Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Ruano

Mayor, 1, Madrid City Centre, 28013 Madrid, Spain

#334 of 372 B&Bs and Inns in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 707 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    6.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    clean and a good bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    at arrival 14.05 hrs no one at reception. Had to search for staff who was sitting in kitchen somewhere in building. In evening at 21.15 hrs no one at reception and to find someone was not possible. Had to Phone the hostel and them someone appeared from room next to reception. MAKE NOTICE WHERE STAFF IS WHEN RECEPTION IS CLOSED.

    clean and a good bed. at 31 degrees a fan is not enough to stand the heath, but i knew there was no airco.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    The main plus point is it's location, literally in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main plus point is it's location, literally in the middle of all the good stuff. The room was a bit small for two beds, but the beds was comfy. And the staff was nice. Everything was clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    4.6
    The ideal location but for a sacrifice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only good thing about it was the PERFECT location. Everything you need or want to see is nearby ! Other than that the property was super dirty. It was comfortable at all. Also the lock on the door was broken. And it wasn't fixed until before we left .... But you get what you pay for I guess. I would recommend it only if you're going to spend as little time as possible inside and most of your days outside.

    Perfect location. Decent price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value , opposite Sol Station and fantastic location for touring Old Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a Hostal on the main Calle de Mayor right on Puerto de Sol. My good sized room overlooked the square . It was just a little noisy from time to time, but not a problem, as its high enough , starts on Floor 3 . Room was very clean, furniture a little dated but perfectly ok . Shared clean toilets. Excellent value , opposite Sol Station and fantastic location for Old Madrid.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Cheap stay in the heart of Madrid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ---

    The location is very good and safe - the entrance is on a big street and very easy to find. The location is in the centre - in 5 min walk you will see all the shops and cafes. In 20-30 min walk u will be be near Atocha station. The facilities are also great, everything is renovated, it is comfortable to use bathroom and a kitchen. The room itself is clean but the bed is short. My 180cm friend had to put a chair so her legs could be on the same level with bed, but it's worth the price!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Bathroom is nice but tabs need improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are uncomfortable. If you have car don't come because price is so high and traffic is terrible

    Bathroom is nice but tabs need improvement. Bedroom has faucet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    3.8
    never ever again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very bad place, bad hosts, smell very bad, bathroom is bad, never go there again!!! dont do it to yourself its for sure first and last time there

    Never. Ever. Again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    It was ok!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every morning from 7am -10am the old women that lives at the hostel would be walking around talking super loud! It was very annoying and it was every morning. We would open our door to ask her to keep it down please along with other guests asking the same! It made the stay horrible. Every morning!!!! Super loud!!!

    It was a great value for what we paid. It was a little dirty but when we asked to have our room cleaned it was better then how it was when we arrived.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.7
    Cheap, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy, not very clean, cold, smoky.

    This 'inner city' hotel, shared bath, was all about the price and location. Right on Plaza Sol, train and metro right out your door. Excellent eats a minute away. But, the room was noisy as we were right next door to full time residents and they were loud. After buying ear plugs the nights were better. It did smell of cigarettes. It was very cheap for being on Plaza del Sol and that was our priority.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    The hostel has surpassed all my expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hostel has surpassed all my expectations! cleanliness, very comfortable beds! clean shower! A great location, only 5 minutes to the city center! next to a beautiful street with many wonderful restaurants. I recommend this hostel to stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    4.6
    Experience in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room has no tea making facility make difficult for family with small kids. We hv to purchase our own kettle.

    Good location as it is near metro stn, and surrounded with shops.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    Great base for exploring Madrid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were a bit disorganised - took a lot of effort to actually find someone to pay our bill and procedures for checking out were not explained to us upon arrival. Madrid is very hot for most of the year and the rooms are not air conditioned, there was however a fan and a grid on the window meaning we could leave it open at night without bugs / people getting in though! We were comfortable in the room even though it was very hot but if you are not that good with heat you might want to find somewhere with aircon!

    Great if you just want a place to shower and sleep and explore inner Madrid. The hostel is excellently located right in the centre of Madrid and feels very secure. The bedroom was a decent size, clean and comfortable. Shower room was clean and powerful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    In the heart Madrid, in the heat of Madrid
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was difficult to find the hostel, which is on the third floor of a nicely refurbished old building. There was no AC and the summer heat made it hard to sleep. In the morning, I found that a floor fan had been tucked away in the closet. My slumbers would have been much more comfortable had the staff informed me about the fan.

    Friendly receptionist, good value for money, and the location at the Puerta del Sol can't be beat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.3
    Central location only
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The crew are not speak english. No parking so it's not possible to put on or put off the bags also because it's some central place and a lot of police every time.

    .Very good and central location. Near the metro station and on Plaza del Sol

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.1
    4 days in Madrit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We do not speak Spanish. We had problems with talking to the Staff. The rest, was good :)

    The object is localized in the City Centre. We had 20 metres to metro station ''Sol'' . You can walk half of this city by foot from this place, 100/10 this is how I like it :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    It was clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs can't speak English, as well as the whole city of Madrid. But I'm a Portuguese speaker, so it won't stop me to visit this place again.

    It was clean and tidy. Easy access and location couldn't be better.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.9
    location is perfect
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    yet there is no shampoo, soap, or handsoap at the toilet. also the tissue paper on the toilet is just one only! this morning i kill a little cockroach at the bathroom while am taking a shower, maybe bcoz its too hot temp. in madrid, sice yesterday.

    location is perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    5.0
    Perfect location but don't want to spend time in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Don t thing you get anything from this hostel only the room, no heater in my room and I only found toilet I didn t find shower room and I have trouble since no one can speak English in this hostel. The room was big can accomodate up to 3 persons but not clean at all.

    Stay in this hostal, during my short visit in Madrid really help me to maximum use of my time. As the location in the city centre puerta de sol which is the busiest area where shopping along the street with kind of things, restorans and only walking distance to some Madrid tourist destination.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.7
    Great location, best for sleep only
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel is quite old, so don't expect much. It's a great place if you just need a place to sleep and won't be staying in much.

    The location is the selling point for this hostel. It's right next to the sol station which is the heart of the city centre. Our room was clean, and the bsthroom was right next to us with a nice shower.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Great Location and accomadation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and helpful made our beds and kept the room tidy everyday. Fanatastic location. Right in the centre of Sol, you can't hear the outside noise as the hostel is high up. Hostel is small so bathroom is nice and close, extremely clean. The staff provide you with keys to the outside gate which is locked at midnight so it's nice and easy to get back in at any time!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    6.7
    The double room looked nice, it was convenient to have a...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptıon was always closed, the lady did not speak English and it was always an effort to find her, there was no map of the city in the hostel

    The double room looked nice, it was convenient to have a washing basin and a mirror in the room, the location of the place is AMAZING. Within walking distance from everything youmight want to see in Madrid in two days. Not too noisy, it was comfortable to sleep peacefully.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    8.3
    We spent in Hostal Ruano only several hours between early...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are ok. The mattresses are wrapped in plastic under the sheets....

    We spent in Hostal Ruano only several hours between early arrival from US and hotel check in. We needed a place to crash for few hours of sleep. We got what we came for. The hostal is very clean, staff is very kind and accommodating. We couldn't ask for a better location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.1
    The Hostal Ruano is in a very convenient location a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hostal Ruano is in a very convenient location a few metres from metro station Sol. The accommodation is fairly basic but clean and comfortable enough. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.8
    Great Loction
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A prominent sign for Hostal Ruano I walked by the property twice

    Fabulous location overlooking Puerta de Sol. Good size rooms, very helpful staff.Great value for money

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't ensuite and only 1 set of keys.

    The great location and shared shower room very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location, room had fan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in/Check out was difficult as there were no staff around.

    Great location, room had fan.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, with view of the city square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the shower is part of the room with no door.

    Great location, with view of the city square

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Daughter's Birthday in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location in the middle of everything. Easy to get to on the Metro. Friendly staff and clean, comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.5
    Location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    It is good for young
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Share bath

    Clean, staff very good, in good place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    overall good value for the place - it is very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    window was locked, not much sun entering to the room, quite noisy neighbors,

    very convenient place, on the main square, the bathroom was decent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.5
    Location was the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was the best!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    3.3
    We couldnot love anything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldnot love anything. It was a disappoinment for us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    Little hostel in center of madrid, very cool place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little hostel in center of madrid, very cool place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.2
    Too many cockroaches in the rooms, dirty towels, dirty bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too many cockroaches in the rooms, dirty towels, dirty bed linen

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.4
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and dirty

    Good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.9
    We were right in the middle of the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were right in the middle of the city centre. Everything was nearby, shopping, restaurants, bus tours, etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.0
    There was a very bad smell of cigarettes throughout the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a very bad smell of cigarettes throughout the premises. The toilets were far away and had no sinks to wash hands after!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.9
    Great location)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In our room door to the balcony did not close fully, so in the evening it was noisy.

    Great location)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    6.7
    On arriving, the room with private bathroom we had booked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arriving, the room with private bathroom we had booked was no longer available.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.1
    Wi-fi was awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi was awful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    5.8
    location in the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    noisy, shared WC, staff speak only spanish, the reservation was not noticed by the staff

    location in the centre

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    8.8
    Good basic accommodation very clean. Near to shops and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for extra pillow but was told no

    Very clean linen. Rooms well serviced.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice bed, great location. near to sol metro station. Helpful staff even they don't know much english.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.9
    Best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At the first night, although the sheets were clean, I found a lot of hair in my bed.

    Location, staff, internet connection.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    3.3
    the location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was no breakfast.

    the location is perfect. It is just in front of sol plaza. Also, the staffs are kind. you can stay in center of Madrid with reasonable price, even in private room.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.3
    Very good location right in the heart of Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nobody spoke much English but friendly overall. Spartan fittings but expected at this price range.

    Very good location right in the heart of Madrid. Room & amenities clean and basin in the room very handy. Also able to leave suitcases after booking out a bonus. Not luxury but very good value for money at this price.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    4.6
    Spacious room, bathroom inside the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff is very unfriendly. We book for 2 children from booking.com. But he ask extra money because he said in his system no children included. After a long argument. Finally we can stay there without paying extra money. thanks god.

    Spacious room, bathroom inside the room.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    9.2
    This hostal is a perfect choice for budget travelers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is no kitchen.

    This hostal is a perfect choice for budget travelers. Completely in the heart of the city. The price for a double bed room is like in 10-bed room in any other hostels in Madrid. We had a quiet room with wi-fi, TV and a sink. The furniture is older and simple, but cozy and efficient. Ladies at the reception didn´t speak english, but were very kind and helpful. They are making the bed every day/except sundays/ which is very nice service to have in a hostal.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    4.2
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They had no idea about the rooms we reversed, they gave us room without shower, whoever we booked room with suite. The were totally confused, finally we got the rooms, but had to move out the next day. They didn't speak English, but keep talking Spanish we didn't understand. They also insisted on paying for the rooms in advance, however we didn't have them. The second day, when we got our new room, they didn't give us the key until we pay the bill. We decided to pay, but they didn't know how to use the bank terminal. I like nice old ladies, and I'm sorry to say, that threes hags were horrible. (One of them was nice.) There were no night-light on the nighty-table, etc. We did not recommend this Hostel to anybody.

    The location is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    6.3
    spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed I slept on have bugs that sucks my blood. I ended up having red spots on the skin where there is in contact with bed sheet.

    spacious room. Just in the middle of city center and Sol metro station is right in front.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    cost of parking is more than hotel

    Location

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    4.6
    The bed still had cum stains on it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed still had cum stains on it. The draws filled with tissues

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We enjoyed our stay. The Hostel is situated right on the Puerta Del Sol. It's a prime location with access to most major attractions.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.6
    Central location, comfortable bedroom super showers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The owner didn't speak as much English as I expected

    Central location, comfortable bedroom super showers!

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    8.3
    amigable
    • Solo traveller

    amigable

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Browse Hostal Ruano traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: