Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cerro de Hijar 3 stars

Cerro de Hijar s/n, 29109 Tolox, Spain

#3 of 7 hotels in Tolox

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 192 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a bit hard to find and you would need a car to stay here as it is up the top of a mountain with a cliff edge and it's quite remote.

    The staff were lovely, it was nice and relaxing at this location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location for hiking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is excellent for hikes in the surrounding mountains and the views from the hotel swimming pool area are beautiful. The staff is friendly and the reception was in English. The room was clean, spacious, and modernized with a comfy bed and a good air conditioner / heater. We were there for star-gazing and the pool area was the perfect place for it, with sun loungers to relax in while searching the night skies for meteors.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Tranquility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast variety could change daily. It's not a problem that there are just a few things at breakfast, but they could change it daily.

    Huge room, great style, very nice pool with view. The restaurant is outstanding with a lot of local products. Waiters speak good English. The location is perfect for a quick getaway.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    We expected more from this property after reading the reviews at booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not communicate during dinner because of a group of 20 people from Scandinavia who where very loud. They should have put the group (or us) in a different room for dinner. The white wine served was not cold. It appeared to be a left over from the same group of Scandinavians who had a wine tasting. The wine appeared to be out of the cooling for a long time for the tasting. the wine was changed for cold wine of a lesser quality. This was according the manager because the left over was of better quality then we ordered!! There was a mistake made for my dinner order so I did not get what I ordered. We at least expected that the manager would have compensated for the items mentioned above since we confronted him with the "short-commings" mentioned. A missed opportunity!

    the Location was very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    A hotel in the sky
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was NOTHING that we didn’t like!

    The hotel is perched on the easternmost escarpment of the Sierra de Las Nieves Parque Natural and has a fabulous view of Tolox and the Sierra Nevada in the far distance. The rooms have balconies that open to that vista and you can be treated to a spectacular sunrise. Many outstanding hiking trails easily near the hotel. We took a short one to La Rejia with a panoramic view of the major peaks. We also enjoyed the sauna.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Stunning getaway in the mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Simply a little piece of paradise in the mountains. We almost had the place to ourselves which was a bonus. You'll probably not get a better view from your window and if you cannot relax here then you're doing it wrong! Staff were lovely, food was incredible. Now plotting exactly when we can return!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    The hotel and area definitely was worth the long trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was good for the rest of the party, but there was only one vegetarian main dish option and it was a small portion without any carbs.

    The area is beautiful, the hotel is cosy and comfortable. The guarden and the swimming pool are great for a relaxed time after breakfast. Breakfast was nice also.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic location with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fantastic food though a few, more, lighter dishes would have added to the menu.

    Fantastic location with great views. Very peaceful, beautiful and calm with great walks nearby. We will return. Less than an hours drive from Malaga airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing day in the Eagle's nest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The signed route to the centre of Tolox is not for the faint hearted - it's very narrow, very steep and has some very tight turns. I'd avoid that sharp left turn and go straight on.

    Beautiful situation with views right down to the coast. A good sized pool which is very well maintained. Large comfortable rooms. Eating outside under the wisteria in the evening was a great experience and the food was of a very high standard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    A bit difficult to get to without a car, but this place is a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit difficult to get to without a car, but this place is a little heaven on earth! It was wonderful to not be surrounded by crowds, as typically happens on la costa del sol. The pool area and gardens are gorgeous, and there are a number of hiking options in the area. The nearby village of Tolox is authentic and charming. The food at the hotel was excellent - and their homemade sangria was the best I have ever had! Try it! Hope to visit again someday!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location staff and food ! Shame about the room !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I unfortunately got the last room available and it faced a courtyard on ground floor ! Very disappointing but hotelier was very good in handling my disappointment

    Great photoelectric in stunning location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    Relaxed atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking full, but outside the gate parking along the gravel road is possible. Breakfast good but a bit basic.

    Location, clean swimming pool and nice garden with spectacular view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Paradise of Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.so nothing.

    Beautiful surroundings.great pool. Best view ever.good food comfortable rooms.you will need a car though. You won't be able to walk to the town.there are some great walks right outside the door.Coin is a great Town to visit Marbella is only 40 mins so a great base if you want to get out and about.Delpaso the best car hire in Malaga too.but hey..won't want to go out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    So good we came back to stay another night at the end of our motorcycle tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking for sports motorcycles was a little 'Interesting' as the car park is all loose gravel which canmake the bikes unstable on the single side stand. A small covered parking area with a hard concrete or stone surface would be a welcome improvement.

    Stunning Location, wonderful and very helpful staff, great food. Swimming pool was lovely and warm and the perfect end to a day of motorcycle riding. If you want to stay away from the hoardes on the coast, the tranquility offered at this hotel is wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful rustic hotel, delightful and breathtaking views. We go every year!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toaster was very very slow! The coffee from the machine was bitter and very strong with no options to make it weaker. There was no milk available on breakfast bar. A thermos flask with milk in would work well! 😊

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    Amazing views and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fabulously situated hotel with magnificent views and great walks directly from the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. The food was exceptionally good and very reasonably priced

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Great value and restaurant, but would need a style up!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think they could've done the style and planning of the hotel better. It has an excellent location, but is not very attractive looking.

    The restaurant was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is nice and warm inside,even in winter when its normally cold everywhere you go. Fantastic staff, food is fantastic and Hotel in mountains in the giving healthy benefits of the green nature. Cracling fire places and Spa is verynice extra!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.6
    Defiantly stay again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa is really nice but needs to be a bit more private. People peeking around the side to see inside while your using it was a bit off putting to your relaxation. Minor issue and would not stop me staying again.

    Perfect food , perfect wine and perfect silence. What a beautiful place. So quiet and out the way. The views are amazing. Room was nice (suite). Dog was welcome and loved it there.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic stay, very quiet in the hotel, and outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect place, great view high above Tolox in the moutains. Good for walks, enjoy quietness in and arround the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    excellent hotel, friendly staff brilliant location and nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was non existent in rooms

    excellent hotel, friendly staff brilliant location and nice and quiet surroundings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    So so lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    THE FOOD, THE SETTING!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Bedroom was spacious and the views were fantastic.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing in particular

    Bedroom was spacious and the views were fantastic. The variety for breakfast made it very Moorish.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could of been a bit more comfortable and there was an annoying dog that barked every afternoon

    Fantastic location, attentive staff, great food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Incredible place in the sky for romantic adventures and beautiful hikes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very relaxed and great energy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Wondreful view and wonderful food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was the best we have eaten in a long time. They deserve their Michelin rating for 2017

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    3rd time this year, took my family back as I had enjoyed it so much on my motorcycle tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, food, views, tranquility

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Load guest in the night. Shouting etc.

    Staff were very nice. Food was really good for a great price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous holiday in a beautiful location - will definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything was fantastic - the staff, food, facilities and environment . Completely calm and stress free holiday in a stunning location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    5.8
    One star hostel in five-star location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was more hostel than hotel and the breakfast/dinners were over-priced

    The location was five star

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Good kitchen.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good kitchen. Some very good specialities. Very nice staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible place and location. Lovely restaurant and excellent staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.1
    very QUITE and best viewing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very QUITE and best viewing .Food was excellent in restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    5.0
    The views and the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views and the food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful. Brilliant location with wonderful swimming pool. Bed very comfortable. Good food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.8
    The bedroom was large and generally comfortable,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very friendly but a little disorganised particularly at checkout.

    The bedroom was large and generally comfortable, particularly the bed. The food was very good in the restaurant both for breakfast and the evening meal. The location and views are fabulous however the road leading to the hotel might be a little uncomfortable at night.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    10
    The location is stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have no complaints!

    The location is stunning. Charming and helpful staff and wonderful food. To look out first thing in the morning at the view from our room made us glad to be alive!

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything. Very beautifully located, extremely helpful and friendly staff, and the food was just delicious. I intended to stay only one night but ended up extending my stay to taste more of the food and enjoy the cozy ambiente for a little more.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    9.6
    Friendly and polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly and polite staff. Comfortable room with king size bed and great view. Fantastic food - best chips and lamb I've ever had in Spain. Great location for walking in the Sierra de las Nieves which was the purpose of my stay. Very comfortable lounge with wood fire.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    7.1
    The views would be perfect if you have the front of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spa area was far too expensive and nothing was working properly, complete over charge for a hot tub that had no jets and a sauna that never reached the correct temperature even when we had booked to use it

    The views would be perfect if you have the front of the hotel, the back was basically facing the carpark

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    9.6
    If you need a retreat to recharge, this it the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only negatives I would say are the menu was pretty pricey and the sitting and dining room areas, although beautifully done were lacking in atmosphere, especially around the bar areas. It would be nice to see some more pictures and traditional Spain being put back into this rooms. This is purely constructive criticism as otherwise they have done a superb job.

    If you need a retreat to recharge, this it the place. It is absolute therapy. I suffer with insomnia very badly...I didn't here! The beds were the best I've ever slept in and the location out of this world. When I need to meditate, this is where I take myself too!

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    8.8
    This was my second visit to Cerro de Hijar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Perhaps a little expensive compared to other Spanish hotels of the same specification, but the surroundings - on top of a hill with amazing views - aren't often equalled.

    This was my second visit to Cerro de Hijar. The first was in the middle of winter about three years ago, when we arrived late at night to a log fire. This time we enjoyed the delights of high summer - a great swimming pool and the hotel's spectacular natural environment. The rooms are decorated sparingly, but a great deal of money has been invested to keep everything at a very high level. What's more, cleanliness will satisfy the highest requirements. All in all, a very good address!

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.6
    The panorama is wonderful, the garden is full with palms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The panorama is wonderful, the garden is full with palms, this is the island of harmony and silence;) The dinner was tasteful, high quality, reasonable prize.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    7.9
    The staff were very accommodating, the room was clean with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booking.com said air con was included but was only available at an extra cost, but there was a ceiling fan in our room (16) the same menu after the second day was getting very difficult to order from and would think a daily specials (menu of the day) would help with this. The food was expensive compared to other places we ate at in Malaga area and when booking this hotel this should be considered because of its location you would need to drive down into Tolox which is a very small town/village, every time we drove upto the hotel it was light I wouldn't want to drive up in the dark.

    The staff were very accommodating, the room was clean with tea and coffee making facility, and a fridge, the food was very nice. The hotel had nice views but it's what you would expect been 3,000ft above sea level.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    7.9
    Absolutely beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could have included price of spa - a little expensive at 15 euros each. No service at Dinner or breakfast!!!

    Absolutely beautiful location. Very laid back atmosphere. Don't expect great service - it's very much DIY, but that adds to its charm. The spa (hot tub and sauna) are superb - sit in hot tub and view is breathtaking! Dinner excellent.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    8.3
    The staff were very warm and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Difficult to get to and from if you don't hire a car. Taxis are expensive and buses are few.

    The staff were very warm and friendly. They went out of their way to help. The hotel is located on the mountains overlooking Tolox onto the sea. The views are breathtaking and it's very tranquil.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    9.6
    Really excellent restaurant, and the outdoor sauna and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a yoga group sharing the hotel with us which made the dining room a bit noisy.

    Really excellent restaurant, and the outdoor sauna and jacuzzi (tho' you have to pay for it, €30 per hour for a couple for exclusive use) is lovely. We enjoyed our views of the mountains from our bedroom window!

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    8.8
    everything, but particularly enjoying a lovely meal in front...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    everything, but particularly enjoying a lovely meal in front of the fire in the lounge. (I'm travelling with a dog and usually banished to my room when it's too cold to eat outside)

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    8.8
    Very good restaurant !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very good restaurant !

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    10
    Cozy room with excellent heating, friendly staff, superb...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cozy room with excellent heating, friendly staff, superb food!

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    10
    Amazing location and fantastic find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Amazing location and fantastic find!

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    10
    Views, food quality and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Views, food quality and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    The tranquil surroundings, everything about this hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The tranquil surroundings, everything about this hotel is fantastic

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    Everything, pool location, food, price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything, pool location, food, price. ,staff

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    10
    everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    none

    everything!

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    9.2
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    9.6
    great access to national park, fantastic view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great access to national park, fantastic view

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    7.5
    Food is excellent , friendly staffs , lovely atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    it would be better if the hotel provide free drinking water in the room.

    Food is excellent , friendly staffs , lovely atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    8.8
    Staff is very friendly and assistent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Supper first day wasn't great but the second day was perfect.

    Staff is very friendly and assistent.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    10
    Great Jen in the hills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great Jen in the hills

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    7.5
    views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    evening dinner at nine only

    views

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: