Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Jaume I 1 stars

Jaume I, 11, Ciutat Vella, 08002 Barcelona, Spain

Review score

Based on 847 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    Very good location, close to many attractions and metros
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small, but was okay It needs a bit more thorough cleaning as I found previous visitor’s dried daily contact lenses on the bedside cabinet!!!

    Very good location, close to many attractions and metros Plenty of hot water

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff not helpful when check in n booked 2 rooms for me my husband n mother in law. Mother in law was put on 3 rd floor n we was on 1st. Lady at check in couldn't do anything. People smoking in hotel. Noisy outside and guests noisy. Bed uncomfortable

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is great. The building is very secure. The rooms have a terrace that overlooks a really cute street. There is no AC but there is a powerful fan so we did not miss it (around 80 degrees F during the day). Great value for your money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location. Jaume Station is 1 min walk. Stores around, eating options around. 10 mins walk to the Port. Tip: Buy all day barcelona pass just 10 Euros for a day. Caution : Beaware of pick pocket in the Metro

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were very friendly, the beds were comfortable, the room was cleaned every day of our stay and new beddings and towels were put. The location is absolutely brilliant and the metro was just 2 minute walk from the hotel. Absolutely recommend if you are visiting Barcelona and want to be at a top location!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    Property was in a excellent location, close to plaza Jaume...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bad points of the hotel were the internet that we had constant trouble connecting with and more importantly the lack of an air conditioner. We went in the middle of summer and we really struggled with the heat, it was cooler sitting on the verandah than being in the room.

    Property was in a excellent location, close to plaza Jaume and all the major things in town, as well as the metro. The hotel was clean and suitable for the price

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.0
    Dark, hot, noisy - really uncomfortable, yet in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was a terribble and claustrophobic "dungeon" with almost no light. The adverted air-conditioning was actually a ventilator, which wasn't sufficient for the Spanish heat. The windows offered a splendid view of the houses' adjacent walls. The darkness and heat was accompanied by an unbearable noise from other hotel visitors and terrible bed. Really unpleasant place to sleep at, especially at given price.

    The location is great, in the very center of the city, with a vast array from nearby bars and restaurants to choose from. But that was the only good thing about this apartment. :(

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Place for people who want to tour whole Barcelona and need place to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    At the night is a little bit noisy (cars, motorbikes).

    Reception desk opened 24h; localization in center of Barcelona; close to metro station, 25 minutes to beach by walk; free WiFi.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Good budget location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi connection itself was fast, but we had to reconnect every time we left the hotel and came back, and there were sometimes issues with this process and our devices kept reporting an 'unsafe' connection.

    The ceiling was a huge plus considering the heat. The location of the hotel in the Gothic district is ideal as it's very close to many beautiful landmarks as well as being around 100 meters away from a metro station. The room was small but neat and had a little balcony which was also a lovely addition.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely safe hotel - fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Barcelona in the summer needs an air conditioned room :-) My mistake !

    Fantastic location, friendly helpful staff, super clean room, awesome veiw , great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    3.3
    Horrific experience and won’t recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room allocated wasn’t anything close to what I booked, the receptionist wasn’t helpful at all, even after calling booking.com to explain my experience and request for room change. That room 105/106 shouldn’t be made available for booking since there is no ventilation, poor lighting since the fan below the lights. I requested room change as per pictures on their listing but that wasn’t granted and no refund. Was a horrible experience and wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone I know.

    Just the location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.8
    It was OKAY, but would not go back there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Even though we booked a balcony room from the beginning, we were given a room with flickering lights, poor working air-conditioner with a window facing a wall... (it felt like a prison cell room) 2. When we complained about the room they told us we have to stay there for at least one night because there were no other rooms available... They told us to come back next day 12 at noon, which we did... As expected there was another issue! The receptionists started reassuring us that we lied about the time of getting a new room (different day, different receptionist)!!! And when we told her that we are getting ANGRY already with all those mistakes she started fighting back - this is NOT a service. At least apologise for the mistake and we can figure something out, but do not ever talk like this to customers!!! 3. After 1000 of discussions we finally got the room we booked, which was at least bigger, nicer and had the balcony we paid for!

    The balcony of the room was cute.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.2
    Homeless people on the streets of San Francisco have better accomodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    UNSAFE!!! Room could not be secured and practically no creature comforts - totally austere! Anybody (literally "anybody") inside the hotel could access our room through the common area deck and walk right into the room day or night via the 15 foot windows that could not be secured. Traveling with my wife and 2 daughters, I checked out first thing in the morning knowing I would forfeit my prepaid room fees. I wish I could say the night time drug-related fights outside the hotel or the screaming drivers of noisy delivery trucks woke us up. But the reality is we could not sleep as there was no air conditioning -- it was dramatically cooler outside. It was my oversight as I did not notice AC was not addressed on the ad. But even the bathtub was only usable by people under 3 feet tall . . . No complimentary soap bottles as they use sample packets to save money. And only 2 towels for a room with 4 people? Give me a break! I learned immediately the reason they have a nonrefundable advance payment requirement: Nobody in their right mind would stay at this hotel as it is clearly designed to prey upon unsuspecting tourists.

    There was a lovely painting on the ceiling and the staff was as helpful as they could possibly be.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    2.9
    For the price we paid I think it was absolutely a rip off!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning, the street was so noisy through the night and the room was tiny with a tiny bathroom with smelly drains.

    The location in Barcelona was handy for sight seeing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.3
    Price is good for center of Barcelona but there are some bad sides. You choose your priorities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I already wrote about noise during the night. I don't have problem with sleeping but imagine that you passed out after whole day walking around city and you can't even close your eyes because of shouting and yelling all the time. So think about it during summer especially. And there is no AC in room, add +30 degree in the room and noise outside, it was really loooong night.

    Location, location, location. It is good and bad thing about this hotel. Only few minutes from La Rambla which is great but the bad side is the noise during the night. It is really basic room but clean and you have private bathroom and clean sheets.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we there is an uninvited friend that comes over to play with us during the night in the bathroom, his name was cucaracha.

    Perfect location, friendly and helpful staff. It was a bit noisy but it’s totally acceptable when you stay in the very city center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Great sleep, friendly staff.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room looked like a dark prison cell, the windows offered no view (unless a wall is considered a view), it felt like a basement even though it was on the second floor.

    The bed and the pillow were great. Cleanliness in the whole hotel and friendly staff. Flat TV with remote. Free WIFI internet. Location in the middle of Barcelona.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location and friendly staff. Better cooling and wifi would have made this stay a 10/10 rating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need better cooling for such a hot city. As there was only a fan we left the doors open which made the room quite noisy and we woke up early because of the sun. The wifi connection also wasn’t great but did improve in our last few days.

    Beds were comfy. Shower pressure was good. The new fan installed during our stay was an improvement for cooling but an AC would be even better. The staff were super friendly and it was in a really good location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.3
    Hotel Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night we got a room with the balcony on the street and it was very loud! If I would close the balcony door, I couldn't sleep cause it was too hot. Many things were even cheap, broken or missing. I has to fix the bed cause otherwise I was risking to fall down. After complaints, we got a new room which was much better, but a bit smelly. No clima!!

    I think that the hotel has great potential since it'a in a good location. The staff was very nice! The owner needs to invest some money in the hotel first cause it has potential, otherwise it will turn into a horror show.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel for a reasonable price with friendly staff and great localisation!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very basic but if you are in Barcelona, you will not spend time in a hotel, for sure. Rooms big enough, clean, a bit noisy street life but... friendly and helpful staff. Great localisation in the middle if the old town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Good sized rooms. Good beds. Friendly staff. Good price. Great to see the street life from the room's balcony. In summer lot of noise coming from the streets as you would expect so take your earplugs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Location was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard beds. Some people could smoke in their rooms and triggered fire alarm 3 times through out the night. It was only one night but when you have to evacuate in the middle of the night ....there should be no smoking in the rooms allowed in my opinion.

    Location was perfect Clean Staff friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting in room, but not an issue!

    Excellent location, basic hotel but is all you need for being right in the mix of everything, decent bed and shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.0
    Convenient location. Ok prices. Uncomfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A.C.. fan is so slow at high speed. Beds are typical hard mattresses throughout EU hotels.

    No A.C.. Fan is so slow even at high speed. Be ready to be hot during summer vacation. Convenient to many places as it sits centrally to all most tourist sites.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been a bit bigger as it was a bit cramped, but we’ve stayed here before and the other room was bigger so it just depends what you get.

    Location is amazing, right in the gothic quarter, not far from the beach, close to Placa Catalunya for getting around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 5 rooms. Some rooms were poorly ventilated. The noise from people walking along the street can be very disturbing if you wish to get a good night sleep. No air conditioning. Fan was available.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    4.2
    Uncomfortable, not valuable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this hotel is disaster, the staff is good, the room is dirty, uncomfortable.

    this hotel is disaster, the staff is good, the room is dirty, uncomfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    A clean, well-run basic hotel in a good location and excellent as a base for exploring the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apart from the lack of a hair dryer, I had everything I needed.

    This is located on a busy street near the Jaume metro station. It is very good as a base from which to explore the city and easy to reach many of the places of interest. It is well-run and very secure, with 24-hour reception desk attendant making sure that there are no unwanted visitors. The staff were friendly, the room was clean and with all the basic facilities. There is a large room on the second floor that you could use as a lounge.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Close to LaRamblas and center.
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner. Very noisy street at night. No frills. Would not stay for an extended amount of time.

    Close to LaRamblas and center. Good place to sleep at a reasonable rate for a short stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Between cleanliness, location and value for the money...you can't beat this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower head pointed to the left rather than straight...and couldn't be adjusted unless you wedged something in there to stop it.

    Location was second to none. Staff was incredibly friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Perfectly located but therefore nothing for light sleepers
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wad very loud especially at night, even with closed windows, there rooms are small

    great location, close to metro and so many shops, restaurants and places,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Basic but clean. Helpful, Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy area. WiFi not reliable. Bathroom clean but no bath or sink plug... we were told this was for security reasons! No toilet brush. Sachets of shampoo and bath gel but no scissors so impossible to open!

    Although the area is very noisy it is a good location to get to beach, Rambla, metro and buses. Free walking tours leave from nearby.. 20 minute walk to Pl Cataluña. Staff very helpful and friendly. Basic but clean with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    If you need a cheap accommodation closer Metro (2 min Jaume...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you need a cheap accommodation closer Metro (2 min Jaume I), closer Rambla (5 min), closer Port (10 min), this hotel is a perfect solution! 24 hours reception and professional/kind reception staff! Gracias!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic room, bathroom was large, actually looked like a disabled shower set up. Shower curtain didn't stop water getting all over the floor, shower curtain also looked a bit dated and was stained at bottom (this probably should be changed). Aside from this - we didn't mind too much, because it was central to everything we wanted and the staff were very nice. The only thing that could really make this room better would be actual windows. We had 2 but one opened up into a tiny cellar and the other wasn't a window at all - it opened up to a cupboard. So did get a bit stuffy overnight. Good for I would say no more than 2-3 nights. I assume they offer better rooms than the one we stayed in though :)

    Very good location, right near the metro and central to all districts you may want to see. Close to El Born and gothic quarter and lots of good restaurants and bars particularly. Staff were friendly Has a lift !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    3.8
    There is one positive aspect regarding this hotel, it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is horrible, I don't recommend, the rooms are very small and they look outdated. The price is huge and unjustified.

    There is one positive aspect regarding this hotel, it is well placed, not far away from the city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    A short weekend away enjoying Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room I stayed in needs a coat of paint and a deep clean, just a bit tired.

    The hotel is very well situated, it is a basic budget hotel and does this well, no frills but you are right in the middle of a good area of town, the hotel can be a little noisy with noise from other rooms, it isn't very well noise insulated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    Staff were friendly, location great, room comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bring earplugs, can hear all the noise from the busy street below as well as the hourly ringing of the cathedral bells throughout the night almost every half an hour

    Staff were friendly, location great, room comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, great staff...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wracking my brains here....the lift Was a little slow...

    Great location, super staff. Right beside Placa Sant Jaume, Handy for Barri Gothic and the Born. Great base for walking the city...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Location was brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given two singles instead of a double bed. A bit inconvenient when traveling with your spouse. Beds were very hard, not a lot of padding and could feel springs.The windows didn’t close properly and although this was nice on a hot evening, on a cold one it was quite chilli.

    Location was brilliant! Close to everything and easy to get to from airport. Staff were very friendly and helpful when it came to printing off tickets for local attractions. Held bags for us when we arrived till check in and when we checked out. Also, the additional communal area is a great idea. On our last evening we bought some snacks and wine and played cards. Nice touch!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    Hotel or Hostel ???
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    BUT it was basic rather than minimalist. Probably more student/hostel accomodation than a hotel The window in my room was frosted over - the view outside was bricks/concrete/pipes so it was not a bright/cheerful / welcoming/room. On the second morning there was no water from the hot water shower tap. Towels were super thin. To be honest I was pleased I only had 2 nights there but also to be fair it was a late booking and only a single room

    The hotel was in a great central location in the Gothic Quarter and only a few minutes from Jaume metro. The girls on reception were very friendly and cheerful - the room was clean and the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    ok place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was good. room a bit small but very clean

    good value for money. close to the beach. barely soent any time in the hotel. it was just what we needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    Did the job perfectly for a large stag do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could maybe have been slightly more helpful but nothing that affected the holiday.

    Did the job perfectly for a large stag do. Beds were comfortable, everyone managed to check in fine and great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    2.9
    Huddendous, sleepless, unwelcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and my friends travel all around the world riding bmx bikes, we haven’t yet come across a hotel so unwelcoming like this one. It almost felt discriminating. We travel with little bmx bikes and we are all respectful to hotels, I have stayed in 6 star hotels in Dubai with my bike and never had any issues, yet this one didn’t state anywhere in there policies that sporting equiptment isn’t allow in there hotel as I always do this to avoid this situation, they threatened to kick us out if we didn’t take our bikes out of our room. These bikes cost £2000 and we had 5 it’s not something you can simply lock up in a local street where crime is an issue. We had to call booking.com at which they told the hotel they had a duty of care and that again there policy doesn’t state no sporting equipment, which all off a sudden there attitude changed and said we could stay, but the point was they was going to make us homeless for something so small, The rooms are clean but expect sleepless nights due to the noise from local businesses, the windows in this hotel are pretty much non existent, I did mention this to the staff on reception but there attitude was this is a cheap hotel what do you expect? Which is a point but other hotels around the same price would offer a comfortable stay, their are other surrounding hotels with new windows and double glazing. To keep the noise to a minimum in that area. Overall, if I was you I would spend a little more money have a pleasant stay elsewhere, this ruined my holiday and 3 others. It’s just not worth it unless you are on a very tight budget.

    It was absolutely horrendous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.8
    If you just need a place to sleep in the center - it's good. If you need comfort - not the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, the photos on the site made them look much bigger. We had a "view" of a tiny back yard, and right across from us were windows of residential apartments. When in the room, we could hear all the conversation of those residents, and even them washing dishes or taking a shower! Plus, the room was very dark because the windows were facing another building.

    The location was great! A lot of attractions are in walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.4
    Convenient, quite cheap for location. One night only sort of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small & it was quite noisy. Lack of facilities. No Tea/Coffee making, no hairdryer. Bathroom was okay but all in all a very basic hotel.

    Location of hotel, friendly staff, storing of luggage before and after check in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too loud and noisy, can hear everyone outside, above and below! I had earplugs in and still heard so much noise, if you are light sleeper its not for you!

    Great location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Perfect location at a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Only down side was having to leave

    Short walk from the metro like, great street for bars and places to eat, all the staff were friendly and it was exactly what you need for a city break

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location being right in the centre, The tube station is about three minuets walk from hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No information on the local area within the lobby of the hotel, maps ect.

    The Location was brilliant and the hotel was clean but it did require up-dating and re -decorating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could be quite noisy at night due to the bars nearby and the walls aren't soundproof.

    Location was good. Staff was nice. There are coffee shops and bars nearby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    Great for a quick stay and centerlly located, accomidations were small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After a day of sightseeing I returned to the room only to find that half of my medication I brought with me had disappeared. I reported it but got no satisfaction - no manager available until Monday. Very little help other then general directions. Rooms were noise and the walls were thin.

    the location was right I the center of everything I would like in experiencing in a new place. the room was smaller then I expected but was everything I needed to get me the rest I needed after a full day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It's comfortable particularly for family, hotel location is very good, finally I'd like to say that the staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.4
    The hotel is old, the roof was leaking and there were wet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is old, the roof was leaking and there were wet place on the ceiling. It was blowing cold wind directly from the old window. When finally heating was turned on, it became terribly hot. Very disappointed by this hotel due to the other excellent reviews.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    Great location and very kind staff and useful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You hear everything around you. Even when people just talk! Very weak isolation. Didn’t have hairdryer. Windows and blinds can’t be closed easily, are kind of old. I prefer a quilt insted of a blanket because was prrety cold and uncomfortable.

    Great location and very kind staff and useful ! They are always available for their customers. Very clean rooms. I was surprised when they cleaned the room and have replaced our towels daily. I liked that we could leave our luggage even after the check-out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Basic but functional room, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi-Fi would come and go. Room faces on another building so you need to keep the shutters closed for privacy (maybe a light curtain could be installed)? Being central means that the hotel can be quite noisy, especially during weekends.

    Room was quite basic but functional, with a very confortable bed. Nice shower over bath with (very!) hot water. The location is perfect in the center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    Good choice for budget travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower pressure and temperature were not consistent. A lot of water escaped the awkward shower curtain onto the floor no matter what I did (bit annoying having to wring out the floor towel every morning). Walls are super thin and the room was quite warm (1 March).

    Could not be better located! I found the bed comfortable and the room itself perfectly adequate. WiFi worked fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Brilliant reception staff, brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not impressed to find out the cleaners have went through my stuff and god knows what they done with my toothbrush also my dirty clothes and underwear were moved from my suitcase. After this I asked for my room not to be cleaned again

    The location was fab. Right in the centre walking distance from everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    4.6
    Would never recommend this hotel to anyone actually wanting to sleep while visiting Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was incredibly loud! The noise from the street was unbearable Friday night and lasted until 4:45am on Saturday morning. People were talking, yelling, singing, lots of car traffic to include street sweeper at 2am, bottles being broken, the metal doors on the store fronts repeatedly opening and closing. The noise level was so extreme we had to buy a mini bluetooth speaker to blast a "white noise app" from my iphone in an attempt to drown out the street noise the next few nights. The bed was the worst bed I've ever slept on in my life and my back is still bothering me. The wifi never worked and when it did, it kicked us off repeatedly and was incredibly slow. The shower water fluctuated greatly, from near scalding to quite cold. It fluctuated so much, I didn't let my kids bathe while we were there for fear they might get burned.

    Location was great if you can ignore everything else that's wrong with this hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    nice, cheap budget hotel perfect for short stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was overlooking side street and so it was very noisy until 3/4 am in the morning.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and we bought our Camp Nou and Segrada Familia tickets from the hotel. This is a budget hotel and for the price of £20 per night its great. It is located in a perfect area with many shops and supermarkets surrounding it and is a ten minute walk to La Rambla. The local town hall square is just up the road and during our stay the festival of Santa Eulalia was being celebrated. It was lovely to see families and tourists enjoying the shows put on in the main square by the municipality. There is great juice shop next door and coffee shop with fabulous gelatos. We also had breakfast at the coffee shop around the corner on the next street and I thoroughly enjoyed their Churros and crepes! the only downside to the hotel is that the side where our room was (206) was directly overlooking the side street and this meant that it was very noisy all night. We only stayed 3 nights at the hotel and so it was just about ok for us but next time we would request for a room on the other side as it wouldn't be so noisy then. all in all Barcelona was fabulous and we will be going again hopefully to see Barcelona play a home match!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.0
    I will not come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in lasted about 15 minutes,the walls between rooms are very thin, the room I have stayed in smelled bad, the walls of the staircase were stained and and the paint was missing. Yes,it is a 1 star hotel, but the rating is very deceiving. If you expect a nice,clean hotel, this is not it.

    Yes,the location is very good,but this is not enough to have such high rating.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.8
    If you just want somewere to sleep then this could be the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are zero facilities in the hotel - so no breakfast to be had. The WIFI is very poor. The shower was miniscule and variable in temperature. There were no TV remotes available - they are kept behind the Reception desk.

    The location in the heart of the Gothic Quarter. Relatively cheap but very clean. There are a few bars within a 200 metres of the hotel and even more of the rip-off variety on La Rambla which is 10 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.9
    I loved the location was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property didn’t quite look like it was shown in the booking website. The hot shower was slightly funny going from hot to cold and vice versa. The noise was insane to sleep but then I guess it was because of the carnival. The hotel staff and cleaning team is amazing but the facilities weren’t as shown in the website.

    I loved the location was amazing!!! It’s easy to get to anywhere, from train station, restaurant, taxis and shops. The staff was brilliant very helpful and good people always being nice and caring! I loved my stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Recommend 110%
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Amazing hotel! It was close by to the ramblas, the port and public transportation. As soon as you leave the hotel you are sorrounded by a lot of bars and restaurants, the night live is great and the options endless. The staff was always so amazing, they gave us suggestions on where to go, where to eat, they were kind and friendly. They even let us leave our bagd with them the next day after check out and they let us hang out in the living room on the second floor before we had to leave for our flight (way past check out time). The room was super cute all traditional spaniard style with the high ceiling and decor and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.1
    Good location. Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We think that there was not enough light in our room. Our room have no window. But it's fine if you only just want a place to have a deep sleep. Reception area was limited.

    Great location. Near Jaume Metro station. 600meter walk to La Rambla. Feel comfortable walking near La Rambla at night with our hotel near by. Have many restaurants and quick bite pizza all the way there. Near many tourist attractions in walking distance. Very friendly and helpful staff. They can recommend you everything, attractions, big events, what and where to eat.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.8
    Barcelona is an amazing city and Hotel Jaume I is a good base to exploring this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was there in January, so winter and it was really hot in the room. I can imagine how during summer will be. This is very old building in the middle of Barri Gothic and don't expect there modern standards. I don't mind about noise, but you will hear church bells every hour and noise from the street - people, music, cars etc. But good location in the middle of the city, comes with this. I can't complain, I did know where I go. So ... if you don't like noise , choose hotel outside the city and ... travel ages to see market square ;)

    Very nice staff! Very good housekeeping service! Reception open 24 hours. And amazing location!- It's close everywhere! 4 minutes to Cathedral, 2 minutes to Carrer del Bisbe. In the middle of Gothic Quarter. Walking distance to beach - Barcelona and to Port Vell. From the window you can see tube station- Jaume I. Everything is so close!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Very charming, clean, good staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very comfortable and I loved the view from the balcony. It's In a fantastic location very close to the metro, the staff were fantastic. I really enjoyed it, it was very charming and felt very authentically Catalan/ spanish.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    The location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and bedding was not comfortable. The blankets provided seemed to be the kind that are not washed or sanitized before use by each guest. I would recommend bringing your own towels and we also had to purchase a soap bar as none was provided by the hotel. We took our own toothpaste and toothbrushes too. The street noise and nearby church bells at night may disturb some but after a tiring day, we didn't have much trouble sleeping.

    The location was fantastic. It was a good sized room for two adults and two children. It was an ideal location to explore the city sights by foot or by metro. The metro stop was literally 3 minutes away and the main rambla street and shopping streets like Garcia were also accessible by foot. We went as far as the waterfront on foot with two kids! Loads of nice places to eat near the hotel. The hotel and rooms are very basic and not all corridors and facilities look clean or well kept but it's still good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    4.2
    Good location, poor quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dark,warm and had a laundry shoot leading from an opening directly into our room.the only window was in the bathroom.there was a lot of noise through the bathroom, above us and through the window.

    The hotel was perfectly located in the Gothic quarter.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    Not really clean, but good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place didn’t really looked clean, a fact that we confirmed when we found a dead cockroach in the bathroom. The room was poorly lit and it just had one small window, that didn’t really allowed air or light to come in. We just stayed for one night so everything was bearable but wouldn’t like to stay there for a long time.

    The location is really good. It’s really close to la Rambla and el barrio gótico. The staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.8
    Good just for sleeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were woken up at 11am for us to leave although the time to leave was at 12am. The room had a really bad smell because of the toilets, we had to leave the window open. Communication was bad, we hadn’t been told that we had to leave our keys at the hotel at all times. Only on our last day and we still don’t understand. The only good thing is it’s location but if you’re planning to come by car, don’t either bother. There is no where to park.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Good for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet coverage varies across the floor. Some rooms have extremely small bathrooms. Some rooms do not have a balcony and thr window opens to the water pipes pit. Better keep them closed

    Location. Staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.1
    The position was perfect near the metro station and walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street was very noisy so it has been difficult try to sleep in the morning

    The position was perfect near the metro station and walking distance to La Rambla

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, clean rooms and friendly, clean and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One night was noisy but due to a renovation across the street otherwise no problem.

    Staff were very informative, helpful when planning trips, excellent wifi. Rooms were adequate no tea or coffee making facilities but such a good location that it wasn't necessary. Lovely outlook onto street with old style wooden shutters that kept the light out. Rooms cleaned and fresh towels provided daily. It's not five star but it is clean, friendly and in a fantastic location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    The location is amazing, just in the heart of the Gothic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We did not like the very noisy streets, it was very annoying. I think, that hotel can not change the windows because of the architecture, but if there is anything that can be done about it, plese do it. I slept with the headphones, or I had to drink a bottle of wine before to fall asleep :)

    The location is amazing, just in the heart of the Gothic part of Barcelona. Nearby restaurants, non stop shops, public transportation stops, very easy to walk around to Sagrda Familia, Sea or all the main plazas.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.8
    Cozy room with perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No potable water availability-we bought from supermarket. No electric kettle for hot drinking water. No tea/coffee kits. Bed is just enough for 2 people.

    Best location. A minute’s walk from metro station and la Rambla. Right at the heart of the city. The staff are delightful and very helpful -where & how to go, where to eat, what to eat and everything else.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    Great value for money on excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of the hotel is excellent, the staff are very polite and friendly, they will give you all the information you need about the city. The great thing is that you have a spacious room for your luggage if you have transportation after 12:00. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Jaume I traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: