Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hostal Oriente This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Arenal, 23, Madrid City Center, 28013 Madrid, Spain

#64 of 372 B&Bs and inns in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1882 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    7.9
    Location, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The internet access from the room was not very good; there are times that it's very poor or no access at all. I had to go to the iving room on the 2nd floor to use my laptop.

    Location! Its a few meters to the metro station and shopping complex

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.6
    Good, very well run establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good, very well run establishment. Spotlessly clean, great location. They'll store your bags and check out time is a nice civilised midday. I've stayed here several times - highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    2.5
    Do not stay here. There are plenty other options in the same street
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    This hotel cheats people. The AC was not working, the room was dirty, it smelled of moisture and fungus, it had no Internet at all (we made the reservation because of the AC and wifi !). The manager and another employee made a Theater-show saying that their phones could received wifi signal and that it was not their problem that our two phones and one computer did not get any wifi ! Do not stay here. There are plenty other options even in the same street, with better prices and service.

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    10
    Best Hostel in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved it all! Amazing place to stay in Madrid, if you find it available, don´t think twice!

    We loved everything from this hostel. Location incredible! Cool trendy deco. They gave us the room I liked from the pictures as I asked for it in advance. The room was big, the bed so comfy, the green bathroom beautiful, the best shower of all our trip with massagers. The cleaning was perfect every day. The view was internal but not bad. In a semi peatonal street that goes from the Opera House and ends in Puerta de Sol, couple of blocks from San Miguel Market, Plaza Real, Cava Baja, amazing cafes (don´t miss Santa Eulalia, incredible bakery, chocolatier and cafe with old roman walls beneth, and La Rollerie on the way to Plaza Mayor is has perfect breakfasts, San Gines is around the corner with the best churros with chocolate... Gran Via and all the stores for shopping are 10 m walk from the hostel too. The staff were really kind and friendly and eager to help. Wifi worked perfectly. Best value and incredible place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    10
    This is a terrific property in a brilliIant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. All good!

    This is a terrific property in a brilliIant location. We had a wonderful time and could walk everywhere we needed to go. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    9.2
    Staff was extremely polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was extremely polite and helpful. They provide us with room 3 hours before check in without any extras. The location is very good, rooms are very clean - all we needed!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    10
    In the heart of it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a little noisy outside on the street a couple of times but in a big city that is to be expected.

    Great staff, room had a great view and the room was quite comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    8.8
    Great location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slightly noisy on an evening with people coming and going. With having a room right next to reception I could hear every time the phone rang and people returned back to the hotel. The walls are thin, so probably not great if you’re a light sleeper.

    Great location, managed to walk from the Hotel to all the places I wanted to visit in Madrid. Staff were really welcoming and helpful, giving recommendations. Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    8.3
    Clean, quiet, and modern rooms despite of building location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean, quiet, and modern rooms despite of building location on a very crowded place of town. Great location on the very center of Madrid, near Puerta del Sol. Very kind staff. Virtually in front of the Metro Opera station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.6
    Hostal Oriente is a good value for money hotel close to metro and good restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing. This hotel is not luxury but to a good standard.

    The location is excellent for Opera and Sol. Near to good restaurants. I have stayed at this property for 3 consecutive years. It is great value for money. I had an incident that was sorted by reception staff in less than an hour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    10
    Overall excellent in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe tea making facilities in room?

    It was perfect! Location was central, staff were wonderful and friendly, helpful, even the cleaners. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable room and beds. No restaurant facilities (which we hadn't wanted) but vending machine coffee and cold drinks were excellent value. ( currently 1 euro). Couldn't fault it, really impressed!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s all as expected or a bit better.

    Friendly, cheerful and helpful staff; very clean; peaceful. Some thought and attention into the shared areas/facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    10
    Excellent location - If hostal could just perhaps put a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance lobby does not do justice to the excellent facilities and decor of the hostal itself.

    Excellent location - If hostal could just perhaps put a visible sign on the door it would be easier to locate in the square. Even though my google maps told me I was at my destination, there was no visible sign at ground level. Look up and you will see the sign above the shops etc. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Entrance area.

    Location. Staff. Cleanliness. All excellent. Location is fantastic n staff are so helpful. Only negative i would have is the entrance hall/lift is quite dreary and first impressions do not do justice to the hostal itself.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    8.5
    Sentral and nice hostal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Very noisy, could hear people talking, snorking on the next room.

    - Next to metro station, opera and Palace, very sentral. - Good cafes for breakfast around on the street - Very kind and helpfull staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    9.6
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location! Walked everywhere. Would recommend.We were in a room in center of building and WiFi signal was very weak. If that is important to you be sure to tell them at check in!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    8.3
    I found the reviews I read quite accurate. Small room, clean, and convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't realize that the hotel is in a pedestrian-only area so the taxi had to drop me off some distance away. It was late at night and raining. The hotel is not well-marked and despite having a map and asking people around, it took over an hour to find it. Look for the McDonald's nearby!

    The location was excellent because I needed to meet a group in the square right outside the hotel for a tour and I was also visiting Palacio Real.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    9.6
    Will definitely return and recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hope they could place in a personal fridge or a kettle for some hot water since the room didn't have any.

    Excellent location and the property itself exceeded my expectation! Just a few walks from all the attractions and a stone throw away from Opera Station. Stayed in one of their single rooms for more than 5 nights and I didn't have any problems with it, the room size was just enough for a single person with 2 extra large luggage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    8.8
    Nice clean room at a good price in central Madrid close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed could be a little softer, room is small, but the price is good.

    Nice clean room at a good price in central Madrid close to everything. Nothing fancy but perfectly fine, especially when you are out exploring Madrid rather than sitting in your room. Good internet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    9.2
    Exceptionally convenient, clean and comfortable with good staff in a safe central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The second floor wooden corridors and wooden doors closing were quite loud. Low season with considerate tourists meant this was no issue. In summer with many tourists if they were inconsiderate it could be an issue.

    Very warm. Exceptionally clean. Exceptionally well located (safe) and convenient. Staff very efficient and friendly. I would stay here again. Local metro had a lift.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location - right next to Royal Palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls a little thin but not too bad noisewise.

    Excellent location - right next to Royal Palace. Very comfortable room. Good central heating. Very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    9.2
    Great room, great location, comfy double bed room and very quiet. Relax factor confirmed!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The extractor fan for the bathroom/ toilet wasn't powerful enough to extract unpleasant smells quickly as I would have liked, I had to buy my own air fresher too! Something I thought the hotel should have in such an event, this is my only gripe with the room.

    The bed was amazing, very comfortable! The only window I had for the room was facing inside the hotel compound itself, so not much to see; but it was very quiet!! Soooooooooooo quiet!! Especially for an hotel smack bang in the middle of the capital city of Madrid!!! The room size was decent, great flooring, excellent bathroom and toiletries. Oh, location wise it is in the middle of multiple stores and shopping avenues. The hotel itself is within walking distance to the "Opera" metro station, very useful! I was able to travel to Madrid international airport without hassle!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    10
    As expected, the Hostal Oriente provided excellent value for price.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is very competent, courteous and professional. I had only 36 hours in Madrid and needed to accomplish a number of things, and the staff was most helpful. The rooms have recently been renovated and, as always, are immaculate. The single room is, as expected, quite small, but it was all that I needed for my visit. The larger rooms, which I've used when visiting with my wife, are very spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    10
    it exceeded my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hostel was in the heart of the city, walking distance from the shopping streets, sight-seeings and had a lot of restaurant options. the room was very clean and well furnished and staff was so friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    9.6
    nice, cozy and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing I had problem with was that you could hear everything from outside window to sounds between walls. Maybe was the location of my room. but other than that was a really nice stay.

    Good place to stay wile in Madrid for a couple of days. Room was very nice and location was excellent. Well connected to all places by metro.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in the heart of Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The one downside to the bustling location is that the hotel area is a bit noisy at night. But I think that’s to be expected, especially for exterior facing rooms.

    Perfect location for visiting Madrid. Helpful staff, cute, clean room, and the WiFi works great. Easy access to the central Puerta del Sol, dozens of restaurants, the Royal Theatre, the Palace, and the subway system. Also a short subway or taxi ride to the Prado Museum and El Retiro.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    9.2
    Location, value staff - all excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Difficult to find at night. Maybe a bigger sign on the door.

    The location is superb. Very close to shopping, many major attractions and only yards from the Opera metro. The staff could not be more helpful and were always smiling and cheerful. Excellent value for the price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    9.2
    Small rooms but great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small rooms but great location! Lovely and quiet. Hotel staff were very helpful. Will recommend this hotel to others. We LOVE Madrid and I'm sure our experience with the hotel helped us enjoy it to the fullest. We could walk everywhere we wanted to go and loved that too. Very central to all the sights.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    9.6
    Great, enjoyed theatre every night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Single room small but clean and comfortable bed. Saw a double room on passing in corridor and quite large compared to my room

    Staff at reception very friendly and helpful. Very central. Loads of shops and places to eat at. Definitely good value for money. Tube station at your doorstep

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hostal is great - the location is perfect. The staff was helpful and understanding and the room was very clean and well maintained. Would definitely recommend - great value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    7.9
    I would recommend the hostal for good staff, great location and nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor water in sink and shower. Cold, stone-made floor- better have some slippers. You have to ask for kettle. No glasses or cuttlery in room- had to buy it .

    Very good location, close to everything. Comfortable beds. Very nice and helpful staff. Nice room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    7.5
    Room very clean and very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I couldn't sleep properly as my room was really cold despite the radiator being on. The sheets were thin for winter and the window large.

    Room very clean and very central location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    8.8
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing special

    Հիանալի դիրք, շատ հարմար, մետրոի կայանը 50մ, մյուսը՝ մոտ 450 Համեստ, բայց մաքուր, վստահ խորհուրդ կտամ Fantastic location, very convenient, the metro is in 50 steps, one of the most crowded pedestrian streets with shops and restaurants, it's safe, you can walk until late. The hotel is modest, but clean, the staff is friendly, if you are not going to spend time in your room, don't think about other place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    8.3
    Good stay to be recommended if you need something else than a hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet connection problematic - which is a problem.

    Location is very good - 50 meters to metro, taxi pickup in front of building. Night life can be noisy but location is superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    3.8
    Very bad hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was woken by workmens at 8am banging above my room hammering some think on the walls and esp never got back until 4am and only having 4 hours sleep because of work men's above me I would never come back to this hotel agian I paid 210 euros for 2 nights and it's was not that great if you want to be woken up by workmens at 8am then don't bother with this hotel

    Did not like the property to be honest I think what I pay for 2 nights was a joke

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    8.8
    Location is amazing, right next to Opera.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small bed. A bit noisy.

    Location is amazing, right next to Opera. Located in the middle of city center. Facilities were overall nice. WI-FI works perfectly. Absolute value for money considering the location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    7.9
    Super location but security was an issue !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The front door to the building was left open most times which meant that security was a problem. Yes there is cctv but this is no good after the thieves have left the building. The building is shared with apartment dwellers so maybe that is why the door is sometimes left a jar. It needs a proper spring loaded door that closes itself. The safe in our room required €1 every time you closed it. Seems crazy to ask for money every time you use the safe!!! Never seen this before. We stayed for 3 nights and could find no one who spoke English on the Saturday. We got no information because of this. The location as I said was excellent but sadly the poor customer service due to no English speaking staff on Saturday was disappointing.

    Like most reviews we thought the location was superb beside the opera metro and a stones throw from the royal palace.Also near all sights including the temple ,plaza mayor ,shopping and the mercado de San Miguel . The rooms were clean.We had a good experience by email with the staff before our visit. Irma kindly booked a restaurant for us and was helpful with information.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    10
    Gorgeous little hotel in an amazing location for all of Madrid - we will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    `We had a room at the front yet the sound proofing on the windows/doors overlooking the Plaza was excellent so it was never very noisy. The staff were really helpful, the location is amazing and my friend and I will definitely be back and will recommend onward too!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    10
    Fabulous location and stylish comfortable room Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had noisy neighbours but not for long

    The rooms were stylish and clean in a perfect location for Madrid. We had a small balcony. The bed was very comfy and the shower was brilliant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    10
    Great place near everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Take into consideration that is a busy area, therefore can be noisy some nights.

    Location is excelent! Facilities have all you need for the stay, including iron, television and hair dryer. At the front desk, there is water for the guests (dificult to find it free in Spain). The opera station is almost in front of this place. The place exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were some noise from the corridor during the night, and the sounds passed in to the room quite well.

    Excellent location, right at a lively main street and plaza. Place is clean and fresh. Staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    9.6
    Very good alternative in the heart of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls were thin, which meant that nearby noises were inevitable.

    Very well located. Easy access to all of Madrid's landmarks and surrounded by good restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    7.5
    Fair option if you want to be in the center of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple dislikes, but nothing terrible. Just depends on the person, I reckon. As noted above, the location is probably great by some people's standards since it is right in the thick of things and close to some of the major sites, shopping, nightlife, etc. For us, it was a bit too busy, and late night the people in the area were heavy on partiers and some hustlers and street dwellers. Not threatening in any way though. The room was a small one, though still clean and comfortable. If you are a single or couple traveling light, this probably isn't a big deal.

    The Hostal Oriente was a decent hotel with enough positives that we'd stay there again, depending on choices. Totally unassuming, maybe deceiving, on the outside, it was very nice once you entered the building and went up to the actual hotel. Very clean, very friendly staff. The room was small, but clean, the bed comfortable, the bathroom nice with good shower pressure. Technically, the location is right in the thick of Madrid, just off Plaza Opera and right on Calle de Arnal, which is a wide shopping street that goes directly into Plaza Sol. Plaza Mayor, the Palace, old town and plenty of other sites are close by. This also makes it a very busy location though, and later at night, the crowd gets a wee bit sketchy. Not scary or terrible, just not as nice as other areas nearby that we found to be quieter and/or more enjoyable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    9.6
    Go for it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very tiny room. I mean I know I can't ask too much for this price, but it was really tiny.

    Place in the very center of Madrid, great place to start sightseeing or relax in local restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    7.9
    Our first room was really small, especially the bathroom,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our first room was really small, especially the bathroom, which unlike the online photos had an old shower with a plastic curtain. However the stuff was happy to move us for the second night to another room which was much bigger, with a modern shower. It also had a fridge which was convenient for breakfast. Overall the two rooms were not comparable. Unfortunatelly it was not possible to change rooms the first night because the hotel was full.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    9.2
    Great location, quiet and clean!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My air conditioning did not work on first night but once I made staff aware this was fixed immediately.

    All in all good hostel in great location near the opera house area. Walking distance to metro and for bars, restaurants, shops and nightclubs. Felt more like a small hotel than a hostel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For me a hard bed and a flat pillow make it nearly impossible to sleep throughout the night. But that's just me...

    The balcony city view was lovely and the property location excellent: metro station, taxis, walking distance from attractions, shopping and restaurants. Having someone at the front desk 24 hours was also very useful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    10
    Cosy hotel in the very centre of every touristic attraction of Madrid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no breakfast: it's not a real problem, just outside the door of the hotel you can have breakfast in a lot of bars nearby, there's also a Starbuck's coffee.

    Gorgeous location, in the very centre of everything....all the main touristic attractions at walking distance! also very near to metro, suburban train, buses: you can simply go everywhere! Very kind staff, clean room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    5.8
    Not impressed, tired bathrooms, strange smell
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is a strange small in all communal areas that is nauseating. Rooms are very small and basic. Most of all though we were put off by the bathrooms - the grout in the bath is mouldy and cracked and the sinks had big dents and cracks as well. Clearly they would need to upgrade their facilities. Wifi signal was also very poor and the connection slow even for basic things like email. Don't expect any international channels on the TV - in fact none of the channels had proper reception - very chaotic setup. You can get better accommodation for this price.

    The location is great and the price is not too bad for central Madrid. The reception area is newly refurbished as are parts of the bedrooms. They have a newish lift and a modern card door system. The AC is very efficient and silent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2017

    9.6
    Great location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No free breakfast.

    Great location. Easily accessible to main attractions. Metro just a feet away. Great places to eat, just walking distance from the property. Staff was very professional and friendly. Room was very small and but definitely clean. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    10
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I thought the hallway and stairs looked a little out of keeping with the rest of the building but am thinking this is work in progress

    Very clean and comfortable Staff are very friendly and at your service Central to a selection of places to eat, drink and visit I.e. Plaza Major, Royal Palace, Cathedral and only a short walk from the Gran Via

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    7.5
    Two nights in Centro Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Finding it and the entrance lobby. A minor quibble was paying each time you used the safe and having to climb to the second floor to buy any drink.

    It's location and cleanliness

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2017

    9.6
    Charming room in the heart of city beat - just a step to anything you want to see and eat in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - accidental double charging of my credit card upon arrival, but was solved to my satisfaction within few days (I guess my review is a best proof :)

    - great location, walking distance to majority of city highlights/galleries with metro station (Opera) at your doorstep - brand new or just redecorated design - spacious and comfortable room and especially bathroom - feeling like living as a locals do - located in historical building, front door as you are entering your apartment, not a hotel... - despite being in the very hear of the city, room was quite in the evening or morning (window to backyard - not much to see but absolutely quite) - great breakfast just next door at Rodilla caffe (really large selection of sandwiches, croissants, tostadas...etc) - great price performance - really outstanding value for price (assessing standard double room) - if you enjoy boring hotel breakfast, uniform and really tiny hotel room with even smaller bathroom, set aside of real life, please don't go there ;)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    6.3
    Tiny room, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was extremely small. It photographed better than it was. Wifi was weak.

    Location was very handy to Royal Palace and Opera House. There is a metro station very close.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2017

    7.9
    Great central location for seeing the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed on a Friday night, second floor, room facing the square...Nothing they can do about this, but the surrounding area gets noisy (music from bars and then around 1 and 2 am from dragging all the outside furniture inside). Sleeping with a sound machine mostly blocked out the music, but the furniture moving and rolling down of shop doors, etc couldn't be blocked.

    Great central location for seeing the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    9.2
    It's just opposite the opera station, but a 6mins walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's just opposite the opera station, but a 6mins walk from sol. It's a good place to stay where u want short distance to everywhere. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    8.8
    This hotel has an ideal location for the Palace the Opera and sol the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    There were refurbishments to the hotel during my stay. This was carried out with minimum disruption to guests. The lift was unavailable at times. Communication was not easy at reception. Most staff do not have a command of the English Language. However this was not a major problem and would not influence my decision to use the hotel. I stayed here in 2016 and I will probably stay here in 2018.

    The location of the Oriente is excellent. I min from Opera metro. Very close to Sol Metro.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2017

    7.5
    Great location and staff, terrible wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WIFI was terrible in the room. Would cut out as soon as you step into the room. I tried connecting on all my devices. Seems to only work if you're in the lobby or hallway. Paying as much as I did, I expected wifi to work.

    Staff was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2017

    8.3
    excellent central location, many city sights are in close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    double bed pretty small for a couple, small room, no street view, poor sound isolation from nearby rooms and the corridor

    excellent central location, many city sights are in close walking distance, no problems with cleanliness and staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    8.8
    Great location. Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We moved from a room with a nice view of plaza to a quieter but small room. A bit cramped, especially the shower.

    Location next to Opera Metro is great. Staff was great too - the helped us move from a noisier room to an inside room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2017

    8.8
    Great location, comfortable and clean and secure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Comfortable, clean and secure (key card entry) Hostal. Great location on a traffic free street and with a great taberna opposite. Very close to the Opera Metro station and a short distance from the Royal Palace and Puerta del Sol.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    8.3
    Brilliant Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing was very happy

    Room not very big, BUT very clean, air conditioning, tv, hair dryer, as you are not in the room a lot was very good value for the location only yards to Palace, Playa Mahor, Opera House, Tube, Sol Square

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2017

    9.6
    Stylish hostal in animated central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine

    We liked the decor and the location. The bed was very big and comfortable. The staff were very helpful. The bathroom was a bit cramped but very clean and stylish

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2017

    10
    Excellent location and reasonable price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi speed is terrible, sometimes it is slower than the 3G mobile network.

    Very good location. Close to a Metro station (Opera) and many sightseeing spots in the old town. Although breakfast is not served but there are a lots of cafe around the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2017

    8.8
    Ideal location for viewing madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little bit noisy with peole running up and down the main stairs and room doors slamming. En-suite a little tight for space. Do not use the coffee machine on the 2nd floor. For 1 euro you get a mouthful only of insipid tasting coffee. Within 1 minute of the hostel there are 1/2 dozen places to get great coffee to take-awy or drink there.

    The location was perfect for a base to look around the various sights of Madrid and close to the main shopping areas if that is what you are after. Rooms are a reasonable size as you are only using it for sleeping

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    9.6
    Cozy hostal in the center with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The floor is cold. It will be better with a little carpet...)

    The hostal is located in the heart of the city not far from Sol. The room is rather small but very-very cozy with clear and comfortable bathroom. Staff was friendly, gave me some advices about the city and fulfilled all my requests.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2017

    10
    Thank Hostal Oriente how you treated us!
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was everything perfect for us.

    We really liked this place, very clean the location was fabulous by walk you can go everywhere. The stuff amazing all of them very nice with us. Go there you will be really satisfied!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2017

    10
    Excellent Value in Off Season
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator is very small--this was not a problem for us at all but is good to know if you're bringing big suitcases, since reception is not on the ground floor. We went during the off season so there was some construction in the stairwell that started at 9 AM. They were considerate about when they started, however we had slept in so it did wake us up :)

    The facilities were really nice, modern, and seemed newly renovated. Great shower. The location is steps from the opera Metro stop, and five minutes from the Sol metro stop. Really fabulous spot and we got it for a steal.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2017

    5.0
    Good location but facilities need to improve
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Central heating was switch off middle of the night, room was too cold to sleep comfortably. Sound proofing was bad, can hear noises from next room easily. Wifi disconnect intermittently.

    Location is very good, walking distance to Royal Palace of Madrid.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable base in an excellent central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wi-fi was very poor, slow and weak. It was hardly worth connecting to it. Had to use my roaming data.

    Excellent central location, just a few steps from Opera tube station. Quiet, warm and comfortable room. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2017

    9.2
    Great location and budget hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee machine was out of order on site. It would be nice to have tea coffee making facilities in room. Also room not very sound proof as could hear clear conversations and other noises😩 from other rooms.

    Great place to stay for a few days the location was fantastic everything on door step. Very clean and fresh towels each day, loved the Greek shop a few doors away for breakfast. Loads of choice of places to eat and drink within the square outside. Had a great time and would stay at Hostel again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2016

    7.1
    Basic hotel with fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although a safety deposit box was included in the price of the booking i had to pay each time when i wanted to use it. In my view it is then not included. From the 3 receptionists that i met only one spoke English.

    Fantastic location. Very well kept and clean room. All the people in the hotel were very friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2016

    7.5
    Great location - watch out for the shower head
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower head faces directly towards the toilet and the shower curtain is very thin. The shower head was left not facing down but directly facing the wall. Hence when I turned it on, the water hit the shower curtain and then the floor got all wet.

    Great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2016

    5.0
    Request a room with nothing on the balcony!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our balcony had some kind of machine on it making it impossible to enjoy sitting outside to smoke. There was some kind of terrible fumes that came into the room from the machine when we had the windows open. When we arrived we had no idea where to go - we sat in the front entrance for an hour! until we figured out we needed to go upstairs to check in. We were dropped off at the far end and had to walk with our luggage for a long ways - it would have been nice to know that there was a better location that was closer to the street we could have used.

    Location in regards to restaurants and shopping

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location close or convenient to metro, shopping,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location close or convenient to metro, shopping, opera and everything else in central Madrid. Good value. Have used before and will use again.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostal Oriente Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: