Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Rom 2 stars

Trinitat 35, 17480 Roses, Spain

#2 of 5 B&Bs and Inns in Roses

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1347 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Very cozy hotel beta the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. Enough for 1 day, but not for longer. We were 2 adults and 1 child. Bathroom windows open into a wall.not very easy to bring the luggage from auto because the hotel is in a very small street( not.for big cars)

    Room and bathroom were clean. Breakfast amazing. We ate dinner too and was also very good. And for small price. Staff very nice and helpful. A lot of free park place not far from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    Little gem close to the vibrant streets of Roses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked very late, so nothing to complain about!

    Surprisingly tranquil hotel in a vibrant area. Basic, clean room and bathroom with air con. Good breakfast. Pretty courtyard garden.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice place for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't shampoo or soap in the bathroom. Was noisy outside and we couldn't sleep so well

    The stuff at the reception is awesome Breakfast is pretty good for value

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Overall I love the old world look of the Rom it’s good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lounge closed to early. I think 11am is to early to be chucked out the lounge with lights going off and on and being refused a drink around 10.30 ok get the tables in and close the doors, so as not to disturb neighbours. I think 12.00 is a good time to close last drink around 11pm I have know idea why this is a practice in the Hostel Rom now. I have been coming to Catalonia for nearly 40 years and have stayed many times in the Rom and Carmen. Never experienced this in the past. What is going on??

    The boy behind the reception was very helpful and courteous. The breakfasts were super and also the beds and towels were changed everyday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Cetral good value location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Off loading luggage in the narrow parking restricted street was an initial challenge. Secure parking is available but negotiation of the narrow one way streets requires a good upto date sat nav. We found the bed and pillows a bit firm.

    Breakfasts purchased in advance were very good value. The staff were excellent in every way and the room was cleaned every day during our three day stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Most enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smell awful, but hotel changed room immediately.

    From the bright, friendly welcome, to when we departed, value for money this hotel is a must !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    clean, quite big double room with bathtub, towels and soap...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hostel is quite old- no modern design or fancy furniture. but all we got in the room was in a good shape so ut was not a problem

    clean, quite big double room with bathtub, towels and soap provided, option for cheap meals with good variety of choice, very good location, option to leave the bags after the check out

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    Very clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything OK price vs. quality. No complaints. Walls are thin (original building), so try to lower your voice, as you can hear everything. Not a complaint, just a fact. We loved the place.

    Very clean rooms. Nice family business. Well located near beach, shops, bars and restaurants. We were also very lucky with the weather.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Just what we wanted for our break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't think we could have asked for anything moe

    The friendly nests always ready to help food was great anytime of day there to answer any questions we may have had

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.7
    Convenient to everything and great value with breakfast etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls so disturbed night, but guess this depends on your neighbours during your stay, I was unlucky to have a fighting couple next door.

    Location and staff were great as was the breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.3
    Decent option
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very tired, with some fittings broken. A little expensive compared to other options close by (we stayed here one night as our regular hotel was booked out, paid a little more and were disappointed). But overall, no major complaints, a decent stay!

    Professional, well-run hotel. Great location, 1 minute to the beach, close to shops, bus stops etc. Breakfast is decent, but coffee (from a huge thermos) is the worst in 6 weeks in Spain.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly and helpful staff....let us park the car in their compound. Bit tricky to navigate to thanks to a not so helpful sat nav. Very close to the beach. Room was clean and large with a small balcony. Free use of safe and wifi. AMAZING buffet meal including wine in the evening. The ratatouille was the best I have ever had and the staff were very attentive/helpful plus they all spoke English. There were even chips to keep the kids happy! Breakfast was simple but perfect for families...lots of pastries, cereals and even chocolate milkshake! Didn't have to check out till 12 so plenty of time to visit the citadel in the morning. Loved the decor too.....retro chic!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    Position is good and air conditioning works well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very basic, nothing to hang towels/swimsuits. The materass was a little too hard for us.

    Position is good and air conditioning works well. The staff is friendly and available at all the time. Good bakery for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    I loved Roses!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it could get noisy depending on your neighbors, but it didn't bother me.

    Breakfast was good, comfortable bedding, 5 min walk to the beach, plenty of restaurants around, 15-20 min walk to bus station to go to Figueres or Cadaques.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Good place to stay in Roses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast average. Bathroom a little tired.

    Very friendly and welcoming. Good room with air conditioning, a fan, balcony. You can get bbc world on the tv. Stored bike in the garage.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly both at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing that was a bit misleading is the lead photo on the booking.com website page which implies that the picture is of the Hostal, but is actually of another property and restaurant in the town.

    The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly both at reception, in the bar and in the breakfast room. Continental breakfasts offered a good choice and fresh foods were replenished regularly. Parking was excellent value in a secure compound.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.8
    Friendly, clean hostel close to beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little drab. Difficult to get to on public transport, not worth it for a short trip unless you have a car.

    Friendly, helpful multilingual staff, clean, good value buffets, good safety and security for visitors and their belongings, efficient systems for everything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.1
    Great location , right in centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather a chaotic check in ( French bank holiday so v busy) - room was small. No toiletries except soap. Secure parking was 8€ extra so we dumped bags and parked free a little way away.

    Helpful staff, clean rooms and hotel. Good coffee in bar!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    8.3
    Clean, friendly and very affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise insulation is not optimum but it is common to most "hostals"

    - 24h reception - The staff is very friendly - very decent evening meal for a mere 12€

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    We loved the food (bravo the chef!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the food (bravo the chef!), the location, the staff, everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location, friendly staff, adequate facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the hotel is a little challenging.

    Good location, friendly staff, adequate facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Simple - but very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple - but very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Agradable estancia sencillamente
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Todo en general.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    All good, such a shame the coffee at breakfast was so bad,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good, such a shame the coffee at breakfast was so bad, but the great staff will get a coffee from the bar if asked

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Everything super good, the rooms and furnitures are a bit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything super good, the rooms and furnitures are a bit old. Breakfast included (buffet) and free parking 5-10 min away possible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Hostel Rom is awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could have had more options.

    The food was amazing. Incredible lunch and dinner. Was delightful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Kannan review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, friendly staff and great location

    Adequate for the night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    nice stay in Roses
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    simple, clean room, good value for the money, very friendly staff, great location, good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.2
    Super
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit short

    Friendly and secure

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    location, friendly staff, comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location, friendly staff, comfortable room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.0
    Look elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms.

    Very basic rooms. I had to book two rooms for a party of 4.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    Simple but good breakfast, friendly staff, parking near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel located on narrow street so access is a bit difficult if you have a bigger car.

    Simple but good breakfast, friendly staff, parking near hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    Great value for money place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a little tired

    Food was very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money. Breakfast and restaurant good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    restaurant is good and reasonably priced

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    5.4
    Liked the service, parking facility and central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was hard as a rock! The location was central but access (by car) somewhat difficult.

    Liked the service, parking facility and central location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.9
    It was ok just a bit crowded
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was ok just a bit crowded

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Great place great price great people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast, staff and location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.9
    the holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No menus.

    the holiday.etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Super Value in Roses
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spotlessly clean, minimalist approach to lodging. Do the add-on for breakfast, as it is again best value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    Agradable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelente trato

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.3
    The location is perfect, although we had some trouble...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There wasn't enough light in the room. The bathroom had more light than the bedroom.

    The location is perfect, although we had some trouble locating it. The staff is very nice. The breakfast was great compared to what we found elsewhere in Spain. There is nice lobby area where one could just sit and have coffee. The bed was good. There was a ventilator which proved quite useful. We wanted some olives to eat on the go and they gave us for free. Those olives were so delicious!!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    We came out of season so breakfast was included free.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to say.

    We came out of season so breakfast was included free. It was a very copious buffet style. Really good considering it was free! We'd expected just a croissant and a drink.The staff very helpful and pleasant. They Let us stay an hour longer in our room to give us time to visit the citadel before checking out

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    6.3
    The location and the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The picture on Booking.com website of the outside of the hotel bore no resembles with the reality. On complaining to the manager we were told that it was Booking.com who had sekected the photograph. We felt cheated as there was no sitting area with parasols outside the hotel. The bathroom was very very small, the shower was cold in the afternoon, the airco blew warm air, lift old and slow, no kettle or fridge in room.

    The location and the food.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    9.2
    We can't fault the staff, location and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The balcony views could be stated but I really am digging deep to find something to fault. Being behind other buildings gives you a view of terraces rather then scenery but I would give that away for the many positives.

    We can't fault the staff, location and food. I can clearly see why this has good reviews and why the staff are always commented on, they really were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    5.0
    Staff is very friendly and the hotel is well situated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very bad phonic insulation, hotel old and looking poor, bathroom tiny. Housekeepers start cleaning quite early. Definetely not worth for the money paid (offer from booking 75 € per night for 2 stars beginning of May...)

    Staff is very friendly and the hotel is well situated!

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    7.1
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bed linen was a bit dirty.

    Friendly staff. On arrival presented us the city map, offered help in booking tickets to the neighboring city.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    9.6
    Bright room with balcony, staff are very very helpfull,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Bright room with balcony, staff are very very helpfull, counting use hot water no need to press the tap every 5 seconds

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    10
    Great place, stuff very friendly and nice breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place, stuff very friendly and nice breakfast! Pieaceful and homy!

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    7.5
    Hotel très correct
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Salle d eau XVI exiguë

    Hotel très correct

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    8.8
    Nice and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    8.8
    Nice breakfast, good value for money, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are a bit noisy because of the thin walls

    Nice breakfast, good value for money, excellent location. Good for a overnight stay or weekend!

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    Great location, really friendly staff and great value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location, really friendly staff and great value for money!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.8
    Welcoming and friendly staff, good clean rooms, facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Welcoming and friendly staff, good clean rooms, facilities for laundry, sun terrace , good location

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    8.8
    L aspect familial de l hotel et sa situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    L aspect familial de l hotel et sa situation

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.6
    good quality for a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    all was fine.

    good quality for a good price. they have a parking for 8e per day.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    10
    The quietness of my room and the confort for a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The quietness of my room and the confort for a good price.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    The staff went out of their way to help all they could.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was fine.No complaints.

    The staff went out of their way to help all they could. Must be the softest pillows I've ever had!

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: