Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Plaza Cantarero 2 stars

Calle Pintada 117, 29780 Nerja, Spain

#3 of 31 B&Bs and Inns in Nerja

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 586 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.2
    volley place to stay , beautiful decor inside the owner and staff are so helpful and accommodating .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    slight more noise than anticipate ,but it is a busy street.

    the rooftop solarium was such a lovely place to relax , and the communal fridge where you could leave and share supplies. there were also tea making facilitates in the room which is very unseal for hostels.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    It was perfect and I will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing which might be a problem for some people, the hotel is on a busy little street which means it can be noisy.

    Very close to the bus station (2mn walk). Very welcoming from the minute I arrived. The owner is friendly and making sure you have everything to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. The room and bathroom were very good, very clean. Amazing terrace, good lay out, sofas, tables, plants etc making it an attractive place to relax. Good views (sea and mountains). Also there's a big fridge for guests to use. Balcon of Europe is less than 700m away and on the way there there are loads of restaurants/shops

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Relaxing stay in Nerja old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything!

    Great location. Close to the centre, beaches and the free parking. Lovely traditional house with a great huge shared roof terrace. Daily cleaning and excellent assistance from Tanya with recommendations for restaurants etc. Room was comfortable with a huge bed a decent sized ensuite bathroom. We would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.7
    UNFORTUNATELY THIS RUINED OUR EXPERIENCE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially, Tanya(owner) was very pleasant but things turned bad and cast a shadow over our stay on account of her handling of a situation. Our room had a balcony with a shutter blind on the outside. When we arrived,the shutter blind was left half open. We couldn't find a switch or cord to adjust it. It was our first time renting an apartment ( usually book hotels) so while it might be obvious for others, we were truly baffled that there was no cord or switch visible. My partner lifted the shutter with two fingers to try move it up but it didn't move so we left it as it was.My boyfriend would duck under it to have a coffee on the balcony in the morning. It didn't bother us as we were very rarely in the room after 12/1pm. We missed a call from Tanya half way through the week while out at the beach at around 2pm. I called her back twice and stopped at her apartment but she wasn't there. When we arrived to our apartment, we were shocked to see the shutter had fallen down and jammed halfway in the frame but it was resting on the top of the balcony chair as if it had been put there to hold it up. I need to point out that it was 100% intact and working when we left the apartment. We thought that was why Tanya must have been calling us to apologise for the inconvenience as now there was no access to our balcony. We presumed the cleaning lady had adjusted it and it had fallen down and it was propped up until someone could fix it. We went back down to talk to Tanya the next morning. She accused us of breaking the shutter and trying to hide it by telling the cleaning lady we didn't need the room cleaned on 2 of our 10 day stay. False and hurtful accusations. We were still in room when she'd call and simply didn't want to have her in room with us while cooking. She could have come back when we'd left.Tanya then said the shutter broke over 10 times with other guests.

    Great kitchen Close to centre Big bathroom Lovely rooftop Good value for money Close to beach and supermarkets Lovely decor

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Recommended place to stay if you are travelling by bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bigger table would have been handy. Barely enough room for the electric kettle and cups.

    Lovely little room, very close to the main bus terminal. Good beds and towels. Very clean. Lots of Tapas bars within 150m and a gentle stroll to the Balcon de Europe and town center.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Great location (almost center of Nerja but quiet), close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location (almost center of Nerja but quiet), close to the beaches, bus station, restaurants. Friends staff even though we arrived late. Nice rooms. Everyday cleaning service and coffee is a cherry in a top.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    AMAZING!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a minor note, as we were an evening flight and we had to check out at 11am, it would've been good if there was somewhere we could've had a shower.

    Spent 6 nights at this wonderful place with my girlfriend as a treat and couldn't be happier with the little gem we found!!!! Fantastic accomadation, great location, great staff and wonderful facilities!!!! We didn't want to leave!!!! Tanya (the owner) was very helpful and welcoming!!! The rooms were fantastic and wonderfully decorated and equipped, you won't be disappointed. Even though there were a lot of people staying at the hostel, it was a very very quiet and tranquil place. The icing on the cake I have to say is the stunning roof terrace!!!! What a place!!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Could off not picked a better accommodation 10 out of 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we had a late flight no toilet or shower facilities. As we had a big room it was a shame that there was no fridge but that is being picky

    Very clean,big room,very nice host always there to help could not have been more helpful easier a 9.6

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Great stay, would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotless, cleaned every day and toiletries and coffee, sugar etc replenished every day. Excellent location. Free air conditioning, always a bonus in the middle of August. 👍

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    - Quiet safe area, nice Hostal close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 14 nights

    - Quiet safe area, nice Hostal close to everything. - Helpful staff, - Quiet room, noise reducing windows, - Comfortable dobbel bed, good cleaning every day, good aircondition. - Good nice roof terrace

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing week in Nerja 😎🇪🇸
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’d have liked a bigger room, the standard double room is adequate but when we visit next time I’d choose either the superior double room or the apartment to give us a little more space.

    The location was ideal - walking distance to beaches and many lovely restaurants and bars. Tanya (the owner) was lovely and took time on arrival to tell us a bit about The property and about Nerja 👍

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay. Would definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Balcony room was quite noisy - however, we were warned about this by the property at the time of booking. Next time, I'd book a room without a balcony as they would seem to be quieter.

    The property was clean, comfortable and great value for money. Great location - only 5-7 mins from the main centre but there were still shops/restaurants/bars near the property too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    The hostal is in a great location it's just 5 minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the street and we could hear the traffic noise.

    The hostal is in a great location it's just 5 minutes walk into the centre of nerja, our room and facilities were great and the hosta l and it's rooms were cleaned every day from top to bottom. The roof terrace is amazing and has views of the sea and mountains

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    excellent place will definatly stay when we come back to Nerja a beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    the 2 roof terraces and the whole decoration of hotel was excellent staff excellent was an easy 3 nights relaxing on roof terraces and 15 mins walk to sea

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy other guest returning between 2-5am, no consideration for others. Woke us on the last 2 nights, but the previous 5 nights had a comfortable stay.

    Manager was lovely despite late check in. Room clean and comfortable. Cleaned daily with fresh towels. Kettle in room and shared fridge/microwave by terrace. I would stay here again, great location to shops, beach, bars and public transport. Great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hostal in Nerja
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing not to like.

    Great location. Close to the main bus stop in Nerja. Roof terrace is a lovely space to relax in. Very friendly staff. Apartments are great. Air conditioned, good kitchen facilities for self catering. I have stayed here four times now and will certainly stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, close to the bus stop and the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to held the shower head to shower without making the entire bathroom wet. Short bad for tall people. Some broken lights. Our room was quite small.

    Great location, close to the bus stop and the city center. Great terrance on top of the building. Very nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    For me this was a perfect find ! I love Nerja - this hotel makes it even easier to do so !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ! It was perfect for me !

    Fabulous meet and greet from the owner ! Great location if you are arriving by bus. New comfortable beds ! Looking forward to booking this hotel again !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Overall we were very happy with the facilities, location and presentation of this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The street was a little noisy (during our visit) but this was mainly because some building/ reconstruction work was being carried out on the building diagonally opposite.

    Simple, perfect location and perfect for our needs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is in a good location at the edge of a small plaza with cafe bars and restaurants nearby. It is a 10 minute walk to the centre but has shops and bars along the route. There is a supermarket within 5 minutes. There are facilities to make hot drinks and a mini kitchen on the roof terrace to store cold drinks and prepare simple snacks. The roof terrace is superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    There is a lovely roof terrace, which is great on a sunny...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms next to the road can be quite noisy. Also there were construction works going on which woke us most mornings. Obviously there's nothing that can be done about noise outside the building, but it might be worth asking for a room which doesn't overlook the road if possible.

    There is a lovely roof terrace, which is great on a sunny day. The staff were fantastic, helpful and accommodating. The bed was comfortable and there was free WIFI. It's close to all local amenities, and the bus station which is really handy for getting to / from Malaga. Staff even let us keep our cases behind reception until our bus was due to leave so we could enjoy our last day, which was really well appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking wasn’t a problem for me as I know Nerja very well. However it could pose a problem for anyone not familiar with the area. Some noise from neighbouring building work (April 2018) but the hostal did warn us about this in advance.

    Good location. Roof terrace with basic kitchen facilities. Breakfast is easily obtained from the cafe next to the square next door - very pleasant to sit in the square.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Super stay in great Appartment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We enjoy this Hostal very much. We appreciate very much helpfull owners and cleanliness. Also the appartment with kitchen was very good equipped. Another thing is that this place has a great terrace at the roof. We alos enjoyed great view from our room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Friendly, good priced, clean hostal. Nice walk to the sea front. Second year we have stayed there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very minor gripes. Kettle / coffee making facilities available but a bit lacking. No great views (but can go to the rooftop terrace).

    Large rooms available. We chose the larger room again with a large and very comfortable bed. The walk along Pintada street to the many Nerja restaurants is relaxing. Hostel is next to a nice Plaza which has a good nearby café (not part of the Hostal) for a sit out coffee. There is also a spacious rooftop terrace area open to guests which has plenty of seating and some sunbeds (also a small fridge and microwave). The owners are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wss nothing to complain about apart from a bit of early morning traffic

    Very handy to bus station and supermarket and very inexpensive tapas bars

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Very good value Hostal with friendly owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location in the old part of Nerja was away from the more touristy areas but a short walk down quiet streets to good local tapas bars and restaurants. Very friendly and helpful owners. Room larger than most hostals. Close to the bus station and about 9 minutes walk to the coast/beach. Best local tapas bar La Puntillas.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    as above
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as above

    The bed was extremely hard and the noise from fellow guest to much to get a nights sleep. I had to tell two people to be quiet at 4.40 am. My room was at the front so noise all night from traffic and padestrians. Due to the noise and bed i wouldnt stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Loved this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    This was a great find! Very clean, comfortable room. Great bed. Nice roof terrace. Easy walk to restaurants, close to bus station. Friendly staff that speaks English.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    This place met all expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This place met all expectations. It has a lovely roof terrace. The owner/manager is very helpful and friendly. She advised us on places to visit and the best fish restaurant in Nerja.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    Would happily do it again. So much within walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv was tiny and no English. However it was nice to do without

    Very nice people. A small fridge would have been nice but so many bars and cafes nearby not a big issue.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Excellent.........a pity that we couldn't have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING!

    The friendly, willing & helpful hostess/owner; also, the help & assistance given us by the cleaner. Both Sandra & her cleaner lady were always eager to please. No matter how trivial the issue, it was never too much trouble for them to solve it. We were made very welcome & we're sorry to leave after staying 2 days. We really enjoyed having access to the roof terrace, which was tastefully 'adorned' with unusual artefacts.....& this was evident elsewhere in the building. Finally, one must not forget to mention the cost of the accommodation .....so reasonable for a hostel of this quality.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful, welcoming and central!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We absolutely loved this cozy little family run hotel. The hosts were excellent and super friendly and all of the nice little decorations just made it feel like home! The location was perfect and very close to the bus stop and it was very easy to walk everywhere. Our favourite part about this place was definitely the rooftop which had amazing views and was wonderful to relax with a book and a glass of wine at the end of the day! Thoroughly recommend this little gem!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Have been a few times and always brilliant !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Have been a few times and always brilliant !! so close to the bus station and a short walk to the Balcon - many coffee shops and restaurants also as mentioned the wonderful roof terrace. superb

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Not long enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a superior room but it only had a small corner window which looked inwardly to other windows so no privacy. Would have preferred a room with bigger window & more natural light & perhaps a balcony. Otherwise lovely large room & bathroom with lots of hot water.

    Everything!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    A fantastic little hotel in a pretty Spanish town with tons of character, restaurants and bars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Excellent location a few minutes walk from the centre of the old town. Lovely large room, immaculately clean with good facilities. Beautiful roof terrace with a fridge and microwave for guests (perfect for making a breakfast or chilling some wine !). Really good restaurant recommendations from the owner and a genuine interest in ensuring that our stay was enjoyable. No wonder this place gets such good reviews - I was really glad I booked and Nerja was a perfect week away for my husband and I with great tapas and lovely days on the beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location, clean, with most accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great location, very clean and lovely roof terrace with separate sitting areas, sun loungers and areas of shade too.The staff are most accommodating, welcoming, warm and friendly. Super value for money. Two satisfied folk frum Yorkshire!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Booking again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tanya who owns the property was always available and the domestic staff were amazing the hostel had everything it said and more we had a wonderful 40th anniversary as it was a gift from our children

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    so sad to go home, we love plaza cantarero xxxxxxxx
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My wife and i stayed at this lovely Hostal 1-6 October, our room was spotless, terraces were beautiful. Tanya the owner and her housekeeper were really welcoming and very helpful we could not fault anything. we enjoyed our stay so much we wish we could have had a longer holiday so we will be booking again very soon we hope. Thankyou so much. Paul & Suzi Gwynne.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money, staff very friendly and the accomodation was spotlessly clean and in an e
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A brown feature painted wall in the small bedroom made it look dingy.

    The hotel was spotless, excellent rooftop terrace with sunbeds and settees and furniture. A fridge and microwave were available for guests to use which was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    Would definately stay again but try and get a different room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very noisy street and square at night and during early hours of morning. Typical of holiday period.

    Very friendly and accommodating owner of the hostal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful one bed apartment. Quiet. Good air con. Lovely staff. Beautiful rooftop terrace. clesn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Everything. Tanya is really lovely. Always smiling, very approachable. Nothing is too much trouble. We did not leave till evening and had plans for the day but she was allowing us to use the beautiful rooftop terrace all day with fridge and microwave facilities if we wished so we weren't kicked out and she minded out bags until it was time to go.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Clean, affordable and well presented, situated in an ideal location for all amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was a little small and of course there is no lift which could be a problem for some although we were very happy as the whole package represented excellent value for money. Some road noise.

    Charming roof terrace with comfortable seating, sun beds and pot plants where it was ideal to relax, have drinks and even prepare simple meals by means of shared fridge and microwave. Exceptionally clean and tastefully decorated including the communal roof terrace.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    great location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't complain about anything apart from the heavy bedroom doors tend to close a bit loud. Need a buffer or something to reduce this but wouldn't put me off staying.

    Very pleasant accommodation with the location ideal. The bus station is 200 yards away and the main restaurants etc all within 5 minutes walk. Tanya is a lovely owner who speaks perfect English along with Quadaloupe who cleans the premises from top to bottom. Clean towels Everyday!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely place and the Hostal was in a convenient position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a bit iffy and hairdryer broken so a replacement as put there but the internal wiring was exposed so was worried to use it.

    Comfortable beds and coffee facilites in room. Proprietor very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Is this the best Hostal ever??
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cannot fault this place.

    Possibly the best hostal ever! So clean, lovely comfy bed, Tanya so helpful. The hostal has a beautiful roof terrace with a fridge and cutlery, etc if guests want to bring wine or snacks up with them. I can't believe how reasonably priced it was for such a high standard - puts UK accommodation to shame. In a quiet position away from the main bustle but close to the bus station and near a lovely little square with a great cafe bar (La Nube). Also a few doors away, Ancla 57 cafe, great for drinks, snacks and evenings (an interesting menu of Mexican, Chilean and Swedish dishes, all freshly cooked). Both these cafes great for breakfasts. Tip: If you want to hire sunbeds and fixed parasols on the beach, you must reserve the day before. Don't go on the day expecting to get one, you won't. But pop down about 4-5pm and ask the man in charge if you can reserve for the next day. Then keep reserving in the same way - we managed to hire 4 days in a row by 'repeat-reserving' at about 4pm every day. Fantastic snorkeling around the rocks below El Balcon. Loved Nerja!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Our stay was oustanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hostel made us feel right at home and the terrace views were beautiful- we loved sitting up there in the evening before we went into town. Room was always spotless each day! Fantastic value for money and would definitely visit again-

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Book early or be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 21 nights

    Nothing.

    Excellent value for a 1 bedroom apartment, Cleaning is done everyday, as in a hotel, and clothes washing is available, which was useful as we spent over 3 weeks here. Everyone is friendly and help is available if needed. Very good location and not noisy at night. The shower was good and toiletries were replenished as used. We have stayed here before and continue to be impressed. The café directly at the front of the hostal (La Nube) in the plaza is now much improved which is a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    excellent host, location, cleanness, comfy, high recommendations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we can not say anything that we dislike

    We like the hospitality, cleanness, location, comfy stay, the view from the apartment and the rooftop, we would say that we liked everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic, stress free, value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with two keys so can enter separately. Didn't ask for this, will next time 😊

    Love the decor, great price, brilliant helpful staff, powerful hairdryer, air conditioning, kettle with tea, coffee, and biscuits. Large, comfortable bed. Lots of English T.V. channels to choose from for cozy night in after a meal in town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Location, location, location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was pretty small and bathroom could do with an update. Didn't affect us as we were out exploring beautiful Nerja!

    Fantastic value for money, extremely clean, lovely roof terrace. Friendly staff. One minute walk from bus station. Great choice of tapas bars and restaurants within walking distance

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.3
    Nerja is a very nice city, with beaches & restaurants, I will definitly visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms are small, no breakfast, (but in 5 min. walk you are in the centre)

    Quite part of City centre, very fiendly staff/owner , very nice terrace, in 5 min. walk you can get everything you need, Nerja Caves one of the must!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Home From Home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another fantastic stay at our favourite spot in Nerja. Tanya and Pepe are so friendly and welcoming and Guadalupe (the cleaner) never stops, the place is spotless. The roof terrace is a little oasis and you are in a great location to experience tapas on the back streets of the old town. We just love this place!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay at this peaceful hostal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a little gripe. But my room was inner facing and as I was alone a street facing room would have been preferred. Will request one in future.

    Fantastic roof terrace. Clean, comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    The owner is just lovely and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that disturbed us was That we wanted To stay an extra night but the hotel was Fully booked and we do understand why

    The owner is just lovely and very helpful. Great location. Very clean - Kettle in the room - fridge and microwave - great terrasse - price was great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Impressive 'value for money' location in Nerja.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Very clean, comfortable room, with the bonus of a roof terrace, for shade, a glass of wine and homemade tapas. A good location for shops, cafe, bus station, and supermarkets. Beaches about a good 10 minute walk. Thank you to both owners and staff for looking after us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Value for money excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious. The location excellent. The owner & all who worked there very friendly. A lovely little find & will definitely be back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Just loved it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The owner was very nice, the bed was very comfy,also loved the room,just like home to me.Near everything you would need.Lovely roof terrace.Near the buses.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay - will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hosts were very friendly and helpful to us during our stay. Accommodation was very comfortable, clean and very central to everything. There is a beautiful roof terrace which was so lovely to sit out on. There were tea/coffee facilities in the room with the added bonus of a microwave/fridge up by the roof terrace.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    Perfect for solo traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, would stay again.

    The views from studio appt & roof terrace, stunning mountain scenery. Lovely accommodation, comfortable beds & well equipped for self catering.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    A little gem of a place to stay for a small break in the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 101 shower point was not original so the water was forced off the back wall of the bath onto the floor. This was a same because the timber door surround was starting to show signs of rot. It would have been perfect if the roof terrace had a kettle and tea/coffee facility for guests, plus somewhere to wash the pots.

    Great value, central location and very well thought out comfortable design and stylish small hotel. Spotlessly clean building and hosts were very pleasant and helpful. Roof terrace was lovely and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    We had a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    We had a great stay. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed. Also great that there was a large super market just around the corner. The suite was a nice size, with couch & TV. The best customer service we had in Spain. Roof terrace also very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    8.8
    Nerja is just lovely. Friendly locals, great location and the hostal was clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing really not to like! Self catering so i did spend a fair amount of money eating out. But i knew that already. Maybe some sort of breakfast area would have been nice.

    Good basic room with a terrace. Good shower. Free coffee in the room. Loved the top floor terrace, Private and with a nice view. Would definitely go back to same Hostal. The owners are very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Totally recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super clean! Comfortable beds! Location was excellent.... close to everything yet very quiet at night. Staff lovely! Couldn't fault it! Would definitely recommend and stay here again!:-)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Perfect Plaza Cantarero
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't fault the place,if you want a quiet break in perfect surroundings, this is it

    This place is an absolute gem,perfect location,perfect staff,views from the rooftop were lovely, rooms spot on,traditional Spanish feel to the whole place.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    9.2
    Worth place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A Little bit far form the sea and city center. Strange smell from bathroom (from the pipes)?

    A really nice room with great patio on the roof! Great comfort for good price!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    10
    Wonderful little place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like about this hotel. One small suggestion would be to have some form of blind or thin curtain on the windows of the rooms around the back as they were overlooked by other guests

    This was almost like a boutique hotel, immaculate, modern and with a beautiful roof terrace. It was close to the centre of town and really quiet especially with a room at the back of the hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location, very quiet at night, beds were so comfy and the sun terrace was an extra bonus. The staff were so welcoming and very helpful. The rooms were spotlessly clean. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    10
    We love this hostal and have been there a few times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love this hostal and have been there a few times.the owners run a really good business and take care of their guests really well.The location is very handy for central Nerja and for public transport.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    Loved Hostal Plaza Cantarero
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful Hostal ... More like a boutique hotel. I loved the decor, very tasteful. Great location. Owners and staff so friendly and helpful. So clean , fresh towels every day. Really appreciated the kettle, tea and coffee in the room . Lovely roof terrace to chill out, good wifi. Would definitely return. Soon I hope

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    Quality value for money small hostel in lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Kitchen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a narrow one-way street so need to unload a car quickly and move it to free parking nearby.

    Excellent fully equipped suite with a small balcony overlooking a sunny square

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in beautiful Nerja.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - everything was great.

    Large, comfortable, quiet room in a beautifully decorated hostel which was more like a boutique hotel. The roof terrace was a wonderful addition and great for watching the sun go down. Tanya was very friendly and helpful which I appreciated as travelling alone.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful Nerja
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing I would stay here again.

    A lovely little Hostel we have stayed here before. Very near to the bus station . The room we had was very clean and ideal for our needs . The owner Tanya is very helpful with any queries.The housekeeper is worth her weight in gold, she never stops! Only 10 mins walk to the nearest beach but also a lovely little terrace on the roof to relax.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    9.2
    The staff was helpful and the room was always cleaned with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In our room there were small cockroaches, which we had to kill for two nights in a row.

    The staff was helpful and the room was always cleaned with new towels. And the location is fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.6
    Little Nerja Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No complaints.

    We had a lovely stay here. The room was perfect and we were so central. The staff were friendly and very helpful and it was such a good price. I would highly recommend it and we would definitely go back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.2
    Hostals are the new way for me to travel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't and won't be petty . Because what we had for the money I spent was fantastic . Tiny thing was the shower head wasn't adjustable , so had to hold this in your hand . Tv too small up on wall , but again only got bbc news anyway in English . Your not on hol to watch tv , lol . X

    The true Spanish feel to the place👌 . Never stayed in this kind of accommodation before ,but fancied a real change from the big posh hotels . I wasn't disappointed !!! . Beds were super clean and comfy . Room cleaned every day with new towels if needed . An actual kettle !! With all the daily trimmings even biscuits . Beautiful roof top terrace with a microwave and fridge . Plates and cutlery . And a safe in the room as well as ironing facilities . Let's not forget ! You don't get all this in your 3/4/5 star hotels sometimes .I actually don't really understand why these places called Hostals only get a 2 star rating !?again I've stayed in worse that were given a 4?. The housekeeper was a wonderful lady . So helpful and obliging . X I would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat ,and would even look at others as well .

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: