Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Inglés 1 stars

Boqueria ,19, Ciutat Vella, 08002 Barcelona, Spain

#343 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1815 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    fabulous city break stay but remember this is a busy part of Barcelona, morning, noon and night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    be aware this area is busy everyday and every night!....It's a party area and the 'Stag and Hen' crowd keep this area busy into the early hours, then the cleaning crews start early too (4.30-5.00am). The buildings are old and so cannot be provided with much soundproofing. It's a lively area, please do not go to this area if you expect a 'restful' location. We went for the city experience and followed it with a few days rest down the coast, we expected it to be busy and so was not put off by the prospect of a couple of disturbed nights. This is no reflection on the accommodation which is perfectly acceptable for a city break with good transport links from the Airport.

    fabulous location just 50m off the Las Rambla pedestrian area....very busy, very cosmopolitan and with great selection of shops, bars, cafe's and restaurants. 15-20 mins walk to the harbour and the tour bus stop in one direction and roughly the same to the Playa da Catalunya square.....excellent metro link as the Liceu station is 100m away...superbly located for city visits.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, clean and basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning not sufficient, more English TV and a plug for my sink. It's a great price for the location but very basic. I'd still use it again so...

    Right in the city centre, fantastic location for sight seeing. Don't do breakfast but next door does for €4,50. Bargin!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel for location and budget, would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a bit hard, pillows a bit flat and the bedding wasn’t the softest. But every day we walked over 20k steps so sleeping wasn’t an issue.

    The hotel suited our needs well. Central location to eveything we walked everywhere. The staff was friendly and accommodating helping us store our medicine in the fridge and our luggage for the day. I also liked coming home each night and seeing a friendly face at the desk, I felt more safe. The AC worked well and it was hot those nights. Our view was also very nice, overall would recommend to friends on a budget.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Value to money, convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are always some pick-pockets, people wandering or staring at you in the lanes and areas around the metro station, even though the police are often stationing or patrolling around here. Feel a bit unsafe at late nights.

    In the shopping area, very close to line 3 Liceu metro station. Easy to get to the tourist attractions. Reasonable price considering the location. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely city, nice people. Great architecture and plenty to see...or not!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No kettle in the room, and tea from the cafe Boqueria next door (in the same block) is €2.50. That's all the negatives I can think of!

    If you want to be right among the hustle and bustle of the city, this is perfect! A travel tip! If you find it noisy close the wooden shutters and patio door...peace! Very nice staff and breakfast right next door!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    This is a one star hotel so don't let your expectations...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about. If anything I think they could throw in tea and coffee making facilities. Most budget hotels these days do. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that but I'm sure it would be your basic continental one.

    This is a one star hotel so don't let your expectations run away with you. It is what it is. Just a basic bed for the night but only 20 feet from La Rambla, the most popular tourist area in Barcelona.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Coffee making facilities and a small fridge in the room would have been good. Also the shower door was half missing so there was constantly water on the floor after showering.

    Great location, less than a minute away from Las Ramblas and very close to the Gothic quarter. I was upgraded to a twin instead of a single, much appreciated! I asked for a room with a balcony and this was given, the only downside was that it was quite noisy due to the street below, however this was to be expected as it's a busy part of the city!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    A Winning Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally I found the bed hard. Which meant a couple of sleepless nights.

    As soon as I mentioned the problem I was having a solution was found and sleep filled nights were mine again. The staff were always willing to help and with a smile.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.7
    Hotel Inglés is located at a good spot (for daytime), is clean and quite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Right, firstly this is not a place to stay extended periods I think. Although my single room was enough for a few days (may be a week max.) it would feel cramped if I was staying longer. The shower cabinet was kinda small as well, I couldn't use my arms and needed to open the doors to be able to move inside. The cleaning obviously starts as 8 in the morning and the cleaning lady is a bit lazy to lift the corridor furniture but pull and push them around instead as she cleans and you can imagine the fun you may have after all tiredness you had the previous day (walking La Ramble, La Sagarda Familia, Park Guell etc. and all the beers you had :) and waking up with this. I think this was the first time I have been waken up by an employee rather than other customers. So this is a big minus for here. Another issue is the location. It is located at a good spot for the daytime, however when the sky turns dark the things shifts to a darker shade around here as well. Prostitutes & drug dealers trying to sell their commodities, pickpockets looking for a prey... If you're staying alone you have to put your best "bad ass" look and attitude while walking to your hotel late at night, and that's exactly what I did :)

    The property is quite old however that's not an issue (also expected given the location) as it is a well looked after and clean building. I booked a single room (Room No. 404) and size was enough for me as I used it just for sleeping and shower purposes. It also had a comfortably sized table where you could use your laptop and work if you needed. I was expecting a noisy hotel as it is located at a good spot (check the negatives below about this) and cheaper than the other places but it was dead quite. The room does not have window towards the street which is a positive. I would book this room again if I ever come back to Barcelona only just for this (again, check below). I have read the previous reviews before I booked this hotel and found them very helpful but I feel like I have to say the cleanliness is not "spotless" but still being at a very high standard. Also I was very happy to have a supermarket next to the hotel 24h open and popped in every night (late) to buy bottled water for the night. At this point if you are still reading my review I advise you to check the "What didn't you like?" section as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice basic hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit noisy.

    The hotel is centrally located. It is close to restaurants, bars, market and metro station. Clean and comfy enough. Tip! The specific metro line is convenient for sightseeing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    Best position possible, a few meters from a Rambla and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness was ok but could be better. The window was facing on a very tiny courtyard, almost a well. No view at all but very quiet at night.

    Best position possible, a few meters from a Rambla and underground station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I didn't like about this place. If I had to pick one thing, I'd ask for more English speaking TV channels? But that's hardly necessary...

    Great value. Simple hotel but very clean and tidy. Bed was incredibly comfortable (slept for 13 hours the first night!). Perfect location, right next to Liceu metro station. 24h shop a few doors away. Staff very helpful and a special shoutout to the staff who found my passport after I checked out and kept it safe for me! Would definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    A good value for a budget traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was hard and a bit uncomfortable. My single room had a window overlooking a tiny internal courtyard well, which did not let it any fresh air but carried sounds very well

    Nice location, close and convenient to everything. Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Staff was super nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels have a stain here, stain there. Small.

    Staff was super nice and helpful. Specially Gerard. Location is perfect. Not to far from Paseo de Gràcia and Aerobús.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Love you Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room

    The hotel is in the heart of La Rambla, so everything is convenient. The Gothic Quarter, Columbus statue, Wax museum, daily market, Catholic church, harbour and metro station are within a few minutes circle. Hundreds of restaurants including Macdonald's, Burger king and KFC are again just in your doorstep. You could also try various local foods and souvenir inside local side streets. All these streets remain busy till midnight, so you could walk around till late with your family. Just be careful with your belongings at night and don't fall in traps of drug sellers, yet they only target young white people.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice short stay with friendly staff and best location possible walking to La Rambla in 2mins
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was smelling of smoke even though the property is smoke free. Reception guy said likely the house keeping staff smoked inside. Room had terrace so we left terrace door open for ventilation and smoke smell was gone in a bit. Very helpful and friendly front desk staff.

    Location is amazing. Room size was nice. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    I felt like I was in Barcelona... with amazing experiences.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't there long enough, 3 nights just was not long enough.

    The staff was exceptional, the location amazing, the accommodations were comfortable, all of the conveniences were so close, I loved the balcony... absolutely nothing negative to say.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    On the overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee facilities in the room

    The bed was very comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful.Centrally located to the main attractions and within 5 min walking distance to the Metro.Thanks to the friendly staff for suggesting the best value for money dining places.Looking forward to staying at Ingles when I visit Barcelona

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view in solo room. Not an issue. Very quiet.

    Excellent location very close to LaRambla. Staff friendly. Clean accommodation. I do recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.8
    OK, but very small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very, very small--difficult for two people to move around in, and with few spaces to put things down (suitcases, glasses, computer, extra clothes)--simply very cramped.

    The desk was manned 24 hours and always helpful and friendly. The whole place, though very basic, was scrupulously clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Very clean place in the center of stormy life of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We´v missed the refrigerator and second door in room for acoustics. But stay was quiet just the same.

    Very clean place in the center of stormy life of town. We´v had quiet room to the yard under the tower of Eglesia de Santa Maria del Pi. When you go out, you are in vivacious street. Fantastik place for exploring historical and modern center of town, near the port and beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    A modest hotel with an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The price was very expensive for one person, the room was very small, the safe was extra charge, the window in the room was very small and turned into the building, the bathroom had no place to place personal belongings and toiletries and makeup, single bed, The service was sometimes unpleasant and sometimes it was good and courteous(Depending on which of the employees was at the reception

    what was most important to me when choosing a hotel is to have a central location, safe for a walk alone at night and have private bathroom and bathroom in the room. All my expectations on these issues were answered. Beyond that the room was very clean, the sheets and towels were changed every day and the room was cleaned every day Hot water flows in the shower with a very good current and a hermetic shower that the water does not spill out A power outlet for charging the cell phone next to the bed and the possibility of closing the light in the room without getting out of bed There was a comfortable elevator

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were very dirty (bedsheets, floor, tables), the bathroom was dirty and had a foul smell. The lighting and room is tacky, and generally doe snot give a comfortable feel to it. I would not go again or recommend it to anyone (unless you're on a really tight budget).

    The location and staff friendliness are probably the only good things about this place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    Fair experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to pay extra fees for the safe key, it should be available for free. The windows are not isolating, I could hear anyone talking in the street. also there's a bar downstairs that caused a lot of noise. If someome can sleep in the noise, it won't be a problem, for me, it was

    It was clean. The location was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    A nice short break right on Las Ramblas, handy for popping in and out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues, and value for money I would but unkind to try and find faults.

    Location was excellent, we have stayed here before. Staff were excellent and spoke English.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Great spot. Friendly atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doors slam everytime someone leaves. It’s very noisy. There’s no provision for 2 suitcases to be put on a bench and there’s no bench space at all in the bathrooms for your toiletry bag.

    The staff are all friendly and helpful. Even the cleaners. The location is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    People were friendly. Great located next to Gothic District. Uncomforting white light no ambiance.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The light at the room was like the ones for construction, too bright no ambience at all. Though the room was clean and with enough space. For business purpose they missed an ironing board.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit of humidity in the single bed room

    Great location close to everything, and it is very good according to how much it costs. The staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.7
    Staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows uncomfortable. I did request for another pillow which staff accommodated but still of lower quality. Room was small - felt closed in In all fairness you pay for the location

    Staff were friendly Location was ideal

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location of this hotel is amazing! You have a metro station just across the road and plenty of good restaurants to choose from all in the vicinity, especially the market la boqueria. Me and my boyfriend spent 7 nights there and we can't complain about anything :) The staff were very helpful and our room was always clean when we got back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Staying in barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! better quality of shampoo will be good. But in general nothing to complain about

    Great location . Very clean . Good space and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    Nice choise for a short stay and sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we had was really modest. We were prepared to that due to description on booking.com and price, but still. The furniture is old and outdated, the bed sometimes didn't feel fresh, as well as the shower.

    The location is perfect, right in the middle of La Rambla in a quiet sidestreet, next to a metro station, in a walking distance from Plaza Cataluna from where we travelled to the airport on Aerobus. Very convenient! All beautiful places are very close, as well as bars and restaurants with wine and tapas. Receptionists were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    4.2
    Not good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bath-shower room was small and not clean. Lift also too small. Front door was found locked 3 times during our short stay and have to wait before someone shows up to open. Not worth the price.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.9
    Overall I had a pleasant experience and I would go back again. I loved the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room, and the shower didn’t have a door (bathroom door was present, but no shower door or curtain)

    Excellent location! Very small hotel tucked in a small street right off of La Rambla. The staff was friendly. Beware that there is no refrigerator.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Good price, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing worth considering

    The location is perfect, it's just a few steps from La Rambla and the Liceu metro station, which makes it convenient to move around the city. It takes 5 minutes to walk to La Boqueria where you can have amazing breakfast. The room was quiet considering the touristy location. It wasn't the highest quality but everything was clean (the cleaning lady came every day) and it had a good price-quality ratio. I recommend it if you're looking for a good hotel on a budget in a great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    Loved it we will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only improvement could have been tea/coffee making facilities but there are plenty little cafes around in the little streets

    Fantastic location a few steps from Las Ramblas.Clean and comfortable hotel .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    4.6
    Great room view, bad room conditions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible smell in the room (wet old building), shower gel only for the first night - we had to ask for, late in the evening -, bathroom the same smell and not that clean. Cold in the room (the room heater was open only by night, no heater in the bathroom).

    The balcony and the garden view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    Best location in the town, friendly staff and good restaurants around!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Beware of the pickpockets in the area, they also tend to steal a whole backpack. If you are traveling alone make sure you get the reception to book a cab for you and get a driver to pick you up from reception, it's a lot safer this way.

    Best thing about this hotel is the location, everything is close or reachable via metro line which is located 50m from the property. Loads of good restaurants around, including la Boqueria just next door. Staff is really nice and helpful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    nice hotel with small rooms but in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooms are very small. Literally the length of a bed + bathroom. Window is kinda there, but useless and leads into a well.

    Location is great. A few meter from La Rambla and Petit Palace hotel where me and my colleagues usually stay on business.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    3.3
    Loved this hotel. Would return. Great location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One lady on reception was unfriendly and the shower was a bit difficult because it was small although clean and modernized.

    My window overlooked the laneway so I loved that. Bed very comfrotable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.3
    Good value for money, and clean. Rooms could be improved though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room had something like a window, but not much natural light coming in, so I felt a bit claustrophobic, and did not therefore stay in the room until it was time to sleep. The colors in the room were quite dull, which made it worse. If it were at least brightly decorated the lack of natural light may not be as apparent.

    The location and it's a clean place. Good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Right off La Rambla, it was Super convenient to get to the airport and back. Fantastic for us as we had a very early morning flight! Near to the shopping and sights. Walking distance to the Barrio Gothic! Bathroom was huge and bed was Super comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    It was in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the hotel room.

    It was in an excellent location. Really close to a metro station, La Rambla and Is Boqueria market.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect hotel for travelers and city vibes lovers :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location in the great historic area, very friendly and responsive staff. 24/7 reception. The room was nice size with comfortable bed. The bathroom was clean. I would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Location is perfect - near the metro station Liceu, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - the room had a small window facing the wall (you should mention it so that people know what room they are booking) - the bed was very uncomfortable - poor isolation - you can hear all the noise from the corridor and next rooms. - WiFi didn't work properly

    Location is perfect - near the metro station Liceu, the walking street Rambla, the market La Boqueria, a lot of cafes and souvenirs shops, the Gothic quarter and many other interesting places. The room was small but clean. The personnel speaks good English.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.1
    A cheap hotel, clean but Very Small, the location wasnt bad and you get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ok, I was value for money, but you would swing a cat, it was very small, I'd say, 9' x 7' with a on sweet, the bed was very small and I got what I paid for !

    The Location, wasn't bad

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have tea and coffee facilities but great cafe next door.

    Superb location , room was clean, comfortable and good size, staff were charming and very helpful, cannot recommend enough for basic but perfectly good accommodation. Will definitely use again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Y hotel Everytime I go to Barcelona
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi connection didn’t work inside my room (n.202),so I had to sit on the sofa outside the room to send some emails

    Staff is extremely kind and position is great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff, clean hotel & central location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a view of a wall and other Windows from our window, dark room due to this but that's the price you pay for a central location

    Clean rooms and nice staff. The location is great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    6.3
    Average place, it is OK for a night or two
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was small with no view whatsoever (small window to a lichthof) and the walls were dirty. Dirty socks (!) and dropped pill on the ground were left over from the previous tenant... Walls thin as paper, therefore you can hear all the noises from the corridor, and it IS very noisy.

    The lady who checked me in was very nice and helpful, staff is really nice at this place. Location is perfect, you could not wish for a better location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    4.6
    location very good. other thing very bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -little room -old material, bed -lift stuck by persons who want to hide themself to call somebody and to talk - staff not professional

    location near "La Rambla"

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Price, location, new sanitary ware in bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Soundproof qualities. Window opens in inner technical chamber and almost no light comes through. Minor scent of ciggaretes in the room. But that's what I kinda expected from 1-star hotel for such a low price so I wasn't dissapointed.

    Price, location, new sanitary ware in bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound carries room to room

    Surprizingly clean, the front desk staff exceptional, so helpful, such a nice feature to be able to leave bags for a few hours after check out before heading to airport in the late afternoon. ( nice not to be the guy dragging two suitcases around the market) So thoughtful of staff to ask if I needed a bathroom before going to the airport. The rooms not sound proof but good value!👍👍👍

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.0
    Good location. Bed bugs!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed for 4 nights. My husband and I woke with bed bug bites and we asked to be moved to a different room. On arrival home more bites have started to appear on our skin, face, arms, legs, torso. This is most disturbing and unsatisfactory. I will be contacting hotel management with pictures

    The hotel was in an excellent location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.2
    Clean, basic, affordable accommodations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi occasionally died. That was more of an irritant than a problem.

    Hotel Ingles provides spartan accommodations, so don’t expect a chocolate on your pillow. But my room was affordable, quiet, sparkling clean, and well-tended by staff. They have a 24-hour desk and most of the staff speaks basic English. The hotel is close to La Rambla, Carrer Sant Pau, and Carrer Feran, three large streets that allow you to walk anywhere to explore the sights. Also, the hotel is next to Santa Maria del Pi, so you can hear the church bells. I would stay there again without hesitation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    6.7
    The Location of the hotel was great and very close to metro...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bad thing was that the room was realy cold during the night because they turned off the heaters. When I called the reception regarding this nobody answered the phone.

    The Location of the hotel was great and very close to metro station. The room was tiny but clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    2.5
    Please return my money!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged me twice and its been a month since Im waiting for my money....return my money!

    Please return my money!! They charged me twice and its been a month since Im waiting for my money.... Regarding hotel it self - Location is perfect, rooms are nice, staff is friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    Great value for money and in the centre of Barcelona!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow was very hard, but other than that the hotel was great.

    The hotel is really good considering the price. I stayed in a single room which had all the necessary amenities for a short weekend trip. I would definitely recommend Hotel Inglés!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect room in ideal location .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reduced rate made excellent value for simple but perfect room with own shower and toilet. Spotless, quiet, warm in December and all working,including new lift. A few yards off Ramblas and Liceu metro station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.7
    Just what you need for a short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was single but quite small, smaller than I imagined. Of course this is something you expect at an old city center hotel. Room had one window but not any view and when you open it for fresh air there was a disturbing noise.

    The room was quite clean and the cleaning personnel was very pleasant and good at their work. The wifi reception was excellent in the room and also in the hotel premises. The hotel has an excellent location near Rambla Street and also Liceu Metro Station so you can have easy access to the city busy center but also at any other destination in the city of Barcelona or at the airport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a really relaxing hotel easy to check in and out, would definitely recommend staying here and plan to stay here again when I go back to Barcelona

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.7
    It is in a good location but the walls were very thin.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is in a good location but the walls were very thin. You can hear whatever is happen in the corridor. It was hard to sleep with hearing every footstep and the sound of other guests.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could have been cleaned everyday, though it is clean.

    The location is perfect. Ten seconds walk from La Rambla and 20 seconds to Lyceu metro station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    The bed and pillow was very comfortable, location is good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillow was very comfortable, location is good you can pretty much walk to everywhere but sagrada familia is slightly further away but still within walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    excellent!! we will be recommending the hotel and will be returning early next year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i could not think of anything, maybe an extra drawer unit in our room or a slightly bigger tv. everything was really good

    The lady on reception in the evening was brilliant! very helpful and informative, very kind, the room was very spacious and comfortable, the bathroom was small but modern and nice, the room was lovely and warm when the heating was on too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    excellent value for money, excellent location right next to liceu metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room was small with no window, elevator was too tight, prostitutes hanging outside the hotel at midnight

    excellent location, good value for money, most staff were good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.6
    - The best location for its price - 20 seconds on foot from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - Soundproof is poor - you hear all your neighbors. - No any cover on the floor - better to use slippers because the floor can be a bit cold. - TV remote with only 4 buttons - absolutely not friendly, no chance to look at the channel list or to enter a channel number. *** My advice to the hotel - is to put some small shelf into the shower cabin on the wall or into the corner with shower for soap/gel/shampoo because there is nowhere to put them inside the cabin.

    - The best location for its price - 20 seconds on foot from central street La Rambla, many brand shops, bars, restaurants, souvenir shops, Gothic Quarter, La Boqueria market, Metro station. There are 2 ways how to get there from the airport: 1) Bus A1 or A2 (depends on the arrival terminal) to Pl. Espanya -> L3 metro line to the station Liceu and exit backward and then on the left. But there are not much escalators in the metro so you need to jump with all your baggage on the stairs. 2) Bus A1 or A2 (depends on the arrival terminal) to Pl. Catalunya -> on foot down the street La Rambla to the hotel about 10-15 mins depends on walking speed. Takes a bit much time then by the metro, but no change bus-metro need. Main landmark - the dragon and the umbrella on the corner. - Very friendly staff. Helped to solve the problem with wi-fi and allowed to leave baggage after check-out before the plain. - Heating was turned on as soon as there became more or less cold. - Shower cabin is pretty big. The breakfast is in the restaurant next door to the hotel. 4.5 euro for juice, croissant, coffee and toast with jam. But there are plenty of different points for breakfast for any taste and money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    Strategic location, near to Liceau metro station and close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room are small and table inside makes the space smaller. However still comfortable

    Strategic location, near to Liceau metro station and close to La Rambla area. For Muslim you can easily find Halal food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a room that faced the street so a little noisy till about 1am.

    A great location. The room was basic but clean a comfortable. Good bathroom. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.5
    I would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains were not clean. The room has a smell, as if the previous guest had smoked.

    Very good location and it was perfect for one night. I loved the balcony.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    City life of Catalunya within footsteps of a quiet hotel room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived the receptionist was away from the front desk and the front door was locked. However, they returned after approximately 5 minutes. This was also the case on one occasion as we waited to exit.

    An excellent location just off La Rambla. A quiet room away from the hustle and bustle. Easy access to all the pubs, restaurants, tapas bars and within walking distance of the city tour stop at Plaza de Catalunya.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money and very helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small but great value for the price.

    Staff were very helpful, room was clean and close to train station. Near Patisserie, pizza place and supermarket.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    4.2
    Way too small room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way too small room. Found previous customers hair from my bed and bathroom. No view at all- there was a wall 1 meter from my window. I could here bathroom noises from both neighbouring rooms too precisely. I don't recommend this hotel at all at least when you travel solo and book a single room. Location was good though.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location,friendly staff comfortable bed very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small, no view or balcony. A little expensive taking into account limited facilities but we did book quite late.

    Great location,friendly staff comfortable bed very clean. No food in house but this is not a problem taking into account location. Great base to explore the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.3
    Normal stay in Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is really basic. Really basic for the high price charged. However, all Barcelona is similar. It has become a famous tourist destination and the demand for dwelling for tourist is huge. This raises up prices in everywhere (hotels, Airbnb, etc)

    The location. It is in the middle of the ramblas. Impossible to be closer to city center.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Inglés traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: