Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Matheu 2 stars

Victoria, 6, Madrid City Centre, 28012 Madrid, Spain

#271 of 372 B&Bs and Inns in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 452 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Charming budget in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff couldn't speak much English so we couldn't get much information about activities or thi gas to see, but there is an I formation centre in the square that helped us.

    This hotel is basic but charming. It is very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    2.9
    Sugar Honey Ice and Tea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff rude, took 1.5 hours to check in, complete chaos at the hotel, ended up walking me to a local place (i.e. not even the hotel I'd ordered) with no explanation.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    The staff was waiting for us to come after the midnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At nighttime there is a noise, e.x. playing loud music.

    The staff was waiting for us to come after the midnight. Clean room with a bathroom, good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Clean modest accommodation centre of Madrid. Friendly helpful staff. Would recommend for budget trav
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t complain- other than the counter staff were’nt always around - if a question / did arise- might be difficult to resolve ...

    Nice warm cosy room, very close to Sol- no frills but if you are travelling on a budget- best value for money in Madrid !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Excelent location, clean and warm rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't know how to turn off the heater. The breakfast is served in a restaurant near the hostal, simple breakfast with croissant, chocolat/coffee with milk, orange juice. Not bad but limited options. Some noise coming from outside the rooms when other people arrive during the night.

    Excelent location near Portas del Sol, very clean room every day, many privacy, has a potent shower and a good bed. It was great to have a baggage room to leave the bags until the time to leave the city. Good wifi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    Would be awesome place to stay save for the loud, creepy, annoying & douchey night club downstairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hostal is above a night club that stays open until 6 AM. So if you don't plan on getting any sleep then in you're in the right place. If you enjoy sleep - forget about it. Boom, boom, boom, boom... ALL... night... long.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    4.6
    Dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property is on top of a night club which make it is impossible to sleep from midnight to about 6am. We were robbed inside the Taberna La Carmela while we having breakfast which was included on our accommodation.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.5
    Very good breakfest near the hostal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Receptionist didn't speak English. Next to our room was room with washing machine, which was working until late hours.

    Very good breakfest near the hostal. Hostal was in the centre of Madrid - perfect location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. I booked room with twin bed, also added appropriate comment to my booking. But personal refused me said they are bad with computers and cannot handle my order properly. 2. Shits were dirty with yellow spots. 3. Loud noise from nearby bar doesn't give chance to sleep. 4. Personal didn't give remote control from air condition. We could just press ON/OFF button. It was too cold!!!

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    4.6
    I strongly discourage you to live here. I'm sure you can find better place with similar price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Bad internet - you get disconnected every 5 seconds. Mind it, it's 5 seconds not 5 minutes. 2. Very noisy - pubs at downstairs so you'll basically be enjoying the base and rock and roll from midnight until 4am. And there's the A.C. compressor right outside my window, so imagine that. 3. Bed - too hard to sleep in. I'd expect it to be soft and springy but it's not. 4. Staff - I stayed there for 3 nights. The first night itself I had informed the staff to change my room on the next day if there's any free room. She promised, but no action taken. Second night, it was too difficult to sleep in again, so I've informed the morning shift lady on the next day. She mentioned that I should have informed her earlier because there was a free room (so obviously the night shift lady didn't bother at all which is no good).

    I only like the location. That's all. And also Andrea, the lady staff who takes care on morning shift. She's very friendly and helpful. The other one at night shift, nah, don't expect her to do much for you.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    7.1
    The location is perfect (in the center of Madrid) and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you plan a relaxing trip at this hotel, you will not be able to sleep properly as there is a lot of noise from outside (from a lot of restaurants with terrace near the hotel) and from inside the hotel where you can hear any kind of movement made by the customers (and any bell made to the reception for any request). We were able to sleep properly only from 6 am, for 3 nights. For this reason, I don't recommend the hotel.

    The location is perfect (in the center of Madrid) and the room is clean :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    5.5
    Nightmare unable to sleep. Changed hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the constant use of a washing machine and tumble dryer until the small hours of the morning. Disco music until 5.30 am. Noisy guests coming and going along wood floor corridor. Absolutely filthy outside rubbish strewn across the street. Rude waiters in the breakfast location next door in Hotel Carmela.

    Clean inside and convenient location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    great experience
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    n/a

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    Ok but way overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way overpriced.

    Basic lodging in great location, clean, just way overpriced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location for a short overnight stay. Very close to Sol metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no drinking glasses.

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    awesome location awesome room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    location and the room was awesome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    We feel like home. Whenever back to Madrid will stay at Matheu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was so tiny.

    Place was neat and very clean. Staff was extremely helpful, especially Gloria.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    Perfect choice to visit Madrid with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very nice staff, they were really helpful and kind. They have cleaned our room on daily bases and the location is great, near Sol metro stop.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Great location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drop off is difficult and having to bring your luggage through stairs to a second floor with no help.

    Location is superb

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.8
    Okay for 1 night in centrum
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed to soft. The aircondition didn't work to well.

    The location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Nice place to stay if you visit Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very very nice and helpful:)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money, most of what you'd want to see in Madrid within a walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A tiny place but nice clean and cosy, decent food venues around and breakfasts right next door.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.5
    Madrid brilliant hotel fine but needed a window
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no window in my room so it made it a little enclosed

    Comfy beds great location for Madrid nightlife

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    3
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.1
    breakfast in local bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noise from nightclub going on until 7am

    breakfast in local bar

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    7.5
    Exselans location, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small

    Exselans location, good value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    6.7
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold rooms. Discotheque downstairs. Save 25% booking directly in the hotel website.

    The location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    I will come again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is wonderful. You have all the most important things a few minutes walk .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.9
    Great hostel if you want to party all night, not so good if you want to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. Constant noise all night..people coming, going, talking.....etc.

    Clean, nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    7.5
    Great location, right in the heart of Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    None existent breakfast. I was offered only one (!) slice in toast and half a cup of orange juice. The breakfast is offered in the cafe below the hotel. I had booked this for the breakfast that was included so was very disappointed by the service.

    Great location, right in the heart of Madrid. Rooms are a little small but presented well will good decor.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    7.1
    Location of the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stair access and no elevatprs. Very very tiny restrooms Hair driers were not working No proper heating system Very noisy at night No microwave or refrigerators

    Location of the property Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    8.3
    Strategic position, 4 mins walk from Porta del Sol, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Obviously very lively and noisy area, and double glazed windows do a good job, but customers must keep in mind that they need to compromise a little quietness to be so central.

    Strategic position, 4 mins walk from Porta del Sol, very close to restaurants and leisure facilities. Rooms clean and well taken care of.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    5.8
    The staff tried to give solutions to the problems...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - The room was VERY small. - They had prepared a room with 2 single beds instead of one big bed as requested AND CONFIRMED by Booking (the mistake is on Booking, because they didn't pass on the request). - We paid 10€ for breakfast at a nearby place and the price of that breakfast there was 3€... - Horribly warm and no possibility of regulating the heating. - The batteries of the TV remote control were empty (not functionning)

    The staff tried to give solutions to the problems encountered.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location (3 min walking from Puerta del Sol) and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Avoid room number 1 as it's to close to reception and you'll hear people leaving the building or staff talking from time to time.

    Excellent location (3 min walking from Puerta del Sol) and good facilities. Room is large enough and quite clean.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    5.8
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Cleanness is poor. Staff can't speak English. At night very noisy because of the discothequa downstairs. Breakfast in Carmela is poor.

    Location is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    4.6
    Place is wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy at night No phones at room TV is boring Remote control of TV is not working well No available staff all time Sharing interface with shops stores No place for safe

    Place is wonderful Rooms is clean

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    3.3
    Near to many places to see in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No English speaking staff, no heater, TV doesnot work, beds were as bad as they can be, bathroom was too congested.

    Near to many places to see in Madrid

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    3.3
    Style of the Rooms, the light colors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -the rooms are not well isolated acoustically.It was impossible for us to sleep during our 9 days holiday. there is a dancing place that starts music at 11.00 and finished at 5.30. And inside there are all the days the washing and the drying machines working (H24). So if you do not sleep for the music (after the first day in Room2we received another room, the most quite) you won't sleep for the laundry activities (close to the quite room, the room18) -the personal present during the night talks only in Spanish, so be prepared in case of serious need -the attitude was not customer oriented, absolutely. Even if we do not speak Spanish we can understand a lot.

    Style of the Rooms, the light colors.. All about interior design

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    7.1
    good location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    bad wifi, always on and off the same, light and air-con often couldn't work. The most important, one of the two staffs looked not happy, never smile

    good location and value for money

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    10
    We were a bit surprised by the rather small entrance but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were a bit surprised by the rather small entrance but inside looked clean and bright. then we were told they had had a problem with the bathroom so they took us to a very near hotel which was good value. Breakfast ,included, rather minimal.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    7.9
    we got a small room, but I saw there are bigger ones, too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    situated in center, every tourist sights is reachable easily. We could leave our baggage there in a secure place before checkin.

    we got a small room, but I saw there are bigger ones, too. A lot of noise from outside, but it's ok if staying in the citycenter.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    8.8
    The place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Street noise until the early hours - but that's Madrid's nightlife.

    The place.It's really in the center and on foot you can visit many attractions. Breakfast was delicious and just across the street. Many restaurants and bars are around.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    6.3
    The hostel and rooms were cute but the real problem was the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hostel and rooms were cute but the real problem was the disco under the hostel. It was not possible to sleep at night. Don't forget to bring your plugs if you are thinking to stay there.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    8.3
    Location is the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff was nice but poor English. The spent bulbs should be checked regularly and replaced. The shower curtain needs also to be changed.

    Location is the best. Cleanliness is also fine. WIFI worked OK.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    Staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful.. great location and super facilities. Rooms are all sitting spotless and are very pretty! Will definitely be back

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    7.1
    Hostal Matheu is in an excellent location in central Madrid,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff was rarely present, including when I arrived at the posted check in time. Also, hostel is located near a dance club, which made for some noise throughout the weekend night I was there.

    Hostal Matheu is in an excellent location in central Madrid, close to sights, dining, etc. and easily accessible using the Madrid Metro. Room was comfortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    8.8
    location is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the room close to the street, at night too much noise,but once you closed the 2 windows will be good! still have a bit noise

    location is perfect! staff very good! room also very clean! coz I use my mobile data so dont know how's the wifi!!!

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    8.8
    1 min walking to Puerta del sol, nice staff, nice decoration...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little bit noisy at night from the bars around. Small bathtub.

    1 min walking to Puerta del sol, nice staff, nice decoration, safe street, very clean, very good wi-fi.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    7.1
    It is located near the Voldafone Sol station, the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room's bolt is difficult to lock The room is quite small The room is dark

    It is located near the Voldafone Sol station, the main meeting point at the center of Madrid. The receptionists seem to be not good at English but they try their best to communicate with us

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    7.5
    the location was right in the middle of the city centre in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the walls are way too thin. could hear everything going on outside the room.

    the location was right in the middle of the city centre in the midst of the most delectable spanish cuisine.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    2.5
    Very noisy, uncomfortable beds, no internet, unfriendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very noisy, uncomfortable beds, no internet, unfriendly staff

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    7.5
    The rooms are located just above a really crowded street,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are located just above a really crowded street, and can be quite noisy at in the evening/night.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    8.3
    Great location, comfi rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You can hear the music from the bars in the night.

    Great location, comfi rooms

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    4.2
    Location was great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Language was big issue. Despite request I could not get neither an electric kettle or hot water for tea..

    Location was great

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    7.5
    Good location, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy, there is a latin disco downstairs which is open to 6 in the morning.

    Good location, great staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    8.3
    Close to city centre, nice restaurant close to the hostal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cold room, but they set the airconditioner to make it warm ;)

    Close to city centre, nice restaurant close to the hostal

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy from the club which is located downstairs , very poor breakfast ( coffee and bread only )

    Location

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    7.9
    Very great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small rooms, narrow beds, very noisy. Breakfast was poor.

    Very great location.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    10
    The room, the staff, the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The disco nearby.

    The room, the staff, the location.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    7.9
    The location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Extremely noisy at night.

    The location.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    8.8
    We liked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked the location. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Staff were friendly. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.5
    Location was excellent, near city centre, restaurants,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location was excellent, near city centre, restaurants, entertainment. Room was small, clean and efficient.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.2
    Everything was great, the location is right in the Center of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is a little noisy

    Everything was great, the location is right in the Center of Madrid and the Hotel looks very good

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.3
    Location, staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Window. It opens in internal space where conditions are working all night. Room is small.

    Location, staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.5
    Clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor breakfast. Bed not very comfy.

    Clean room. Close to center.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    10
    Staff were lovely and always so helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff were lovely and always so helpful.. great rooms with air con and wifi.. great location close to all nightlife and great restaurants

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Music from the club downstairs didn't let me get much sleep during the night..

    Location Decoration

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    7.1
    Location, personeel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds are too unconfortable, wifi doesn't work all the time

    Location, personeel

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    10
    Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Comfort

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    8.3
    crew was so kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    crew was so kind and helpful..especially thanks to Ana

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    10
    Very cheaper hostel, nearby plaza del sol.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very cheaper hostel, nearby plaza del sol. Clean double room with wi fi service

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: