Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Spain hotel reviews
  3. Catalonia hotel reviews
  4. Barcelona hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel 1898

Reviews of Hotel 1898 This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

La Rambla, 109, Ciutat Vella, 08002 Barcelona, Spain

#29 of 542 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1418 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2019

    10
    Divine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The leather sofas are so comfortable and the music so great you lose the motivation of going to the wonderful Ramblas outside and looking at Catalonian fashion at Dug or sitting in the garden of the Michelin Japanese restaurant, or the cafes everywhere near. Great hotel!

    Beautiful old tobacco factory, excellent location, comfortable stylish furnishings, and the most fantastic attentive staff you could ever want.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2019

    9.6
    The mattress on the bed was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The internet is terrible! It would not connect And finally when it did it dropped out quick! Had to use wifi in a separate restaurant nearby! The hot water is not hot- mildly Luke warm at best on 3 occasions at different times!😰

    The mattress on the bed was amazing!!! Best bed ever! Also loved the Isabella roof top terrace bar and pool. Amazing view of Barcelona- great day beds- top service and top food! Loved it! Great staff- great location- lots of inviting places to sit- chil- have a drink or coffee.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2019

    9.2
    A historical oasis in the heart of Las Ramblas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast buffet was amazing. The location was central to locally recommended restaurants (in Raval), the metro, Gothic Quarter and (ofcourse) Las Ramblas. The spa facilities were a warm welcome after a day of exploring. One of the best rooftop bars in Barcelona. All in all a fantastic place to stay if you plan on exploring the city and want a hotel that can provide some respite from the busyness.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2019

    10
    Wonderful location and hotel that is worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the evening, we wanted to see the city skyline and rooftop pool, have a drink, listen to the rooftop band and we were turned away because they had met a quota.

    The location was unbeatable. Although Barcelona is a big city, the hotel staff's hospitality offered a very warm and personalized feeling, as though in a much smaller locale.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2019

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The one complaint that I have is the shower is complicated (but very nice).

    This is a beautiful hotel with the most comfortable bed that I think I have ever slept in. The staff is very kind and helpful. There is a beautiful rooftop bar/restaurant and pool. In addition, there is a therapy pool and gym on the lower floor. There is a nice common area. Great people watching outside, a very nice grocery store around the corner and many bars and cafes. I wish I would have taken more time to explore the hotel and learn its history.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2019

    9.6
    Super location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What a great location for exploring Barcelona! It is a beautiful hotel. The staff was helpful and they even made sure we were awake and downstairs for our very early morning flight.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2019

    10
    The decor and location of this hotel is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The decor and location of this hotel is perfect. I think if you're going to Barcelona and this fits your budget definitely choose this over any other hotel even if you have a higher budget this will still satisfy your needs in every way. Fantastic hotel facilities too, rooftop bar, spa and great coffee.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2019

    10
    Everything was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price is little high.. But except that I liked everything in the hotel

    Everything was wonderful. Location is perfect. The staff were cooperative... I suggest everyone to go this place.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2019

    9.2
    Would recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was rather dark. The floors and walls are dark and lighting is subdued. That is my only complaint.

    The location was perfect. Our room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. They are very serious about their pillows and offer an extensive menu for choosing your exact pillow. The breakfast buffet was amazing.(although for the daily cost, would have grabbed something around the corner at the big market). The terrace pool and bar is a great place to unwind after long days of walking.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2019

    10
    Great location, immaculate hotel, amazing service
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    €150 deposit to be paid on arrival- which is fine but it doesn’t tell you about this before you check in. On check out we were then told we hadn’t even paid a deposit!!!

    Great location right on La Rambla. Staff were always on hand to help, either by lift, room service, reception and spa area. I spent my birthday here and arrived to a nice plaque wishing me a happy birthday and a chocolate cake. On the Saturday (my actual birthday) when I was getting ready for going out the hotel knocked and brought me a bottle of complimentary bubbles! So lovely! We ordered room service breakfast which was hot and delicious! And post hangover burgers, fries and ice cream and it was restaurant quality!! The room was cleaned daily which was amazing- the only TINY downside was that they changed the towels daily too which in today’s climate I’m not sure is that eco friendly which is me being extremely picky. The reception staff recommended my birthday meal restaurant and it was insanely delicious and fab service also. The spa services were clean and well maintained. The pool was warm and steam room clean. The gym is small but functional. The massage- timing out was fantastic and the staff extremely friendly. The rooftop pool is nice- but On the small side and busy during hot days. The food was okay but staff system of ordering and service was shocking. The view from there is great though! Overall I’d stay here again in a heart beat.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2019

    10
    Sparkling clean hotel, awesome location, perfect spa,...
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi connection wasn’t good.

    Sparkling clean hotel, awesome location, perfect spa, friendly workers, great food and a lot of varieties for breakfast.. Let’s keep it simple, everything you need for an amazing stay in Barcelona. Definitely will be back again.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2019

    10
    Everything you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect location to see everything - either walking or with public transport. Staff were exceptional. Start the day with a bit of spa and take it from there in style. Definitely coming back

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2019

    10
    Perfect honeymoon in Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the rooftop bar and the location of the hotel was perfect! Staff were all lovely and the massage I got in the spa was amazing. Would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Barcelona.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2019

    10
    Beautiful views. Great location. Warm and welcoming service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only complaint about the spa/fitness area is while there was a sign that said 14 and over or something along those lines, for much of the time we were trying to workout and then relax in the spa, there were small children running around and the main spa pool became a bit of a kiddy pool. No one was there to monitor or ask the kids to either leave or quiet down, so it wasn't the most relaxing experience. But the facilities were beautiful and we made the most of it!

    Beautiful rooftop views and rooftop dining/bar service, gorgeous spa facilities which we loved! Very comfortable room and great location for walking around and exploring the sights!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2019

    9.6
    Great location for a Barcelona break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great. Roof pool was smaller than it looked in the photos but was cool & refreshing.

    Ideally located off La Rambla. Great service from reception staff, nice roof deck, bar & pool.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2019

    9.6
    Location was great in the heart of things to do and see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air conditioning controls are located within the wardrobe. It is difficult to locate and to see once found. The lobby and elevators have the artificial air smell of gardenias very strong and not great fir people with allergies.

    Location was great in the heart of things to do and see. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2019

    9.2
    Staff and location excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was near a stair well which was noisy. No USB ports in the room. Shower controls very convoluted Difficult to control air con and room was always too cold.

    Staff and location excellent Beds very very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2019

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent hotel. Loved everything about it! Perfect location, friendly staff, delicious breakfast, and amazing facilities. Would definitely stay here again when I return to Barcelona.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    10
    Magnifico !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I could not see anything that I or my wife did not like.

    Breakfast was excellent and the location was beyond expectation. The Hotel staff was very courteous and helpful. It's a great Hotel and the time spent in Barcelona, Hotel 1898 made a great difference. Next time that I will be around Barcelona no doubt in my mind Hotel 1898 will be my first choice.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    10
    The bed and sheets were the most comfortable I’ve ever had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed and sheets were the most comfortable I’ve ever had at a hotel. The staff is amazing- get to know them. Breakfast is great and the pool is beautiful!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2019

    5.5
    location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was very unfriendly for kids and the rooms were small and very unfriendly for family. roof top pool water very very very cold and indoor pool can be used only 14 years up.Shampoo is very scipy smell.

    location.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2019

    9.6
    Near perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bfast too expensive. Went out locally for half the price. Room coffee instant yuck. Room radio from ancient times...manual tuning! Too cold for the rooftop pool but photos make it seem much larger than it actually is. More of a glorified bathtub.

    Great location. Was worried by threadbare carpet in the corridor but it was misplaced. Great room, perfect air con, WiFi. Wonderfully comfortable bed. Choice of pillows! Fabulous spa. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Room bellhop explained everything in detail. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    10
    The spa and the roof terrace where absolutely fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More milk in the room apart from that it was perfect

    The spa and the roof terrace where absolutely fabulous. The roof terrace pool was cold but there was a a large area to sit and relax. The spa in the basement was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    9.6
    This hotel is a well run establishment.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything.

    This hotel is a well run establishment. Excellent location, breakfast in a thought out renovation of a heritage building. Roof top pool, bar and tapas with heated spa pool and a basic but effective gym in the basement. Will be back.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2019

    7.1
    Lovely hotel in the centre of Barcelona with attentive staff, a relaxing spa and an awesome view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were originally on floor 2 which was really loud and didn’t have blackout curtains but we were moved to floor 6 which was much better

    The spa was really lovely and spacious - the terrace was also really nice for a drink with a great view. The complimentary *tea time* was really lovely bonus too tonhave a break mid afternoon with a cup of tea.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2019

    10
    Brilliant facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of gym equipment

    Brilliant facilities Extremely comfortable, spacious bedroom Excellent,central location Beautiful spa , gym and rooftop Extremely helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    9.6
    Luxury in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful hotel, excellent location. Very nice spa and indoor pool if the weather isn't great. Great Rooftop pool and bar when the sun's out. The staff were extremely friendly all the time as well.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    9.6
    The reception and the concierge was incredibly helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was leaking. From tub

    The reception and the concierge was incredibly helpful. Special thanks to Rachel who was at reception who recommended great places for our tapas and paella!!! Thanks so much!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2019

    9.2
    honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no staff at the entrance, so the entrances other than the guests are noticeable.

    It was aimed at putting off at the time of check-in. We did not notice, but the front desk staff put the luggage in the counter. In addition, I was asked to be careful about restaurant reservations and taxi concerns.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2019

    7.1
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy room. Even with windows shut we could hear every noise from outside as if they were wide open, so we did not have great sleep.

    Convenient location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2019

    9.6
    Best place to stay - Hotel 1898
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked everything. From genuine staff to comfortable rooms, beds and linens, unexpected bottle of champagne, sweets and facilities. It is in the center of picturistic views and surrounded by famous landmarks. We would like to thank every soul at Hotel 1898 for the hospitality, care and courtesy provided.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    10
    Fantastic (heart eyes)!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel was absolutely fab. The service was amazing from the moment we arrived. We didn’t get his name but the man on Reception from a London provided such a warm welcome and was exceptionally helpful. The location couldn’t be any better either and the facilities were stunning. Can’t wait to return!!!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    10
    Well located, clean, comfortable, great staff, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Well located, clean, comfortable, great staff, good facilities. Good advice re restaurants and transport. Free evening tour of the Gothic Quarter well worth it. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    10
    Staff was very welcoming and the rooms are comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water pressure in shower was not good and it was difficult to regulate the temperature in the room.

    Staff was very welcoming and the rooms are comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Great place, hotel has a lot of relaxation space, comfy sofas all over the place. Bed v large and comfortable. Excellent location to main drag and surrounded by many places to visit and restaurants

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    10
    Great time, look forward to going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel, looks very impressive, the rooms quite luxurious and excellent facilities. Great location. Victor, who i think is a manager there was great with us when we had an issue.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    9.6
    Very comfortable room with opening windows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a sewage smell downstairs in reception and bar area that was masked by a cheap smelling perfume / deodorant

    Very comfortable room with opening windows. Great rooftop bar & pool, it was a pity that it was too cold (Jan) to try it out.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    9.2
    Very good choice downtown Barcelona with excellent spa. Place to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two days room cleaning was perfect. However the third day the room was only done at half. The spa is excellent; solving small details would make it perfect: soap and shampoo in the showers, lights on also early morning...

    Location is really perfect. Breakfast excellent. Room and bed very comfortable. Front desk extremely professional. Good views in the upper terrace with a nice bar. Decoration reminiscent of the original purpose of the building (headquarters of the General Philippines Tobacco Company, until 1898 the Philippines were an Spanish colony). In summary: nit cheap but very good choice downtown Barcelona. Place to return.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    8.8
    Great centrally located hotel for relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I could hear the music of the lobby bar late in the evening in my room on the 2nd floor, some of the staff, although very friendly and nice, had difficulties with understanding English if spoken fast.

    Excellent breakfast, relaxing spa, loved the lobby and silent movies in the afternoons, great cocktails in the bars, amazing rooftop terrace.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    10
    It is excellent in every way very easy to get anywhere and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is excellent in every way very easy to get anywhere and everywhere from this hotel. The staff are amazing kind and very helpful. The hotel is beautiful we were so excited to get there and find out that we had been upgraded

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    8.3
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small little things no plug, tea not replaced, room not made up had to ask

    The rooms are lovely the location is incredible very happy...comfy beds the king room is worth the upgrade adds that little more luxury to the stay

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    9.2
    Nicely decorated hotel with awesome rooftop views and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooftop closed quite early.

    Really nice decoration, and use of materials (I'm an architect so I tend to be quite sensitive to that aspect). Huge bedroom with nice bathroom. Nice view from the room on the Rambla but still super quiet. Delicious breakfast buffet, and a nice rooftop bar with incredible view on Barcelona.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    9.6
    Great hotel in a perfect spot for a short break near to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Luxurious and welcoming as it is, it does inevitably come at a price!

    Great hotel in a perfect spot for a short break near to the old town and La Rambla. It’s walking distance to everything from a selection Gaudi’s famous architecture to the waterfront and beach. The hotel staff couldn’t have done more to make our stay a pleasant one.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    6.3
    great location and beautiful building , cleanliness should be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    even if the breakfast was really good at the moment of the booking was not well clear if it was included on room rate,a bit tricky...so pay attenton when you book the room the sink in the bathroom was blocked and the water didn 't flush properly,the problem haven't been fixed even if we reported the problem to the reception general speaking cleaning has to be improved a bit

    awesome breakfast ,great location and beautiful building,comfy bed and quiet room,quite big spa,kind staff

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    9.6
    Everything was good, bedroom, fitness, spa and the lounge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower in the bath the skower should be more from the wall. Not on the slanted part of the bath.

    Everything was good, bedroom, fitness, spa and the lounge.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    10
    INCREDIBLE STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The spa, rooftop pool and bar, Turkish steam room and sauna were all incredible. The view from the room was amazing. The bed was the most comfortable bed of all our travels and you could ask for as many pillows of whatever type you liked from a pillow menu! The room service was fantastic and reasonably priced. The hotel computers and printers were easy to use and available for free to all guests. The wifi was perfect. The staff were wonderful and upgraded us as we had just gotten engaged! HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    10
    Thank you !
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When I arrived in the room, the temperature was really high. It was only the 2nd day that I found how to turn off the air conditioning.

    Proximity of all activity, direct access at the taxis,

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely fabulous hotel , luxurious relaxing we will be back .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My daughter being robbed after only being there 2 hours !! Pickpockets are rife . Hotel room had a balcony looking into las Ramblas and sat watching groups of men loitering up and down watching be aware !!!

    Staff friendly especially marianne on reception . Hotel went over and above to help celebrate a special birthday with champagne in the room on arrival . Live entertainment in the bar lobby area . Rooftop bar excellent views , a luxury feel throughout , spa incredible ... location excellent for sightseeing in the area . Steps away from the market . Dressing gowns , slippers provided nothing forgotten . One of the nicest hotels we have ever visited

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    10
    Wonderful and beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower would get hot and cold intermittently making it uncomfortable. The tub was quite slippery.

    The service was amazing all the way around. Kudos!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    10
    Central location perfect for exploring Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. We ended up booking here a second time on our trip while passing through Barcelona just to ensure an excellent nights sleep.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    10
    The staff at the hotel went above and beyond for myself and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff at the hotel went above and beyond for myself and my family. They were so friendly and helpful and our room was upgraded on arrival and kept immaculate throughout our stay. The pool and rooftop views were breathtaking and the spa area was divine.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staying at Hotel 1898 was an excellent experience, Francesca as outstanding at customer service. Answered all our questions about the city, booked restaurants, tickets, very friendly. They provided a free walking tour one evening. Atmosphere is elegant but relaxed. I am very fussy traveller, this exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful central Rooftop Hotel with pool and view over Barcelona!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is super central and has a lovely spa area. We loved the friendly staff and beautiful rooftop. We only stayed one night and felt very welcome. Unfortunately the rooms seem very modern and we couldnt figure out how to find the AC, and the water in the bathroom stayed hot not matter how many of the many knobs we turned. I washed my hair in the sink in the end because we were in a hurry. However, the hotel is generally lovely, and I would recommend everyone staying there.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotel. A very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The shower head over the bath needed to be more central over the bath.

    Staff were all very friendly. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The food in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    10
    Top hotel with a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had to ask to change room after two nights because there was some noise 24/7 no stop that woke us up. Not sure what it was but maybe something about the elevators. It was the top floor, the sixth and we got new room at the fifth floor that was much better. The staff was very helpful when we told them and switched rooms immediately.

    We loved the style of the hotel and the comfy bed. The Spa was awesome and also the rooftop bar and pool. We had dinner at the hotel and had the best steak ever, the breakfast was also great and the bar had the best coctails in town. The location of the hotel couldn't be better, at the middle of the La Ramblas. We would definitely go there again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location, stunning hotel. We recommend this to anyone travelling to Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location, location, location. This is a truly stunning property. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a room with a terrace and this was a very nice touch. Room was clean, bed and pillows were very comfortable, The linen and towels were some of the best I have ever had in a hotel. The rooftop pool and bar area was superb. Great place to relax and take in the views. The hotel was walking distance to everything we wanted to see. We even walked to Park Guell. We will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Barcelona.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    7.1
    Great if you want to party like you would anywhere else. Uncomfortable if you want to enjoy peace.
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Terrible room decoration, terrible room amenities, lights all on or off at the same time. Black walls. Terrible shower handler, you get soaked before you realise how to turn eater on or off -they even have a card with instructions for that! Whoever designed these rooms should be asked for a refund from the hotel owners!

    Kind functionaries and very central address.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    10
    Great place for a weekend, perfectly located in the centre of Barcelona.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A mouse had eaten into my complementary pack of hot chocolate, I didn't like the toiletries in the bathroom which were nothing but chemicals - for a hotel of your standing, I would think you could opt for something more natural. The breakfast was too expensive for me as I cannot eat much of it (no gluten and no processed meats).

    The bed was extremely comfy, the room good, I loved the dressing gown and slippers in the bathroom, I also loved the heated swimming pool, the bar downstairs, and the general ambience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    5.0
    Only the location which is in la rambla street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything except the location. Their bath shower does not provide hot water its always COLD water and i asked the reception 6 times during my stay and they always reply that they have maintainence..

    Only the location which is in la rambla street

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    8.8
    Love the furnishings and design of the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was quite disappointed that there was insufficient service manning the lobby, and trying to get food at the hotel during the day outside the meal times stipulated was difficult.

    Love the furnishings and design of the hotel. Would definitely come back. Terrace is super nice!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    9.6
    We loved the intimacy and coziness of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved the intimacy and coziness of the hotel. The room was very well appointed. Amenities in the room were top. Staff was courteous and attentive. The bellhop even took the time to explain all the electronic controls and devices in the room. We would definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel with elegant atmosphere right next to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a room with private terrace. Housekeeping did not enter the room when we were on the terrace. It took us three calls to the reception/housekeeping to get the room done when we came back to the hotel in the afternoon to spend the rest of the afternoon on the terrace (the room had not been cleaned up before we returned). We booked a private transfer (after hotel booking through booking.com, not through the hotel): this was a complete desaster. Nobody to pick us up, driver and driver's company put down our call. Later somebody from the company came and it took him another 45 min until he was able to get a car for us. Driver refused to drop us off at the hotel although this had been guaranteed when booking. We canceled the return trip and took a normal taxi - no issues here and 25% cheaper. There were further guests who had booked a transfer (not private) and appear to have waited two hours. Taxi or public transfer would have been much quicker (and cheaper).

    Very nice hotel with elegant atmosphere right next to the Ramblas. Excellent breakfast. Many attractions are within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    9.6
    I will come back with my family I enjoyed the Hotel that much
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about, my room did not have a view from the window but then again the City is tight streets

    Everything, very mellow environment right in the middle of the City

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    9.2
    H1898 is a fabulous hotel in a superb position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the staff service on the roof top varied the staff at the downstairs bar was average - poor

    the position was fantastic The bed was amazing the spa area was superb

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    9.6
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower was a problem. Could not get the drench shower to give hot water. We complained and apparently repairs are due next week .. problem with water system. Very expensive to not have a decent shower esp when it’s hot and you’ve been sight seeing all day. 😢

    Everything was perfect. Position on the Ramblas was great and facilities at hotel first class. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    8.8
    Semi-retired New Zealand Couple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed 3 nights and room makeup was done around 4.30 1 afternoon when we were after a shower & fresh up--not a biggie but annoying-missed flannels 1 day-again not a biggie but annoying

    Excellent location on a corner so door either opened onto busy La Rambla or a quiet side street with taxis waiting all the time outside. Great supermarket 100 metres up the road. Really close to main square of Barcelona. Excellent pool and surroundings. Hotel feels like class. 1st class restaurants all around if you do a google search.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    10
    The property was excellent and the staff were exceptional,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property was excellent and the staff were exceptional, especially Natalie on reception. Also we had champagne waiting for us in our room. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel right in the heart of Barcelona!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only minor complaint I had was the shower pressure wasn't very strong. Drink prices were a bit steep compared to other places nearby.

    Great location on La Rambla. Restaurants, shops, and La Boqueria market are all with walking distance from the hotel. Awesome rooftop pool area with food and drinks. Beautiful hi-tech rooms with many amenities. The service received from the staff was excellent! We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and we're surprised with a bottle of Cava waiting for us in our room!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous location, pleasant atmosphere, great pools and roof top bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Carpet a bit worn in some areas and the lift was very slow - although I was able to use the stairs.

    Fabulous huge bed with nice linen. Large spacious room - although think it was meant for a couple not just me! Towels, toiletries all good quality as expected. Loved the roof top bar and pool and the lower level pool, sauna and steam room. No doubt the hotel has many rooms, however it had a far more personal feel about it. And all the hangers matched (my 'thing'!)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    10
    A perfect weekend in an amazing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasnt anything that needed improving.

    The staff went above & beyond to make our stay perfect. Amazing hotel with a great location to las ramblas.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    9.6
    I loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The water pressure was really the only issue we had. That and it never got as hot as we would have liked.

    They allow you to pick your pillows according to the way you sleep. The staff was incredibly helpful and responsive with any questions or issues we had. The pool/rooftop was great. The location on La Rambla was really convenient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing. We will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The roof terrace was amazing and had a roof top pool but got very crowded at times so you couldn't find a bed. The service was a little erratic, staff very pleasant but slow. It was out 30th wedding anniversary on the Monday and nobody acknowledged this which was slightly disappointing although the staff were very friendly and approachable.

    The room was very spacious, beautifully furnished and had a large terrace with table chairs and day bed. The bathroom had a shower and a bath. We had water, tea and coffee provided hard to get in Spain. The bed was huge and very comfy. The hotel itself was wonderfully cool and a pleasure to return to. The location could not be better. so easy to get from the airport and to all the attractions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    10
    One of our best hotel experiences ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing.

    Everything was wonderful at this hotel. Staff were friendly, pool & spa were spectacular, and the stay was incredibly comfortable. The hotel gave us after hours, private access to the spa to celebrate our honeymoon - it was an amazing experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    9.2
    Nice breakfast (though a bit pricey), good facilities, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the front desk staff members (not all) were a bit standoffish. When you've just arrived from a flight, the a cold reception during check-in can be a turn-off.

    Nice breakfast (though a bit pricey), good facilities, and excellent location. The building has a bit of history too for mexican/philippine history afficionados.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    10
    Friendly helpful staff, knowledgeable about the local area,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly helpful staff, knowledgeable about the local area, hotel amenities where amazing - beautiful roof terrace - amazing cocktails and not to mention the roof top pool- all very clean with a cool vibe! Exceeded expectations

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Hotel 1898 Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: