Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Andalucia 2 stars

Avenida Alpujarras, 15-17, 18420 Lanjarón, Spain

#13 of 16 hotels in Lanjarón

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 410 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    3.5
    I have stayed in better hostels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very basic. The rooms were uncomfortable and very noisy. Only one plug socket in the room. Furnishings, old, tiled floors dirty. Bathroom suite from the 1970"s.

    Good location. Pool area looked lovely, but was closed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Our second visit to Lanjaron - gorgeous setting high in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing was unpleasant but finding the car park required an enquiry at the desk. Safe and locked at night.

    Our second visit to Lanjaron - gorgeous setting high in the Alpujarras mountains. The Hotel is superb and very well managed with its optional breakfast - good value - and other meals. Our balcony looked out on the valley to the south west. In season the garden and large pool would be a delight.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely short break hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was a bit hit and miss depending where you stood in the room. The pool area wasn't very well maintained for cleanliness especially the poolside. We hardly saw anyone using the showers provided before jumping in with suntan lotion etc on. There weren't any safety notices about advising against jumping in etc. We didn't use the pool because of the lack of cleanliness poolside and the pool itself was very cloudy, although the children's pool was clear. There is ongoing restoration works and whilst we were there they were constructing a ramp walk way down to the pool area and bar/cafe. When the workers hosed down the cement etc it was washed down to the pool side, therefore making peoples feet dirty before getting in the pool. The pool is also used by members of the general public making it very busy at the weekends.

    Centrally located hotel, plenty of shops, bars etc nearby. Room (367) was spacious, bed very comfy, water pressure was good and plenty of hot water too, although shower had to be hand held as didn't fit on the wall. Views from balcony great. Breakfast was swift and efficient, various choices to be had, not self service though, everything brought to your table although you can order extra coffee when you want. Lunch and evening meal choices change daily and only €11.50 per person for 3 courses was excellent. Free parking (can be difficult to find) and not overly large. All in all, we would definitely come back to this hotel again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    It was okay but probably won’t go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is in need of a refurbishment, the pool seems to be open to the locals with lots of noisy young families, there were no information pack in the room, no tea / coffee facilities,

    Quaintly Old fashion, friendly staff, beautiful gardens

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Location was excellent, view of the mountains was stunning...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the second time I’ve brought friends too this hotel first time the builders where landscaping outside the hotel in the garden but the garden pool and outside bar was open which was excellent, this time the builders where building what looked like a large steal walkway which resulted in the pool and outside bar were both shut, not happy.

    Location was excellent, view of the mountains was stunning +shops and bars nearby, hotel was both clean and reasonably priced

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.7
    No frills hotel in spa village that has seen better days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The balcony overlooked the main road and wasn't conducive to sit out on. The pool area was under maintenance and very difficult to access

    We stayed in a suite which was very specious if a little spartan.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    Convenient, but be careful about noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On our last night (Saturday night), there was a loud party in the garden, right under our bedroom windows until midnight, which made it really hard for us (most importantly, the kids) to get to sleep.

    The location was convenient for us and the kids loved the pool. The breakfast was copious and very good value for money. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    We stopped for 2 nights to enjoy some of the best motorcycling roads around here, not long enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A buffet breakfast would be better than a menu type. but it was good.

    A really good basic hotel no frills but nice, lovely gardens and swimming pool, quite a few places to eat out and priced very reasonable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    A short break to discover the region made much more enjoyable by the pleasant surprise we found with
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    On the main street in Lanjaron in the Sierra Nevada mountains the hotel is meters from the best bars and restaurants in the town. I am wheelchair bound and everything was designed and fitted perfectly. The staff were all very helpful and the breakfast was fried eggs with bacon or sausages and freshly squeezed orange juice for €4 only. Despite the lack of parking on the street the hotel offers private off road parking free ! Fantastic value for money !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in the bathroom resembled the spokes of an umberella with a plastic curtain around it so water basically went all over the floor, the shower head was too high up on the wall with no facility to adjust.

    The beds were very comfortable and clean, the room was really spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous, location, everything.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived the room we were given had no balcony just a window which would have been fine as it was a lovely bright room but we had paid for a room with a balcony and view, when we mentioned this to the receptionist, there was no problem she changed us to a new room straightaway

    Fabulous swimming pool which we loved using after a hike in the hills, lovely filling breakfast and friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice central location,great pool and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was behind the hotel and not a lot of room,if we hadn't found a space don't know where we could have gone.If a person had any disability could be too far to find one.We were there at a very busy time though and it WAS free so couldn't complain.

    Breakfast was served to your table with a choice of 3 courses plus fresh orange and coffee.Very good value, and the staff didn't mind giving extra drinks etc if asked.The swimming pool was lovely in well kept grounds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.4
    Not the ideal hotel for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had no chance of parking during our stay which is no fun when you have a load of expensive items in the car . when we were there a coach group of people were there and we did not get much choice of food , we decided to leave before breakfast so as not to be disappointed yet again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool opening at 11am.

    Staff in the restaurant very friendly and accommodating. Reception staff great too. Lovely food and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    The terras and pool look amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the corridors and rooms are a bit outdated, and spartan, the beds are not very comfortabel and the shower was a bit of a headache because it wouldn't stay in it's hook.

    The terras and pool look amazing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.5
    pleasantly satisfied with the few days spent there
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    perhaps some guidance prior to arrival on how to navigate to the hotel car park.

    Overall a very acceptable hotel, dog friendly, comfortable with friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic area to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They could update the rooms a little, but this is just very minor, overall very good.

    Very hard not to like anything in Lanjaron a very interesting spa town that has a great sense of identity & community with the streets lined with chairs for locals to sit and chat or visitors to take the weight off their feet for a while. Loads of drinking fountains with cool fresh water for which the village is famed. The hotel has excellent facilities and if parts are a little dated the quaintness gets you anyway! Fantastic views from our balcony and in the area in general. I loved my first visit to Los Alpujarras. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    6.3
    Pool is excellent and situation great BUT don't eat here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The diner was apalling. Practicaly uneatable AND it made both of us unwell the next day. Absolutely the worst restaurant experience EVER. The breakfast was a little better but their idea of scrambled egg was a joke and no salt or pepper on the tables. Were not amused by the discotec playing ancient (like 40 years old) music at great volume only two floors beneath our room until nearly midnight. Nor the TV which was probably vintage 1975 with tiny screen and poor quality picture. Not teh fact tha the sound proofing between rooms was practicallly non existant. Still it WAS all very cheap so what can you expect?

    The pool was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent staff wonderful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing unfortunately they were having some refurbishing done.

    The breakfast was good the view was very good.The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.1
    Off The Beaten Track
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was difficult to locate, address would not appear in Sat Nav, drove past it twice as name was difficult to see from car, but worth the search in the end

    Stunning views, comfortable room, good breakfast, helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    Faded grandeur in the Alpujarras
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - but expect the limitations of an old hotel.

    An old established hotel that has an air of ageing grandeur but is still comfortable. Excellent location in the centre of Lanjaron with parking, and with good views of the Alpujarras from room balcony. Rooms are modest but the public areas are smart and the extensive gardens are being re-established. Breakfast is very good - and outstanding for the price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    8.8
    New Year's getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with New Year's Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was opening specially for New Year's Eve and we seemed to have been the first to arrive. We therefore had a few issues (heat not on, no hot water) just because things hadn't gotten fully up to speed. However, the staff was very friendly and quickly got things sorted.

    A comfortable room with a nice little balcony and beautiful view out over the Lanjarón valley. Mattress was very comfortable, and heat was more than sufficient for winter. Rooms had one double and one twin bed, so it was fairly spacious. Nice dinner and all-night party (plus breakfast) included in the New Year's package.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Real old fashioned Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was our third stay at Andalucía and we still love it. It's old fashioned and in its way so charming! Excellent breakfast and very efficient staff. Good wifi. Spacious rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Language could be a problem if you didn't have any basic Spanish,the bed could have been comfort as in mattress tended to dip in centre,water pressure very good,but shower head inefficient.

    The views from our room were excellent,the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was excellent value.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    Agradable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La piscina

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    A great little stop over hotel in a stunning location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with modernising the bathroon and the a/c didnt work in the room.

    Great breakfast and fabulous location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    It was what we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was what we expected

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    We loved lanjaron location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovation works

    Location pool staff price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    The room we stayed in was classed as a suite, which is extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we stayed in was classed as a suite, which is extra large and the en-suite was also large with separate shower and a bath.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous view. Comfortable bed. Friendly staff. On site parking. Cooked breakfast, fresh oj and coffee for €4. Good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    The receptionists were very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionists were very friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    The staff went out of there way to help me with my case .
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is very good value for money .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    4.2
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of sound proofing in the hotel. Heard all noises from neighbouring rooms No facilities to make a drink in the room

    The nearby countryside

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much

    Pool and good beds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    We are very happy with our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    We have stayed at this hotel before so we are very happy and would stay again if we go back

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Fantastic swimming pool. Lovely clean simple bedrooms. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    7.9
    The location was excellent with lovely views from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattress was too soft and we ended up with bad backs!

    The location was excellent with lovely views from the terrace. It has a very good size swimming pool. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    5.4
    Staff at desk was uninterested and only at the end when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff at desk was uninterested and only at the end when leaving did he talk to us. Full of old people. Balcony had not been cleaned so cleaned it myself. Room could hear everything so up super early with the old folk.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.6
    The breakfast was good the cleaner liked to speak to us in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was good the cleaner liked to speak to us in English jaun on reseption was very good. We had a good view from our window over the mountains .

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    4.2
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast hideous, plates and cups dirty Room was not made up, very basic Go to Hotel Andalucía next door, amazing and £20 more worth every penny Very old hotel, needs knocking down,. Pool was empty, hot tub area, green, dangerous paths. Do not stay here, sadly the photos are not correct, I trusted the website in error!

    location

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no trashcan and the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner.

    Breakfast was very good. Could have been a bit cleaner, but other than that it was good enough for our purposes.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    10
    This was in an ideal location although it is not too easy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really to dislike.

    This was in an ideal location although it is not too easy to find. Our room had a balcony where we were able to sit to enjoy the afternoon sun.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    7.1
    hotel was very clean but quite tired in it's structure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was poor, despite reviews having been good, greasy fried food and poor quality ingredients coffee awful!

    hotel was very clean but quite tired in it's structure.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.6
    A wonderful central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy neighbours was the main problem, shouting at 7 in the morning. Also the sing-song that started at 10 at night, and went on until 1130! And all the songs sounded the same!!

    A wonderful central location. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    8.5
    Very friendly welcome, great view from our balcony (worth...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not the easiest to find initially (not well signed, if at all, on the approach roads + one way system). Seemed to be a bit of an old folks destination but an interesting town.

    Very friendly welcome, great view from our balcony (worth paying the extra), very good value, maybe a little old fashioned but in keeping with its location. Huge breakfast (multiple courses). Went to a great deal of trouble to ensure our bike was parked securely (in the hotel garden!). Big pool which looked very inviting but never made it.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.8
    The staff at this hotel are 5 *, they are simply superb,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff at this hotel are 5 *, they are simply superb, from Almudena and her colleagues on the desk to Nieves who cleans the rooms. Some hotels may have more facilities and maybe a higher star rating but we would not swap our recent experience for anything. Fabulous

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    7.9
    Friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tired decor, old and inadequate furniture. Odd shaped bathroom.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Central location, free WiFi and air conditioning. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    8.3
    A very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast didn't start till 8.30am, but I suppose we were on holiday! The pool didn't open till 11am!

    A very central location. The pool was really good, with shade. The breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    9.6
    The location, the staff and the general feel of the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact that the pool did not open until 11:30!! This is a ridiculous time for a pool in Spain. Many people like a swim before breakfast and even after breakfast not to have to wait a couple of hours for the pool to open. Also the fact the pool is open to the public is a bit of a drawback. Maybe some sunbeds should be reserved for residents - it is not good to arrive at the pool and find all the beds have been taken by day-visitors. I honestly believe the day trippers should be charged, not only to get in (3e at present) but an extrea 5e for the hire of a bed - which is what the would pay on an average beach.

    The location, the staff and the general feel of the place.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    8.3
    The staff was very friendly at all times and the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was a bit dark and the whole hotel would need a refurbishment. It was a bit noisy the second night as there was an animation night for a group in the restaurant downstairs (this room should be better isolated so that other guests can sleep)

    The staff was very friendly at all times and the breakfast was excellent (more than you can except in a Spanish hotel). The room was comfortable and very clean. There is a private parking. Dogs are welcome without extra fee.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful view , great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful view , great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    9.2
    Superb breakfast, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Superb breakfast, very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    7.5
    Helpfull & friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They had no booking for us.

    Helpfull & friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    8.3
    Breakfast was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was a bit outdated.

    Breakfast was excellent!

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    10
    Excellent hotel - faultless- amazing views, brilliant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing we didn't like about the hotel

    Excellent hotel - faultless- amazing views, brilliant and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    9.0
    Thehotel is a little tired but very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thehotel is a little tired but very clean. The staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast very good .Our room looked over to the castle.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    10
    Very welcoming to our four dogs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very welcoming to our four dogs!

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    8.3
    Great breakfast, good parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great breakfast, good parking

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    8.8
    Great location helpful friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location helpful friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    7.5
    The pool is a plus and location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool is a plus and location was good

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    9.5
    Amability of the staff and fantastic view from our room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amability of the staff and fantastic view from our room

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    10
    Very comfortable, great location, and the breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very comfortable, great location, and the breakfast was INCREDIBLE! More than we had expected!

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Guests also reviewed these properties: