Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Rembrandt 2 stars

Portaferrisa, 23 - Principal, Ciutat Vella, 08002 Barcelona, Spain

#265 of 281 B&Bs and Inns in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1815 hotel reviews

5.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.5

  • Comfort

    4.8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    4.9

  • Staff

    6.5

  • Value for money

    5.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is small and dark. The bed edge reached the lavatory. The whole place is dark and gloomy. Not the rustic/antique appeal, but an outdated look. They need to improve the lighting and the paint at least as the place is too old, to brighten the place. The bathroom is extremely small and open on the top part. I traveled a lot (mostly EU) and this is the smallest I've got (its 2x4 - small tiles size), very inconvenient and somehow irritating. The wall is so thin you can hear whats going on outside even from the shower.

    Location. Accessible to Placa de Catalunya, La Ramblas and Tourist attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was mega small, the room in a weird position with a kind of shared internal terrace which didn't feel very safe and quiet noisy. We couldn't keep the window open. The staff were young, kind enough but not among the most active receptions/workers I met. Pricey for the service offered, we paid an extra €5 each for the breakfast (not worthed for the quantity and quality)

    Nice location, a few minutes by walk to La Rambla

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem was that the lift doesn't serve the hostel's floor and climbing very steep stairs with heavy luggage is a massive challenge.

    The location is amazing! The beds are very comfortable and a sink in the room was a great help. Little balcony was also very nice. Obviously was quite noisy but that's the cost of a great location. Surprisingly there was no problem to access the shared bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bottom sheets needed to be contour to stay on the mattress. Space much too small for 3 beds.

    Nothing, other than that we at least had a room reserved in advance, and the staff was pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi didnt work at all in the rooms. Only at reception. Rooms are very noisy. Rooms are smaller than they appear in the photos.

    Good location, kind staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    could of done with more pillows thats about all

    the staff were very friendly and helped with any problems or questions we had to the best of their ability will be recommending them to friends

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the decoration was awful(really outdated). It needs some improvement work done in that respect.

    The location was perfect. Given keys so able to come in and out whenever. Really clean both the room and the toilet. Really friendly staff who advised us on places to go, things to do and where not to shop(i.e overpriced items or restaurants).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was very small which the door contact with the bed when it opens. The photos in booking.com are different with the reality.

    A location is perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms was very small...we took a room with private bath ...the bathroom was tiny too...with the price of 50€ /day its quite expensive ... but the location was a boon

    The locational advantage is the best thing about the hotel...barcelona capital on one end and la ramblas on the other end of the street... less than a minute walk to both the places 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little dirty bathroom

    Hostel was cheap, room was very small but bed was comfortable. We have room only for us (2 people). I didn't expect room in this price in hostel, in center of Barcelona (few minutes from plaza de catalunya) for 2 peoole not 8 and more :) There were fresh white soft bed linen and towels what is not popular in hostels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad noice insulation, not very clean shared bathroom. We have stayed in the beginning of March and have slept with draught (easy wind in-and-out ancient door to tiny balcony). In the warmer season it would be rather a benefit but in my case it was a reason of feeling sick. In general it is a cheap room to stay for 1-2 nights while it's warm outside.

    Location of the hostal is quite good - it is situated in the historic center, not far from aerobus station. But together with possibility of late at night check-in they are the only great benefits of the hostal

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed had hear

    Arrived very late in Barcelona. To the hotel at 3am. The pict on the website was nothing in comparison with the reality. Never paid so much fto stay for 7 hrs in a hotel like this. The staff was nice and polite and it was clean but the pic was not the same as the actual room I booked

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are so dirty, the bathroom too. The only thing I wanted to do is sleeping but it's so noisy...the bad thing is that you see the pictures and you expect something different. The pictures don't show the reality!

    The only positive thing...the only one is the location. Just it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    too cold in room even with tiny fan heater provided the French doors would not closed so there was a gap for cold air to enter room Floored tiling very cold to stand on Very noisy until about 2am. by the staff on mobiles ,talking and laughing loudly and loud music and films. I had to get up in the middle of the night and knock on their to complain even though I had the main entry door from the outside- I could not open the door using the key to get in ( so I had to always push the entry button to get in.

    the location was excellent the chair on the balcony cleanliness of towels and bedlinen

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions to hostal could be made simpler. I would go down La Ramblas.

    I would recommend this hostal to anyone visiting BCN. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Room was kept clean everyday and location is excellent. I didn't avail of the breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room is very poor and the Quality is absolutly disguting.

    This Hostal is one of the Worst in terms of Room size, the bathroom was absolutly DISGUSTING it shouldn't be used by humans. I'd never ever come to this place again. I've stayed in plenty of places in barcelona of all kinds from 5 star hotels, apartments and hostals for other occasions and this Hostal is my WORST EXPERIENCE IN BARCELONA. The staff r not bad.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the property was in a fantastic location it was quite loud because of the surrounding city streets and no sound dilution. People were up until the late hours and you could hear everything from all the rooms in the hostel.

    Good location, comfy beds, warm blanket, friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was under-powered, poor reception in our room

    Very convenient location to walk to most Barcelona attractions in the Gothic Qtr. Staff were good, helpful and polite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cold room and not much light.

    Quite room, but a little small and very cold in the winter. Had to change bed sheets too, but awesome staff, always ready to help.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs of the hotel are quiet dangerous for some people Also hostal at least need to add TVs in rooms because you end up getting bored by not seen TV during your stay.

    More about Location of the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, bed was collapsing, small (8 m2 double room)

    That it was private room... only that, because in the same price you can have amazing hostel in BCN

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy outside but the property is okay and the staff is helpful.

    Location is excellent, near to bus stop going to airport and located to the heart of city where all tourist spot

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No WIFI even though clearly advertised in Bookings.com Worst still staff lied about signal being blocked by Barcelona security when WIFI was easily accessible in cafes several doors away. Same reception staff cleaning rooms in the evening .... most unusual. Strong sewage odour in hallway.

    Nothing worthwhile mentioning

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The place is in poor condition but they do keep it clean and quiet. The mattress on the bed is something like you would see in a jail cell. There were supposed to be 3 bulbs in the light, 1 worked.

    Staff was helpful and friendly. Good location during the daytime.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is very good - it is close to all the most important sightseens of the old part of city. If you need the base to hike on the historical part of city the value for money is very very good. We had a room with balcon and every night drunk white vine looking on the people river in the street. At the same time already near the midnight it was still and we could look to the stars almost in the silence.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    our flight was cancelled so we was out in Barcelona for another night and booked to stay here was very cheap and also very cosy in great central location. was not the best but you get what you pay for overall was great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a layer of dirt on the shared bath/shower and a lot of dirt in the corridors. The room we got was really expensive for what it was. We paid over €200 for 3 nights for a really small stuffy room with no ensuite and a window which looked out to a wall. The bed frame had some questionable substances on it and the bed was extremely hard to lie on. Thankfully we were only in the room for sleeping.

    The location was perfect! Really central and walking distance to the beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's just not a place you'd even wish your enemy to stay. Had a terrible sleep and was not comfortable at all.

    We came late so 24hr reception was handy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You'd have thought located where it was it would be chic and trendy - far from it, small rooms, shabby décor, grubby bath/shower. Bed and pillows hard as a rock and plumbing noisy enough to wake the dead. It was just enough to bear for two nights on our trip to see the Rolling Stones. No way was it worth the price and they wanted 5 euros extra for breakfast, too! I'm usually pretty fair and balanced when it comes to reviews, but not on this occasion.

    The only thing going for it was it's location - situated conveniently between Las Ramblas and Pl Catalunya. (oh yes, and the Wi-Fi - which was intermittent at best)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy even at night, awful beds and bathroom, we've received a towel just at the second day after arrival.

    Good location, helpfull staff, nice price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. The management firmly request pin-drop quiet after 11pm, but don't enforce it, especially from their own staff. Other guests were noisy too, and the sound reverberates around the building. Breakfast guy knocked off before the cut off time. It's a budget joint whose only advantage is its location.

    The location is great. The wifi is good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed squeaked so loud every time i moved it would wake me up. There were no curtains or shutters on the window which meant that every time someone in the tiny courtyard we were facing turned on their light our whole room lit up (whilst we were trying to sleep). There was a lift shaft outside by our window which kept us awake. The staff clock off at 11pm which means that even though there's supposed to be "pin drop silence" after 11pm, it's very loud because no one is there to monitor it. The walls and doors are super thin which means that down the corridor you can hear someone having a conversation in their room. We were told there'd be free wifi but there wasn't. It was just terrible. One night we were in bed for 10 hours and when I woke up my eyes were bloodshot because I'd managed to sleep so little. The noise of the bed and environment must have woken us up at least every half an hour. Additionally, any attempt to contact them before I arrived received no reply. We applied for early check in 3 days before but no one got back to us. Would not recommend this hostel AT ALL.

    The staff were friendly. The room was tidy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very sparten, but that made me spend all my free time exploring Barcelona, and that is why I was there! My single room was small and very bare, but the bed wss comfortabe, the room was clean, the room was quiet and dark for great sleeping. Also the staff was very accommidating. No tv or air conditioning, but fan was sufficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are quite some restrictions. Although our room is connected to the inner open area, we were not allowed to hang our wet clothes or towels there. Laundry is not allowed but wet clothes from swimming were to dry in the bathroom which had no window, so it took quite sometime. And the bathroom has no shower curtain and no matter how careful you are, the floor can be wet and slippery. There is no window in the room, there is only a door to the inner open area. No one can guarantee the safety if we would open the door at night, so we kept it closed and it was really hot in the room despite the provided ventilators.

    The location is great! Right in the middle of the center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well. The hotel has excellent location. Too good as the bloody idiots attacked with van driving over people killing and injuring too many. Their van crashed right at the end of our street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff weren't incredibly helpful, if you go during the summer months the rooms are unbearable in the heat. Other than that it wasn't too bad.

    Location was ace!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start? The staff was unfriendly and didn't greet us, just demanded our passports while he loudly chatted on the phone. Rooms are tiny, hot and stuffy and haven't been cleaned. The room was so small the door hit the bed before it could properly open. The toilets we small and the showers... Well, have you been to India? This place is a dump that gives you with high prices all for the sake of good location. Don't be fooled, it's a complete dive.

    Location only.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Suffered from bed bug bites both of us - room very small also dirty not cleaned daily, has shared bathroom, not very clean, sheets not changed every day, bed hard, window not secure, no air-conditioning, fan very noisy could not use. Bad experience will not stay here again. For the price 70 euros you should at least expect cleanliness.

    Close to everything only thing going for this hostal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is in the middle of city centre so one has to be aware of night noises (a lot) - from neighbours as well as from the street. And I missed the air-conditioning (there was a ventilator as substitution but it was so noisy that I couldn´t sleep with it being turned on...and if you turned it off, heat is gonna kill you :D

    We chose this hotel based on its locality and price, and we basically got what we expected, place to sleep, take a shaver and that´s it. No luxury, but we had clean room with two beds and shared shower was also clean...Convenient locality for seeing Barcelona´s most important monuments! I was very satisfied with possibility of leaving luggage in hostal after we checked-out and before check-in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and for the price we paid we weren't expecting anything too luxurious. Located in the gothic quarter so the streets can be intimidating at night. But had everything that was needed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and barly furitured room; no internet connection in room; even in the night, the temperature in the room is very high however this room is not equipped with air conditioner.

    Very good location!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clear pictures about the rooms and charging the money while you wanna see it first

    They are giving wrong rooms witch we've requested and it's so dirty,smells bad,small

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location and check in was easy BUT it wasn't very clean and there was constant smoke filtering into our room from the guy next door. Also, the shower curtain was hanging in the bidae and the toilet was used as a storage closet for buckets...enough said.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only needed the room for one day to store luggage / take a shower after being down the beach so was fine for what we needed. Personally, I woould not like to spend the night here as I prefer a little more luxury. It is very very basic.

    Staff very helpful & friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very old without window, it's impossible to stay when in Barcelona is summer. It was stuffy, we couldn't sleep, also in descriptions of hotel there is a wi-fi, but in real it doesn't work, hotel doesn't appropriate for two stars

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fan in room , but didn't want to leave on whilst we were out , air con would have been fenomenal in the heat but the fan was a great addition

    Towels were changed a few times , had your own privacy and showers were wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility was dirty. The bathrooms were horrible. The room was dismal.

    Horrible, dirty place. Misrepresented on booking. com. I see now, that if you give low ratings, the overall score of 2.9 is still too high. I would rate the staff higher, but I don't want this hotel to get a higher score. It was like sleeping in a cell.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money was poor - we booked late and had no other chance to find a place to sleep.

    Localisation is perfect - however this place should be your last choice if compared to any other place (just before sleeping in the street)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fridge was not working. No air conditioner. Wifi was not working in our room. Some corners connection was low. Beds were OK , but dust everywhere. There was no drinking glasses in our room. Pictures are illustratives. We had business trip, but if you are just travelling alone or backpack traveler , then it's OK. Room was for 4 people and 2 of them needed to share bed.

    Location, bathroom was in our room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really small rooms. One person had to Wall outside to room if the other One had to go to the toilett. Bad isolation between the rooms and no kitchen or ability to prepare or eat or lunch.

    Good service at the reception and The personal was really Nice. You had the oppirtunity to get your room cleaned every day

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a place in the very heart of Bruges, I expected something with more 'ancient' character and not a full modern building.

    Really original: DIY-orange press!! Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location was excellent: 2min walk from La Rambla, 5min walk from metro, 10min walk from Boqueria market, 5min from Barcelona cathedral. The hotel itself is clean enough. Bathroom is shared between 4 rooms. There is a sink in the room itself. Room has a balcony.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Walls are very thin - you can hear clearly conerstaions in adjacent rooms. It was very noisey one night until past 2am. Staff do not do anything abut it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    you get what you pay for €37 when other places in the city were over €100 for a double also. Why? Because the room was super small, had shared bathroom in an old building and wifi that didn't reach the room, still though at that price I couldn't complain

    I liked that it was simple and cheap

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Attn (!): you can't pay by card in the hostel! Only cash! Non-24 hours reception - as was explained on the desk. WiFi is not good... :-( Guys really try to keep clean but this hostel need repair.

    Location: Really good location close to La Rambla. ~Clean: cleaning every day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was an old building and everthing in the hotel was old. There was no radiator in the room. And the little clima used for heating was making too noise.

    The location was perfect. The hotel staff was friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't particularly comfortable. No towels provided.

    Location was great. Receptionist was great, even though we arrived outside of reception's opening hours.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The building is very old. The windows of our room were broken and it was really cold during the night. The area was very noisy during the night and it was hard to sleep. There was a strange smell in the whole facility.

    The location is perfect. In the middle of the old town and very close to the city center.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The street outside is heavily loaded with people (and this was December, I assume in summer time it is loaded even more) so lots of noise even at night time if you room faces the street. As well sound insulation from neighbors - very poor, you can hear them speaking, walking in hallways and so on. Floor is covered in tiles, so it was cold. We had the room with shared bathroom - shower was quite poor.

    Location is very good. Not far away from shuttle buses to airport. Subway is also not far. Staff helped provided us with electrical heater for room (it was quite chilly in December) and gave us umbrella for use. Room had small balcony, that should be great to use in warm summer days.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet connection was bad, very basic stuff in the room but understandable as it is a cheap hostel. The rooms are a little old and cold (in winter)

    Great location close to the rambla, plaza catalunia, and shopping stores. Very cheap accommodation. It has a lift within the building but you still need to use the stairs to access the reception. Shared bathroom but clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quintuple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy in the room due to the window being opened and the passersby below. Other than that it was fine.

    The staff was very nice and helped me despite me having different circumstances regarding checkout. They also kept my bags safe while I had errands to run during the day. I had low expectations due to reading other reviews but it was much better than expected.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wi fi was crap in room . toilet broke in night & they did not move us into a new room until the next afternoon. after all of that & the fact that we paid cash on arrival they actually came in to our room not knock first as we wer 10 minutes late at checkout! we travel a lot but we will never book again unless we completely desperate . lastly they charged us a 10 euro city sir charge which was NOT mentioned on booking . com when i booked!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no possibility to pay with bank card, so be aware of it and prepare cash payment if needed. The staff at the hotel is quite friendly and indeed very helpful but it may happen that some of the team members do not quite speak English. Still, that was not a big problem and they were eager to help!

    The location is really great, it is only 2 mins away from La Rambla and the shops are very close. The price is quite affordable and the bed sheets and towels very tidy and changed everyday.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not clean and really small. If it would have been two in this bed, one person would have to sleep just beneath the sink! I do not like having strangers' hair on my bed linen. Floor was not cleaned either. Showers are small and there's no space for shampoo etc. Bed linen was smelling rather chemical.

    I was arriving late (1 am in the morning), which was no problem. The reception was really friendly and uncomplicated.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Be well prepared - it isn't easy to find. The rooms and the showers are very small.

    Perfect location right between the Rambla and the Dome. The rooms toward the street (pedestrian) are best, since they have balcony.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy, guests arguing/yelling, slamming the doors...this was heard through all night. If you don't want to get enough sleep this is the place to go! Bed and toilet was terrible as well. Luckily I was here for only one night and took off early in the morning! Will never go here again thats for sure!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It can be understood for being in the centre of town, the noise from the public until the early hours of the morning is very disturbing and annoying. Security and/or a night watchmen could be an option.

    Location was excellent and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty, no windows in the room apart from one looking at the hall (!), the noise was unbearable. I thought I was sleeping together with everyone in the hotel! I even heard the alarm clock of the people next door. I would never go again

    Nice staff and good location close to everything.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    its a very small room not look like pic i book for 4 night and i live only 1 night and leave and they didt refund the money .bed sheet have a hole in middle very dirty hostel

    only location nothing else

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and very hot. Fan provided was not sufficient to cool room. Room service came only every second day so that beds were left unmade and room not cleaned in-between. Fresh towels also only provided every second day. Room finally cleaned at 6 pm!

    Apart from the location, there is nothing positive

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated and old but has potential just needs some renovation

    The list cation was fantastic and it was a good price , staff were nice , very old and dated also very hot and only had a fan but you get what you pay for , great if your just wanting a cheap room in the heart of the city and don't plan on staying in the room much .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was expecting the worse, given some of the previous comments. A double room in Barcelona old town during high season on a weekend for only 49€! Friendly (read: not phoney) and helpful staff who were flexible with late check out, a comfortable bed, all in all absolutely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area surrounding location of this hostal does not feel safe walking late at night. If you arrive late at night ensure you know where you are going, our flight was delayed leading to a very late arrival and 3 taxis would not take us to the address. We had to walk three blocks through red light district, and the following 2 nights we were offered drugs returning to the hostal 11pm ish. There was young people sleeping in the alley road leading to hostal each night and early morning (8amish) that we were there. However after 10am its a lovely shopping area , full of hustle and bustle and you wouldn't recognise it as same street. Regards room, only a dirty fan for ventilation so uncomfotably hot, the bedroom window was internal to a communal staircase- bit bizarre. No fire exit from our room other than main staircase.

    The location is great for getting to tourist sites. It was a very basic but clean room, private bathroom was large, clean and shower decent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    After 3 days of staying at the hostel the staff moved my belongings to another room without letting me know, though my room was booked and paid for in advance. No explanation or apologize for inconvenience was given and I was shocked. Will never recommend this accomodation to a friend

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid simply for the location. However, the hostal was so outdated, the bedsheets were the only things that weren't ripped up. Broken floor pieces, ripped up wall decorations (drawings?), tables that were about to collapse, and extremely stuffy room. We put toilet paper on our PRIVATE bathroom toilet seat because the toilet bowl was disgustingly stained, which could have been prevented if it was regularly scrubbed like how all hostal toilets should be. We were cramped in our 3-person bedroom. Thanks to the location, we were out and about for as long/much as possible.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostal Rembrandt traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: