Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parador de Santiago - Hostal Reis Catolicos 5 stars

Praza do Obradoiro, 1, 15705 Santiago de Compostela, Spain

#18 of 75 hotels in Santiago de Compostela

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1960 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    The stay was good, I loved the location of the hotel but the concierge services could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The concierge was not very helpfull when asking for suggestions of places to visit around the area.

    I loved the location, the beauty of the place and the excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful Parador in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unresponsive air conditioning and a hard mattress. Dinner in the restaurant was of a low standard and poor quality, not to be recommended. Breakfast was average.

    Beautiful Parador in an excellent location. Reasonably modern facilities with a decent bathroom. Good secure parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    This was my 2nd stay at the Parador and it more than met my expectations. Rate it Hghly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu in both restaurants was quite limited and it was challenging to choose from as I do not eat red meat. There were 4 pork dishes on each menu and no chicken so I had to choose fish or seafood for each course. However, the food I did choose was very nice, if not exactly imaginative .

    The ambience of this Parador would be hard to surpass, the architecture, art and decor perfect. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast restaurant was second to none. The varied food on offer was excellent and the staff were helpful and friendly. We dined in the historic Restaurante dos Reis which met our expectations. The restaurant which is situated in the old carriage stables has retained the amazingly thick stone walls and curved ceiling. The seating is very comfortable and the staff were professional, friendly and knowledgable. The Enxebre Restaurant offers a more casual dining experience. The decor there is also impressive and the staff were also very friendly and helpful. I would recommend both restaurants highly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel parking was full and we were required to park inconveniently in a public car park a good walk away from the hotel

    fantastic location and comfortable room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    Special location, special hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have liked a valet parking service. After off-loading our luggage we had to take the car to a public parking; not easy in a pedestrian area with so many people.

    The building is stunning, and the location even more so. Being right in the heart of the city it was still very quiet in the hotel. Our room was small, a bit dark, but comfortable. Our bathroom was spacious and modern. Despite the number of people breakfast was good and well organised. Staff was very friendly and helpful. When the airco in our room started leaking they sent a technician straight away, and domestic staff to clean up.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Best location, incredible experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the room and the location cannot be beat! The breakfast was incredible and we dined like kings (and queens!). The check in and check out was a breeze, made so by the friendly, extremely knowledgeable staff. We highly recommend this wonderful property!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Location and architecture, history of the place.
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just okay. Felt the value was too high for getting an overall 4-Star experience, which would have cost half the price, except breakfast, which was really great.

    Location and architecture, history of the place. Breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    The location and the historic building itself, with amazing...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and the historic building itself, with amazing claustros. The room was big and comfortable. The staff very friendly. A real 5 star experience

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of information on arriving at property-access to area and clear directions. Lack of good concierge to help with information about visiting cathedral, etc., and special tours. Had to keep going back to get info that could have been given out at check-in.

    Location! Historic significance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is very well kept. Location is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in reception staff upon arrival was unpleasant. Not helpful when we asked if we could have a better category room or any form of car parking assistance. The bell man/ door man who helped with our luggage was extremely helpful. He made a call to the reception to get us a better room as ours only had a window facing an internal corridor. We got a better room immediately for the first night. The next day we moved into the royal suite.

    Rooms are in excellent condition. Very impressed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Memorable! Worth every penny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed in hotels all over the world, but nowhere has been this incredible. Truly amazing property. You have to stay here. Drive right into square and park in front of hotel - you will get odd looks from pedestrians but you are allowed to offload your luggage. If you can’t park in hotel’s limited spaces, there is a nearby public parking area for 11€ per night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Santiago stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive compared to other hotels in northern Spain but it is an experience and worth it

    Could not be more central. Beside the cathedral but yet very quiet. Old style. Large bedrooms and bathrooms. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    What a historic place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The police said no parking, which was not true. Can be difficult to find without GPS.

    Fantastic old buildings. Big modern bathroom. Execellent breakfast. Nice personnel. Parking on property.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Would go back but might pay more for a bigger room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spent ages trying to get to hotel, means going past barriers meant to stop traffic. Paid a taxi to lead us in the end. No parking left when we arrived, however public parking nearby was easy and possibly cheaper than hotel. Room a little small even if hotel was central.

    Couldn't be more central. Had guided tour of the hotel (used to be hospital for pilgrims) which was really interesting. Evening meal in restaurant offering local dishes was excellent. I think that may be a new idea, which is great. Hotel kept luggage after we checked out for free. Breakfast included gluten free bread and all the Paradors do a good pot of tea for all the Brits out there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Location and ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too few staff on reception and in upper restaurant/cafe. (Long wait for lunches and a repeated failure to take the order accurately or at all was the only downside.) Basement restaurant was excellent. Apart from the above observation staying in this hotel was a very positive experience!

    Location and ambience. Tasting menu for dinner in main restaurant was excellent and good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    The Parador in Santiago was very special for us. The overall experience was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed in room 306.

    Room 306 was extremely luxurious except the mattress was old and we slept badly, however when requested to make a change it was sorted out immediately to our complete satisfaction. the last 2 nights were in room 314. The Parador stay was very special, and the breakfasts were the best on our 2 week trip in Spain.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Incredible location, right next to the cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one elevator goes to the 2nd floor 😂 took a while to get back to the room!

    Incredible location, right next to the cathedral. Possibly the best view in Santiago

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely EVERYthing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the strike which meant there were no services or open areas cafes restaurants etc for one day!

    Absolutely EVERYthing! Luxury elegance beautiful style class sophistication.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Once in a lifetime stay at the conclusion of our Camino journey.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was an absolutely amazing place to stay!

    The history, the imtegral connection of Hostal Los Reyes de Catolicos to the Camino de Santiago, the stunningly beautiful room, and the elegant breakfast. My wife and I loved every minute of our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous stay at a magnificent Parador in beautiful Santiago
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Magnificent building, such a wonderful historic place. My husband and I took time to wander around and soak up the atmosphere of this very grand hotel, including its very own chapel! We had a lovely room, the bed was comfortable, if a little noisy, as it was an original? four poster which was in keeping with the oldy-worldy style of the room. The room where breakfast was served was just lovely. We had a table by the window which looked out onto the square and across from the Cathedral. Such an excellent breakfast too! Could not fault it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Unforgettable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A perfect parador, the best I've known. It's one of the best kept place in Santiago and worth knowing even if you don't stay there. Four patios make up the basic structure with rooms surrounding them. But it has all the modern facilities you would expect in a five star hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Everyday, a beautiful sight to watch the pilgrims arrive at Praza do Obradoiro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sadly, the front desk staff were cold and unwelcoming each time we approached them. It's sad considering the excellent reviews about the hotel. The staff are the first you meet and that is the first impression one receives. I had thought that perhaps, there was a large group checking in ahead of us and these can be tricky and difficult perhaps.. Unfortunately, each time I approached them to safekeep my room key, they were received solemnly. All it takes is a smile and it makes a big and very special difference.

    We stayed here because we had heard much about the Parador de Santiago. It was also close to the Catedral de Santiago, which gave meaning after having walked the Camino. The other is the rich history of this building.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    The greatest benefits are the location and privileged view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful and rude staff, not coherent with a five stars hotel at the price you pay. It was my mother 82 years birthday and it took me 9 (I repeat, 9) telephone calls to ask to book a table for two in the terrace bar. The response was negative and rude, and the reception staff refused to move an inch from their policy (they book tables for the restaurant, not the terrace bar). It was too late to cancel the booking at that point. The hotel should not expect a savvy well-travelled client to return after that disappointing service and rude responses from the staff, a great location and charming old building cannot compensate that rigid and rude behaviour.

    The greatest benefits are the location and privileged view to Santiago cathedral and the old charm of an historic building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    The hotel is right next to the cathedral so it’s in a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a little tricky to arrive by car.

    The hotel is right next to the cathedral so it’s in a great location to watch all the people movement and to visit the cathedral. The rooms are incredible since they are modern and very clean but keeping the ancient feel of the building.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    So beautiful, so full of culture.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Still can think about anything

    So beautiful, so full of culture. Location the best. The staff well experience and so friendly, Reception staff - David! Thank you so much for all your help. Breakfast the best local dishes and so good, thanks to all the waiters

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A better outside drinking area would be good but there is a problem with the nearby Cathedral I imagine. Better use could be made of the internal 4 courtyards for infomal drinking and eating.

    Position excellent in a huge uncrowded square (no cars) Restaurant excellent with a superb atmosphere and food and (not always found at Paradors) excellent and professional waiting staff - wine decanted and so on.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Luxury medieval life
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful old building with wonderful furnishings. Excellent restaurant and staff very helpful with luggage and car. Incredibly central location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Parador par excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swimming pool/spa. After finishing the Camino I am sure other pilgrims would agree with me that it would be lovely to have facilities for a massage/swim arc.

    It is steeped in history and beautifully transformed into a stunning peaceful oasis

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    History in abundance
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Parador is in a prime position. Not only that but there so much history within the walls and it is well documented and informative wherever you walk in the Parador. The porter service is excellent as is the breakfast. The

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    A sanctuary in Santiago
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no plug points beside the bed. There were stairs on our floor which meant a little extra effort with the stroller. The bar prices are dear for Spain but still not crazy

    The breakfast was amazing, such a range of choices. We had our ten month old baby with us and they had a beautiful wooden cot set up with bumper and a welcome wash pack for him. They provided a high chair at breakfast which is a rarity in Spain. Our room was spacious and tastefully decorated with air con and a massive bathroom with modern rainforest shower. The location is the best ever, on the square directly opposite the cathedral and we literally drove onto the square and the hotel staff unloaded the luggage for us and took the car away and parked it for us which was much appreciated after sat nav leading us all over on the way there!The hotel itself is something to behold, very old and atmospheric.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    The best of the Paradores in Spain... an excellent experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like living in a palace with a beautiful modern bathroom. Great shower! Outstanding Buffet breakfast. Location is spectacular, next to the Cathedral on the square. Valet parking. Said to be the finest of the Paradores in Spain. Excellent service , take the self tour for your personal history lesson. Must return!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Paradors are nice- just wished it didn’t cost so much.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s just too expensive. Become part of their loyalty program known as Amigos. Take advantage of any specials they might have - I didn’t and I spent a lot of money for just one night - well over 200 euros.

    I do enjoy Paradors and I have stayed here before. The breakfast is worth staying to enjoy and this time I even ordered room service and the meal was very delicious. The room was lovely and clean as I expected it to be.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay in a unique historical building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very fine hotel that is worth wandering in to learn about the history of the hospital. Very comfortable bed and unique room. Excellent location within walking distance of everything interesting in old town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    This was our treat at the end of our Camino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was our treat at the end of our Camino. We loved our stay! The atmosphere was lovely and architecture was stunning. The breakfast in the morning was the most expansive and beautiful I had seen in a long time in my travels. If you can treat yourself to this Parador of Spain it is worth it. I will be staying again and love the history and location of the property. Thank you for the best service ever!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    The breakfast was fabulous with my table with open window...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was fabulous with my table with open window overlooking the square watching all the pilgrims reach the end of their journey with such joy! What a memory!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a perfect location with exceptional service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We have no complaints.

    Staff well organized and excellent service. Also very friendly and welcoming. We would definitely book here again as in addition to great service the location is exceptional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay in Santiago
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Difficult to find "firm" posture-supporting chairs. Due to back/neck can not sit in "comfy" (soft) chairs. Little to no control over air-conditioning. Some Fan control only, no control over temp. Maybe a problem in middle of summer?- don't know.

    Location. Excellent buffet breakfast- both food & service. Excellent up-scale dining: food, wine & service. Bread "to die for" as well as fish, salad... Front desk staff very helpful & friendly. Good recommendations. WiFi worked fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful life experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds could have been a little bigger.

    This is a historic building, a treasure. Everything has been kept up as such. Its location right in the heart of the medieval city is unique.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was perfect - we had a lovely big room away from the noisy plaza - our first quiet hotel room in Spain!!! Breakfast was wonderful, staff were very helpful and all in all a great experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    More than expected and a great treat at the end of a long journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was simply lovely. The chamber maids even did laundry the same day even though after hours! Bed-so comfortable I did not want to leave. Friendly staff and great meals. Will be returning!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Wow! Definitely a 5-star experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Softer beds would definitely be appreciated.

    As soon as we drove up to this Parador, we were blown away. Mouth fell open. The location is just awe-inspiring. It is a busy place, yet the staff is so professional that they keep things moving and organized every step of the way during check-in. The rooms are beautiful, and surprisingly quiet and secluded considering all the people there. The courtyards are peaceful and lovely places to stroll or sit. The breakfast buffet was the best of any of the paradors we stayed at, and we also had an excellent dinner there, as well. The staff was amazing every step of the way. The location is an absolute knock-out! I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Santiago de Compostela, period. I will be back! Staying at the Paradores, and enjoying their history, is part of the travel and sightseeing experience of going to Spain for us. This property has the most excellent location, parking, fantastic service, great rooms and baths, and a wonderful breakfast. You step out of the hotel, and are immediately swept up by all the activity in the plaza, the music, the incredible cathedral, museums ... everything! There isn't a bad view in the entire city, yet the best ones are definitely here. Many photos taken! Highly recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Stunning world class ambience accommodation in a superb location operated by friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no dislikes or faults to report.

    Superb quality renovation of this historic monument. And the staff were all friendly and efficient. And location of course. We have stayed in several paradors over the years. This one is easily the best so far.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Very good except for the packed breakfast issue and lack of response from hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to leave early on our last morning and asked for a breakfast box. What we got was really poor and most disappointing as the buffet was excellent and our packages could have drawn from that. We wrote a complaint to the hotel but have not had a reply. Warning to travellers - do not pay 18 euros for breakfast unless you will take the buffet - else you will be ripped off with stale bread (unbuttered), substandard fillings and packs of inedible biscuits.

    Good spacious room that was well equipped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the noise of the bagpipes nearby. Sonic pollution I would call it.

    We enjoyed staying at an iconic hotel overlooking the main plaza of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    Location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms are tired. The hotel is rated 5* GL but there was no 5* feeling. Breakfast was in a fantastic, bright dining room overlooking the main square, but the food offering was very average for 5*. Very expensive and did not represent value for money.

    Location is perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Very good apart from the extra payment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unhappy that we had to pay extra for vat when the rate quoted by booking.com said it included all taxes and charges.

    The meal in the restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff accommodating - even when we looked bedraggled from a...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our floorboards squeaked -a lot. Wasn't sure if they could be heard downstairs or not.

    Staff accommodating - even when we looked bedraggled from a long hard walk. Bathtub to relax the sore muscles. Buffet breakfast included hot food - not just bread and pastries. Wifi was good. Lovely lounge areas - unfortunately didn't have time to use them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Age and history of building.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area was pretty busy. Just felt like a number. Also the hot items,fried eggs,chorizo sausages,etc were all cold.Not so keen on the annoying sound of bagpipes till 2215 blaring through your window. Know there's not much you can do about it but when you're paying a premium price for luxury you don't expect that level of noise.

    Age and history of building. Also loved opening window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    A completely well earned and relaxing break. The hotel restaurants were also excellent
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not improve on what we got

    Lovely bathrooms, comfortable rooms, crisp white sheets. Lovely historic building. Very helpful staff. Best position in the city. I stayed in 43 different hotels on my Camino, without doubt this was by far the best.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful way to finish the Camino
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pop-up plug in the middle of the bath. Our room (111) was a bit noisy until about midnight.

    Beautiful, historic building and rooms very nicely furnished in keeping with it. Very clean and comfortable. The staff are superb. Nothing is too much trouble and everything happens as and when you ask for it. A memorable experience and the best possible place to stay at the end of the Camino.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Incredible location with amazing history, beautiful courtyards and very comfortable room. We had our best sleep! The food at the restaurants was delicious and breakfast also great. Just a incredible experience. Worth every penny.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Just what we wanted after our Camino journey.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Directly Outside the hotel property and around the cathedral there was a lot of begging which can send the wrong message about the city the cathedral, Camino journey and also the area itself.

    The accommodation was really good, the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Really just a 4 star!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More room modernization like card keys for the doors instead of old fashion medal keys. For a five star hotel the breakfast was so so and you could not order eggs to your liking. No better than the 4 star paraders.

    Location and historic building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    I paid for 40 euro each for breakfast but they didn’t...
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid for 40 euro each for breakfast but they didn’t mention it on check in and I didn’t see it on my reservation, so I assumed I hadn’t paid for it. Therefore, we didn’t go to breakfast at the hotel and it was on my bill and couldn’t be taken off apparently. 🙄

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    romantic and histrial place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is too nice location so go to by car small difficult. it seems can not go in as too cloud place, asked police I can go. But Hotel should inform how to go to guest.

    very nice location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    If you are looking for a hotel with history and charm then this is it. Look no further.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Obviously this doesn't look like a hotel from the outside so we wandered around looking for it. Really nothing else bad can be said.

    Wow. This place was Amazing. The room was way bigger than I expected. Lots of nice updated features but still keeping the history of this Hotel. The staff was so accommodating and helpful. we didn't know if we could stay for breakfast due to our early flight and the lady at check-in volunteered to make us a box of breakfast food to go. Luckily we were able and the breakfast buffet was very delicious. They also kept our bags for a week while we did the El Camino.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice, comfortable hotel which is right on the square.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint was when reception asked for my passport it was packed in my suitcase. They would not allow me to go to the room and bring the passport back to reception. This meant I had to open the case in front of everyone in the reception area. Was this really necessary??

    Very nice, comfortable hotel which is right on the square. The location couldn’t be more perfect. Luggage transported to rooms which was very helpful as even after the lift has taken you to the correct floor there are stairs to negotiate. Decor is elegant. Breakfast is fabulous

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    A true five-star hotel. The location and service are outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything. Staff is really first class.

    Everything! Location is the best! For one who wanted to stay near the Santiago de Compostela Cathedral and its environs, it was perfect. Watching the pilgrims arriving at the Plaza del Obradoiro was priceless! Everything about the hotel was amazing. Its history, traditions, patios, sitting rooms, dining room, breakfast room, decorations were perfectly suitable to my taste, sitting areas were comfortable, and arranged in a way that was conducive to private conversations. They even offered hot chocolate with churros and the delicious Torta de Santiago during breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Super stay next to the cathedral
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could have had somewhere comfortable to sit, bath tap made bath difficult to get into, lack of freshly cooked breakfast on demand,

    Attentive staff, comfortable lounge and bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    A blissful 3 days to celebrate completing the Camino De Santiago!
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering the International aspect of Santiago, I would have appreciated one English Channel available on the TV. After finishing the Camino (11 days) I would have liked an update on world news.

    Superb location next to the Main Square and Cathedral. Very spacious, Quiet, luxurious. Food was very good, varied breakfast until 11 am . Staff were extremely nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    Great hotel location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a little confused about the 5 star rating. We have stayed in 5 star in Sevillr and the facilities were quite different. The breakfast was the most disappointing. There was plenty on offer but usually in a hotel of this quality they usually offer an a la carte option even if that is just a selection of how you can have your eggs cooked. The only option every day and we stayed for 5 days was fried egg. The other warm options were bacon, chorizo, padron peppers and broccoli!! Breakfast was served 7-11 but if you went around 10 the hot options were like warm at best. The cost is £17pp so not really value for money.

    The property is a very well kept hotel which is based in a building of great historic significance. The building is very well maintained, clean and comfortable. It is very central to the old city and that location was good as the weather wasn't good during our visit. We used the guest lounges which were spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Amazing Historical Parador
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need a makeover by someone talented for historical properties. Our room looked at a wall too. We had requested a nicer view as we were getting married there. I thought they would consider that.

    The parador is an amazing historical building. In perfect location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Such beautiful luxury for tired pilgrims. Added extra days to stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need double beds instead of twins pushed together.

    Loved the large rooms. We were so cosy and spoilt staying here after walking the Camino. Pity the rooms from didn’t have connecting doors as we had 3 kids and were spread over two rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Hosting with style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a hotel like this, in a rainy and cold city, it would be Nice to have coffee/ tea faciliteis in the room. Mattress is not so comfortable as we expected. Front desk Staff is indifferent. Not the same for breakfast Staff

    Stay at Parador de lis Reyes Católicos Is luxury, a dream. You feel part of the history. breakfast is super as well. location can not be better. Large and silent room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Stunning historic building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not very comfortable. Room was boiling hot even without the heat on. Tiny room room.

    Stunning historic building. Amazing location once in a lifetime stay. You have to go at least once.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    An wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car parking was a bit on the expensive side but was safe and private and was valet parked (no option if you use the hotel parking) due to the location there was not a lot of other choices.

    The location was excellent, the staff were friendly and helpful. The ambiance and the age of the buildings made this an experience not to be missed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Stay here at least once in your lifetime! You will not regret it. Exceptional museum as well
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a beautiful hotel!!! This hotel is a museum too and you can only explore it if you are a guest at the hotel. So many antiques that you can examine close up. Every nook and cranny must be explored. The manicured gardens are breathtaking. It is expensive but worth every cent as the service is impeccable and extremely friendly. Premium buffet breakfast was included, mimosas and all. An incredible splurge. Not to be missed!! I would save up and go again as I did not have enough time to view all objects in detail on this trip. That is how much I loved it!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed the hotel for its location and unique history and architecture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at nearly 2100. The desk agent presented us with a statement of the booking which merely gave a total amount, omitting the fact that breakfast was included (@16,20€ per person) or even informing us of the hours of breakfast although she had the information. We were too tired to inquire about it after an arduous drive. We had a late dinner at the hotel (excellent) and only discovered that we had missed breakfast (ended at 1100) the next morning when we went to checkout. The agent declined to remove the charge (48,69€) despite our request and explanation.

    Double shower (separate controls & shower heads/handheld for two in a roomy shower space). Architecture and numerous informative labels about the hotel and its history.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Best hotel in town!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Best option in Santiago. Worth each penny. Try the "Tarta de Santiago" the best of the best. All pastries were delicious and he staff is soooo helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Who'd have thought the oldest hotel in the world would also be our favorite during our trip?
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better explanation of how to park there would have been helpful, and we would have liked to have had a coffee maker in the room. Other than that, it was perfect.

    It was like staying in a museum--in a good way. Amazing history, and yet extremely comfortable and modern conveniences. Breakfast was outstanding, and our dinner was good as well. Valet parking was very convenient, once we knew how to get there!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Marvelous stay in Santiago in the best accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place. The accommodation itself is a museum and you can do a tour. It is located just in front of the Santiago Cathedral. The good in the restaurants is amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing special.

    They kindly arranged early check-in and late check-out for me. Very helpful. The location was perfect, just in front of Cathedral. A little pricey, but worth to spend a night there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Great Hotel and the best one in my trip , we will definitely come back and enjoy it again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is difficult to drive directly to the front door, it's hard to find the right way to the hotel

    this is the second time I have checked in this great hotel ! everything is perfect! very good ! like the breakfast and the building and everything very much!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.8
    Santiago de Compostela is The Parador! Fantástico!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I didn’t like was the squickin floors! But I understood the age and historical value of the property could not be more perfect.

    The shower , the bed and the breakfast were fantásticos. After my journey of El Camino De Santiago I decided to stay in El Parador . I also stayed in El Parador of Leon before I started my walk. The stayed on the Reís Católicos was my treat and big reward for the walk I did. The Parador is historical on itself and the proximity to the plaza and cathedral could not be more perfect.Loved it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Unique 5 star experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving. I wish we had longer there

    This property’s is unique and truly wonderful steeped in history and culture. Each corridor reveals more interest and is furnished to exceptional standard

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: