Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sercotel Hotel Cortijo Santa Cruz 4 stars

Carretera N-430, Km 113, 06700 Villanueva de la Serena, Spain

#1 of 2 hotels in Villanueva de la Serena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 414 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 17

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be nicer if there was a double bed rather than two singles beside one another. The pillows are fairly decent, but they could do with a bit more 'body'. Although the room that we stayed in was nice, the room which we stayed in the previous occassion was more quiet. In this room we could hear next door speaking and showering. Unfortunately, the hotel menu doesn't offer any good vegan, or even vegetarian, options on it's menu, so we ate elsewhere. Considering this area is popular with nature areas, it would be nice if there was more vegan options for breakfast.

    We travel to La Serena area quite a bit. This is the second time that we have stayed in this place. There is ample parking within the hotel grounds. The hotel is an old converted farmhouse and still has most of it's old charm still intact. Staff are quite friendly. Check-in was quite fast. The hotel and rooms are spotlessly clean. The bedroom is a decent size room with good-sized beds and very comfortable mattresses. The bathroom is also a good size with a fabulous powerful shower, one of the best that I've ever tried. The hotel is situated in a decent location within fairly easy reach of some of Extremadura's most beautiful and popular natural areas. There was soya milk at breakfast which was great for us, as vegans, and a good bit of fruit. After our day out touring the local area, it was nice to come back to the hotel bar to have a few drinks before retiring for the night. The barmen are quite friendly, particularly the guy on the second night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel, polite efficient staff. Every where was spotlessly clean. Large bedroom with good facilities. Good food in the café / bar in the evening and excellent breakfast. Fantastic value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a remote place. In case you want to stay more days some investigation about tourist- attractions in the area has to be investigated

    When your travel-itinerary brings you along the N-430 and as long as understand that km113 is exit 113 on the same road and not need to drive to Villaneuva de la Serena, it is easy to find and this is the perfect place to stay one night. The building is like a Monasty. Everything is of high standard, the bed , the linnen, the bathroom, the large swimming pools with work-out place-in the season and the breakfast. All this for a price-quality ratio better to none. This was our second visit and we will come back even if we have to make a detour.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I specifically booked this hotel for the swimming pool but when asked about it at reception I was told it was closed until the following week... Very disappointing.

    Nice, comfortable, clean room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the pool and all the advertised facilities were closed.

    Set in grounds away from the road, Excellent food welcoming staff. comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel could be better sign-posted from the main road. Even though it is fairly easy to find, and see (from the main road), there is no clear sign to say that you are at the correct place. Thankfully, I knew that it was the right place. Something that didn't really bother us too much, but it would have been nice, was the room had two single beds instead of a double bed. Unfortunately the TV's are locked to any kind of change. I can understand this for noise levels, etc. But it would have made our stay a bit more comfortable if we were able to change programs into their original language so both could understood. The restaurant-cum-bar looks like a pleasant place to eat in. However, unfortunately there were no vegetarian or vegan options on the menu, so we had to go elsewhere to eat. In a place that relies highly on birdwatchers and nature-lovers, you'd expect that even one decent vegan option would be available on the menu.

    The hotel is conveniently located just off the N-430, a few kilometres outside of Villanueva de la Serena. It is fairly easy hotel to find. For us, this was the perfect location to investigate the surrounding rich wildlife areas. Check-in was very fast and friendly. All the staff that we came across at the hotel seemed quite nice, particularly the male receptionist working nights. He done his best to help make our stay a bit more pleasant. The hotel is a lovely old 'cortijo' (farm ranch) building with lovely wooden beams on the ceiling and tastefully decorated, keeping with the style of the building. The rooms are a decent size with nearly all of what you need for your stay. There is plenty of storage in the room. The beds are very comfortable, not too hard or too soft. We slept very well here, perhaps the best we have slept in any hotel. The bathroom is a good size with a wonderful shower. It has great power - lovely and refreshing. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean by the cleaning staff. They do their work very well. As they clean other rooms, they respect the wishes of customers who like to lie-in late, keeping their noise levels to a very low level. Very professional. Even for me, a very light sleeper, I didn't hear them once and even managed to get a nice lie-in every day we were there. Also, after a long day travelling around, it was nice to come back to the hotel to sit out and have a few drinks in the hotel's pleasant bar.....and then return to our nicely cleaned room (even though we left it 'late'). We enjoyed this place so much, and were sleeping so well, that we decided instead to use the hotel as our base and stay an extra two nights (instead of moving on to another destination as previously planned). As regular visitors to Extremadura, we will definitely be staying here again. Enjoyed it very much.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really convenient near the motorway but no noise and really suprisingly good. Comfortable room excellent meal in the 'cafeteria '. Good choice at breakfast although you had to buy orange juice. Great value for the money we would definitely use it again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    La wifi funciona regular.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel

    Crap

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is very well constructed and furnished.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent facilities, great food, extremely helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well located for our touring trip. Great facilities and excellent staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La piscina y el restaurante

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the location. 40 mins - 1hr drive to all interesting places in Extremadura (Guadalupe, Trujillo, Merida, Caceres...)

    nice big rooms nice facilities (swimming pool, tennis courts, golf, good cafeteria, nice terrasse) helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cafeteria open long hours with good range of meals. Decent buffet breakfast. Ample parking. Impressive building.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No other restaurants within walking distance

    Restaurant food was excellent

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendliness of staff.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 17

Browse Sercotel Hotel Cortijo Santa Cruz traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: