Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel 1898 4 stars

La Rambla, 109, Ciutat Vella, 08002 Barcelona, Spain

#26 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1375 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay by the Ramble in style
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No breakfast option on the terrace although this was mentioned in the hotel dictionary at the room. The breakfast staff was a bit stressed out and fussy although there was no actually rush at the breakfast room. Pool-side could a few more sunbeds to allow more guest to enjoy. The "American NYC/BBQ" theme in July was not the most suitable for this stylish, colonial hotel...

    Great location and stylish premises by the Rambla. Room was perfectly equipped with very comfortable bed and pillows with option to choose from the pillow menu. Breakfast generous and had a very nice selection of local salty and sweet delicacies. The rooftop pool and bar with a stunning view over the city are the cherry on the cake.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Great stay. Great location. Very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Did not like the electronic security card to operate the lifts - pointless.

    Large very comfortable bed. Great view directly onto La Rambla from our allocated room. Very helpful staff on reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Pool area was expensive

    The hotel is right on La Rambla in a perfect position. There is a pool and dining/drinking area on the roof top with amazing views of Barcelona although it is a bit pricey. Loved our stay there and would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Great staff in a great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Las Rambla area is very nice but a little too touristy for our preference. Bathroom shower was a bit awkward. Everything else was great and we'd highly rexommend

    Hotel is right in the heart of Las Rambla and great base from which to explore old city/gothic quarter. Also an easy 15-20 minute walk to great el Born district. Staff was excellent with awesome recommendations

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    position, room size, spa, peacfulness, cleanness, kindness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    some guests in the spa don't respect rules (but it's not an hotel's fault actually)

    position, room size, spa, peacfulness, cleanness, kindness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    4.6
    It was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were quite abrupt and asked us to move up on the roof terrace to accommodate a bigger group of people who weren’t actually staying at the hotel!

    It was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked out onto a closed courtyard as in the pictures on the site so a bit closed in but that was not a real problem.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The location was right next to Last Ramblas. Lots of local restaurants nearby if you didn't want to eat in the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel and experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    sorry, can’t think of anything specific.

    From the rooftop pool with restaurant and bar and all the great staff down to the ground level bar and reception and downstairs spa, this hotel lace was incredible and a real treat! awesome location and overall experience. Room service was good food and the cleaning staff was extremely thorough and always did a great job! highly recommend to stay at this hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Perfect location. Amazing views of this beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Every exceeding expectation

    Staff could not do enough for us. Amazing customer service. Great humour from gentleman serving us coffees in bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Location, cleanliness, terrace, lobby
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure u use safe as we have some assumptions that some money gone from the clutch that was left in the wardrobe.

    Location, cleanliness, terrace, lobby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Best Beds Ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fluctuating booking price. Initially booked, then 3 weeks later canceled and rebooked for $100/ night cheaper.

    The hotel's location is wonderful, with an efficient check-in. The staff extremely helpful in securing tickets to a show. The beds were heavenly, the best in Spain! The hotel has a certain comfortable refinement with top notch service in the bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    We loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel itself was well designed and high quality. The lobby was very inviting and the rooms were perfect. The staff was excellent. The location was excellent. We loved it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Perfect stay .perfect Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast at 24 euros per person rather expensive for family of 4.

    Stunning hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly. Location perfectly Central. Wouldnt hesitate to go there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop bar is neat and the whole area is charming. The spa area is wonderful but we were run out because it closes at 9 pm.

    Rooms are small and not so luxurious. Halls are dark.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    5 Star Hotel with a 4 Star Rating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I didn’t like about this hotel, except the fact we had to come home.

    I cannot reccomend this hotel enough! It has an excellent location, a stellar interior (with the most amazing smell by the way!), amazing, helpful, friendly staff and delicious cocktails. The rooms are bright, fresh, clean and decorated beautifully. Also to note, the beds are super comfortable. A great nights sleep is definitely guaranteed. Honestly, this hotel is worth every penny! Stay at Hotel 1898, you will not regret it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Our flight was late and we arrived to the hotel after...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our flight was late and we arrived to the hotel after midnight. Due to a celebration event the streets were closed and the taxi could not deliver us to the hotel. The hotel had closed its main entrance on la brambla and there were no lights or signs to identify the hotel. We were lost for nearly 30 minutes and then called the front desk to get explicit directions to find the hotel entrance which was a small non-light entrance in an alley way. Mind you that we were using Google maps with GPS and still could not find the entrance to the hotel. Add in the large crowds with loud speakers, m-80 firecrackers, and riot police and we were quite alarmed! The bed was really comfy, that was good lol.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    A charming boutique hotel in the heart of Barcelona a stone's throw from La Ramblas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I can think of. Everything was as expected. For those who need quiet to sleep, given the proximity to La Ramblas and that there seems to be activity there 24/7, there is a bit of noise during the night but not excessive.

    The location was excellent in the heart of the city and near La Ramblas

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful! We would certainly visit H1898 again and have already recommended it to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We chose the hotel for it's indoor gym, spa and pool only to find out after we had paid the full balance that these facilities were closed to us whilst they were being refurbished. This should have been made clear before we booked and paid. However, the hotel did apologize for this indiscretion and upgraded us free of charge to a superior bedroom.

    The location is just perfect. Situated on La Ramblas and so easy walking distance to many of the top attractions, commercial centre and beaches. The staff were ultra friendly and helpful. Our room was luxurious and the bed was heavenly. The roof top bar was fab and served delicious food and drinks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Great experience for a short stay in Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. The property met expectations.

    The ideal location and the staff speaks flawless English which makes for an easy check-in and added information experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    A luxury hotel, on the expensive side, but well worth it for its history and modern comforts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise: we could hear every hallway conversation, and were awakened by noisy hotel guests laughing and talking quite loudly at 2am, 3am... the maids were also quite loud when cleaning the hallways. As mentioned below, the tub/shower was odd to me. There was one grab bar at one end of the tub, but this was out of reach when you stand under the shower. There should be a second grab bar. Also when you stand under the rain shower, you are standing on the slanted part of the tub, where you would normally rest your back if you were taking a bath. In other words, you cannot really stand directly under the rain shower. There was a hand-held telephone-type shower also, and its cord dragged all over the tub bottom, a tripping hazard. This was not an ergonomic set-up! But it did look ultra-modern. The two armchairs looked good but were not comfortable for prolonged sitting, and could use new springs and stuffing in the seats.

    If you like architecture and history, you will love Hotel 1898. The building and its history are fascinating. Very beautiful. The location, right on Las Ramblas, couldn’t be better; we were only two blocks from Plaça Catalunya and surrounded by historical buildings on all sides. Our bedroom on the 6th floor faced the side street Pintor Fortuny, and we did not hear any street noises. The bed was one of the most comfortable in my life. Cleanliness was A1. All the hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The bathroom was ultramodern although the tub/shower was a bit odd, but worked well. It was very convenient to have both a bar and a restaurant on site (it rained on most of our 6-day stay). The breakfast buffet was outstanding, with every choice that you would expect, and more (desserts! Chocolates!); and there was a very civilized option of “Late Breakfast” from 11am to 1pm. Dinner was very delicious, but as is customary in Europe, it opened at 8pm and did not really get underway till 9pm, a bit late for our North-American jet-lagged stomachs. The food and service were excellent. The bar held events such as a live jazz band on Thursdays, offering complimentary drinks to the hotel guests. Every few days, the hotel organized free Guided Walking Tours for its guests at 6pm. We toured the Gothic area and one of our stops included complimentary chocolates. Other tours offered free drinks at one of their sister hotels along the way. Our guide was very knowledgeable. There is a heated pool on the rooftop, but we did not try it because of the weather.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    The location is excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the last 5 years. This time I made the reservations and prepaid the rooms for myself and my colleague: 2 standard rooms. Upon arrival, my colleague was upgraded to a Superior room and I was given a small room located above a Noisy alley. The bathroom was also in need of an upgrade. The room I was given was not up to the usual high standard of this hotel. As my stay was only fo 1 night I did not ask for a room change nor did I lodge a complaint with the front desk.

    The location is excellent. The roof top bar is beautiful at night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately the street was very noisy outside in the early hours with the sound of people shouting and talking. The price you pay I suppose for the excellent location.

    excellent location with lots of bars, restaurants and shops close to hand. Stunning views of the city from the rooftop bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Perfect Location & Great Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pleasant stay and good care of our baby, the atmosphere within the hotel is very pleasant and feel like a boutique hotel, The service and welcome was first class. The rooms are spacious serviced twice a day and the beds were extremely comfortable. The roof top bar with views of the city and a heated pool is a bonus & baby friendly :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Every thing was wonderful! It is one of my favorite places to stay in Barcelona. Highly recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only 2 things I can add that can be better are: 1. When I was in one of the hallways and was looking for a bathroom (there was a sign in the hall way but it was hard to find) I asked a lady from roomservice for help. She did not know where the bathroom was as well 2. Im a big fan of your breakfast buffet. At the front desk I was told my breakfast was included but when I arrived Saturday morning in the breakfast room the hostess informed me it wasent. No problem I choose to eat anyway. By the way the hostess was the most guest oriented staff you had in the breakfast room. She would eventually make a great manager! There was a new server named Diego he was very nice but you can tell that he is new and no one was helping him or teaching him, so I was sat on a table with nothing on it. Ordered eggs and went to the buffet. No silverware no napking even the eggs were served without a spoon. Witch all of this can happen sometimes . The only absolute no go was the manager lady. Too busy to reset the room instead of checking the guest tables and teaching her staff!!!! I was sitting next to there work station on a double table. She repeatedly slammed stuff on the second table (salt and pepper condiments, new table set Eccetera) I thought I was very uncomfortable and rude. Big minus. She did not even realize I never had silver ware or anything plus I was sitting in front of 3 empty plates that I even pushed to the end of the table so it’s visiable that they can be taken away.

    I was very happy with the overall experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff, very comfortable beds and pillows, rooms are...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great amount of toiletries, but it would be even better if hair conditioner was included. Breakfast was really delicious, but I still find it a bit pricey.

    Friendly staff, very comfortable beds and pillows, rooms are kept very clean and the service is amazing. Nice rooftop terrace and great mojitos in the bar downstairs. Extremely quiet inside despite being in the heart of the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in the perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was OK, what we had was nice but was a little pricey for what you can actually get.

    The staff were all so friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and the location is second to none.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.9
    Would have been lovely had the spa facilities been available.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None of the spa facilities were available. I booked this hotel because of the advertised spa facilities, but they were all out of commision. Booking.com should have displayed this fact, and I would have booked to go to another hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in friendly hotel and central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit small You have to go further afield for decent food Breakfast a little pricey

    Super friendly helpful staff Hotel puts on some cool free events - I did the walking tour Well positioned hotel Great restaurant on the corner downstairs (not part of the hotel) Rooms comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    An excellent location to enjoy all the Barcelona has to offer....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Spa and Pool were closed!

    The location was excellent, however the Spa was not in action when we were staying! The rooftop pool was going at a toasty 32 degrees but the weather didnt really play ball! The location was great for access to La Rambla and Placa de Catalunya, with some excellent restaurants and bars not too far away! Recommend for food - MILK Bar & Bistro for Dinner and LA ESQUINA for Brunch Recommend for Drinks - Flahertys or the rooftop bar in the hotel LaIsobella for scenic views and great cocktails.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Very nice hotel, located in an old cigar factory. Location is excellent and very central. Breakfast is exceptional. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Stunning design, spacious rooms, quiet stay in the heart of the city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the kitchen closes early st 11:30 and there is no room service. Barcelona has tons of late night restos to make this easy to solve. I just had a late flight and wanted something informal. There are amazing products for the bathroom just not hair conditioner?

    Quiet, large rooms, comfy beds, great location, etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Superb location and friendly, stylish hotel. Always read the small print though - the spa is shut!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa was shut! And small print on booking.com so I didn't notice until after I'd booked and couldn't cancel.

    Superb location and helpful staff; an oasis of calm right next to Las Ramblas

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    Best location in Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The SPA services were out of service . No esspresso coffee machine .

    Location is almost the best you can get in Barcelona. The hotel is very quisy and comfortable. Services are professional and up to the acceptable standandard.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Superb Staff, Beautiful Premises, will be my benchmark for any future visits to sweet Barcelona :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Very friendly, and down to earth staff, cozy and lovely ambiance, spacious rooms, courtesy and hospitality were remarkable. Great Staff Hands down :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    Best place in Barcelona!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower was not quite hot enough, not a lot, just a degree or two. But I like really hot showers. I'm not sure anyone else would mind. And the coffee provided in the room was instant, you have to join their featured breakfast for the good stuff.

    The location is just incredible. The staff were INCREDIBLY attentive even providing a fantastic walking tour of the gothic quarter. The rooftop pool is heated and offers a fantastic view of the city. The cocktail bar on site is one to the best in the city (Pro tip: Request the Bailarina Rosa or the Sherry Cobbler). And the bed is SO comfortable that it was hard to get up in the morning. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on our next visit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location. Very helpful and friendly staff. Elegant ambience and presentation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elegant tasteful decor. Loved the turndown service every evening! Excellent blockout curtains. Surprisingly quiet given the central location. Lovely Christmas meal with Catalan specialty dishes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.5
    The thing that kept this from being an excellent experience...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thing that kept this from being an excellent experience was that fact that the Spa facilities were being renovated and it was something that we were looking forward to because it has such a good reputation .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic! A brilliant hotel that will not disappoint! Highly recommended, you MUST stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic location. The staff were amazing and so incredibly helpful. They made our stay even better than we had imagined. Can’t rate this property high enough - it surpassed our expectations by a very long way. Beautifully appointed. The roof top bar and pool are extraordinary! Fabulous views.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    The Hotel really exceeded my expectations and in some ways...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel really exceeded my expectations and in some ways the photo's on Booking.com didn't actually do it justice. The roof top pool and bar area was fantastic and the location was just great. I was worried that it may actually be noisy being in the heart of the bustling action that is La Rambla, but it was like a little sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle. Will certainly make this my go to Hotel next time in Barcelona

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    I first went to this Hotel on my honeymoon 9 years back and last week its exactly as i left it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing not to like

    its very antique and vintage and really quite, Clean and comforting. Location is excellent. i was hoping for some sort of an upgrade as a returning customer but no offer so you get what you pay for. Staff are nice. make sure to use the SPA access

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Great location, wonderful staff, historic building with modern conveniences.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was really expensive so we didn't take that option.

    Room was great with terrace. Beds and pillows are comfortable. Everything is very clean. The staff is always pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    We give serious consideration before booking at H1898 hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although a nice modern place we were disappointed with following items; - TV News station (RT is a Russian station!) for English speaking people unavailable. We stopped at desk several times asking why BBC was available when it was listed in the channel selection. Every time, the front desk said they would look into it...we never got back to us, no results. - Interim parking for 20 minutes available for guests. We tried to use this option for 5 minutes and we could not believe the negative reaction we got from hotel supervisors and employees. We felt humiliated and embarrassed in front of family members for something we were entitled and it was clearly marked by your street sign (see attached). We give serious consideration before booking in your establishment again. Obviously H1898 employees are not empowered to make correct decisions based on situations.

    clean, good accomodations and great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Great Location, friendly staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Seemed a little pricey for an ordinary room. Nothing special.

    Towels were great! bed was "a cloud" Dining on the roof was wonderful. Wait staff was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    I loved the facilities, location, and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I did not like the mini-bar refrigerator. I like to have my own snacks and drinks. The mini-bar was crowded. I wish you would ask if we want a mini-bar. Usually, all I want is a mini-refrigerator.

    1. The bed was very comfortable, 2. The little cocktail hour and live music in the lobby. 3. The staff spoke some English. 4. Bar snacks of olives and potato chips. 5. The location was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Hotel 1898 is the perfect oasis in the middle of the fun that is Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location right on Las Ramblas was brilliant for walking around the city and accessing great shops, bars, cafes and restaurants. The hotel was like a little oasis in amongst all the fun. The spa and rooftop pool were perfect for relaxing and refreshing ourselves. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We really appreciated that we could continue to access the spa after checkout as our flights out were not until the evening. We plan to go back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only recommendation is for the cleaning staff. Even though they cleaned the room twice a day and did s superb job, they worked throughout the day and were very loud. It was hard to take a nap in the afternoon or to sleep late in the morning without them waking you up.

    Great hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Will stay there again. Very clean and location is awesome. We loved the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel in the heart of all the action surrounded by great shops, restaurants and bars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A longer stay

    The service was impeccable from reception to the restaurant and all areas. The hotel facilities excellent, we would definitely stay again and highly recommend the hotel to friends.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel directly on the Rambla
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem is the noise on the rambla until late and some hotel guests talking loudly in the corridor at 2 am. Maybe the door and windows would need some soundproofing.

    Indoor pool, entrance and reception are great. The room was very nice and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Our favorite city and our favorite hotel in all of Europe....you MUST stay there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NOTHING!.....I would go back in a flash

    bed was awesome...but from the min. we got to the hotel, the staff was the best we've ever encountered....location is perfect in the middle of everything.....but that bed....sheets, pillows...OMG....I want one!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Check whether breakfasts are include, they are VERY expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    from a female view point, the lighting was very poor, nowhere to put or see where make-up going. No dressing table

    the swimming pools are brilliant and so are the breakfasts. Staff very friendly, helpful and informative during political turmoil.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    We always enjoy staying at Hotel 1898. Absolutely perfect for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we would have enjoyed more English channels(BBC world) not working and no films.

    We love the spa and the staff are all very friendly and extremely knowledgable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel, staff and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner menu was a little disappointing but nevertheless well cooked and nicely presented.

    Beds very comfortable, locations excellent and staff very nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    The staff were very helpful and the location is excellent -...
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool was really cold even though it was the end of Summer

    The staff were very helpful and the location is excellent - can walk to everything. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    The location was excellent and the staff were helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 3 nights. On the first full day our room had not been made up by 5pm in the evening. This rectified after I called reception but for this sort of money it was very lax I thought.

    The bar on the roof had great views and the staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    It's a great hotel, welcoming staff, really comfy bed. Just go outside if you want great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were only two things I didn't enjoy about the hotel. The room service was great, helpful and quick, however the food (especially for the price) was not up to expectations, to be polite. The Wi-Fi was snail-paced slow at best, using my own data as an alternative.

    As soon as you walk in, you know you've come to a decent hotel. It is very elegant. The concierge are very welcoming. The room (Classic) was big enough for 2, bed was ridiculously comfortable! Bathroom, small but functional. The spa pool downstairs was great, usually v.quiet. Breakfast was not included, however was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Glad to have got out without being robbed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Barcelona is a tourist rathole that resembles darling harbour on steroids. If you like getting ripped off and approached by beggars you will love it. Great place to buy Chinese made bags from street peddlers

    Hotel was very nice but expensive

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable stay, which could have been perfect. Complaints were addressed promptly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom with French windows, but no protection from the sun's blast and no air conditioning. Impossible to enter during the day !

    Beautiful hotel decor. Excellent location. Spacious bedroom. Great pillow choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    a wonderful hotel which ensures absolute relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cleaned late in the day on each of four days

    The hotel's facilities and staff are excellent - we visit Barcelona annually and always use this hotel with its roof top bar and restaurant. Nothing is too much trouble for staff- even received an unrequested room upgrade.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Location is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wanted to head up to the roof to grab a bite. There was a sign to say the bar was full but as a guest, I did not have to reserve a place. The staff did not check whether I was a hotel guest and rejected my entry into the lift. When I mentioned that I would head back to my room, she realised I was a hotel guest and allowed me to go up to the roof. Just a tad tactless, I thought.

    Location is fantastic. Love the nautical theme throughout.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Highly Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything about this hotel and its facilities was amazing. We got a complimentary room upgrade with a balcony view, the breakfast buffet was incredible, the service was top notch, and you couldn't ask for a better location. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We waited an hour for our room and when we got in the air conditioning was not working. We reported it at 3:00 pm and went to have drinks but when we returned it was still not working. We again reported and we were assured it would be working soon. When we returned at 12:30 AM we had to pack and switch rooms. We did get an upgrade but we were only staying the night so not much use of the upgrade.

    The property is beautiful and located in the city center. We enjoyed drinks on the roof top and had a wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Exellent hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exellent hotel! Very central but still silent. So nice with the terrass. The staff are very service minded! My best choice of hotel in Barcelona. Been there many times. Will come back of course.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Superb hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is expensive, lovely but expensive.

    This hotel is in a great location. The facilities are superb and the staff are super friendly without being too overbearing. It is clean, very comfortable and the breakfast is very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Right on La Rambla
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very pricey

    Reception was incredibly informative and helpful. We were given a free upgrade and allowed to check-in early as our flight time had been changed significantly. Extra touches - such as being invited to listen to a solo violinist perform and receiving a free drink - were something different and enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Great Hotel in a Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did not have an iron in it. The coffée in the room is instant. Given the quality of the hotel, I would have expected real coffee.

    This hotel is in a great location. It's within close walking distance of nice restaurants, shopping, museums and public transportation. The staff is professional, friendly and helped us with all of our needs. The lobby has a nice atmosphere with a bar and plenty of sofas to lounge in. The AC worked great which was such a relief from the July heat. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    The rooms were lovely, the staff were very nice and Amanda...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in the bathtub is extremely dangerous. Slippery with an unbelievably low pressure rain head up at the curve end of the tub. Impossible to wash body or hair safely. The hand held shower nozzle (which you can trip over also as it lays in the bath) has decent water pressure though.

    The rooms were lovely, the staff were very nice and Amanda on Reception was amazing. Answered all my questions and booked everything for me on the spot. The roof top terrace is a gem with a fantastic vibe and lovely views. Didn't have time to try out the pool, but it looks inviting. Food not that great on the rooftop terrace but I still had a wonderful time up there on 3 occasions in 2 days. I had a room overlooking Las Ramblas (there aren't many). It's not that noisy, but there's also not much to see either because of the trees. The hotel has plenty of other rooms looking over less noisier streets which may be cheaper? If you want decadence, there are 3 penthouses with private pools for around €1000/nite and they are amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in a superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed at the Hotel 1898 last year and we noticed a very slight deterioration in the maintenance of facilities - e.g. not all the water features in the indoor swimming area worked, some of the light fittings in the room. It would be a shame if these minor issues were not addressed as generally the hotel facilities and staff are excellent

    Excellent location, very good facilities, quiet despite central position

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    4.6
    Not the standard I would expect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soap on arrival in room Waste bin standing on sink area one day Room not made up at 1630 one dsy No soap another day 30 minutes to arrange a taxi to an event one morning so gave up and organised myself

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    We enjoyed the fact that the hotel was on the busiest street...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We changed our room twice.One of the drawbacks with booking is that you do not know the real suze of the room.Standard rooms do not mean anything because they change in size in different countries.Need to know exact size in metres and a good picture of every type of room

    We enjoyed the fact that the hotel was on the busiest street but inside the hotel it was quiet elegant and the staff very accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    Great Grotto, needs some special attention to details for 5 star
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be 5 star They need to 1) supply hair conditioner 2) improve room service so that one can order coffee before 7am (or improve the coffee in each room from horrible instant coffee to Nespresso machines or something similar) 3) improve water pressure from shower heads 4) install Full length mirrora so you can tell what you look life from head to toe 5) change hair driers so you don't have to have constant engagement of the 'on' button- they only work when you fully depress the button which makes it very difficult to do a full blow dry/styling

    I travelled with work colleagues (you need to include that in your questionnaire as 'partner' has a different connotation. I love the grotto

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    Great three days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Wonderful three days, we especially enjoyed the roof top terrace for drinks and tapas, with the amazing views. The hotel is right on La Ramblas, so within walking distance to all the shops and many museums. The staff were very friendly and courteous, and went out of their way to make our stay special. The bed was so comfortable, and the marbled bathroom well equipped for lovely long soak after walking for miles. The breakfast had was good, a large selection on the buffet, although the small bowl for the scrambled eggs freshly cooked, kept running out, but saying that , at least it wasn't the rubbery stuff kept warm for hours you see in most breakfast buffets. Excellent hotel, a bit pricey, but there again you do get what you pay for.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.7
    Great Place, Staff was inadequate, rude, unprofessional and ruined the experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was extremely unfriendly and service was poorer compared to previous years. - Checked me in with 1.5 hour delay - Service at the pool was poor and our guests were not even allowed to stay by the pool even though our group had 4 hotel rooms - A member of the hotel threatened to call security and kick a friend out of the Hotel - Waiter for lunch was extremely unprofessional and nervous despite we had lunch for 15 people and paid 700 EUR - I asked for late checkout and they only gave me 30 minute delay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Stayed in the deluxe 5th floor room with private terrace -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast too expensive; the location - just on La Rambla - is very annoying when you do go out (way too touristy and busy) but the hotel itself is indeed a very good choice

    Stayed in the deluxe 5th floor room with private terrace - that terrace was absolutely the best thing about the whole stay. Spacious and comfortable. A nice surprise too to receive a complimentary bottle of cava as welcome.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    La Ramblas Jewel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Really nothing

    Staff was excellent, location was fabulous, really enjoyed our stay. Hotel 1898 is one of the best hotels we've ever stayed at. They are at the top end of La Ramblas. You can walk down the pedestrian thoroughfare to the beach or go North to the beginning of the more modern areas in Barcelona. We had a wonderful visit to the City. We didn't even have a chance to enjoy the rooftop area that overlooks the entire city. We lingered there for a few minutes one morning & really enjoyed the views.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    1898 best location ever
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic

    Location on La Rambla is fantastic easy to access the market, Champagne Bar and the best restaurants. Hotel beds and pillows are really comfortable and the rooms spacious

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel 1898 traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: