Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mirador de La Franca 4 stars

Playa de La Franca, 33590 La Franca, Spain

#1 of 6 hotels in La Franca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 355 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Sound lodgins in an exceptional location. A must if you visit Asturias.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It rained a bit but that's part of the charm. On the second day in the afternoon one staff lady at reception had a bit of an attitude upon a simple request and was despondent, almost rude. Maybe she had a bad day but it spoiled the caring and dedicated labour of all her colleagues. Pity!

    The hotel location, logistics and environ are like paradise. Outstanding! Marvelous beach surrounded by gorgeous mountains in a splendid region. The Asturian coast is indeed a treasure!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Location was Idylic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Disappointed that the restaurant wasn’t open the night we were there as there was a wedding on. But it added to the atmosphere.

    The position of this hotel was perfect, right on the beach with the most amazing view. Like being in paradise. If you stay here you must have a room with a sea view. The beach is stunning. The room was spacious and clean with a very comfy bed. The bar area and lounges are beautiful and there was a great choice of breakfast. Would recommend you have breakfast here otherwise might struggle to find somewhere. Definitely need a car if staying here but a wonderful restful place in the most beautiful setting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Gorgeous location, relaxing sojourn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scrambled eggs were awful but the rest of breakfast was great.

    Gorgeous view over beach. Excellent dinner at restaurant. Great public rooms for relaxing and looking out to sea.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite noisy bedrooms with no soundproofing from the adjoining rooms. Awoken both mornings at 6am by a dog barking incessantly and then noisy people slamming doors and talking loudly with complete disregard for guests. (staff I think?)

    Fantastic location!!!! Very good food. Clean and comfortable (if noisy!) bedrooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.3
    Rude reception staff ruined what would have been a lovely experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt the room was smaller than we had booked as the triple we had booked was clearly a double which we had to squeeze into with two young children. This could have been a misunderstanding between booking.com and the hotel so I understand and the hotel owners (Arcea group) reimbursed us later after we mailed them and were very nice indeed. However the lady at reception when we questioned it at the time was down right rude. The hotel was fully booked and therefore no immediate resolution was available however her attitude towards us was bordering on insulting.

    The hotel is kept to a very high standard and the views from the restaurant are beautiful. It is situated at the forefront of a small but beautiful bay and it is minutes from room to beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic location on beautiful beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fantastic location on beautiful beach. With 2 connected rooms great with 3 kids although room is a bit small for 3 beds. Hotel feels like a home, nicely decorated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    the air conditioning didn't work and there wasn't even a fan to alleviate the heat. The staff could only tell me that the problem will be addressed the day after,,, when I left!

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Stayed here several times and hope to return again - Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    I've stayed at this Hotel several times, always pleased with accommodation, food and facilities. Now that it has been renovated it's even better and in a secluded location with its own Beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    The beach, the beach, the beach, the beach and the wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service acts a little unprofessional. The check at the restaurant didn't showed the prices!!!

    The beach, the beach, the beach, the beach and the wonderful environment. The hotel was just updated and all looked brand new

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    All we wanted from our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Watch the salt content of the food

    The location is superb if you enjoy walking on the beach. Beware the circular route when the tide is very adventurous and not for the faint-hearted. The staff were excellent and spoke excellent English although some waitress no staff spoke limited English we had some fun and enjoyed some self-help tutorials to improve our pronunciation:). Rooms were clean, The Seaview was amazing and all in all it was all we wanted for our stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.1
    Didn't deliver on expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning didn't work. I wasn't the only one with this problem. Less than half of the restaurant was open. Stressed staff and forgettable food resulted.

    breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.9
    Fabulous La Franca!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little expensive for our budget but it was our last night so we splashed out. I need to improve my Spanish as we found it difficult ordering food and wine because the staff did not speak English. That's not their fault, though. Just be prepared. I hope we can visit again sometime.

    It was lovely to return to La Franca, 20 years after our first visit. The hotel has been extended and modernised. It has lost some of it's charm but it is a lovely hotel and the location is just fantastic. Right on the beach with an amazing view of the sea, a bit too cold in April for us to paddle!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    We liked it so much we stayed there on our return to Santander. Paradise at the end of September.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All that is missing is balconies overlooking the beach but it is only a few steps down to the most wonderful sand.

    The location, peace, comfortable room. Will be even better when they refurbish next year (though the room we stayed in was A1 in every regard).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice selection plus scrambled eggs bacon. The veiw is amazing from my window the beach was 5 meters away. Lovly quite beach White sands. Wish I could of stayed longer. Definitely going back

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful location, but a bit worn down rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Attention to detail and cleanliness. I don't like to look for a remote control or have to go to reception and remind them that I should have one. But the biggest issue was that it wasn't very clean. Bathroom was OK (apart from a very worn down toilet seat), but bedroom had multiple issues - walls had dirty spots, lamps were very dirty - it didn't make us feel very welcome. But luckily we spent a very short time in the room, so it was a huge problem

    The best thing about this hotel is it's location - it's literally on the beach. When the tide is low you can take a beautiful hike down the beach. The second bets thing was the common spaces - the design is great, authentic and when put together with the views outside the window - it was perfect

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    6.7
    Fab destination... But needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location sells this hotel. Its way out of date not the most comfortable. If your looking for a modern hotel this isn't the place for you. In need of a major refurbishment, but staying that the hotel was full so they probably think there is no need to refurbish. But it really would benefit from it and then more could be charged. The lack of air conditioning was a bit of an issue. As it is such a popular area it can be noisey so having the window open to try and cool down was somewhat loud. Your expected to hand your key in when you go out, however when we got back a key was missing. The management opened the door with the master key. When we went in the key was on the bed?!?! All very strange as we could remember handing it in. When we challenged them they then decided that they couldn't understand English. Luckily nothing was missing from the room. The hotel is over 3 floors so it can be a challenge for the less mobile and getting your luggage on the lower floor. Also the rooms over looking the beach have large opening windows, this could be an issue if you have young children as there is no guard to stop them climbing out.

    The location of the hotel is absolutely amazing couldn't ask for a better setting.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Splendid beach in a cove
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced for the time of year

    Splendid beach in a cove

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellant for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choice of bar food and lighter meals

    Peaceful and quiet location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful beach
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location on the beach, beautiful hotel, very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location on the beach, beautiful hotel, very nice staff, great food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful beach , nice rooms, we go every year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful beach , nice rooms, we go every year

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Fantastique
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing just great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Perfect for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Restaurant was extremely good value and the food excellent. The location is stunning

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Lovely layout and décor of communal ares

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.7
    you have 1 min from the bed to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed was really awful (small and not comfy at all)

    you have 1 min from the bed to the beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Everything is More than excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is More than excellent!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    An amazing hotel right on the beach, fantastic location for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An amazing hotel right on the beach, fantastic location for a quiet break

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.6
    Bedrooms and bathrooms showing a bit of wear and tear at the end of a long season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have air conditioning.

    WThe restaurant and food was excellent. A good choice on the menu.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    5.8
    probably nice if you take your entire family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    old room interior restaurant not recommended all parking space taken by beachvisitors

    great seaview from the room directly at the beach

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    One of the best beaches in the world!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best beaches in the world! Great front desk person.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    very good the location is superb all in all great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wi fi was not great all th time ,

    The breakfast was well laid out and lots of it with variety, the staff were vey friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    7.1
    Location overlooking the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Deep, very unmotorcyle friendly drainage channel running obliquely across the entrance.

    Location overlooking the beach. Good meals in the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    7.9
    Great beach hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some drain smell in our room

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    6.7
    Location and Restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room are in need of a refurbishment

    Location and Restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    7.1
    The views from the room, bar and dining rooms are fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a very quirky hotel. You will probably love it or hate it. The rooms are a throw back to the 1950s with candlewick bedspreads and an overpowering smell of damp. But everything functions and if you suspend your disbelief you might think you were in paradise.

    The views from the room, bar and dining rooms are fantastic. The beach is wonderful. The location cannot be faulted. The staff were also delightful, trying their best to please and always helpful and attentive

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.9
    this hotel is in an excellent position for the beach, which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    as we had bad weather the problem was that there wasn't anything else to do within walking distance, so great for a beach break but a bit remote

    this hotel is in an excellent position for the beach, which is a fantastic one, unfortunately for us the weather wasn't too good! Staff and food was excellent

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.5
    Lovely position in a beautiful cove, with a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Spacious room and bath room overlooking sea, but it felt a bit cold and damp throughout the stay, despite excellent weather. Nothing would dry, and the beds felt a bit damp. Rooms in the newer parts of the hotel may be better. Short of plugs!

    Lovely position in a beautiful cove, with a few cafes/restaurants within walk. Lovely lounges with old furniture, and sea views from the public rooms.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    7.1
    - Location: amazing view on an incredible beach site
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Parking lot: no spot for people staying in the hotel (nearby campers illegally park) - Booked a queen size but was provided with a twin bed (didn't ask for a change) - Noise: No soundproofing => had to sleep with earplugs

    - Location: amazing view on an incredible beach site - Staff: very friendly and accomodating

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    Superb rooms overlooking a superb beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Superb rooms overlooking a superb beach. The staff were friendly and professional. The food in the hotel restaurant was excellent. It was so wonderful to be able to walk out of the hotel directly on to the sand.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    4.6
    The waiter in the Restaurant was very friendly and the...
    • Group

    the floor in our room was really dirty .it had not been cleaned for aprox 1 month and i Dont Want to Talk about the beds..

    The waiter in the Restaurant was very friendly and the Location was Nice .

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    8.3
    The location was great and restaurant was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The mildew smell that could probably be helped by removing all carpet in rooms.

    The location was great and restaurant was wonderful!

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    9.6
    The setting is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The setting is perfect

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    7.9
    The view of the beach and the sea from the hotel was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms could be updated

    The view of the beach and the sea from the hotel was fantastic. Nicely furnished hotel

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.3
    Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful location.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    8.3
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed a little hard

    Amazing location

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Furniture and everything a bit tired but it gives the place a certain "old world" charm. A bit overpriced.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.6
    The location is fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is fabulous. The hotel is an excellent three star hotel We will return

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    7.9
    Stunning beach location and good overall facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Stunning beach location and good overall facilities. Welcoming and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    10
    great location, staff, food and value very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    great location, staff, food and value very good. Would stay again.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: