Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Hostalillo 3 stars

Bellavista, 22, 17212 Tamariu, Spain

#1 of 14 hotels in Tamariu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2463 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    6.7
    The location was good, and our view was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unfortunately, the pavement was being dug up along the promenade outside our hotel, so apart from most of the restaurants being shut - it was so noisy that we couldn't sit on the beach there, on the terrace of our hotel or on our balcony - which we had paid extra for as a special treat. I was so disappointed - this was our first holiday in 6 years and was a 50th birthday present. We did some day trips out to try and make the best of it but if I had of know about the works a few days before I would have booked to stay somewhere else - but I guess that is why they weren't going to tell their guests. We did mention this to the hotel but there was nothing they could do they said because we had booked through booking.com instead of through the hotel so if we left early we would have to pay for the extra nights. The restaurant staff were not very friendly and service was very poor...lots of bones in our sea bass, they wanted us out so quickly that they took the plate for my starter before my husband had finished his starter and then brought our dessert before they had taken our main course plates away....there were only 4 tables in the whole restaurant ...it was 8.30 in the evening - not late. We decided to leave early....the staff on the desk didn't seem in the slightest bit concerned and said 'oh'...…..it may be a great location and I wonder how many other people who stay there for the next few weeks while this work goes on - post that they had a relaxing and enjoyable time.

    The location was good, and our view was lovely. Rooms were comfortable and a good size.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    We booked last minute and stayed for one night in one of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pigeons attacking food at breakfast on the terrace isn't great. But I'm not sure what they can do about this.

    We booked last minute and stayed for one night in one of the hotels top floor sea view rooms. It was smaller than some of the lower floor rooms but much more comfortable and the views are beautiful looking over the bay of Tamariu. I wish we could have stayed longer. Breakfast is served inside or on the terrace, probably our most favourite place to have breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Wonderful relaxing welcoming hotel which will stay in our memory for all the best reasons
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our WiFi was erratic, but we were on holiday and should have been on the beach not on-line!

    Wonderful staff/lovely room/great position right over the beach/delicious breakfast and bar snacks. This is a great place to stay, nothing is to much trouble for the staff, room is large, bed very comfortable, bar snacks much better than surrounding sea-front restaurants, good choice of breakfasts hot or cold.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    We loved this hotel and can't wait to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The balconies are pretty small--just big enough for two chairs. Parking is $15/night, but you can park for free in this village. The only reason that I can think of that Tamariu isn't on everyone's list of best Costa Brava beach spots is the beach itself--the sand is kind of rough, and not great for walking on. Still....

    This is a great hotel! Sweetie found it while we were searching for a hotel in Cadaques, and fell in love with the photos of the beach. We came here instead. He insisted we needed a beach view room with a balcony, which was definitely the right choice. We spent hours on that balcony watching the sea and the sky from our room. The hotel isn't luxurious, nor is it supposed to be for the price--but it's still great. The room was big enough, as was the bathroom. It was pretty well soundproofed. The bed was comfortable. The towels were excellent. The breakfast buffet had something for pretty much everyone. There's a rooftop bar. And it's all right on some of the prettiest beach you'll ever find.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    fabulsous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bewd was fanastic and the room fabulous. niggly bits..would have loved to have bbc or cnn..and milk jug for breakfast for my tea..just small points..beach towels would have been good...but then we didnt ask for them..we thought the hotel ws stunning and we will be back.l

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.3
    a very nice stay with a fantastic view on the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    maybe a bit too many stairs to climb up and down

    simple but good room with large beds and TV breakfast well furnished with a large choice of products friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    Well worth Booking... a Beautiful Hotel right next to, (and with a GREAT view of), the Beach !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charging for the Safe is 'a little' unusual ! Don't do that it's just silly & annoying !

    Excellent venue right next to the Beach. GREAT Rooms, Restaurant, Bar and a SUPERB Breakfast !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.3
    Stunning location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is all about the location! Stunning views for breakfast and a night cap. Short walk to the most amazing beach. And a short drive to other great beaches in the area. The staff were super friendly and attentive. We had a really good stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel in beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good. Ideally a pool would be good but very close to beach so not really a problem.

    Great room with sea view, and terraces to sit on incl for breakfast. Very convenient for beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.0
    Wonderfull romantic break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant manager was a little terse at times and tended to rush people,however the hotel was full at the time of our visit

    The wonderfull view from the bedroom balcony

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.1
    The front desk staff is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was under the bar, so was very loud with moving tables and people walking above. Had an issue with the hotel restaurant where the waiters walked away from us as we walked up and were then dismissive and seemed to not want to seat us. (there were two tables) Disappointing as it has so much potential as its a beautiful terrace. The staff is probably overworked and underpaid as the same people were on day and night. The AC units had extremely dirty filters, but hopefully, they follow through and clean them. Also woke up to three small ants biting me. The bed isn't great.

    The front desk staff is amazing. The location is unbeatable. The view is insane. Pretty good breakfast included. Its a great place for a retreat from life, but get a high room and check AC air filter.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    Definitely a place we would recommend and return to - gorgeous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking - but we had no problem dropping our luggage off and then parking down the hill.

    Gorgeous setting right above the nicest corner of Tamariu beach, right by the coastal hiking trail, wonderful breakfast terrace.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    Wish we could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was good size but a little firm. An ice machine would have been really nice but have found these are not common. We got ice from the bar. Bring bug repellent as there were a few "no see ems".

    We explored other beach areas and really like the small size of this one. Loved the view and easy beach access. Great breakfast and AC. When first offered two beds and small patio with sea view we asked to look at other rooms and they were great. Took a king bed room with no patio but better view. Hotel was very quiet. Great water pressure and temperature control. Room was basic, good for proximity to the sea but with a refrigerator.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.0
    Great stay in very nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our double room with sea views & terrace had a terrace that was actually a very small balcony. Also we had several noise issues, the scrapping of bar stools from the bar area above were very loud and you should not be able to hear snoring from adjoining rooms.

    Great location and view in quiet beachside bay location. Excellent friendly staff provided information on parking. Would highly recommend staying in this location for its beach, restaurants and walking trails

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Location, friendly, efficient desk staff, and wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant lets the hotel down badly . Service is poor, with waiters who do not like the customers or their jobs. The cooking is similarly disappointing. What a great pity because this is an excellent hotel in every other way.

    Location, friendly, efficient desk staff, and wonderful proximity to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was lovely on the terrace and the evening meal we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room spars, no facilities in the room Just an empty fridge

    Breakfast was lovely on the terrace and the evening meal we had was lovely, service at the evening meal was slow

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location, access to public small beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in the month of August was difficult. Be warned, parking is not included whilst booking, we had parking confirmed by booking.com but hotel told us this was an error on booking.com side. Hotel should really invest in valet parking, clients would pay for sure. Rooms were basic but the views compensate for this.

    Great location, access to public small beach. Great views from bedroom. We left quite early and staff packed us a lovely picnic as we didn’t have time for breakfast- a really nice touch. I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Very good deal with for hotel with view at the gorgeous sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking just ask that the room is not under the top bar. This was the only issue that bothered us. The bar was above our room and between 11pm-12.30am they always dragged table and chairs to close the bar.

    Most of hotel's rooms had a beautiful view at the sea. Breakfest was very good, clean hote, friendly stafl. We loved it!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    I would highly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I love my cups of tea early in the morning but knew there would be no kettle so I bought a smaller traveller's kettle in Barcelona for 12 Euros and provided my own cup and I was perfectly happy.

    The room was very comfortable and spacious with a wide bed. The bathroom was very clean and had very good lighting and even a magnifying mirror and stool for the ladies. A bidet too. The air conditioner worked well. There were whole fruits provided as part of the buffet breakfast and delicious chocolate croissants which I could take to my room too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Ideal location and it is not overwhelmed with people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of comfortable chairs may be my only criticism but most people are on the beach until it is dark and then they eat. Maybe my need to read is odd.

    The location is so exceptional the staff is so courteous and helpful that it is hard to even include the hotel in any comments. It’s the beach the fresh seafood and the location that make this place wonderful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedrooms are a bit dated & the beds a bit hard.

    The location was excellent right on the beach. Lots of choices for breakfast and plenty of it. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Bathroom was a nice size & the shower was powerful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Best location in Tamariu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like. If you drive you will park on the street in the town below the hotel. Not a big deal, but you can save a bit of stress by parking there when checking in instead of driving into the blind street by the main entrance.

    Best location in Tamariu...beautifully situated on hill overlooking the bay. Couldn’t get enough of the view! We stayed in Room 8, one of the more economical rooms...no balcony but a nice sea view and conveniently located next to steps down to beach. Breakfast spread was very nice with seating on patio perched above the beach. Recommend at least one dinner at the hotel as food is good and ambience romantic :-).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Another great holiday at the Hostalillo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing really. The only thing would be if you had mobility issues, the number of steps up from the beach/town to the lift could be a problem, but I always felt that it just worked off all the lovely food.

    This was our third time staying at this hotel. It is in a great location looking over a small bay with a lovely beach and restaurants near by. We had a bedroom with a balcony looking out at the sea and the Tamariu - it was great. The room was comfortable and the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. We didn't eat in the restaurant but ate twice in the bar - the tapas and burgers/sandwiches were excellent. Breakfast is always very good. On our last day, when we had vacated our room, they provided shower facilities and towels later in the day. We also noticed that the hotel had upgraded the public toilets on the main floor and also downstairs since we visited two years ago, so there are on-going improvements, which is always a good sign of a business.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Great location with amazing views over the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location with amazing views over the beach. Food in the restaurant and bar was excellent; far better quality and service than any of the other restaurants in Tamariu. A jacuzzi on the terrace would have made the hotel absolutely perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing location. Over looking the beautiful bay. Lovely staff. Spotlessly clean. Favourite thing was the breakfast on the terrace looking out towards the sea ... wow! Cant wait to go back again. If you are lucky enough to go ..you will not be disappointed. Recommend 100%.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    Average Hotel in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff let this place down. Put us in a room we did not book then changed us a day later which was really inconvenient and time wasting with unpacking and repacking. Ridiculous charges for beach towel (4 Euros a day per towel) any decent hotel would provide beach towels being so close to a beach. We had some champagne but once again hotel wanted to charge 3 Euros per glass Unfortunately we left an adapter behind and trying to contact the hotel via email - they did not respond. On ringing them they were unhelpful and hung up on us. They still have our adapter!! Beds are rock hard, comfort very poor. Hotel has potential but staff let it down,

    Hotel location and view were superb. Breakfast was good and was great to sit out on the terrace looking out over Tamariu and the beaches.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location friendly staff would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gets very crowded on the beach but it was school holidays.

    Nice little village with some good restaraunts. You can walk along the coast to Cala Pedrosa and see some beautiful coast line.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    A charming hotel in a fantastic location, we'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location above the bay is delightful with the bar and restaurant terraces on two different levels. Staff were welcoming and extremely helpful, a credit to the establishment. We dined in the restaurant in the evening and the set €25 menu was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    The location is excellent, the views and breakfast also, it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is lovely on the exterior but the rooms are old and dusty and very small, you’d think you are in a hostel if you would not see the exterior.

    The location is excellent, the views and breakfast also, it was a real pleasure to spend mornings on the terrace.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointing and poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was not available although we had booked it and the hotel staff were not very helpful. It took us over 2 hours to find a parking space which spoilt our stay. The beach is shingly and the atmosphere was not very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee/Tea making facilities in the room would have been a good idea.

    Lovely hotel overlooking the beach. Rooms well appointed. Food excellent - a lot of fish dishes. Palamos and Palafrugel nearby if you want to wander a little further.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit older facilities, its ready for an upgrade in tech and design.

    Location is great. Right next to the beach. The bar and restaurant offer a great view over the cove.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.0
    Very close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-condition in the public places. Restaurant air-conditioner was broken and not fixed even though a request was done. For the price we paid the hotel should have been much better in quality and services.

    Very close to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Hotel Hostalillo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a few issues with parking, and there was a miss understanding about how long we had pre booked parking for.

    The location was excellent and the staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location, right at the beach and in a nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurant had lousy service that bordered on the ridiculous. Think Manuel from Faulty towers, but without the humour..... food was good, but it took ages and arrived at random and uncoordinated with drinks etc.

    Great location, right at the beach and in a nice. little Catalan town. Good access to hiking trials, water sport. Breakfast was nice, the room small, but comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Blissful holidaying!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved absolutely everything...It was such a lovely place to stay and relax and enjoy the surrounds.

    Beautiful location..excellent breakfast.. proximity to the beach and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little confussing re half board deal. Would stay with b&b next time. Also would confirm room before stay. Worth extra for sea view.

    Location. Staff. Views. Restaurant/bar/terrace. Will certainly stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking garage was a bit tricky. The key didn’t always cooperate and the space was very tight.

    Loved the location; close to hiking trails, beach and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    One real problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Views

    One real problem. The wonderful terrace bar has NO UMBRELLAS so unable to use at all during day. Can only have drinks in the restaurant terrace during restaurant hours. Stupid

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    4.2
    Felt ripped off and unsympathetic staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got downgraded to the basement floor because we were 3 and the reception said we wouldn’t all fit in the room we had booked which was with a sea view on a high level so our view became a view of air conditioners and hose pipes and called exterior with a slither of sea view. Don’t book room 10. Ants all over the window panes, no control for AC which when we complained twice we got given one but it would click in and out and super noisy. The bedroom furniture doesn’t match and is dated to the 80s. The mattress top was uncomfortable, there were plenty of mosquitos. WiFi cuts in and out especially around 6pm. The safe in room doesn’t have a lock you have to pay extra for that or store you stuff upstairs At reception so we didn’t feel safe leaving our things, the bathroom was good, that has been updated but you can tell they are charging very high prices for a 3 star - 500€ for 2 nights! And not reinvesting the money. For breakfast you have to pay more if you want eggs or real orange juice. We felt rather ripped off.

    Location and could find free parking easily

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe was 4 euros a day and had a key - These days we would expect free safe with combination lock. Beds were a bit hard for my liking. Set menu in restaurant: great starters and desserts but our mains were disappointing. Hence only ate there once.

    Breakfast was amazingly good. Great variety, good coffee, lovely fresh fruit, pastries, cheese, ham, cereal, etc. . Also some cooked. Only negative about breakfast was that the cooked breakfast was not kept hot properly. Very clean around the hotel and in room. All staff friendly. Great location, right by beautiful beach. Sea view balcony worth paying extra for!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel. Sadly my clothing was stolen so I would say be careful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly, as soon as I left the hotel I realized that I had left some clothes hanging in the bathroom. I called and they siad housekeeping did not report anything... I sent three follow up emails that were never returned. So while I enjoyed the hotel I would tell other guests to guard your belongings.. Someone did steal my clothes and the response has not been great. Also, the left luggage room is not secure.. People moving in and out... so be wary.

    Nice hotel..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are sparse and not very comfortable. Exposed pipes in the bathrooms, etc. really a two star hotel in a four star location. No pool, but good beach access.

    The location is great. The Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    One of the best hotels we stayed in whilsting walking Costa Brava Way. Perfect for a couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Fantastic location right by the beach. Very beautiful. Very large room with balcony and see view. Good buffet breakfast with choice of hot food too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    beautiful location, I had a sea view with balcony and both the bar and restaurant had great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only issue are the hills/steps and location of parking for people with issues in mobility although not an issue for me.

    really clean hotel in an excellent location right on the beach with only a handful of steps on to two beaches and I will certainly be going back for another short stay. Breakfast has been one of the best I have had in any European hotels I have stopped of at. The bar and restaurant had great views of the town and beach and was excellent o sit at and watch the sun go down and then watch the town come to life in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Worth the drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a car and there was a garage down the road to park in but 1st garage spot had a worker using it and second one was tricky to fit car in. Wasted half an hour with parking. Otherwise beautiful view. Ocean is a little cool in early July for swimming but clean water.

    Excellent location. Breakfast buffet was terrific and plentiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    we enjoyed just staying at the hotel because we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i though it was a bit extensive for What it was .

    we enjoyed just staying at the hotel because we had everything in it ! I mean you have a direct acces to the beach the vue is wonderful . bed was super comfortable and the staff very nice ! the restaurant of the hotel was good ( also a bit expensive we paid almost 100 euro for 2 entree ( okay ) 3 main course ( delicious )and 2 desert (not really good) and a bottle of wine . they weren't really generous with the portion but the ambiance and the view was worth it ! the breakfast was good ( don't take the cornflakes though super hard and have no taste )

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Our second stay. It was a bit chaotic at breakfast with so many people, but I would still return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast terrace is in a fantastic position, but the tiling needs updating . It’s very easy to trip, also the steps down to the beach.

    The views were amazing. Breakfast was good. Although the bacon was swimming in grease. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cigarette smell in the bedroom. Dinner is a three-course menu with no options for a smaller meal.

    The hotel is in a great location--our room had a large window directly overlooking the beach which is a short walk down the stairs. The bar, restaurant, lounges and terraces all have good views and provide plenty of option to relax with a drink or a book. Breakfast and dinner in the restaurant were very good. Our room unfortunately smelt of cigarettes despite the hotel being smoke-free. The bed wasn't particularly comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location right on the beach - perfect place to chill out and enjoy the Med.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No laundry facilities in Tamariu so dependent on motel service which was too expensive for our group - we had been travelling for 5 weeks and ability to wash clothes was important to us.

    Breakfast was superb - (even offered champagne!) Great location!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money in outstanding location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect, except for the parking which somehow altghough confirmed on my side was missed by the hotel, therefore we needed to park on the public streets and the parking places in the area are very limited and highly monitored by local police.

    Location, beach nearby, view from both the room and the restaurant, food, room size (for sure more than the 15m in the room description, our room was huge) all were excellent and exceeded our expectations. We were happy to see that we made an excellent choice with this hotel, as the value for money was outstanding. We struggled a lot to choose between this hotel and a 4 star significantly more expensive one in Aiguablava, but we defintely made the right choice with Hostalillo (food was better here and location/availability of beach much better).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    A lovely, non-touristy town and a small, great hotel that truly cares!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only recommendation is the breakfast area is a bit sterile and the music a bit loud (for breakfast!) but we took our trays out to the beautiful patio overlooking the bay. Also, there was a charge for beach towels so you may want to bring one.

    The staff, location and rooms at Hotel Hostalillo were even better than we expected! We had a nice upgrade (though many rooms do have ocean views), they made a really nice shower available to us after checkout time and the views of the bay and village of Tamariu are stunning. The beach is right there and the breakfast (huge and very good, with eggs and everything you could want) was excellent. The decor has been upgraded and was very fresh, tasteful and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Overall I was very happy with the hotel and as my stay was short, parking was not an issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of private parking - drop off area only and not easy to park nearby. The hotel could do with increasing the number of bar staff as only one on duty and it was very busy at lunchtime.

    Fantastic views from the bar and restaurant. Very comfortable and clean room. Reception staff were extremely helpful. Good value bar food and very pleasant sitting out on the terrace area. Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a little difficult but we managed thanks to hotel reception staff

    Delightful hotel in glorious bay staff very helpful rooms clean and breakfast and dinner excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Wish we could have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly check in, clean comfortable room and beautiful view of cove from balcony. The breakfast is very good with lots of choices, hot and cold. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel, good food,friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard and needed two pillows. Beach was fine gravel not sand. Beach shelved down very quickly into the sea. Perhaps not ideal for children.

    The hotel is in a great position overlooking the bay. Dinner was good, excellent value with good choices. Free parking in the streets nearby. Very clean beach and clear sea water.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Breakfast, views from the room, towels and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sunbed on the terrace was a bit broken but we could use it. Will be good if they provide the beach towels for free

    Breakfast, views from the room, towels and staff. They have a shower rhat you can use after check-out and they also provide towels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    WOW says it all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    This hotel definitely has the WOW factor. It was our 2nd stay and we weren't disappointed. We had a lovely large room with sea view terrace overlooking the bay (magnificent to hear the waves gently rolling in at night), bed was comfortable and staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good but not as good as we remembered - perhaps the only slight disappointment but nothing to complain about. This is one of our very favourite places to stay on the Costa Brava. We have no hesitation in highly recommending this lovely hotel in an idyllic location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Recomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amaizing view from the hotel.Hotel very clean, personal very pleasant. Breakfast perfect. From the hotel you get just to the beach. Beautiful place, special and romantic resort. Recomend Hostalillo hotel to those who like high quality holidays.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect. Idyllic. Would return in a heart beat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping staff didn’t make the beds daily - perhaps because we had left them tidy. We had two nights out of six where the people in the next room were talking loudly and laughing until 3am - so the walls between the rooms were a little thin. Once we advised reception, at 3am on the second night, they immediately called the neighbouring room (we could hear) and the noise soon stopped.

    Great location in Tamariu. Breakfast buffet had a great selection to choose from. The bar terrace was very pleasant for drinks at sundown and the bar man was very attentive. The room we had with a sea view and small balcony met our needs and was very comfortable, and the ensuite bathroom was a decent size. We were given clear instructions on where to park the car and never had a problem - safe and easy to get to.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Very comfy and easy going, the staff were lovely very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is fabulous. The rooms lovely views, good big bathroom with tub. Staff were lovely nothing was too much trouble. It was spotlessly clean we felt at home straight away very laid back, so close to the beach and loads of good bars and restaurants . We had read reviews about the breakfast and it didn't disapoint never seen one better. We all really enjoyed our stay here and will certainly return a real holiday even had a lock up garage for our car which was a bonus. Thanks to all the staff at this great hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect in Tamariu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking can be difficult, nothing at the hotel, but easy street parking during our off-season visit. Watch out for rooms that are too close to the bar (I would not want to reside there).

    Perfect location overlooking the small bay and beaches. We had made sure to have a "sea view" and balcony, and we got it alright. No noises noticed except for the surf's. Arguably the best choice in Tamariu towering at the side of the bay in total of 6 floors, with a restaurant and terrace lowest, just above the beach. Breakfast buffet at high standard (although you CAN get better in Spain). In spite of its dominant size, the building blends well into landscape and village.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wasn't keen on the tapas in the bar but the bar itself and the terrace were very nice.

    Excellent breakfast. Lovely terrace and views. The room was comfortable and the bathroom en suite well equipped. The town was lively with a good choice of restaurants and bars. For a relaxing five night break it was very relaxing with no need to drive anywhere if you didn't feel like exploring.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice property convenient for the all lafranc has to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very nice but not included in hotel price and quite expensive compared to those with breakfast included.

    I already reviewed this property thinking it was another one, it is very good however it does not have a fridge as I previously stated. Very modern revamp.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    3.8
    Overcharged under delivered on quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The over priced nightly rates, poor standard of the food at breakfast, the air conditioning did not work, the TV was old did not work for the first two nights. The shower/bath was to small water went everywhere, the outside balcony was dirty not bean cleaned for months the same for the table and chairs. Booked a superior room, it was small cramped to the point that the second suit case could not be left open. In general a great location but the general condition of the Hotel was not in keeping with the prices charged.

    The location, the beaches.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful place just in front of the beach in a cozy town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The balcony could have been bigger. We could barely sit with two people and had to strech over the stone wall to have a view.

    The hotel and the room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was awesome with lots of different choices including various styles of eggs, fruits and sweets etc. We ate on the big terrace just in front of the beach. Also the terrace on the upper floor had sunbeds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyed the stay and would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dined in the hotel the first evening, was the only aspect of the stay that was disappointing, everything to do with the meal "was as if it was happening by accident and not as intended". Started off with at least a 25/30 minute when seated to get the first acknowledgement -"oh you don`t have menus.....!" this comment was by the gentleman that seated us... Next two evenings went into the village to dine, recommendations of locations given by reception; this had nothing to do with the first night`s comedic experience - nice to sit by the seafront.

    Very friendly greeting on arrival from CLAUDIA, everything well explained, advised where could park the car safely and at no charge, offered places to visit the next day with directions and places suggested. Had late lunch in the bar, served by JESUS - very professional and courteous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could’ve stayed longer

    The location is amazing, with most rooms having great views. The rooms are basic yet comfortable - large, with big opening windows to enjoy the breeze and sound of the beach, and comfy beds. The breakfast is great - large variety of fresh food which is regularity topped up. Staff are lovely and unobtrusive. Parking is down on the beach, and was free - you just drop off your stuff at the hotel and then walk back up. The walk to and from the beach is easy - not too tedious for me - about 2 levels of stairs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    This place is pure heaven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one minor detail: the juice for breakfast is not fresh

    This place is pure heaven! The view couldn’t be any better, the calm little bay with very little tourists, absolutely stunning landscape... we loved having breakfast on the terrasse, just taking it all in, filling the heart with joy. Beautiful bay windows with comfy chairs invite you to hang out, read, and be well. Staff is very friendly, it’s all very clean and comfortable and has the gentle, unexcited and efficient vibe of the 60ies, before marketing and management destroyed everything. We recommend also the restaurant. Very good value for a reasonable price. Don’t go to the restaurant with the owl-logo next door!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    It has great location with terrific views, very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with internet, it was impossible to have proper internet connection for whole my stay. Staff did not seem bothered with 1000 question about it at all.

    It has great location with terrific views, very good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Excellent - we will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No problems at all. We were very happy.

    The bay is lovely and we enjoyed relaxing along the front. Excellent scuba-diving (or snorkelling) in the bay with a great variety of sea life. Very clear, clean waters. The hotel is in a great position and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Lovely views across the water to the other side. The staff were extremely friendly and we could not have asked for more. The height of summer would be very busy and parking would probably be an issue as there is no attached parking at the hotel. Never-the-less, they have two underground parking areas quite close (with a limited number of spaces), so worth requesting a space when booking. Quite a lot of steps from the beach to the hotel and the hotel is set on 5 floors, but there is a good lift so it is really not a problem. We will certainly return - Spring I would think is the best time as everywhere is very green - later in the year it would be dryer and perhaps not quite as beautiful. However, a brilliant spot and we will be back soon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    It is a wonderful spot in a lovely village with the best views of the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The incompetence of the gentleman who checked us out of the hotel who later accused us of having taken their room keys! What terrible last impression.

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    Hotel on the beach with a spectacular breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would highly recommend springing for the room with a terrace. We paid extra for a "sea view" room that was a little less than spectacular. We could see the view from our window, but it was right on the public walkway to the beach, giving us little privacy. What's more, the room was a bit noisy: Not only was it right next to the restaurant and public bathrooms, it was also under the bar. All night we heard furniture moving and water running through pipes. Don't stay in room 10!

    You can't beat this location. The hotel steps go right to the beach. Make sure you get up early and watch the sun rise! Hotel breakfast was phenomenal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Incredible views, fabulous setting, and only a few steps from a world-class beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Though the setting is superb, the room lacks a bit of maintenance. Don't get me wrong, everything works, but it looks as if the same appliances have been there for a bit too long. I would recommend a gradual upgrade of a couple rooms at a time so they shine as bright as the beach of Tamariu.

    When I first saw this hotel on the web, I grew suspicious with a feeling of too-good-to-be-true, but when I entered my room my suspicious vanished. The room had incredible views to the water and I could hear and see the waves from my bed. Few hotels can say that, and even fewer can say so regarding such an incredible beach as Tamariu. I could write for hours, but could never describe the pleasure I experienced during these two days at Hotel Hostalillo.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel in one of the most beautiful villages of Costa...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect overall

    Amazing hotel in one of the most beautiful villages of Costa Brava. Located right in front of the beach, spectacular views, very clean, very good buffet breakfast and friendly and helpful personnel. We got a much bigger room than what we had booked, that was a nice detail.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: