Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Cigarral el Bosque 5 stars

Carretera de Navalpino 49, 45004 Toledo, Spain

#12 of 39 hotels in Toledo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2551 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast option at €17 is too expensive when you can be in town in a few minutes and have a cheaper breakfast.

    Very smart and comfortable hotel in a great location for visiting the old city of Toledo. Great swimming pool area with bar and snacks. Views of the city from the rooms are stunning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one very minor issue. They provided, as standard, a kettle and cups in the bedroom on a tray. However, there was no supply of any products to make any drinks with, so I thought it had been forgotten in error. I rang reception to ask about coffe, milk, tea bags etc, only to be informed that they don’t supply those, it’s only there in case you bring your own!!! Couldn’t believe what I was hearing, it’s not the receptionists fault, obviously it’s the hotel policy, but how utterly ridiculous is that. Utter foolishness, better not to provide any kettle etc, than to adopt this policy.

    Lovely hotel, all staff extremely helpful and pleasant, quite a good breakfast selection, beautiful views of Toledo, large airy room and bathroom etc, very large and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I reserved, I hadn't realized how far it was from Toledo center. It might be walkable for those who don't mind a bit of a hike, but it wasn't a good move for my older parents. We ended up taking cabs back and forth. It worked out fine, but if you're looking for something in town, this wouldn't be a good choice. Most visitors had their own cars.

    The property is located on a hill opposite of Toledo--if you get a city-side room, you'll have a breathtaking view. Staff were lovely and helpful, the breakfast was worth the 10 euros (especially since there's not much nearby).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It did come across as a hotel on the 'way down' I'm afraid - very few staff, no sense of a manager or anyone in charge, early June surely isn't low season but there appeared to be no bar operating till 8 pm and no way of calling staff, other than to return to one's room and phone!

    Wonderful position looking across to medieval Toledo, and the hotel itself is also an interesting building, with new elements added to an old core. The bedrooms are spacious and have a balcony or terrace onto the great views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a fabulous suite with direct access to the gardens, which was perfect for our dog. We couldn’t fault anything from reception to food and comfort. Just sorry we didn’t plan to stay an extra night but will do on our next trip!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant a little expensive; a steep walk to other areas.

    Lovely room, fantastic bathroom, wonderful view over the town from the balcony - especially at dawn and sunset. Clean pool in a great setting. Nice food if a little over priced. Pleasant gardens with outside seating options. Very peaceful location: only sounds are birdsong and the occasional distant church bells - a great night's sleep. Wifi very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were disappointed with our evening meal. I think the Chef is trying to be over experimental and it does not work e.g. for a Starter I ordered what was described as Cream of Leeks with crispy quail, what arrived was a bowl of unseasoned leek soup with a tiny little leg in it! No point in it having been crispy if it was before having being sunk into soup and no point in it being there as no meat on it to talk of! I ordered a main of Sirloin steak and was asked how I wanted it which was medium - what arrived was a large slab of meat and a small roundel of potato - the meat had no seasoning and was overcooked and when I asked if there was any vegetables or salad to go with the meat I was told that yes I had potato! The staff I have to say were very good however and the following day the breakfast provided was excellent with so much choice.

    We liked the fact you could park securely within the Hotel grounds. The views of Toledo were great from our balcony.We noticed that dogs were allowed which is good. The grounds were great to walk around in when the weather is good. It was peaceful even though a lot of people were there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We secured a good price for the property. If we had paid the full price we would have been very disappointed. The hotel is definitely not 5*. It’s quite tired. The restaurant was understaffed. Only two members of staff in the restaurant who had to take orders, work the bar and serve. We had booked a table at reception but we obviously weren’t expected as the waiter was not best pleased to see us. We waited a long time for drinks and to order our food. When our food arrived it was hurriedly put in front of us so that the waiter could rush off to deal with someone else.

    The bedroom was spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel is just a short walk into Toledo, however it’s quite a steep walk up to the centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    Perfectly located, with views of the old city of Toledo, very clean, very picturesque, very helpful staff, the meals at restaurant El Olivo were amazing, they also catered for gluten free meals & had gluten free dampers to add to the experience. Gluten free Breakfast was good. The whole experience was amazing. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred covered parking as travelled by motorbike but was secure and space available.

    Lovely hotel, staff very helpful and went out of their way to assist (recommending restaurants, booking taxis and supplying pool towels). Plan to stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was an amazing find. We had a patio room and it really was superb. We could sit on the terrace and look out over the beautiful town of Toledo. There is also a great view from the pool. The bathroom was huge. The hotel has a luxurious feel and we had a wonderful time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress on our bed was terrible!

    Great view of the city from the hotel! The property was beautiful, clean, and well-maintained. Parking was free and easy. It was a 5-minute taxi ride into the old town of Toledo. The staff was good about offering restaurant recommendations in the old town. Rooms were very large (especially by European standards!) - and the bathroom was luxurious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clearly not recently rated as 5* - a 3* at best, and only if they upped their game in terms of cleanliness and maintenance. Patio furniture dangerously un-maintained - splinters to the backside received for sitting on it Room and bathroom not well cleaned - dust and dirt visible in corners and at height Toilet roll holders, towel rails hanging off walls in Bathroom Info book in room claims the hotel restaurant to be Michelin guide recommended - it's dire down there, and the Michelin guide have no record of it on their website Restaurant was awful - poor quality food, badly prepared and presented. Table cloth was dirty and stained. Menu was uninspiring and food once received barely edible. Expensive and poor service from the staff. Staff when highlighting these issues could only offer a bottle of water for our journey and to make a note for the manager Hotel signage very unclear when trying to find restaurant/cafeterias.

    The view was good and the location offered promise until experienced more closely. Free overground car parking was a nice change in Spain.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were tea and coffee making facilities in my parents room but not mine. The location is also a good walk from Toledo town centre and this was a bit too much for my elderly parents although we were told it was only a 20 minute walk! There was no freshly squeezed orange juice or decent coffee at breakfast (only self serve machines for the latter) so would probably skip this in future and get something on the road.

    Large hotel set in lovely grounds on a hill overlooking Toledo. The rooms had large comfy beds, a gorgeous spacious bathroom and mine had s patio onto a lawned terrace where my pet could run about. The breakfast was adequate and we also sat outside the restaurant with my pet for a beer in the afternoon so no need to confine them to the room. Staff were friendly and helpful and even gave us free bottles of water for our onward journey.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in bed was perfect, 11euros and you could order as much as you like. I booked my pet in too and when we arrived there was a bed and dog bowl in the room. Bathroom was huge and lots of amenities. Views were amazing, would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an issue with the water - we couldn’t get the temperature right which spoilt the shower!😙

    This experience was exceptional! Would recommend the breakfast so fresh and just what we needed!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    what superb hotel a real wonderful place to stay Amazing setting and grounds The views from the hotel of the old town is breathtaking Staff where very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception was on floor three and there was no direct lift down to the ground floor. Carrying their luggage could be an issue for older people.

    The room was lovely. It was on the ground floor. A terrace with a table and chairs overlooked a well kept grass area with a super view of the city of Toledo. We spent both days sightseeing and visiting historic buildings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a reception on the grass outside our room and the children were running outside our room and making lots of noise

    Sitting on the veranda with the gorgeous view!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel enjoys a great location to look over the city. This does not mean that it is easy to walk there; some comments we read suggested it was a short walk. Frankly, this must be the opinion of regular Marathon runners, since the journey by car suggests it is well over a mile away, and with hills to negotiate, at least 25 minutes of hard walking. That said, the taxi fares from the hotel to the centre of the town (at the top of the hill!) are around 7-8 euros, which is reasonable enough. So not a complaint, simply an observation

    The location is splendid, with those rooms facing the city enjoying the most marvellous views of the wondrous city of Toledo. Sitting on the balcony with glass of wine, watching the evening light diminishing over the city, was memorable. The hotel is modernist, has excellent grounds, good facilities and, a bonus, free and ample parking ! The rooms themselves are large with splendid bathroom facilities - separate shower and bathtub, plenty of space to move around, excellent storage facilities and a nice ambience altogether. There is also a very good restaurant, better by far than many hotels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more outside seating areas in the sun to have drink when we arrived ,

    The hotel was very ckean with fantastic views of the city, needed more time to use all the facilities eg swimiming pool and beauty saloon, all staff very professional and helpful at all times,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps the restaurant staff should speak a little more English. However, they do speak English better than I can speak Spanish!

    Staff very friendly. El Olivo Restaurant meal was excellent. Good facilities for our two dogs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the food not to my taste and disappointing, but my partner was quite happy with it. The hotel itself (not our room) was in a slight state of disrepair; the gardens, in particular, could have been beautiful, but they were in great need of some attention.

    The room was large and well-appointed, it gave onto a lovely garden which was perfect for our dog. The view over Toledo was exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    They had a little problem with the AC, but went over above to correct.

    Walking out onto the balcony and seeing a Toledo highlighted in lights was spectacular. A sight to remember.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in room 319 and the room was a little tired in my opinion, for example the shower tray was crazy cracks all over in the glaze, the entry door of the room was very hard to close as it was slightly twisted in its position. The lighting over the bath was poor and there was no hot water from time to time.

    the view of the old city of Toledo was fantastic. Very comfy bed, although pillows were a bit odd. There was a mini bar which was great. Large bathroom with both bath and separate shower. The breakfast was very good but cost a lot at 17 euros per head. The room was comfortably warm and the terrace was a good size with a table and 2 chairs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had no light, no internet, no hot water. The bath wasn´t usable because completely dark. Things like that happen. When we left next morning, there was not even an apologise. When the staff just mentioned that there was an electricity cut (we realized that ourselves), we dared to ask if they had not even thought about any kind of compensation. In a 5 stars hotel you should expect a minimum of comfort and a helpful reaction, if anything extraordinary happens. "What we can offer", say said, "is a bottle of water for the way." May everybody himself decide, if such a behaviour invites for a stay there.

    Nahe Toledo - geräumiges Zimmer - schöner Garten

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. The air conditioning was not working. In the morning I called reception and asked if someone could check it during the day. That evening it was still not working, we were offered a room move but when we went to the new room the a/c didn't work there either. We said there was no point moving if they couldn't guarantee the a/c would work. I was told an engineer may be able to come in next 2 hours. 10 minutes later engineer arrived and fixed the problem which took less than 5 minutes! Why didn't they do that during the day as requested? 2. On the second morning there was no hot water - I ran the taps for 5 minutes (a terrible waste of water) and it never got warm. 3. Service at the cafeteria was awful. There was only one member of staff who spoke no English (this is supposed to be a 5 star hotel remember) and he was trying to deal with a large group of people plus us and several other smaller groups. Eventually a second person can to help with serving meals but the service was not good. 4. It is about a 20 minute walk into the old town - uphill on the way back which might be a problem for some visitors.

    The hotel is very impressive and the room was spacious and comfortable - apart from a problem with the air conditioning and plumbing - see below.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were thrilled with the hotel..... so exactly like the pictures which was nice!! Loved the ease of coming and going into town and the staff was very helpful. Definitely highly recommend and very well priced!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Under bed was a little dusty

    Friendly staff all spoke English. Reception booked us a table for 7pm whereas restaurant normally opens at 8.30pm. Views from room were spectacular.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would make such a difference to have a kettle in the bedroom!

    The staff on the front desk were warm, helpful and professional- the hotel was in the perfect position, in the most beautiful surroundings- with an easy and pleasant walk down the road to the old bridge into Toledo. Incredible views of the old City itself. I felt very comfortable there as a guest on my own.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows are okish, but not super comfortable. Not sure if it's typical for Spain tho, because the saw exactly the same in other hotels.

    Exceptionally great view from the hill where hotel is located in the middle of old olive trees on the historical city center. Super friendly staff, awesome and very clean rooms, great breakfast. Free private parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    --would be a bit of a walk to get to the old town area. Desk person instructed us to drive to free parking area near old pedestrian bridge. This worked out nicely. --breakfast buffet was good but a little pricey at 17 euros each.

    --they upgraded us to a full suite without even telling us at no additional charge --free parking with large lot. --view of Old Toledo from rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was announced as a 5star hotel but unfortunately it was not really 5 star: there was a very unpleasant smell in the bathroom. The room furniture and amenities were rather basic.

    The friendly personnel at the reception. The size of the room (we had a room for 3 people) and bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were expecting more from a 5 start hotel when it comes to the facilities.

    The view from the room was amazing. The proximity to the city center without car was a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly I can’t understand how it has a 5 star rating. We should have stayed here 6 nights but left after 3 as miserable. The room was too hot to sleep at 26 degrees which we had no control over. It seems as if it’s controlled from a central location. We reported it 2 nights in a row and it was the 3rd day before it was addressed. The patio doors were so stiff to open you needed to be Hercules and once on the balcony,although the views were stunning there was no privacy as the hessian lined glass screens were see through to the next balcony on either side and the glass was cracked in several places. Also the roof was open to the rain. The bedroom furniture was poor not one drawer in the bedside tables or desk and the wardrobes were more like ikea quality (I’ve nothing against ikea but not 5 star quality). We had only 7 hangers between the 2 of us and a couple of them kept falling out of their fitments with the clothes on them. The gardens were very disappointing. I can’t comment on the pool as I couldn’t find one. I know it doesn’t open until May but if it is a permanent structure I’ve no idea where they hid it. The hotel was made up of long gloomy corridorswith stone floors. The breakfast was only adequate I’ve had better at all other hotels I’ve stayed at. Next to the breakfast room was another room with a bar with lovely views and comfortable seating but it was only open until midday so no use. For an evening there is a restaurant which was gloomy with dirty windows although the food was ok there was no atmosphere so only went once and we were the only ones there

    When you first arrive at the hotel it looks lovely as has a great entrance but our happy feeling didn’t last long. The only thing we liked was the large well equipped bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The state of the room is deplorable, shabby old room, blankrts not in bed sheets, room looks like a cheap hostel with different pieces of furniture, chiped walls, light not working in the shower, everything looks like is falling apart. Not recommended!!!

    Beautiful reception and great garden, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dog friendly hotel that was anything but, paid £15 for a Pomeranian (which is more than we have paid before) and the only place he could go was the room, he wasn’t allowed to sit in the lounge near the front door, definitely wouldn’t be coming back again ,

    Restaurant was lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked it to be within a shorter walking distance to town, but the taxi cab drivers were ALL REALLY FRIENDLy

    The staff was very friendly, the restaurant El Olivio excellent, and breakfast was so good! We had an excellent view of Toledo from our room. It was too cold for Swimming in the pool, so I can not rate it. We are a family of four and felt very comfortable in our suite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from our room was amazing!!!!!! We only had breakfast but it was great, big selection of breakfast food. The property and room were clean. We would definately stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunally it was NOT allowed to bring our dog to the restaurant or breakfast room so we had to go for room service and the quality of the choices were few and poor. We had a pizza we have had better brought from frozen. The dessert were really good though. We would recommend to have some proper meals as a choice for room service

    The location was amazing with a super View.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous facilities and very easy to find the Hotel. Hotel also pet friendly and it had extensive grounds and gardens for us to take our dog for a walk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the atmosphere a bit sterile. Our room seemed to be far from everything. Also bothered me that our suitcases made such a load noise, rumbling on the tiles down the very long Corridor to our room. I am surprised we didn’t wake someone up! But such a problem is not so easy to fix due to the unusual layout of the hotel.

    Room was large and the view was impressive. No problems with parking. We didn’t want a full breakfast so it was nice to have a quiet area for a croissant and a cup of coffee.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We understand this is a fabulous hotel and we had a very good deal but still feel 17 Euro ahead a bit pricy for a breakfast.

    Picturesque location and welcoming friendly staff. Very comfortable rooms and large beds. We enjoyed our one night stop over.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location of the hotel is amazing with a stunning view of the old town. The staff are excellent. I complained about the room because there was some damp and mould on the wall and they were very obliging and immediately moved us from our standard room into a suite. Dinner at the restaurant was very good. A most enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it was off season, the hotel seemed somewhat deserted.....maybe too quiet for some. Some might not like the hotel's design which was expansive and low-profile, and required long walks along corridors to get from the lobby to the rooms and cafe and restaurant.

    An exceptional place and great value. Terrific view of Toledo from across the River Tajo. Spacious room and very large and luxurious bathroom. The location is perfect if you have a car to park and don't want to drive into the heart of Toledo. We took a taxi from the hotel and that was hassle free and not expensive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communal areas and reception nice. Room was 'tired' and in need of attention. Walls dented, paint chipped etc.

    Great position, bathroom excellent, comfy bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Instructions on how to find the hotel for those of us without satnav

    Beautiful hotel in a lovely setting. Our large bedroom had a sliding glass door onto a lawn where guests could exercise their dogs. Great idea and planning Dinner in the restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not reduce the temperature in the room below 23 degree. We have asked several times at the front desk. The lights in the room are not enough to read a book. The stone floor in the corridor looks very nice but passing guests with luggage make a lot of noise.

    Spacious room, nice bathroom, super views on Toledo, nice restaurants with good food, pleasant service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easily accessible, plenty of free parking, overlooking old town about 1 km away. 3rd floor room excellent view. Firm but comfortable bed, large balcony, mini bar, bath, separate shower. Staff very helpful. Only had coffee in morning (which was gratis) but breakfast looked good and worth the extra if you're hungry. Quite a hike into Toledo, but you can cab it or drive easily, albeit parking is a nightmare in the old town. Took about 25 minutes to walk to Cathedral, but you need to be fit or take it easy! Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water, restaurant bizarre. Maintenance poor

    Spectacular position and construction. Huge comfortable rooms and balcony with unrestricted views over the city

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very very poor in our opinion. We chose this hotel for ease of parking,but regretted it. The walk along a dull, busy road for 25 minutes to reach Toledo old town threatened to spoil our trip.We certainly didn't want to repeat it several times a day, effectively confining us to our room or to driving and parking in the narrow confines of old Toledo In addition, the hotel facilities were in winter mode. The cafeteria, which would have provided an excellent public space with views, was closed from midday each day. The only other place to get a drink was the waiting area of the (empty) restaurant. We cannot recommend this hotel for a winter stay, at all. Summer may be different. In February it felt like a conference venue which didn't cater for individual travellers' needs. We were glad to leave.

    The room was a good size with a good bathroom. There were good views from the room of Toledo in the distance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice big room, I loved the shower and the tub option, nice linens and the most amazing view of Toledo. What a sight to see the sunrise and the moon over the city with a glass of wine on the balcony.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was way too warm and aircon wasnt working. The constant noise from cleani g trolleys, suitcases and people in the corridor makes hard to rest. Would benefit from some kind of soundproof doors

    Location is excellent, with amazing sights from the room. Very big and clean rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Seemingly under-staffed at this time of the year. The access to the rooms isn't great, either you have to access stairs to get to the elevators, or walk a very long distance to avoid them. There was a very big problem with a water cut the second day of our stay, which couldn't be repaired before our departure. So no use bathroom nor toilets .... but they had good commercial sense by not charging us the room for the second night. The house restaurant is very limited in space and very medium in food choice and quality.

    The rooms and bathrooms are very nice and well equipped. The location and views are also excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arriving late at night, the hotel sign was not very well illuminated at the entrance to the main drive.

    Very comfortable bed. Excellent dinner in restaurant after late arrival.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Temperature of shower water fluctuated Heating could not be turned down from the room, the room was boiling No small water bottle in the room

    Location good Room spacious Balcony nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s the worst hotel I have stayed in for the last several years and I do travel a lot. 5 stars they say it has must be a joke. If they will ever fix it properly may be it will deserve 4 stars. The hotel is very badly maintained. Everything is very old and either broken or badly fixed or just looks terrible. Bathroom, lights, windows, beds, everything is old, looks and feels terrible. If you choose any 4 stars hotel in Toledo your will get a better conditions then here. The only really nice thing is a view.

    The view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air in the room seamed to be very dry. The temperature is nice and comfortable, but we feel that the air is just too dry. It is not a major issue, just a little bit annoying.

    We got an extra large bed in a great room on the ground floor with access to the hotel's gardens with a spectacular view of Toledo. Bed was very comfortable, breakfast was good. We just keep coming back every year. What can I say?

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the room was tidy the painting was poorly done The ;minibar' just had one or two of different things not two of everything as befits a double room , no invoice for the minibar and the crisps were out of date. The corridors to the rooms were like ;hamster tunnels; and were cold. The breakfast room was the nicest room in the hotel .....it closed at 12pm!!! By far the nicest room and totally underused. The dining room and 'so called bar' was horrible , absolutely no atmosphere at all, the bar area was just a few tables at the top of the room next to a large screen tv , and a sofa and a couple of seats in the corner .

    The room was a good size , the hotel is in a good position with views of the town of Toledo . The staff were all very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No light above the bathtub. Matress was very hard. Bad smell from tubes in bathroom Breakfast was very basic, not what you expect in a 5 star hotel. There was no coffee nor tea in the room itself. No slippers. So this is overall not a 5 star hotel but a 3 star hotel because of the above.

    It was very calm. Nice building mix of old and new. Amenity kit

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    The hotel is on a hill above the city and the view is fabulous both at night and during the day. The room was spacious with a bed and bowl for our dog. The bathroom was large and luxurious. The whole experience was beyond our expectations we were extremely pleased. Breakfast was tremendous with everything you could want from cereal through fruits, cheese, to cooked meats, eggs This hotel is excellent and I would recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere to stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    could have had a kettle !

    Everything, the room, the view, comfort of beds , bathroom , all excellent, especially for pets , the room was on ground floor , with sliding patio door to let the dog straight on to the lawn , superb

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff appear to be the bare minimum and generally pleasant but ineffective. We experienced no hot water on both nights of our stay and the receptionist was unhelpful except to pass out the name cards of supervisory staff who were not present. On checkout (Saturday morning after 9am) I asked to see the manager as I was not happy paying the full price. No manager. Receptionist sympathized, retained my bill and said they would be in touch. No communication and the hotel just docked my card. They very wrongly maintain we left without saying anything. Poor.

    The room was large with a view of the city, the design of the hotel allows for views from almost anywhere. Reception is at the top with all the rooms in terraces below. The bed was comfortable and the location generally quiet except for when a bus tour is in and there is noise. The breakfast was good, buffet style with a fair selection of meats, pastries and breads. The facilities were good until they go wrong!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Always stay here on UK to Marbella trip. So grand for the price, such a good location. Sit on the terrace see the Citidel lights... Staff good, My 2 dogs welcome. All great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it Seemed that the hotel was partly closed for winter.

    The building is quite spectacular with great views over the city. The beautiful lounge was locked closed, the main bar was locked closed, the main restaurant was locked closed, leaving just one very small bar restaurant available, the place is a bit of a maze with no signs nor directions so a lot of time trying to find our way around the very strange layout of the hotel.. we left a bit disappointed !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public areas are without charme - this is a good four star but not a five star hotel. Without car probably not to be recommended.

    Nice location with excellent view towards the old town but still nearby. Rooms are spacious with nice balkony

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wobbly bed with broken leg, leaking sink, not repaired after reporting. Had to go in corridor to connect to wifi. No coffee/tea maker. Restaurant in hotel: No atmosphere, poor quality food and very overpriced. We arrived early evening and finding a restaurant open at night in Toledo is actually not that easy, so used the hotel. A pre-made sandwich from the gas station at the hotel entrance and eaten on our balcony would have saved 60 of our 70 Euro bill and gotten a better dinner experience.

    Quiet hotel with location just outside town and free parking on site, combined with a great view of Toledo historic district. Nice balcony and grounds. Staff at desk very friendly (but ultimately did not get som problems resolved). Good sized safe for laptop, etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not great.....scrambled eggs not nice and bacon didn’t looked cooked at all.

    Checked in by Lucia and she made us feel very welcome. Later when we wanted to book a further night and they had no vacancies, she rung another hotel and arranged another night accommodation for us. Above and beyond for us which is not often seen. We had dinner in the cafe and drinks at the bar. Excellent service and meal and even able to manage gluten free bread for our steak which was cooked perfectly. The rooms are huge with beautiful views from the balconies across the city. Beds very comfortable and shower wonderful. Parking is onsite and easy to find. Breakfast was ok but not as great as we have had so the reason why I marked down. Other than that it was exceptional and would have loved to stay a second night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound proofing perhaps the weakest point.

    Great location with views over the old city. Excellent sized room. VG bathroom . Better lighting than most. Why is the lighting so poor in most rooms it is impossible to read.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is perfectly located, nice designed, rooms are very comfortable with awasome view of the Toledo old city on the hill. Breakfast was perfect, parking place just at the building. It is pity we stayed only 1 night....

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great location, easy to find and very convenient to visit and explore Toledo old town. We had dinner in the hotel which was good and plentiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean. One shampoo has got other people's hair. Socket of the hairdryer came off the wall and some the others too. One hairdryer's button is not there .... the management is not good. The restaurant people is not friendly and good not good either.

    Like the view and size of the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would love to know when and how this hotel was graded as a 5 star hotel? How is the process carried out and more importantly by whom?. Having travelled and stayed in many fabulous 5 star hotels the only thing 5 star about this awful hotel are the prices they charge. It would just about make a very reserved 3 on our list. Having arrived after a long drive - I wanted to relax in the bath before going out for dinner in Toledo. No hot water in the room, A plumber tried for an hour on a Saturday evening to rectify the problem to no avail. At 9pm I was offered another room after standing in reception and asking for a solution, the guy on reception was hopeless. By 9.15 we cancelled our dinner in Toledo because of the situation and asked if they had a light dinner on sight, The cafeteria which is also the restaurant very confusing, apart from breakfast when the cafeteria is the cafeteria and not the restaurant - you get my drift, We had chicken nuggets and chips 12.50 each - awful- no condiments on the tables, worn out chairs, filthy windows, unhelpful waiters, etc. Breakfast - well if you like paying 17.00 euro's for plastic looking scrambled eggs good look. I did raise my concerns - but again to no avail. No facilities in the room for making a drink, not even a complementary bottle of water. So if you like the look of burgundy window frames, concrete slab corridors, worn out furniture, poor lighting on the corridors - poor service - and being ripped off this is the place. Dingy, dated, more hostel than hotel simply awful. Not one person asked if we had enjoyed our stay - I wonder why? Oh and before I forget the heating was on all night at 28 degrees and wouldn't turn off - fortunately the weather was cool so we left the patio window open all night, couldn't face asking at reception!

    Leaving.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Tea Room was not entirely eady to locate as approach was darkened and it appeared closed

    View from private patio. Driving into property was like driving into a Frank Lloyd Wright development.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had not received the booking from booking.com and we arrived quite late. Fortunately they had a room available - the presidential suite! The staff couldn’t have been more helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Cigarral el Bosque traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: