Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sercotel Las Rocas 4 stars

Flaviobriga, 1, 39700 Castro-Urdiales, Spain

#1 of 17 hotels in Castro-Urdiales

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1157 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some road noise from cars over a man hole on main road passed the hotel. Garage was a tight squeeze and 8 euro per night The advert photo of the hotel is misleading as it looks closer to the beach and stands alone.

    Nice room comfortable bed. Young lad in cafe very friendly and helpful. Well situated to get to sea front and walk to town. Near to motir way.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel in a vibrant Spanish coastal town about 30 minutes drive from Bilbao ferry port. There is a beach with soft sand just opposite the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noises from the other bedrooms.

    The hotel is conveniently located for the Brittany Ferries terminal at Bilbao. It was quite comfortable although there was very little sound insulation between the bedrooms and the plumbing from the rooms adjacent/above was quite noisy as it's an old building. Food in the cafeteria was quite good and reasonably priced. We did not try the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    It's a 4* hotel with all the comforts and facilities you'd expect. There is secure car park available at €8 or €9 or so (although we managed to get spot outside on the road). Breakfast looked good but we had early getaway. Used by Brittany Ferries as holiday offering. Beach is just across the way, town is 20 minute walk. Quick enough to get to Bilbao Ferry Terminal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a lot of outside space for sitting / sunbathing, but a nice beach was close by.

    Room was perfectly located with very good views. We took a walk from the hotel every evening to the harbour (took about 30 min), it was perfect. Food was good. Staff were very accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was (what looked like) rat poop on the bathroom floor when we woke up in the morning.... that was gross!

    beds were extremely comfy and the room was HUGE! the buffet was GREAT!!! we loved that.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues

    A really lovely hotel closely located to the beach, promenade and bars. Clean rooms. Great friendly staff. Free WiFi. Good food in the hotel. Less than €3 bus ride into central Bilbao. I’m looking forward to revisiting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Perfect for us.

    Love this hotel. Always stay here as it suits us very well. Dog friendly but not allowed in the restaurant. The rooms are large and toiletries, towels etc renewed daily. There is tea/coffee facilities and a small fridge with complementary soft drinks daily. The staff are excellent and so helpful. The hotel is a short walk to the beach and about a 15 minute walk to the harbour. There is a hotel car park which you have to pay for but there are several free places directly outside the hotel and the surrounding streets. Bilbao port is about a 20 minute drive and Santander port about a 45 minute drive away. Both we’ll sign posted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we have stayed at this hotel for many years now and found it excellent but this time it was even better the room was magnificent as we were on the top floor on arrival the reception wassuperb as we had had a poor journey from javea and the receptionist told us we could go strait to the bar and relax before we signed in superb

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Always stay here because it is perfect for us. Service is exceptional and the rooms are large and very comfortable. Parking is easy nearby but there is a garage if needed. Very pet friendly but dogs are not allowed in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast buffet leaves a lot to be desired, in terms of diversity and food quality, which are both not compatible with the claims of being a four-star-hotel facility. Only the coffee and a few of the pastries were alright, if your're staying just for a couple of days

    After arriving with my rental car from Bilbao Airport, I was very pleased that there was---at my early PM arrival time---a parking space available directly in front of the hotel for the small Mini Countryman, which appeared to be a secure spot, even for leaving the car overnight. The hotel also has---in comfortable walking distance to the main entrance---a (manually operated) garage available, but it appears to be an elaborate procedure to park and withdraw the car from there, especially for a just a quick trip on a short notice. For late PM or nighttime arrivals, it is necessary to park about 50 m from the main entrance, which is alright. It was a pleasant surprise to encounter a nearly empty beach there, as my arrival in mid April was obviously outside of the tourist season for Cantabria. I had used the hotel location as an excursion point for travels into Pais Vasco, visiting the spectacular Guggenheim museum and the likewise idyllic Old Town of Bilbao, as well as Gernika, Durango. Vitoria-Gasteiz and scenic San Sebastian. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, reserving a room on the third floor, with a slightly obstructed view to the adjacent beach. If you are using any electrical utilities inside your room---like charging the batteries of your laptop, or recharging your cellular phone---be sure to detach the plastic pad from your key, leaving it inside the slot close to the entrance door, because otherwise all power supplies, with the exception of the small mini bar refrigerator, are going to be interrupted. The receptionist told me later that a second plastic pad can be supplied upon request, so that it may not be necessary to detach the plastic pad, which also shows your room number. The offered spectrum of (free) TV channels ought to be acceptable for most international tourists.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is lovely Castro Urdiales well worth a visit. Food pub grub standard but absolutely fine. Staff very friendly and helpful. This was our 3rd visit 1 night stopover prior to ferry.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    holes in the window, you sleep like outside, difficult communication during check out, cold in the room

    very good communication during check in, big room, coffe and tee in the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast excellent with real fresh orange juice not boxed concentrate as in most hotels. Ordered room service and staff only too pleased to help.room was very large clean and comfortable. Top quality pillows and linen used. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It a 20 minute walk along the promenade into town for restaurants and bars (but after a long journey up from Portugal we were glad to use the good one in the hotel).

    Very pleasant hotel. Large comfortable room with large bathroom. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Castro Urdiales is a smaller quiet seaside town away from the rat race of Bilboa and is very convenient for the Bilboa ferryport. Good secure parking for €8 a day. Close to the town beach and a very long promenade. A five minute walk away you can catch the half hourly bus to the centre of Bilboa - so good to leave the car behind but what a shame the Guggenheim is shut on Mondays!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant unable to provide certain simple items on the menu and bar closed sharp at 23.00hrs

    We liked the location and our room had an excellent view of the beach and the sea.Just a twenty minute stroll along the promenade to a good selection of cafes bars and restaurants.it is very convenient for the port of Bilbao but it is also a nice place to spend a couple of days if your ferry gets cancelled (as ours was) We would definitely recommend this hotel.comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    Staff were helpful and friendly and the food in the restaurant was good. Location is just across the street from a very nice looking beach. Room size was adequate for a one night stay and the bed was comfy. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We went in winter, so we didnt enjoy the beach, but we had a nice walk in the "Paseo Maritimo". A bit far from the town center and the restaurant area, but as is in a small town is not a big problem.

    Nice Hotel, close to the beach with friendly stuff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not eat at the hotel so can't comment on food even though there was a restaurant for evening and morning. Found the breakfast price of 11 euros per head was a bit excessive, especially as we found a cafe on the next block with reasonably priced food which cost four of us 12 euros in total. Generally restaurant prices were a bit high. with plenty of good bars and restaurants in the area.

    Very comfortable hotel very close to the beach and within short walking distance of bars and restaurants. Good size rooms. A very good standard of hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Parking wasn't a problem. The hotel car parking facility was reasonably priced but we managed to park outside for free.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather sterile characterless atmosphere in public areas.

    Good location in lovely town. Well equipped spacious bedroom and bathroom. Bright sunny breakfast room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could have been a little warmer - although a heater was provided.

    Restaurant meal excellent quality and value for money. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice if they had a lounge/bar area with more subdued lighting. The current coffee shop and bar area is very brightly lit and not conducive to relaxation.

    Lovely spacious bedroom and bathroom. Excellent beds and very good quality bed linen. Great front of house staff. Terrific location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff not very welcoming or friendly. It would be good if they would smile

    Excellent breakfast and staff in restaurant cheery and helpful. Great position , very close to beach and cafés . Didn't eat in restaurant as catering for a wedding but menu looked interesting

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything is so clean and professional. The hotel is in a beautiful area. We have stayed here on various occasions and always enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unexpectedly great food. We were too tired to venture out to find an admittedly off-season restaurant for dinner and there was a influx of about 30 bikers right around that hungry time. We had wonderful food, both surf and turf variety and retired to our upgraded room at the top of the hotel, satisfied by the service and the comfortable, spacious rooms. Mental note: return if possible as Castro Urdiales was a most pleasant town with beautiful parks, esplanade walks and sea views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fabulous breakfast buffet - freshly squeezed orange juice from the biggest orange squeezer you've ever seen, huge variety of food. Staff were helpful, the room was not huge but fine for two nights with views of the sea! Garage for the car. FAB.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Eating at the hotel is expensive, however If you go in the opposite direction to the main part of town, there are a few small bars along from the hotel, including a very good one called La Bicicleta, where they serve very good pinchos and where we had a great breakfast.

    We were upgraded to a huge room with a large, very comfortable bed. It also had a lovely seating area with great views. We loved our stay. Castro-Urdiales is a nice place, with a long promenade to the main part of town and a nice walk along the coast in the other direction too. We stayed there before going on to the Guggenheim in Bilbao the next day and it was perfect for that, but the town demands exploring in its own right.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff in restaurant were fantastic and went out of their way to accommodate my young son and make him welcome. Food and service fantastic. Great sea view from our room. Staff polite and courteous at all times.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like

    This hotel was chosen by the welcome we had on arrival ( had not pre- booked ) the lady was really helpful and even should us 2 rooms before we made our decision, lovely rooms. And they also had secure parking. A visit to the church is a must. They also have a superb cycling track you can hire bikes locally.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing noted.

    The hotel was in a great location. The staff checking us in was friendly and gave us an upgrade on our room. We had dinner there one night which was delicious. Service was very good in the dining room. We would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    Rooms are very spacious and the beds are very comfortable. In the room there is a fridge and also tea and coffee making facilities. The staff are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We have stayed here many times and would not want to stay anywhere else in Castro Urdiales. Dogs are very welcome but not allowed in the dining area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was some distance from area with most bars and restaurants, but hotel has both so it was not a problem.

    Best hotel room I've had in Spain. Parking garage was in good location just across the street. Great service from cheerful staff, would definitely stop here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only stayed on room only basis so cannot comment on other facilities.

    Excellent location. Very pretty town. Did not eat in the hotel but a walk along the promenade accessed very good restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only stayed on room only basis so cannot comment on other facilities.

    Excellent location. Very pretty town. Did not eat in the hotel but a walk along the promenade accessed very good restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was not very good and surly waiters.. made to feel we were an inconvenience having it at all. One night we were told restaurant closed and then a very noisy wedding took place for several hours in the hotel making us again feel a bit unwanted.

    Very comfy beds and huge room with good big window that opened and comfy chairs to sit by it in rather than proper balcony. Could hear the sea.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little disappointing...not much fresh fruit and quite expensive for what was offered.

    Originally in a room with baby next door! Asked to be moved and they did so immediately. Beautiful room and good service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing .

    This is the second time we have stopped at this hotel. It is ideal for catching the boat back from Bilboa about 15 minutes. The hotel is situated in a lovely location overlooking the sea. Rooms good size, good breakfast staff pleasant. It is a nice steady walk into the town plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. We paid for parking in a secure garage, but you can pay on the meters in the street if you can find a parking space. We would definetly stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Superb location just across from the beach. Large and comfortable rooms. Friendly and helpful staff, many of whom spoke English - although that would not have been essential. Plenty of good restaurants and bars in the vicinity.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    A very well run hotel that still offers personal service with a smile! Wonderful location right on the beach in a super little seaside town. Breakfast was very good and rooms very well thought out, equipped and comfortable. A winner!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The greeting at reception was not exactly warm but at least efficient and in English. An itemised account should be supplied for payment without having to be asked for.

    The hotel was easy to find and secure parking is next to the property, although you could probably find street parking outside. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. The enclosed balcony gave good sea views. It's an easy stroll to the beach and town so overall a great position. The restaurant is fine if you don't want to eat in town. It was good to break our drive along the green coast in this spot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like.

    The location of the hotel near the beach is fabulous. The secure parking for the motorbikes is a bonus and the staff were friendly and really helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No umbrellas available by the door. These were normally available in most hotels in the north of Spain given the possibility of rain. I asked reception but he answered that he cannot help.

    The hotel was nice and comfortable and very clean. A pleasant walk to the old quarters. Reception was ok but constantly on the phone so guests are kept waiting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike of note although I do think the main external picture shown of the hotel is misleading as it is not actually on the beachfront as the picture suggests. It is a couple of roads back - sea visible from some rooms and only a short walk so still close.

    Spacious room with aircon. Location great for us although some may find the walk to the main part of town quite long (10-15 mins). Nearby beach looked lovely although weather not good enough for us to spend time on it. Great garage parking for motorbike. Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on that.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old fashio hotel surrounded by high buildings Location is far from the city center and the beach is not maintained (destroyed hotel in the center of the beach)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Underground parking was available but was at additional cost

    Breakfast was excellent and available at 07:00 so we had short journey to catch the early morning ferry. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean, comfortable, well equipped room and shower room. Secure parking at extra cost, very good location near to the beach and ideal for the ferry port at Bilbao.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a positive stay. Nothing negative to say.

    Air con was very effective and not noisy as was last hotel. Secure parking for motorbike. Great bathroom and shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My dinner was inedible. The 'roast pork' was a line of blubbery fat pieces with no lean meat at all and only tiny shreds of the promised green pepper. The 'chips' were shoelace size and stale, apparently fried hours before and left aside. My wife's dinner was acceptable.

    Nice hotel near a fairly good beach, handy for the ferry in Bilbao.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. Our short stay meant that we had very few demands.

    We needed to get to the Bilbao ferry early and this very comfortable hotel was only 25 minutes away. We were very pleasantly surprised by the location, so near to the promenade, and walked the length of it in the evening. We had our dog with us and had no problems. It was a pity we didn't have the time to really explore this very interesting town. The hotel had it's own restaurant and on the promenade there were a variety of bars and eateries.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel restaurant was closed on first night plus one other. We were not warned in advance or at reception.

    Near beach. About 3/4 mile walk to town and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much in the way of cafe/ bars on front promenade they mostly ran along the back street which was disappointing as no view.

    Lovely park area close by.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we wished to eat in the cafeteria . We were told we couldn't because a confirmation party was using it - although it appeared to be that only a part of it was occupied. We were told that we could eat in the restaurant . After sitting down the manager ( I assume ) asked , rather abruptly , if we were staying at the hotel . We produced our key and he brought two menus. We looked at the dishes and they were either meat or fish . My husband is vegetarian but we were relieved to see at the bottom of the menu , "ASK TO SEE THE VEGETARIAN MENU " . When he returned we pointed to this phrase several times but he refused to understand and kept pointing at the dishes above . Either he didn't (????) understand us , or refused to . We left . I feel that if an hotel accepts guests then the full range of advertised amenities should be available or it should be made clear that this is not the case because part has been booked by a private (outside ?) party . Also if a menu in an hotel restaurant states that there is a separate , vegetarian menu available , then this should be provided unless a satisfactory reason is given .

    The bedroom was excellent. Nice view of the sea , very comfortable beds , lovely bathroom, friendly reception . Great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Very quiet area on edge of town. But still only 10/20 minutes walk to bars shops and restaurants and less than 100yds from the main beach and promenade. Easy parking on the streets alongside hotel. Less than half hour journey to Bilbao ferry terminal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good situation for travellers using the ferry ports. Great situation for a coastal resort. It was unfortunate that the restaurant was closed for a family wedding as a friend had recommended this place as a fabulous fish restaurant with a variety of fish dishes?

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot.

    Had only booked a 1night stop on our way from Benidorm area to catch early morning ferry to Portsmouth - and we ended up in a penthouse suite for no extra charge. Excellent views from the rooms balcony too!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold staff: the woman at check-in spoke the minimum, we booked a room w/o breakfast and we thought to receive a proposal or suggestions ..but nothing. Bathroom a bit old.

    Hotel position is good, room is big, wi-fi working well

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We do prefer a double bed but couldn't get one. The singles were large and very comfortable. The hotel is quite expensive for a one night stay.

    The room was comfortable, clean and well laid out. The view over to the promenade is lovely. The table in the bay window of the room with two chairs is a nice touch but as we only stayed one night we didn't get chance to use them. This hotel is easy to find from the motorway and only half an hour drive from the ferry port at Bilbao.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of the season and weather (which was atrocious) the dining room was closed with the bar area being used. The staff appeared disorganised and service slow.

    It was a nice bright hotel in a good location and ideally suited for the ferry

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great sea view from our room Good meal in the cafeteria. Free parking slot in front of hotel (we were lucky) Less than 30 minutes to Bilbao ferryport

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was quite expensive but lots of choice (can wander down the esplanade and find cheaper breakfasts which we did one of the days there). Pillows were either too high or too low, but I've got a neck that complains a lot so more my problem really.

    Great location - relatively quiet, but very close to the beach and not far to old town - really nice stroll will get you there in about 20mins with lovely view the whole time. Big spacious room, helpful staff, great parking facilities, lift and trolley so good when carrying lots of motorbike gear.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could offer a little more variation to restaurant menu.

    Excellent location ,secure parking,handy for local bars/restaurant. Friendly staff,swift checking in and out.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff not only went the extra mile but they showed that they wanted to and that nothing was a problem. For an English, non Spanish, speaking traveller it was noticeable how many staff were more than competent in both languages. The Car/motorcycle hotel garage is fantastic. The location in itself is splendid with a lovely promenade. The location in relation to the Ferry terminal is spot on.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it all works well.

    This hotel works very well on several aspects including half hour drive to Bilbao docks. We have stayed before and do feel confident in recommending it. On this occasion we were upgraded for free.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    just a Little detail. It was cold at night and when we called reception asking for a blanket it took very long to have it delivered. Or so it seemed to us. But we understood it was late and they were on their night shift.

    The general decoration of the hotel, classical comfy. It is evolving to modern, I hope they don´t overdo it and stick to their original style. Of course, the location. Staff and facilities are excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing Nada

    The hotel had private parking although we were able to park right outside free: room had a sea view and was a minute from beautiful seafront: The beds were comfortable: room had tea/coffee facilities : great shower :mini bar: restaurant: room service. This is our second visit and would return 10/10

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What's not to like?

    Very comfortable beds, large room very new bathroom. Unusually for Spain, had tea making facilities in room although there were at least 4 local bars. Location excellent, very close to beach and promenade, great for walking locally to old town with excellent tapas bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Great place!! Perfect location for El Camino but also for beaches. Very nice, bright and clean rooms. Great beds and super breakfast buffet. Really good value

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool, but the hotel is a stone's throw from a beautiful sandy beach.

    Castro Urdiales is a gem, little-known by UK travellers. The hotel is comfortable, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There are dozens of good seafood restaurants in CU , but the restaurant in the hotel is very good, and their dish with crab, lobster etc is excellent - well worth the trip!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was more of a cafe and we would have liked something a little nicer but there was nothing wrong with the food and the wine was excellent.

    Great location - we were less than 5 mins from a lovely beach. Great room, bed, bathroom. Perfect stopover on the way to the ferry in Bilbao. Would stay there again without hesitation.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The photos made the the hotel look like it is right on the ocean while the reality is that it is a block away.

    Clean, close enough to town (end of a 1/3 of a mile boardwalk from most restaurants but a nice walk), nice facilities and good breakfast with fresh orange juice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not much else around the hotel and The main resort is a 10/15 minute walk. It is a very pleasant walk though and would not put us off returning.

    We loved the hotel. The staff, food, room including the bathroom were all first rate. Wi fi was good and prices reasonable. The beach is close and the resort itself is lovely. The photo is the view from our room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Having been recommended this hotel by friends, we liked the location of the hotel both because of its position near the beach in Castro Urdiales and its proximity to the Brittany Ferries port terminal in Bilbao. I think it was described as a 2 star hotel. It definitely deserves more. The restaurant was also very good. Try the seafood platter plus wine. Good value if you like shellfish.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many dining options nearby unless you want to eat in the pricey hotel. No maps available at front desk, staff could have been more proactive.

    Location and view are excellent, just steps from a lovely beach and short walk to town. Very comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was sometimes hard to get on the phone.

    So close to the beach and Boardwalk; very friendly staff; large room; can walk into city centre; great bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    1. Helpfull staff 2. Close to the old city and port. 3. Excellent view from the room 4. Fast check in and out 5. Very good breakfast 6. Good dinner

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: