Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Oporto 2 stars

Zorrilla, 9 1º, Madrid City Centre, 28014 Madrid, Spain

#275 of 372 B&Bs and Inns in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 418 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff couldn't give us much information about nearby attractions etc. although they were incredibly warm and friendly. (There was also, no map available in reception.) This place is good though if you need a nice place to rest your head and shower but be prepared to do your own research. WiFi can be a little spotty but generally reliable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the bathroom there was only a towel for the floor and a hand-towel. There were no big towels, but this is no big deal if you come prepared. In addition, a small fridge and a hair dryer would be appreciated by the guests! But again, with such a great price, these can be easily overlooked.

    Everything about this hotel is great! The location is the best you can possibly find, the staff is very kind and helpful, the room is big enough, the beds are super comfortable, and, last but not least, it is super clean! Safety is also a plus in this property. And of course, the price is unbeatable! Definitely recommended to all budget travelers!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked 1 night due to early flight in the morning. it is very noisy hotel. we couldn't sleep all night due to the snores of the guy next room or the traffic in the hotel or people loudly talking on the hallway.

    close to the airport and public transportation. 20 minutes away from the city center by bus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We're older than we used to be - the stairs were a little daunting with luggage.

    We chose this hotel because we had one night in Madrid and wanted to go to the Teatro a la Zarzuela. The hotel is absolutely perfectly located for this - just around the corner.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clarification of my booking, what went wrong? Drainage smells, unhelpful attitude.

    I was travelling with my daughter and had requested 2 single beds. We were given a small double and although my confirmation email clearly stated this the owner produced a reservation for 'matrimonial double bed' We were unable to change as the hotel was fully booked. Owner does not speak English so we had to make do. Far from ideal. Totally appreciate that we were in Spain so not expecting him to speak good English but actually bordered on being unhelpful. V. small bathroom in old building but drains really did smell. He was very insistent that we should check out by 11am when I explained we were taking part in an event and charged us 1 Euro to leave our bags in the office for a few hours. The location of this hostal is great for all the sites and transport links but I would probably not go there again. Seems to be a family affair with no-one speaking English and not much info for tourists eg maps, suggestions, no communal tea making facilites etc.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The small bed was very uncomfortable, it had springs piercing the body. Couldn't sleep all night. The shower pressure was non-existent. The main door key didn't work, had to buzz the reception each time when entering.

    Location is awesome, just 10-15min walk from Plaza del Sol and Prado Museum.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The hotel deduced the money from my card on booking even though the condition was to pay upon arrival. 2. When we arrived I was asked to pay a second time, I told the receptionist I had already done it. He insisted. I showed him bank details. No apologies offered. 3. When booking mind that most rooms haveNO NATURAL DAYLIGHT. THEY ARE FACING A BACKYARD. Even at noon you have to switch on the electricity 4. The bathroom tiny. 5. The heating insufficient.

    The location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The safe in one of the rooms did not work. The bed in the single room was rather short but I slept okay. The bathroom of the double room was a bit small. These are minor faults but overall I would recomment it to budget travellers!

    Standard rooms with private bathroom, not luxurious but good value for the money, the single room was quite small but all kept very clean! Staff was helpful, they even offered to let us do the online check-in of our flight at reception desk (for 0,50€ per printed page). The manager speaks English, the staff only speak Spanish. Rooms are cleaned every morning, fresh towels and bedsheets are included. Location is excellent, close to Puerta del Sol (shopping), metro station, Lavapies quarter (good for dining and eating out), Paseo del Arte (museums) etc.!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My flight was 2 hours late so I ended ip checking in after midnight. They apparently charge a 15 euro fee for late check in. Super disappointing when I booked this for budget reasons and then it ends up being expensive for reasons out of my control.

    Decent location Clean room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    through the weekend had to ask for clean towels and toilet paper beacuse it weren't replaced

    most of time choosing this hotel beacuse of location, friendly staff and great previous experience

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very basic hotel. The hot water was not reliable.

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Friendly staff, good location and quiet room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small toilet

    Providing an air conditioner in my private room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear people on the next room talking and making a lot of noise in the middle of the night.

    Location, staff was great

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was smelling...

    Wifi is ok, in the downtown, quiet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet place Great location and walking distance to museums

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Emergency exit lamp was burning in the room (all rooms in the corridor) and interfere with sleep. Audibility was such as if the walls were not at all

    Located in the center, but on a small street and found it was a problem for me

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was disgustingly dusty to the point of triggering an asthma attack in myself. The shower head was broken and there was mildew in the cracks of the tiles. Upon notifying staff and changing location, no refund was offered.

    The staff were friendly and had great knowledge of the local area. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to ask for clean towels (having been given two large and one small) and when we returned, discovered one new one and the only small one removed. Staff were rarely in attendance and not overy helpful.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very helpful and location was good and quiet. Personal muy amable, buen localización, la habitación es bastante grande y cómoda. Según mis experiencias es uno de los mejores en Madrid.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very tiny and dark. The bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen. The staff didn't know a single English word. The building is very old, the entrance door lock is half-broken so we risked being locked out. The bath towels were stained and with holes.

    Very central position. Staff rather friendly, room relatively clean.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were super cold in the rooms. A bathroom were very small and it was like constructed in the interior of the room. There were heard noises all the time from other rooms and from hall, no privacy at all, a bit irritating when you hear conversations of other guests all the time.

    Location is great! Room interior is pretty nice.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I dont know where to be begin from.crappy behaviour from the receptionist uppon our arrival.in addition to that he wasnt speaking a single word of english!the photos of the rooms have nothing to do with the real thing.in the room that was given to us in order to seat to the toilet you needed to raise your right arm and hug the sink.the towels were torn and the seets had a yellowish colour.pillows were stuffed with rocks,it sure felt like it.you felt you need to keep clear and touch nothing!noisy and unservised stinky A/C.closet was just a wall with 2 doors.you can do a lot better at this price point.no warm water and the excuse was that it was a peak hour in demand!if u chose to stay there shower in the morning!u needed 3 keys to get to your room and the one to get in the hostel was jamming.sure I got a lesson from the receptionist upon my arrival how to pick the lock.a choice that ruined our stay in Madrid.we were misguided by booking.com and the 8.1 averege reviews.who are these people???

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was small. Sometimes you could hear other rooms' noises.

    The location was just perfect. The staff people were kind. It was mostly quiet. It completely worth the price you pay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything

    location

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room got a bit cold at night.

    I liked the service (the clerk is really attentive) and the location.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Atendimento do pessoal.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Service was great!!!!

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    almost impossibleto get the key to work for main door. Spend some money and fix it!!!!

    Basic but clean-ish, decent location.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very noisy, street and "office"

    good location

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Browse Hostal Oporto traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: