Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostería del Monasterio de San Millan 4 stars

Monasterio de Yuso, s/n, 26326 San Millán de la Cogolla, Spain

#1 of 3 hotels in San Millán de la Cogolla

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 558 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect!

    The perfect place to get in touch with nature and relax your mind. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the facilities are impeccable. The tours of the monasteries (Yuso and Suso) are really interesting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Monastery Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the Royal Suite which was very comfortable and spacious. A good breakfast and dog friendly. Beatifully located in a peaceful rural setting. Excellent value - highly recommeded.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love to stay in these repurposed monasteries. It is part of Yusa and has great views. The room was wonderful with good wifi and huge bathroom. The receptionists were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast and dinner were good. Parking is plentiful although I was there is the winter.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Monastery Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant not up to standard. Menu rather pretentious and some items not available. Waiter not informed about this until the chef told him, resulting in a long delay to be served with the main course. Plates were cold, so the food cooled down quickly. (A previous guest had complained about this a year ago!) There seemed to be raised voices in the kitchen which were clearly heard on the dining room. Not professional. On checkout next morning, I complained and they deducted the cost of the main course. Lastly, a small but important detail: both the toilet paper and the tissues were hard and rough. Management should take a trip to the Parador at Stp Domingo and compare for themselves!

    Lovely location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Presidential Suite with Monastery Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated and not in a quaint way. Straight out of 80's, 1980's sadly not 1880's which would be more appropriate! Needs a refurb. And better signage re parking as very inclear. Spent ages ringing on bell at back which was never answered ... think we may have been disturbing the Monks! Parking is in fact in the public car park and you need to walk down the steps or windy ramp to get in to the hotel

    The location was stunning! Shame we had to leave too early to make use of the free admission to the monastery tour. The English version is very infrequent probably due to the remoteness of the property. Dogs very welcome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Monastery Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Staying in a historic monastery which is a UNESCO heritage site. The food was lovingly prepared, traditional and home cooked. Large, clean bedroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service, food and breakfast adequate but indifferent. A bit "institutional" and old fashioned.

    Location and the building is a historical treasure, well worth seeing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Monastery Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The images shown on booking.com were of the suites. Consequently, the room was a bitter disappointment. It was just an ordinary room, albeit large, with very dark furniture. Not particularly luxurious and definitely not worth the money. The check-in staff was not very friendly, although the reception staff later in the day was lovely. The bathroom needed updating.

    The room and bathroom were spacious and the location was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food isn't brilliant, for example the tomato served at breakfast for putting on toast ("Catalan breakfast") was tinned not fresh. We didn't eat dinner there, the cafeteria food was OK but very basic and breakfast was copious but way overpriced (12 euros per person) for something you have to serve yourself. There is another restaurant the other side of the car park, perhaps we should have tried that. Wifi rubbish - it is there, just, but the thick old walls probably block the signal.

    The building, mostly monastery and partly hotel, was very old, very striking and has been very sympathetically kept up. Beautiful old walls and windows, no hideous neon or awful signs. The interior is mostly very nice (not tired - where did that come from?! This is old Spain, after all......) - the 'cafeteria' is a bit basic, but then it's in the cellar of a monastery! If you don't want to stay in a monastery, don't come her. It is also in a historically extremely significant place - this very monastery is where the first SPANISH was written as it sprang from Latin. Nice sitting area, really relaxing for a drink and chat. Bedrooms large, with large modern bathroom and views of the surrounding mountains.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Monastery Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were generally unfriendly and came across as threatening rather than there to help at times. Also the beds were so uncomfortable, we both had a terrible night of sleep and spent the entire day following trying to massage out the knots in our neck and shoulders. The problem came mainly from the terrible pillows provided, all lumpy and truly awful.

    The location is stunning with incredible views of both Yuso and Suso from some of the bedroom windows.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is so beautiful... and the hotel in the monastery is really quiet at night, as it is located in the mountains. So we slept wonderfully! Free car parking outside the hotel is also a good thing. The restaurant just on the other side of the parking is good and has a good price too. (14€ the menu with many local dishes to try).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    its very small place, not a problem but come 10/11 o'clock there's nothing open in the surrounding area. May be a plus for others .

    Area stunning with awesome views of the surrounding country side and mountains. Would like to go back and maybe walk the mountains.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Monastery Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better for us. We had a lovely two nights there.

    The hotel is located within the monastery and has an air of peace and tranquility about it. It was especially nice to be there in the evenings and the mornings before the day visitors arrived to the complex. The dining room had lovely table settings with plates decorated with illuminated letters from the ancient manuscripts in the monastery. The area was one of natural beauty and the hotel blended ancient and modern perfectly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Monastery Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing, we traveled a long way and phoned to say we would be late. So the kitchen prepaired us a meal for our arrival. The full trip the staff were excellent. Especially xaviar.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Wine Cellar Package
    • Stayed 1 night

    We'd booked this room with the cellar package (at extra cost) which should have included a tour, tasting and aperitif before dinner. Yet despite the listing stating they speak English we were told we couldn't have the tour as it was only in Spanish. All we got instead was a bottle of house wine at dinner. As a genius on Booking.com we were also supposed to get a welcome drink upon arrival which never came. When we asked in the bar the barman got really stroppy marched off to reception then came back and dumped 2 small beers in front of us. NOT IMPRESSED.

    Room was charming and clean. Location and building awesome. Restaurant food very good. Waiting staff not so good. If you want to visit the monastery this is a great place to stay but the front of house staff leave a lot to be desired. Be aware the monastery tour is also only in Spanish. We followed round with a sheet of paper in English.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel/monastery are in the middle of nowhere. The only option for dining is the hotel restaurant which opens for dinner at 8:30 pm. If you're a vegetarian, give the hotel far in advance warning. Also breakfast not included. Hefty 12€ more. Cafe/bar doesn't open til 10 am. So if you want an early start and you don't want a big meal, you're stuck paying a lot for coffee and croissant.

    Beautiful old property, renovated inside with all the modern comforts. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside of monastery and vineyards there isn't much else to see or do. Ideal for couples but not so much for families with children.

    To be able to stay in 1000 years old monastery was so great. Very nice property and beautiful town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very atmospheric place to stay, within the monastery, with tranquil views out over wooded hills. Comfortable rooms. Decent restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Very good value.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Monastery Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The evening meals were good but we had expected something a little more imaginative

    Location, sense of history, the views, sense of history, cuckoos calling - we were there in May

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard bed Cold room and restaurant Lack of bathrobes

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Monastery Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired and shabby bedspreads and blankets. Staff did not seem friendly which was very unSpanish! Breakfast okay

    Great history and location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spectacular location and STAYING IN A THOUSAND year old monastery

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really rood reception and stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The silence

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Monastery Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic place and surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast overpriced and very poor.

    Comfortable stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. I was apprehensive of cars safety but was reassured and no harm was done.

    Friendly, location and quality of decoration .Exelent fascilities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Monastery Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in dining room should be lower for dinner!!! It could be beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Monastery Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    A beautiful location ! Nice rooms. Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Monastery Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark room

    Great,large bathroom

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Wine Cellar Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con. Pets allowed at a crazy price but then totally restricted to a patio approx 10m by 5m

    Location is lovely. Food was fine

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Monastery Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location, excellent food at the restaurant, quitness and silence of the sorroundings

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    variety of lunch menus

    delightful room wonderful views

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great evening meal. Lovely room. Wonderful location. Surrounded by history and culture.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quiet, historical, beautiful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Wine Cellar Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful setting. Free bus to upper monastery, Good food in the restaurant. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning place on the planet. Beautiful surroundings mountainsides and been valleys... A mideval paradise with all the mod cons. We loved it.

    Dining

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Monastery Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    bed comfort. poor cafeteria

    The place, the peacefulness, people

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Wine Cellar Package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the bedroom- very spacious with wonderful views

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Wine Cellar Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING

    CLASSIC SPANISH HISTORICAL VENUE

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The restaurant in the hotel is pretty bad. If you do stay here, you don't really have much options in the town for dinner, but there are still a couple of other places that none the less are still a better option. We ate dinner only one night and the food, while reasonably priced is not worth it at all. They did however have high chairs, which most restaurants in Spain do not seem to have. So that's a plus at least. the breakfast buffet is ok, but still better to go around the corner to the Posada San Millan for breakfast, and also a good tapas.

    The hotel is situated in a very picturesque location , in the wing of an old monastery. The interior is quite beautiful and the rooms have a feeling of history to them. I am not sure what makes the hotel a 4 star hotel however, it is priced more as a 3 star hotel, so you do get good value, but overall i would say that it is more of a three star hotel than a 4. The staff is also quite friendly. The Monestary itself has quite a history, as it is where the first words of Spanish were written. I do believe that the entrance to the Monastery should be included with the hotel, but they are separate businesses.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent hotel, food, wine, & best staff I've ever encountered! After being delayed by over 3 hrs on ferry we arrived cold & hungry at 10.30pm on motorcycles. We were welcomed at reception and their first question was "have you eaten, we'll arrange food" Best service you could wish for.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Downstairs very cold and draughty

    Very cozy rooms, interesting history and faded grandeur, restaurant meals delicious, staff very friendly and helpful -- calling taxis, answering questions. Great location with interesting easy to access tours of Yuso, Suso, Cañas.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stunning location beside the Monastery. Quirky and very comfortable. Restaurant food and wines were excellent and a truly comfortable stay in a beautiful location

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Couple

    The restaurant served pedestrian food at high prices for this region, and the server made us feel like we were imposing on her. I'd recommend eating in the bar or in one of the restaurants across the parking lot. The wifi kept disconnecting, and we often had to leave the bedroom to reconnect. Finally, we had no water in our bathroom on the morning of departure, so no shower, etc.

    The reception staff were absolutely wonderful. We had forwarded our backpacks rather than walk with them on the winding road from Canas, and the bags were waiting in our room upon arrival. The staff had secured reservations for us at the Suso monastery, and they reserved a reliable and comfortable taxi to return us to the Santiago camino route. They even provided a free bottle of water upon our departure.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food in restaurant and service poor Had to return poor as cold which was then reheated in microwave which tur the squid to rubber. Very old and tired interior needs updating un kept garden should not be 4 star.

    The history of the building and the architecture

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Decor at restaurant is not really Cousy. Internet awfull in room. Ok in public areas. It is an old property. Ina gorgeous place. Could be decorated much nicer.

    Locación is breathtaking. Rooms very spacious, nice atmosphere. Dinner was above our expectations. Great salad. I ordered fish, very good, wife ordered chicken stuffed with cheese. Just ok. Salad was excellent. Staff very friendly and ready to serve.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overall, the structure is more of a representative monastery than a modern high class accomodation: it was a cold day and heating of our room and restaurant were sub-cozy, lighting needs improvement, overall a slight taste of seminar hotel.

    The location in the Rioja region, an impressive historical building, and a decent in-house restaurant make the stay a special experience.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice location. Frendly staff, clean and comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The pillows could be better

    Almost everything. The location is amazing

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    It was a wonderful stay in a beautiful place! standard room is clean and comfortable. Breakfast is big and tasty!

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I liked everything. The staff were very friendly. I think the bar could be made more cosy, but that's just a suggestion.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Couple

    Grilled vegetables including Romanesco broccoli!!! Wow.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Interior of the room and public places disappointed

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful and clean room with lovely balconies and view.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had to leave

    Wonderful facility from room to restaurant to lounges!

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel next to the monastery, the room with nice views to the monastery, the quiet and paceful place...

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    El entorno incomparable de la hosperia

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in room.

    Gorgeous building and area.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi was under all critic.

    Great location if you aim to visit the monastaries. Really kind and helpfull staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The hotel It did not take the evening meal. Hotel should provide an alternative.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minibar is broken

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Monastery was well worth the detour.Beautiful wooded countryside,quite remote.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything! The monasteries at Yuso and Suso are fabulous!

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Browse Hostería del Monasterio de San Millan traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: