Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palacio Ca Sa Galesa 5 stars

Miramar, 8, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Spain

#21 of 73 hotels in Palma de Mallorca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 171 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Atmosphere, Beyond helpful and thoughtful staff, history of the hotel and simply how it meshes well with the city it's located. Felt like we were learning about Palma just by exploring the hotel. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I think in a place of this calibre, bottled water should have been provided free of charge

    The staff couldn't be more helpful or welcoming. If there was something you needed they would do their utmost to get it for you. The room was lovely again, with everything there for you. The terrazza on the roof was just adorable with amazing views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. This is beautiful hotel in a superb location. The rooftop terrace was a real haven as well as the courtyard garden. The features that had been retained in the hotel made it unique, stylish and homely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t serve hot food alll day but I think this is due to being early in the season, you would expect this from a 5 star hotel

    The staff were very friendly and the location was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The housekeeping cupboard was next to our room and was slammed various times early morning we had to mention this a few times. The roof top terrace was above our room and the patio furniture was often dragged around early morning, which was also noisy. Breakfast should be included in the rate as its not cheap. Breakfast €22 per day per person and parking €19 per day, all adds up.

    the little extra's - sun tan cream, nothing too much trouble for staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We disliked nothing

    Location fantastic, lovely roof terrace and bar, easy parking, friendly staff - beautiful building. The bathroom/bedroom needed a little attention in order to match the rest of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The charging cable didn’t work, old towels, no ventilation in bathroom, jacuzzi tub didn’t work(no bubbles), uncomfortable sofa, felt like it was about to collapse every time I sat on it, felt flimsy.

    Excellent location, and the service was nice, great attitude, breakfast was okay, nothing special, but decent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have never previously written a review, however I feel strongly that my experience was not in line with my expectations. Having stayed at numerous Luxury hotels and resorts worldwide, I have a reasonable understanding of what to expect at the room rate that Palacio Ca Sa Galesa charges. My expectations were set fairly high during the hotel tour conducted I believe by the Hotel Manager who showed me the dining room and advised that my wife and I could have 'a lovely dinner', bring our family, have some wine and they would arrange a babysitter etc. I was left with the impression that dining in the hotel would be a pleasant experience, and the menu was fairly extensive. My stay totalled €1,700 for three nights including bar drinks and some food which was severely lacking in choice and quality; the reason for this I was informed being the hotel was between menus and the chef was "not around". In addition, the ingredients for the new menu were not available as they hadn't been ordered, in effect only a snack menu was available with no wine list. Why this wasn't pointed out during the hotel tour is beyond me. I was asked for feedback which was given, but each point was rebutted, and the Management seemed unconcerned that they were unable to provide adequate catering provision. In addition, I found the fixtures and fittings in the Brahms suite in need of an upgrade, there were sharp edges to the floor tiles in the bathroom and the room looks tired. The water in the pool was too cold to enjoy swimming to the extent that my wife was unable to use the pool, and we had to give an hours’ notice for the sauna and spa to be switched on if we wanted to use it early evening. Overall my stay was more of a guesthouse/B&B experience than a Boutique Luxury Hotel. I will not be returning to this hotel, nor would I recommend it.

    Polite staff and an interesting historic building. Attractive and atmospheric basement spa but pool lukewarm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A hidden secret in a central (but quiet!!) location. Historical building and luxury suites are truly incredible. You feel the old Spanish charm when staying here and feel like you're living in an elegant mansion. The second floor with the piano, living room, kitchen, and terrace is beautiful. Hotel is also super central and walkable to everything (one block behind the cathedral) but there are fortunately no noisy tourists or shops on the street so it's peaceful! Can't wait to stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There should be an option on booking.com where guests can purchase the room with breakfast too. 22Euros pp for breakfast was quite steep.

    The staff was extremely accommodating and supportive. They exuded a lot of warmth in the way they dealt with their guests. Their pool is small but extremely unique in its experience. My son (9 years) particularly loved the Jacuzzi inside the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough time to enjoy the spa and free cakes and drinks at teatime

    Very big and comfortable bed, lovely seaview from the beautiful roof terrace, staff very welcoming, friendly and helpful during our stay. Beautiful old palacio in good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was quite small, however, you have the option to take a run or walk straight from the hotel with spectacular views and running trails.

    The team at the Hotel has been excellent! A Hotel that makes you feel like a friend and not just a guest!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Spa and pool were being refurbished and were closed for part of our stay. It was not made clear to us when these would or wouldn't be open for use, so we didn't manage to use them.

    Very convenient for access to the cathedral and city and a very characterful hotel full of interesting paintings and artefacts. Courtesy bikes and afternoon tea were a bonus. Lovely roof terrace to relax and enjoy the view in sun or shade.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a dinner in house and selection was a bit small, but the food was tasty

    Very nice cozy hotel with the really nice and attentive staff. The upsairs terrace and pool was great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff were very friendly, couldn't be more helpful. A beautiful hotel in an amazing central location - genuinely only 5 minutes walk to the cathedral.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Layout of room was cramped, (but we did have a small room compared to others). Could be better designed. No evening dining meant that the bar and lounge areas were always empty as people went out to eat.

    Location was great and the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone is very helpful and attentive. Great service, an interesting building and good location in the historic town, close to the Cathedral. You can view it from the terrace amongst old town rooftops and the coast - a lovely area to chill.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 'Handel' suite was a bit dated and nothing like as good as the other rooms shown on the website. It was suppose to be a standard suite supposedly better than a junior but felt and smelt a bit dated and drab.

    The staff were wonderful. Location great. Breakfast lovely. We were shown the rest of the house which was delightful. And free bike hire. Would consider staying again but would ask for a different room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we could find that would have been nice is a handle in the shower to grip when getting in and out. Everything else that we asked for was immediately provided.

    Requested an extra pillow and was asked which one I would like from a pillow menu - wonderful small hotel very quite and exclusive. Would have stayed there all the time if it was not for the pull of the great shopping.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    individual service, beautiful location, perfect service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our room didn’t have any views at all

    Location is the best

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not really working in the room.

    Quiet location, good service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !

    Bed huge, staff brilliant and so informative about the area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location and tranquility

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was warm, not hot.

    Had a bed and water/food bowls for our dog.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was beautiful, staff were exceptionally polite and helpful. Will be visiting again for sure

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience was amazing. The staff are super helpful, the suite was amazing and would love to go again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location and great staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    SMALL ROOM FOR A SUITE

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No eggs breakfast first morning - ate breakfast outside after that.

    Conveniently located - excellent service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was excrllent

    Exceptional service, staff could not be any more perfect than they are. A real gem of a hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was SO uncomfortable... the air conditioning didn't work. This definitely is not a 5* hotel also. Disappointing

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less funiture in the room - made it feel tight

    Fantastic location, great staff, enjoyed the spa except for the other (loud) guests

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice rooms, however a bit dark.

    Fantastic team - it felt like visiting a private home. The roof terrace is wonderful!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find need taxi to locate the hotel in the old town

    Location friendly staff free bike hire excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    privacy and comfort; the roof top terrace is top; the small patio perfect; afternoon tea delicious

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we did not like.

    The hotel is beautiful and has real character.The staff were welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    To be able to use hotel facilities all day long without restrictions.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The apartment was fabulous. Great location. Huge rooms. Lovely balcony. All mod cons.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Historical bedding unfortunately offers less comfort.

    The location in the center of the Old Town is outstanding. Staff were both friendly and efficient.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I thought some of the snack food available was a bit over priced

    Upgraded to a suite without asking as one was available..no extra charge! Fantastic staff! They couldn't be more helpful!

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very difficult to find and access by car. Gym was tiny, almost too small to be of any use.

    Staff were very attentive without being overbearing or intrusive. Fantastic menu for pillows (yes pillows) to suit individual requirements. Fabulous huge beds! Great roof terrace to relax and for dining.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.....every day was delight

    The situation of the hotel within the Old Town close to so many places of interest and the beauty and charm of the old building is exceptional.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I think the extra amount to pay for the roof beds with TV etc. is a bit expensive, didn't see anyone using them during our stay.

    Excellent service and very friendly staff. Facilities were very good and beautifully designed. Afternoon tea and sherry before dinner were nice touches.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is overrated and not conforming to the 5-star hotel standards. Rooms are dilapidated and not clean. Ants in bathroom. We reported the problem several times, but nothing was done to resolve it. Cleaning ladies used to leave towels on the stone plate over which ants are running all the time despite our repeated requests not to do so. They also kept putting some dirty booklets, books and papers on the bed linen and pillows despite our requests not to do so. Lift was out of order for two days so we had to climb to the second floor (app. 60 stairs in one way). When the lift was operating, there were always some boxes inside and other hotel things used by cleaning ladies being transported, which did not give a good impression. A hotel bike we took was in bad state of repair. It was impossible to sit on the terrace with a fountaine as it was dirty all the time (including the chair seatings). All common areas, including "Monet" kitchen and the self-service bar room, are not clean. In the black fridge in the bar room from which the guests were supposed to help themselves was full of ants (a colony of over 1 000 ants, we were shocked to see it; some ants even managed to pass over on my hands, I had impression they were all over my body). Due to the lack of hygiene we did not use any services in the hotel. We will never go back.

    Location close to the restaurants and sightseeings in Old Palma and to 10-15 minutes walk to the private beach club with all amenities (Anima Beach Club). Reception staff was kind. Nice paintings by Miro, Calder.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was perfect nothing to not like

    This is an amazing old building and in a very quiet in an ideal location down a little cobbled back street in the old part of town but close to all you the local amenities, The staff at this hotel are fab nothing was too much trouble, helped with everything and went far and beyond anything we expected.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    superior service, beautiful and comfortable room, exclusive details like pieces of art all over the hotel, tea room, inner court etc. Stunning terrace on the roof.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were helpful attentive and friendly at all times. The WiFi was incredibly slow, at all times. They dont have extrapillows or blankets in the wardrobe, so a bit inconvenient when you need them late at night. the roof terrace was lovely. Recomendation of restaurant too. Bikes were brilliant.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    None experienced.....

    The staff went beyond the idea of superb service.....they truly anticipated any needs you may have....and acted on them immediately!!! Location was great also....allowing us to walk to most of our outings for dinner, etc.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This old palace conversion is quite an incredible place to stay but sound -proofing of the rooms is not great. There was a bit of noise from inevitable coming and going of guests and cleaning staff.

    Amazing hotel in the best part of town. Fantastic staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very beautiful and cozy hotel! You feel like a guest in a beautiful house in the hospitable owner! Wonderful staff. Excellent breakfast! Sure to come back again! A little hardish bed, but attentive staff immediately gave us an extra mattress!

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    la decoration des chambres

    la gentillesse du personnel la situation de l'hotel

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Aircon not on at time of year visited, 2 pastries only for breakfast in literature odd.

    Location, staff, surroundings, beautiful building internally

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great and very personal service

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were absolutely brilliant - all areas

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    unfortunately the swimming pool was being fixed!

    Rooftop terrace, C16th palace in centre of Palma!

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice location and the hotel was beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff was drunk and rude. Rooms were dirty. Hotel is a maximum 3 star standard!

    The surrounding area

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    The best of the hotel and all the staff were amazing!!!

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Elevators were broken Our room too hot on the first night No lobby

    Location Old building

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great service, beautiful building, special room

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This hotel has great character

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    It was wonderful, we will return, best hotel I have ever stayed in in Europe.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The complete offering

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Browse Palacio Ca Sa Galesa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: