Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Restaurante Puerta del Alcázar 2 stars

San Segundo, 38, 05001 Avila, Spain

#8 of 12 B&Bs and Inns in Avila

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2353 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our evening meal was so bad we sent I back, with only a bite eaten, how they are recommended by Michelin I have not got a clue, it was one of the worse meals that we have ever had in Spain, and we still had to pay the full whack, waiting staff we not very nice. The receptionist was very pleasant and helpful on our arrival.

    The location was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.9
    Location was excellent, being right opposite Cathedral de...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower. Nearest parking 250 mts away in an underground park (18 euros daily). Not good if you have heavy luggage.

    Location was excellent, being right opposite Cathedral de Avila.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.3
    avila is a wonderful place so the location of the hotel is perfect as a starting point to survey...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only spansh speaking staff and this in a top touristical locdation - difficult parking situation especially when you arrive for a first time

    location + outside terrace with some animation at night

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Great place in perfect location overlooking the wall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place in perfect location overlooking the wall. Breakfast was just what we needed to start our day. Very friendly staff. Will definitely stay there whenever we go back to Avila!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.7
    In the middle of an Epic city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small, and there is no lifter so if you have a wallet you'll make exercise to take for the room. The breakfast is not but, I missed the tipycal tomato with han spanish and another kind of vegetable milk.

    The situation is perfect, in front of the turistic point and the staff very nice..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Location, rooms were very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would say that the size of the shower space was extremely small and uncomfortable.

    Location, rooms were very comfortable. Ruth at the reception was very attentive and helpful. Relation price/quality was very good. Location, location, location. Close to everything important in the city and close to the best bars and restaurants too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay right outside the Alcazar Gate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is not available which is normal for historic places. We parked on the street a few blocks away. It is free on weekends but plan to pay by machine during business days. There are also parking garages in the area.

    Room was clean and comfortable. Location was excellent. Restaurant in the hotel was lively and fun. Morning breakfast was nice with self serve espresso, breads, rolls, and scrambled eggs, although a bit boring after the 2nd day. Biggest advantage was the great location just outside the Alcazar Gate and the Tourist Center where you can purchase tickets to walk on the wall or catch a walking tour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Tired but central
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air inside the room and hotel is quite stuffy and needs airing. The shower is nice and hot, but is a very small unventilated room. Breakfast is usual European continental and very basic - nothing fresh bar a few pieces of fruit. Communication is a little difficult, but we all tried and got there in the end. I stayed at a hostel nearby and it was much less tired.

    This hotel is right by the cathedral so is very central. We booked here because it had a big room for the family, having 4 in one room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    I was pleased with.my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could hear voices from the room above coming through the bathroom. Tolerable, though.

    Couldn't have been closer to the mold city! A reaspnable 20-minute walk to the bus station. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    My hotel room was facing the wall and I had fantastic views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was excellent

    My hotel room was facing the wall and I had fantastic views. It was convinently located, 50m from the wall entrance. The breakfast was a very nice buffet. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Nice and quiet to sleep or rest. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    We would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator.

    Location is three minutes from cathedral. We had room looking a wall and cathedral. Good windows kept outside noise to a minimum. Comfortable and clean. Breakfast had breads, meat, cheese, yogurt, etc. We ate one meal at restaurant, and it was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Ok for the price, but super noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are very very thin. So it is so noisy, it is impossible to sleep. We spent a horrible night, not sure if we were unlucky with the neighbors, but what was a resting stop transformed into something even more exhausting.

    The breakfast was fine and the communication with the hotel was very good. They are caring and on top of the check ins.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Although 2 Star this hostal was in a great location right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although 2 Star this hostal was in a great location right next to the city wall, very clean, friendly staff, great restaurant and heated outside terrace, breakfast great. No lift but we knew that, kids moaned a bit as on 2nd floor but they have legs and they should use them occasionally I told them lol! Excellent value for money, basic but perfect. Public parking only a couple hundred metres.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    3.8
    Below average
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a superior room if this was superior I don't know what the others were like Breakfast not very good coffee poor must have been 3 or 4 hours old

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minus is a noise. You can hear very loudly bathroom from next room. We stayed just one night, but it was quite uncomfortable during the night.

    It's great location. Rooms are warm ( important in winter ! ), beds are comfortable and nice bteakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Your home in Avila
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the staff are very friendly and accommodating. Special mention to the very helpful receptionist at check-in counter. Breakfast is great. Location is fantastic. Place is very safe.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Friendly and helpful reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was expensive in nearby secure carpark but to be honest we didn't shop around!

    Friendly and helpful reception. Clean and comfortable room. Great location just outside the old town walls. Good continental breakfast in light bright restaurant. Good value accommodation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Facing walled city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found a metered parking space 2 blocks away but be sure to feed the meter every 2 hours - free during lunch.

    The location is fantastic - the door is right across the street from the gate of the walled city Avila so just a short walk to the Basilica and a few more blocks to the Convent of St Teresa of Jesus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    High flexibility of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception closed from 2 to 5pm, restaurant staff may help with the check-in but by favour and the restaurant closes at 4pm.

    High flexibility of the staff. Great value for money!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location for visiting Avila.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible mattress. Impossible to be a couple in the bath/shower.

    Perfect location for visiting Avila. Their own restaurant is even recommended by the Michelin Guide and the food was fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.3
    Simple but scenic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to locate but we had to find public parking in the rain. Difficult to unload car. Needed more electrical outlets.

    Check in easy with friendly staff. We had a fantastic view of the wall & church from room 208. This floor was accessed only by stairs. Room dated but clean & organised. Good a/c. Well insulated & Very quiet. Simple breakfast with good coffee. Staff worked hard to get everyone a seat and refill items as needed. Check out easy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Amazing alcazar views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator and it has 3 levels. The ac is not the best in the world I must say. The bathroom has a very weird tiny bathtub that makes u slip like crazy. very uncomfortable shower. No space for toiletries or counter on the bathroom even though its big.

    the view from my room was breathtaking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    4.2
    Dissapointed in our second visit to this hotel after knowing it had been a good room last time.!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size was very small and view of the roof, poor, felt like we had been allocated the cupboard at the top of the stairs!

    Have stayed before so knew it was good!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.7
    A nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't like the breakfast very much because it was industrial, there seemed to be nothing home made. The noise from the street was not a good thing either. Our room was just above the restaurant's terrace and the noise was awful till late at night. The window shutters didn't work properly. The air conditioner was very loud. The staff was hardly ever present, when we walked by the reception, and it didn't make us feel safe. Anyone could have walked into the hotel? That's why the checking out also took a rather long time. The worst thing were the stairsteps down unexpectedly just when you enter the room. You could have broken your ankle or neck especially when carrying the luggage into the room.

    We liked the location near the town and the spectacular old walls. The receptionist was very friendly and she spoke very good English.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.3
    Opposite the Stunning Walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Enjoyed the view of the historic walls from our room. Great location for sight seeing and restaurants. Can walk to the train station - about 20 mins. Comfortable room in this Hostal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    A little disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Avila I believe is overrated. The wall walk had a price tag, and inside the walls did not have much to offer, with very few shops or restaurants. The overall area is however very nice.

    The hotel is in a good location with excellent views of the entrance and walls of the old town. The room was very nice with large windows on two sides which allowed plenty of light and views. The hotel restaurant is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.6
    Great location, great walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Avila is a wonderful place to visit, and the Hostal is perfectly located. Public parking, approx. 19 euros for 24 hours, is nearby. Take into account there is no elevator.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.9
    Great location, nice view on the square and walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, nice view on the square and walls. Modest but satisfying breakfast. Room we got was small, but on for one night. Hostel has no parking, however there is public payable parking (24x7) 5 min walk from the hostel. As a recommendation - if you come with the car, look for the ability for short term parking in the street for dropping the luggage off and bringing it to the hostel, then continue to the parking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.2
    Weather was bitterly cold and the property was well heated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee in the morning was not very warm. Had to find parking some distance away

    Weather was bitterly cold and the property was well heated. Restaurant looked nice but closed on night of our visit however we found very pleasant bars with Tapas near by

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    7.1
    Fantastic location with low comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one of the three ladies in reception could talk english..... Small and very basic room. Smelly bathroom My train left before breakfast so the hostal gave me a take-away pack containing one small bottle of water, one sandwich with ham and a shriveled apple, but charged for full breakfast! :( There are better options for the same, or little more, money!

    Fantastic location!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    8.8
    Best hotel and restaurant in Avila
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I should learn to speak Spanish, because no one at the hotel speaks English, but they were very helpful at dealing with my problem :-)

    This is the best located hotel that I saw in Avila, right opposite the old city gates. It also had the biggest and most comprehensive restaurant in town. It would be foolish to stay anywhere else.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    The location is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nicer if the staff spoke some English. I don't understand why they don't considering the quantity of tourists in town!

    The location is amazing. At night we weren't kept awake by any noise The AC works well and isn't noisy The place was very clean Breakfast was decent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    You hear everything of other guests, even you hear them...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You hear everything of other guests, even you hear them talking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    very good hotel at a wonderful location, with a buffet breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noisy water pipe/toilet/bath

    very good hotel at a wonderful location, with a buffet breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Location and hospitality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bad smell from the sink

    Location and hospitality

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Positioned right beside the city wall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower too small and awkward. Drains smelly. No lift, although I knew this before booking.

    Location. Clean. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.8
    Staff excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants empty at night. No atmosphere. Everyone eats at lunchtime

    Staff excellent. Location great. Beautiful town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Room had no Wi-Fi.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap and great location..lovely friendly lady on reception

    Room had no Wi-Fi. Quiet noisey

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Nice smaller hotel, just by thr cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice smaller hotel, just by thr cathedral.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Super location, kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Staff spoke english. Super location. Nice old building, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Best hostel I've had the pleasure of staying at
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I only had 2 nights there

    Everything. Clean, cheap, private, great location, good breakfast etc

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    Vero friently reseptionist!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little noisy!.

    Vero friently reseptionist!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    good location to explore the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellent location, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom tooo small

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.7
    Had to wait 10 minutes before we could check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait 10 minutes before we could check in Staff not so nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location and very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small to put a baby crib

    The location and the breakfast of the hotel were very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.2
    comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no problem in use, but the door of the shower is off from the rail.

    Breakfast is good. The room is enough large and clean. Good view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    6.3
    Avila, nice "casco histórico".
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very simple. The room very small, the noise of the street.

    The location, near the wall and the wiew.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.9
    Great value for money hostal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value. Great restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelente ternera y chuleton!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Great value and location in Avila
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Location-price

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.2
    Confortable and friendly staff at a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    9.6
    - cosy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - cosy room - very helpful and friendly staff - very good restaurant (with Michelin forks) - good breakfast (free buffet)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    9.6
    Well positioned hotel in a beautiful and historical city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good big room, warm on freezing nights in superb position opposite the town walls and the Puerta.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    8.8
    Great location 👍👍👍very near in everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location 👍👍👍very near in everywhere. The breakfast is pretty good. And value for money 👌👌

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    8.8
    no ascensor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no ascensor

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite small.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    6.3
    Near old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner

    Near old town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.2
    The prefect location and a good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were super attentive and professional. And the location is perfect. I cannot imagine a place in Avila I would rather have been.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    Had a very relaxing and pleasant time with no complaints whatever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had no complaints and the location was excellent and the staff courteous and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    7.9
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Plumbing could have been a little quieter. And the shower head would not stay on so all showers were hand held!!

    Location is excellent. Breakfast enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    7.1
    Excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Worst Breakfast in 2 Weeks Staff were a bit strange and they seem like they are doing you a favor Rooms very small and Bathrooms Not very comfortable Parking nearby is 20 euros

    Excellent Location Romeo & Juliet Balcony was a nice touch

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    7.1
    the hotel was clean with very comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were allocated room 101. The room sits over the reception area, entrance door and entry to Restaurant. The restaurant opens at 9pm. The noise from the reception area, entrance where the smokers congregate and the restaurant meant a weekend of sleepless nights. if you are a light sleeper do not get room 101 its so noisy. It was a shame as the hotel itself is lovely.

    the hotel was clean with very comfortable beds. Very clean and the reception staff were very friendly. Cannot fault the location.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    8.3
    We arrived at 2:30 pm but they had emailed that we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived at 2:30 pm but they had emailed that we couldn't check in between 3 and 5. That would have been a problem. But since we had to leave the following morning at 8:30 they prepared breakfast early for us which was nice. And because we woke up early we weren't bothered by the fact that there were only sheer curtains on the window but that could be a bother for some. But breakfast was good and location great. A great deal overall.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    3.8
    Very easy for access into the old walked city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was not good food terrible complained !!,and had reduced bill ! .Man on opposite Table also had to send His steak back 3 Times would not recommend .

    Very easy for access into the old walked city

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    8.3
    Excellent location just outside the city walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi didn't work. No staff on duty at night - only a phone number in case of emergency.

    Excellent location just outside the city walls. Adequate breakfast included in the room rate. Stylish decor with lots of art works

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    8.8
    What I liked most was the price, it was incredibly cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception. The staff was ok but they were not available all the time as they were doing something else. When we arrived, a waiter at the hotel restaurant did the check in and the check out was done by a lady was doing the cleaning. I didn't like the pillows either, they were too firm for my liking.

    What I liked most was the price, it was incredibly cheap. In addition, the location was great as it was right in the centre and breakfast was included. The room was really nice and there was air conditioning, just as well since it was quite hot.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    4.6
    leaving it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    My Room was very poor, the walls were like paper when people in the next room having a shower & using the toilet, it was like having then in my room. I would not stay at this hotel again.

    leaving it

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    6.3
    Not much good to say about it except the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hated the room, and meal in the restaurant was very poor also.

    Not much good to say about it except the location. No parking except in underground carpark at €19 per day.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    7.5
    Great location looking at the city walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The internet would not work in my room, lobby or hallway. Went to the public library and everything was fine. So it wasn't my computer!!

    Great location looking at the city walls.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    All.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    All.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    8.3
    Exactly by the castle walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Exactly by the castle walls.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    10
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Walls a bit thin, could hear other people.

    Location. Clean good sized room. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    8.8
    Maria Antonia was most welcoming and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Maria Antonia was most welcoming and helpful

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: