all the need it facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a bad smell in the room

    Friendly and clean, almost all the need it facilities

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    10
    Everything, specialy staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything, specialy staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    10
    Friendly staff and very clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and very clean rooms

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    3.8
    They cleaned the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This was, by a fair margin, the worst room I have spent on my five week trip. Tiny! It was in the middle of a series of corridors like a prison block. I had asked if there was a window, which they said there was...In a tiny antechamber...that looked into the covered Housekeeper's area, right over the sink where they washed their mops. I left the window open the first night because the air didn't move...But the clamour of the mop room, coupled with the fact that the housekeepers' head actually sort of hung into the room as they worked kiboshed that. Crappy shower. Dicey WiFi. I had asked to make sure I paid up front. I signed a thing with my credit card on it. Then, as I was leaving in a hurry to make a bus, the guy tells me I need to pay. I said I did pay, and he just starts yelling he'll CALL THE COPS!! No discussion. Just histrionics. I walked out, knowing they had my info and would get their money. This hotel sucks. I have to believe that someone is padding their rating because this place was terrible.

    They cleaned the room. There was toilet paper.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.2
    Traditional old Spanish hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is a little dated but for the price it is perfect.

    Traditional old Spanish hotel. It is not the Ritz but you do not pay those prices. Found it last minute when travel plans change and very few rooms left in Almeria. Very welcoming on check in and most importantly they spent hours locating the one bar that would show the semi-final of the rugby for me!! 10/10 service.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    4.6
    Clean room and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Plastic on the mattress under the sheets makes it too hot to sleep on. The room didn't have a window that let any air in (the window was facing into a laundry with a very narrow and high opening to the outside). I think they put the washing machines on a timer that set them off at 4am and I can hear it going all morning.

    Clean room and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.5
    24 hour person on the door and a reliable alarm call system
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    a little noisy as people arrive and leave in the early hours and the walls are a little thin

    24 hour person on the door and a reliable alarm call system

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    6.7
    The staff the location and the comfort and clean premises.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I paid for a single room with patio and view. There was no PATIO for hotel users there was no window in my rroom to let in natural light. There was no lounge area or suitable area t. Sit and meet other hostel users so I felt really isolatedwITH HAD TO PAY EXTRA FOR ANOTHER ROOM WITH A WINDOW.

    The staff the location and the comfort and clean premises.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    7.5
    Fast wi fi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Yes very surprised indeed when a woman tried to come into my room at night! No idea how she managed to open the door and didn't understand what she said but think it was another guest. Anyway totally unacceptable!

    Fast wi fi

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    9.2
    Sparkling clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Walls are thin and corridor echoes with voices. Some rooms windows open onto centre courtyard.

    Sparkling clean. Great wifi. Close to everything 20mins from beach 10mins to old town 15mins to bus and train. Everything you need. Great shower. 24hrs reception.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    8.3
    Everything was fine,but.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room I occupied had no window to the outside but only an indirect one to a drying room which opened up at the roof, but that was quite high up,so I had almost no natural light in my room. I f I had known I would have booked a different room!! But it was not mentioned in the description.

    Everything was fine,but...look to the right

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    8.8
    Staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No refrigerator. No cooking.

    Staff was great. Wifi good. Clean.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    Staff is always friendly and available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff is always friendly and available. Rooms very clean and bathroom as well. Great shower.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    7.9
    small clean rooms - great reception staff all a short walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    small clean rooms - great reception staff all a short walk away from the bustle of the town.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    9.6
    staff very frienly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    staff very frienly and helpful

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Browse Hostal Maribel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: