Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mas Palou 3 stars

Carretera Arenes, s/n, 17480 Roses, Spain

#29 of 39 hotels in Roses

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1602 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    We booked here to chill for 3 days after a bustling 3 days in Llfranch. Not as peaceful as we hoped
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many Spanish families have lunch in the restaurant ( particularly at the weekend) and have free access to the swimming pool. They arrive early & reserve the sun loungers meaning there are none available for guests of the hotel. Also, the children are allowed to use the pool & run around whilst the parents are still sat in the restaurant. Many areas outside are unkempt & around the indoor spa area. Lights are on a timer so you cannot sit in the lounge In the evening without sitting in the dark.

    Lovely shady, grassy areas around the pool. Large comfortable bed. Spa bath in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Great place for relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place for relax. Huge thank you to all staff, everybody was amazing, helpful and so nice. Rooms are big and clean, food is great and coctails even better. It is advised to have a car, as hotel is a bit of a walk from town, but that is exactly what we wanted. If you looking for comfort, peace and quiet - look no further. We would love to come back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.8
    Not bad but would not really recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the toilet inside the room with no door. The first room we slept in had a very little window, no natural light at all in the room and was very humid (they had a dehumidifier but was very noisy to use it during the night). There's no place to put your suitcase so you have to leave it on the floor.

    The hotel is in a very good location. Breakfast and food in the restaurant are good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    overall exactly what we needed for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Strange no wifi signal in bedrooms but fair signal outside on terrace. Could do with somewhere to dry towels and swin suits in bathroom.

    Air conditioning, seclusion closeness to resort.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Amazing and relaxing stay in a traditional old house with all the comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold water in the indoor pool. A bit more variety in the breakfast and wifi in the room would make the property perfect.

    Impressive old traditional building. Very good quality breakfast. Nice food at the restaurant. Room very comfortable and spacious, with hot tub inside. Incredible value for money at a good location to relax and visit Roses and Cadaques.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, beautiful surroundings and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi didn’t work but was not important for the stay.

    The location is the best, as to visit cadaques and the area it is perfectly situated on the same road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.4
    not a place I would choose again to stay at
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I sadly would not recommend the hotel at the moment, the staff are pleasant and helpful, but have limited English and their French is worse than mine! Did not find out until well after everything was booked and set up, that there would be a 10 euro per night charge for our dog. Quite why this was so high I'm not sure and as we had already made all of our plans, I had no desire to cancel so had to pay when we got there. Our room did not have a separated bathroom, everything was in the one room. The room was a decent size, but there was little privacy for ablutions etc! We only ate the first night of five and found the food disappointing and it was far cheaper to eat in the town. Beware if you are staying at a weekend, Saturday they may be holding a function in the restaurant area. They had a birthday party there during our stay and as we had been out all day were not wanting to go out again. The disco finished at midnight, but we had guests of the party right outside our window waiting to be collected up until 01:00 am and the Spanish do not talk quietly! Sunday lunch the restaurant again seems to be popular so lot of people about. Breakfast at 10 euros seemed a little expensive to us for what it was so gave that a miss. Don't be in a rush for breakfast or checkout as the day we left people were waiting for breakfast to be available at 9:00am. Great shame about the hotel, as it has a great location for dog walking, but is trying to be too many things to too many people and failing on the hotel side. A 5.4 rating from me is being generous, most of it is because of the location. for me it was more of a three.

    Great location if staying with a dog as there is easy access to the national park by foot and 4 or 5 great walks which you can with a little effort and head scratching make into a circular route so you end up back at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    Enjoyed the area but wouldn't use this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weren't able to use outside pool but locals were! Local wine cost twice the price than in local bars and restaurants. No fresh bread or croissants for breakfast.

    Excellent location shame the service didn't match.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This time we had bathtub and toilet in the room without a door for separation.That we found very unpleasant. But we did stay in the hotel many times before and always had rooms with separate bathroom and toilet.

    Location Breakfast Dog friendly Nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.7
    Location is really beautiful and the building too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They put us, i think, in the worst room of them. It shouldn't be used as room. It was almost de basement of the house. We didn't have a a window (as photo). It was a little one that was connected with a hole under the house floor. So it looks like a little cave and perfect to small animals come in, cus didn't had any net protecting. Also, it was a bathroom inside the room. The huge bathtub was the shower also and if you take a hot shower, the whole room get humid due to no ventilation and the bath been in the middle of the room. We picked this hotel to stay in an old construction, typical of the region, but was terrible. No view at all to anything. No ventilation at all.

    Location is really beautiful and the building too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    I would clearly repeat and recommend this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast starts at 9am and is a buffet, very good products but small space so cues were a bit chaotic. Nothing I could not deal with. Breakfast itself could be taken indoors in the bar or outdoors in the terrasse, which is amazing.

    The location, the property and the room itself were excellent. Most of the staff was also very good and kind

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet is part of the room without proper door and its small. If you dont care about small details, room was nice.

    We like surrounding, house is beautiful, breakfast were perfect. Staff was very nice. Location is fine as its between Roses, Cadaques and not far from Figueres

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful place, added value with the jacuzzi in the room, perfect to go with partner and pets.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The “spa” which is only a heated pool with water jets has no place to put your stuff (towels, sandals, etc). Also if it’s winter you have to walk all the way thru the restaurant which is not very comfortable. In the room there are certain things that could be added, for instance there’s no towel racks. Breakfast during low season opens at 9, which is pretty late if you want to do more stuff and have an early beginning.

    The landscape near the hotel is beautiful, you have hiking paths near by, perfect place to go with your partner and dogs. Room is cozy but missing certain commodities. The bathroom IS A PLUS WITH THE JACUZZI. The “masia” is beautiful and looks like they are still working on it, which is fine; we understand it takes a lot of work. The breakfast is not bad, the hot line was not very impressive, with no vegetarian choices (only bacon, sausages and scrambled eggs) but the cold area was pretty good, with different choices of cold cuts and cheese, bread station, pastry station, fruits, cereals and fresh O.J.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    4.2
    I wouldn't recommend this as a comfortable and clean place, though the location is convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast. Food was not enough for all guests and when asked the staff if they will put more food, after some scrambled eggs and croissants were finished, their answer was no!! Bed Mattress was not comfortable and bed sheets were not clean!!

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    6.7
    Would not recommend, looks great, but that is about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hated the room we were given, why on earth do they think that you want to see or hear your partner on the toilet is beyond me, for that reason would not recommend. Could not change rooms, no food was available upon arrival, private party was going when we arrived until late in the evening.

    Farmhouse looks lovely, great views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.1
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work in bedroom due to very thick stone walls and public places to sit inside were either closed or on timed lighting. The staff were not very helpful

    Location for us was perfect with free parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    One of the favourite hotels of our holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is a tastefully converted farmhouse with large luxurious rooms ,and is located in beautiful country side.It has a great swimming pool and spa. The in house restaurant served us a lovely evening meal and the breakfast was first class .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    very cosy and beautiful farm house, with great factilities. I will be definitely be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi function on the bath was broken.

    * Large room * Huge bed (very comfortable) * The setting/location * Great value for money * Free parking + Breakfast included

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Excellent, will definately return
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was really fine, the only thing we didn't like was the big running TV in the restaurant in the evening. If that wouldn't be there and the lighting not as bright, the ambience and atmosphere of the nice, old building would profit enormously.

    Excellent location, very nice staff, beautiful house, very quiet, dog friendly. Breakfast was very good, unfortunately they ran out of butter, which was a shame, all the rest was top!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    The room, the garden, the swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our neighbors turned the jacuzzi on (just behind our wall) after midnight and before 8AM the next day. Very unpleasant. The whole room was shaking.

    The room, the garden, the swimming pool. And the kind staff!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Great location, great value, lovely place and people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel was a real find. Room was spacious - huge super-comfortable bed - hot-tub was great. Excellent breakfast set us up for the day - also had dinner here and couldn't fault the food. Christina was so hard-working and friendly (as were all the staff)!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    We would return and have been promised a different room!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was very dark and the shower over the jacuzzi bath soaked the whole area.

    Staff were very friendly after first few days. Breakfast was copious and hot. Staff very friendly towards our two Labradors who stayed for free!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    One night getaway in Catalonian Farm House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled of mildew, even with the air freshener. Due to the age of the property, as well as the fact that our room was on the ground level, it likely gets little air ventilation.

    Very great location between the center of Roses and a short drive to Cadaques. Our stay was short, but pleasant. Suited best for couples or solo travelers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.0
    location near to Cadaques
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too expense for what it is, no welcoming (noone except bar staff), poor maintenance of rooms, damp patches on the bathromm walls and smell of damp in the room, poor breakfast buffet

    location near to Cadaques

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    Romantic and convenient spot in the Catalan countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The layout of our particular room was a bit unusual (no door on the bathroom), which may be uncomfortable for people who don't know each other really well, but we were fine with it. IMO, the unusual layout and slightly funky retrofit into an old space added to the charm, as did the jacuzzi tub and platform bed.

    Loved the romantic atmosphere of the old stone building, which was renovated enough to be comfortable without sacrificing character. The staff was friendly, and easy to communicate with even when there was a language barrier. The location worked well for us as a base for a long weekend that included Cadaqués / Port Lligat and Girona. Mas Palou is easy to find right off the main road, on the way between Barcelona and Dalí's house and also very convenient to Roses without being right in town. Sadly (and somewhat surprisingly in early July), the weather was too cool and rainy to tempt us to take advantage of the lovely pool, but we had a really nice dinner as well as good breakfast both mornings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.9
    The parking was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had room 1 of course the building is very old. However, the bathroom was awful, two sinks one had a plug the other didnt, their is no where to put any toilet bags on and their was a huge bath in the corner with a shower in, when you had a shower one minute it was very hot, next cold, then went extremely hot again. Their was no shower curtain, no grab rail , so the whole of the bathroom floor got flooded, and I mean flooded. (That wont do the ceiling below any good at all) We found the bed comfortable, but the bedroom was lacking a unit of some sort to put your bags and things on, so we had to leave everything on the floor. This needs thinking about for the comfort of the travellers that go there. Breakfast was very good. Why do people start to move furniture around at 12 midnight. (Wooden floor boards) very ignorant. Which we had above us !!!!!!!!! we travelled from south of spain and were very tired and got woke up by the people above doing this!!!!!!!!!!!!!! No thought for anyone else who might be in a bedroom below!!!!!!! The parking was great. Lovely grounds lovely old building.

    The parking was great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    We had the 2 rooms facing the swimming pool and there was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the 2 rooms facing the swimming pool and there was a strong humidity odour in the bathrooms (even if the bathrooms were clean and well renovated). Except that, everything was fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely Old Stone Building, great breakfast, Peaceful, Helpful staff, just outside of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could use a couple of chairs, and better lighting, .I would suggest warm white lights with the flexibility to be a little brighter if you needed it at night.

    The hotel is a beautiful old historic stone building. Staff was friendly and very helpful, rooms were nice, large, clean, had a jacuzzi in the room. The bed was firm and comfortable. It is in a nice and quiet location, on a hillside with pretty wildflowers and an old well, a little bit out of town. Breakfast was very generous, warm croissants, ham, cheese, eggs and fruit and juice, also some donuts, muffins and cereal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most rooms have Jacuzzis & some guests were using them late at night without considering the noise they make!

    A beautiful location with lovely staff good facilities and an excellent restaurant. We will be returning

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.4
    The breakfast was nice and the hotel offers a spa and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room 10 and it looked like this room was recently changed from a bathroom to a bedroom since it feels like I was sleeping in a bathroom. The room is very humid, and there is a huge whirlpool in the room that is almost next to the bed: obviously this also doesn't help. The room is cavelike (if that's a word), there is only a tiny window and there was some mold on the wall which is probably not deliberately part of the whole cave theme. We only paid €55 for the room but I rather see that hotels don't rent out rooms like this. The climate in the room is not very good for your health.

    The breakfast was nice and the hotel offers a spa and a swimmingpool. The staff is friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.8
    Disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't ready when we arrived at 2pm even though it said it would be ready at midday. Approach to hotel v untidy - lots of loose stones & weeds - v tatty cane chairs outside - did not create a good impression. Even though we were sitting in the sun, they did not come & tell us when our room was ready - neither did they give us any directions to where it was apart from upstairs - up 2 fairly steep flights. No window apart from a velux with a blind we could not reach. The room was very basic. Furniture tired & damaged ( this was supposed to be a superior room!). Only 1 very tiny bedside light. Absolutely no info in the room about anything. No pillowcases on spare pillows. Jacuzzi bath had taps at end & plughole & on/off valve at other so nowhere to lie back & relax!! Sign appeared shortly before opening time of restaurant to say it was closed that evening - even though I had specifically checked it was open before booking on their website. They shrugged their shoulders & said they had just decided to change closing night from Wed until Mon this week - no apology! This is just not good enough. We then had to drive into Roses and start searching for somewhere to eat at the last minute. Breakfast had a fairly good selection but as cold meat & cheese etc were uncovered and there were lots of flies around, the choice becomes limited. This hotel has the potential to be good but a lot of work needs to be done in regard to customer service plus tidying up/ sprucing up the outside. A few extras in the room ie bottled water would have been nice as well. Would I return?- unfortunately, no!

    AC efficient, bed comfortable, room large but basic. In a quiet location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    Stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Awesome jacuzzi bath for 2 massive bed. Great place to stay built in the 16th century. Out the way we were on a motorcycle it's very safe police were always coming in for a coffee.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Amazing place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We loved it here and will be back again.

    The staff were lovely and friendly. The hotel is in a beautiful setting. Lovely pool and gorgeous patio to sit and have drinks and meals. We ate in the dining room and it was a gorgeous meal and value for money. Room was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    Great for a weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was real y nice nice coffee madre at The bar. Nothing walking distance but you can taje the car and park at the entrance of Roses. Very nice people

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Yet another excellent stay at Mas Palou, and we will return (again)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have to be very picky, the breakfast buffet bar can get a little crowded at times, but you get this in many hotels.

    Very friendly owner. We have stayed there a few times over the past few years, and every stay has been very enjoyable. The facilities are improved in some way every time we arrive. Super view of the national park from our room window.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    3.3
    Very poor would not recommend to anybody.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed decided not to open until mid April. Room very dated, need up dating and a good clean. Toilet in bedroom only salon door. No window only little opening very high up. Very very poor.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    6.3
    Better in summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Peut etre mieux dans l'ete. le site had an unfinished air, and it felt like a work in progress. No evening meals served Oct - May.

    Le petit dejeuner etait bon. It was Carnival night in Roses. Great procession.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful and pet friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was out of town (Roses) surrounded by green and tranquillity, but close enough to get down there for dinner. Friendly relaxed staff who welcomed our dog. Beautiful old building. Centrally located for fabulous Dalí attractions.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    8.3
    Value for money
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was warm, the location was excellent. We were only staying en route so did not try any other facilities. The staff were helpful, the room fine and the price very good value.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    5.8
    Dissapointing overnight stay in an idyllic setting.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The finish touches to the bathroom could have been better .i.e filling the gaps between the tiling and the edge of the bath. Also the mattress and pillows could have been better.

    a really nice location and ideal for dog walks amongst the hills. A very historic building dating back to 1582 with many original features,such as the double oak exterior doors.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    4.6
    place looks good in the photo but doesnt live up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the restaurant is not open in winter. Rooms are ancient. Location is 2 klms from beach promenade and town and restaurants.

    breakfast was good, easy parking in hotel grounds.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    8.8
    excellent location and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt like we slept in the bathroom. The hot tub is a nice idea but needs to be separate from where you sleep because of the humidity.

    Excellent location and setting. Very nice staff. Great idea for a relaxing break.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    7.1
    Beautifully restored old farm building in beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant closed, breakfast buffet very basic and limited. Nothing to do at the hotel.

    Beautifully restored old farm building in beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.9
    Good overnight stop in tranquil surroundings
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted to leave at 8.30am but could.not find any staff to check out so had to leave our room key with another guest.

    Really liked the traditional Finca style building and our room had a jacuzzi bath.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.9
    4th visit enjoyable visit
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Needed some more relaxing chairs in the outdoor areas.

    Lovely old Mas just outside Roses so you do need a car. Very helpful friendly staff. Rooms are quite spacious, not luxury but have everything we needed . They have air con and heating depending on time of year. I also booked a massage whilst there and the lady who came to do my treatment was very good. The hotel is also VERY pet friendly ... so don't expect 'posh' rooms pet owners who can't have the best of both worlds.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Beautiful place. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Great Spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great place, food and staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Pool room breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Pool room breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Great location, excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our dog has spinal problems so to get her up 2 flights of stairs was difficult

    Its location, easy acces to walks in the national park

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Relaxed stay out of town but neer all the amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tranquility of the place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    2.5
    Bedsheet not holding on Uncomfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty floor, uncomfortable bed, bedsheets too small for matrass and humidity in room

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Always a pleasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed already several times in this nice hotel, and we will for sure return!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    3.8
    No drinking water, no wifi, no way to contact owner or manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Listed in prior description.

    Fireplace in morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.4
    A quirky building .Nice quiet location with trees
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant closed .WHERE was the indoor pool ? Room cold

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Very nice place, good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV running in restaurant

    Nice, modern room, very quiet, nice ambience, very good breakfast, dog friendly, clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    Will definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed. Plastic mattress liner

    Staff, location, ambience

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.0
    A short stop at the end of a holiday in Spain. The owner was very pleasant, as were the staff, and s
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and sofa were uncomfortable.

    Very accommodating for our dogs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    good breakfast, very nice old house, nice big space in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good breakfast, very nice old house, nice big space in room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.5
    Perfect country quite setting in easy reach of Roses beach and town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinking water supplied. Very comfy bed and large room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Absolutely outstanding,, nothing at all is to much trouble !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave !!!

    The staff , the rooms , the facilities perfectly situated if you don't stay here you have missed out !!! Outstanding !!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely rustic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in rooms was poor. Toilet only had a partial divider, no privacy.

    Rustic feel of the hotel. Staff very accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely old building, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom had a few issues. needs updating

    Lovely old building, great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.9
    Quiet location with swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little far out of town to walk.

    Quiet location with swimming pool. Good food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    An amazing stay , very nice and peacefully area , as well a paradise for our dogs
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing !!!!! We felt like at home.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful experience staying in your hotel!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet in the room

    The jacuzzi, the breakfast room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.6
    The jacuzzi bath in the middle of the room
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The doorless toilets

    The jacuzzi bath in the middle of the room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    10
    Beautiful location stunning building loved it so much stayed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location stunning building loved it so much stayed an extra night

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful location stunning building loved it so much stayed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location stunning building loved it so much stayed an extra night great value for money will definitely return

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    2.5
    Fatal
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nos marchamos del hotel

    Nos marchamos del hotel. Era terrible

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.2
    A very peaceful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast.

    Location. Bathroom's hot tub.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    5.4
    The staff wanted to give us a dark room, which doesn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff wanted to give us a dark room, which doesn't look at all like on the pictures. Luckily we speak Spanish so we had a discussion with the receptionist and after some time he gave us finally the room which was similar to the pictures of the booked room. He made some stupid excuses why he can not change the room and so on. That was really a downer for our trip. Booking.com has to do something against that scam!

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    7.5
    Beautiful house, beautiful rooms, big room, very clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The A/C didn't work, the bathroom hair dryer was obviously broken and they had left it like that. Nobody is around if you need anything, there is only an emergency number to call.

    Beautiful house, beautiful rooms, big room, very clean, quiet, close to Roses but away from the town.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    7.5
    The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff were quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We expected a little bit more value for the money. In winter time they only offer breakfast (which was not all too great). Although the nature around the hotel is nice, the hotel is relatively remote and therefore there are no nearby restaurants. The nearest city (Roses) does not have much to offer, especially in winter.

    The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff were quite friendly.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    5.0
    Location was super, as we had two dogs with us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room 10 Dreadful smell from the water in the toilet, ran all taps to help lessen the odour from drains, unable to hang clothes in wardrobe due to very strong smell of damp. Room was below ground and was to be honest depressing. Small window above head height with what seemed to be a sail cloth covering it. Did ask for change of room but were told rather abruptly and off hand manner NO the hotel was full. No follow up. Restaurant was closed therefore unable to have dinner, which was a shame as it would have been a lovely place to dine, no alternative suggestions given, which would have been nice as we have never been to Roses before. If it had not been quite so late in the day and we had a better knowledge of Roses after being shown room 10 we would have moved on.

    Location was super, as we had two dogs with us. Sits in a wooded area with ample parking and lovely walks. Breakfast was more than expected and was served in a very comfortable and warm restaurant/bar area. Lady behind the tea/coffee bar was attentive and pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    9.6
    beautiful setting and beautiful facilities.
    • Solo traveller

    the sauna/hot tub in common area not hot. but the sauna tub in private bathroom was fabulous!

    beautiful setting and beautiful facilities. warm staff waited for me to arrive and helped me get down the side of the mountain to reach them.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: