Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rey Arturo 3 stars

Autovía A-62 Km. 6.600, 09195 Villagonzalo-Pedernales, Spain

#1 of 2 hotels in Villagonzalo-Pedernales

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 806 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have breakfast evening meal verry poor not up to the standard of my last visit.to much banging and noise from the next bedroom had to complain to reception to be able to sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed here five times before; previously good but this time poor. Usually rate the restaurant highly but a party of 60+ was in and staff could not cope. Six weeks before we had a waitress with good English; this time one with no English which would not have been a problem if she had had the patience to let us use our rudimentary Spanish with a dictionary.- but the big party dominated and so we had to be rushed. Wi-Fi would not work in room, I had to sit in the reception area. Being told it SHOULD work did not help.

    Excellent location for travellers. Convenient being just off Autoroute. Hotel is adjacent to a fuel station and supermarket.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had coffee tea making facilities in the room.

    The location is excellent for anyone travelling too or from the Santander ferry, just off the motorway near Burgos. It was warm enough considering the extremely cold weather.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Late opening time of restaurant for dinner [opens 20.00] hence late finish which in turn leads to delay in starting journey next morning. Door to bathroom sticks on floor making it difficult to open & close - just needs attention of a carpenter with plane.

    Excellent meals in restaurant and most pleasant waitress [a shame she is leaving] Easy place to find, close to motorway. Service area includes a supermarket and fuel station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee had the flavour of being made with powdered milk, reminded me of office coffee vending machines. Amongst the many helpful brochures about the hotel in the room, nowhere could I find the internet wifi code so had to go to reception and wait for the receptionist and ask she pointed to a small notice at the bottom of a sign on the reception desk, that was not obvious to someone arriving Waitress bought the wrong bottle of wine and then forgot to bring my coffee at dinner. Room was a little hot but did not have the same heating control as in your brochure. I tried the ceiling fan on the supposed lowest setting but it blew all my papers around the room!

    Room was attractive, clean and nicely furnished

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outskirts of Burgos motorway hotel but very quiet. Restaurant had good selection of menu del noche & a la carte, excellent value for money. Staff very helpful & obliging. Breakfast was included with our booking - again, good choice of everything, definitely recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived at 5pm the room was very cold and after speaking to the reception we still had to wait until 7pm for any heating. Travelling in January, on a cold and foggy day this was not a good start to a relaxing break from a long journey.

    For a stopover on a long journey, the hotel was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING! We will be using it for as long as we can.

    We have used this hotel at least 13 times whilst travelling to and from Santander to Cartagena. Every time we arrive we are most welcome by the staff. The restaurant is brilliant. We have recommended it to at least 12 of our friends who now use it regularly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed here a number of times on the way to and from Santander/Bilbao and find the staff very helpful and friendly. The food choice is excellent. The parking area is huge so there is never a problem with space. It is close to the motorway so access is good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Confusion over parking. There is ample free parking. There is no need to pay extra.

    Staff were pleasant and helpful. Room clean, bed comfortable, en suite good. Bidet was leaking which we reported to staff on departure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly disappointed with the receptionist on the morning we left. We had paid for room and breakfast in advance. She insisted we had not and said needed to pay but we had proof. eventually she amended but she did not apologise for something that was her error not ours. The receptionist on the previous evening had already confirmed paid, although she thanked us when I paid for dinner to us for good customer service she should have apologised. Shame as we have used the hotel several times. We would still continue to do so.

    Excellent value and choice of set menu for dinner with 2 prices, excellent breakfast, location for travelling and stopover. All facilities. We use this hotel a lot and would continue to do so.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Up to a very good standard. This was our 4th annual use of the hotel which is Ideal for the morning onward car journey to Murcia.l

    The arrival to the hotel was delayed by Brittany Ferry's arrival in Santander by 1.5 hours. Our late arrival was communicated to the hotel. We arrived at 12.30am Local time. The hotel remained open with one member of staff waiting at reception. We were very grateful for this service in view of the circumstances.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in rooms. Aircon is a ceiling fan.

    Comfortable and very clean. Excellent stopover location for many destinations when travelling by car. Burgos is a lovely city too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect.

    From the time we arrived, very tired after a long journey we just needed to rest and put our feet up. We didn't want to go down for dinner so we found the hotel room service menu and chose a lovely basket meal with drinks at a good price, brought up by a lady with a smile on her face. ! Good quality place this ! Would recommend to all who are making the trip to Bilbao or Santander. Just off the motorway at Burgos ! Staff Very Polite and service excellent !!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water - unfortunately no hot water during our stay and not told of this problem until we tried to shower. No compensatiom offered.

    food excellent rooms comfy staff helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard bread -see above. Surly staff - particularly behind the Bar

    All ok. except:- decent food but bread rolls were rock hard -virtually inedible. Softer bread/ rolls as we find elsewhere in Spain would be much better. Staff, especially behind the Bar could try smiling!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to fix the bed in my room as it was falling to bits. It was a bed with 6 posts holding the base from the floor and at least 2 of them where about to collapse. Then when I lifted the sheet I wish I hadn't. The mattress was absolutely destroyed. The sides were split and the filling was coming out. Usual Hotel crap with the shower head either dirty, clogged or the joint loose. Bog standard hotel in a useful spot for me. Don't get to excited.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too much bedding except for pillows - who needs blankets and a bed cover in summer

    The set dinner costing 15€ is fantastic value for money and with excellent choices - the rooms are now fitted with fans so it is summer friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient for the ferry terminal at Bilbao. we had a very nice meal in the restaurant , Menu Del Dia for 10.95 per person and a few drinks on the comfortable seating in the reception area, before retiring to our room, which was very clean and comfortable and also extremely quiet. We parked our car in the underground cctv controlled garage, but would have been happy using the car park.The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were allocated a smoking room despite requesting non smoking. Stank of stale smoke.

    Location good for stop over when travelling from southern spain to France. Food in restaurant was good value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    This is an ideal location for anyone driving through Spain to the Costa del Sol, particularly if travelling South through France it is located next to a key motorway and breaks any journey being 3 hours from French border, it is clean and tidy and great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not somewhere that I would want to stay for sevaral nights, but ok of an on-route overnight stop-over.

    Good basic accommodation. Ok on-site restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed that the main restuarant room was closed and there was no notice as to why. Usually there is always two set menus 10.50 and 15.50 euros this time only one. Decided to eat in cafeteria hamburgers which we had seen others have on previous visits and looked good we ordered only to be told not available, not told why. Came down for breakfast next morning. This was in the smaller room no tables available all full with used items from the coach party who had left, did not create a good impression. No real attempt to clear areas while we were in there, had to clear a table for us to sit at. Disapointed

    We have stayed here on several occasions so known to hotel, usually always very pleased with everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower didn't function. Hot water supply to bath very poor.

    Room spacious and comfortable. Hotel manager most helpful. Excellent restaurant staff. Polite with good service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A longer stay.

    We have stayed here many times and cannot find fault the food quality and price is excellent. Rooms are warm and comfortable with a good wi-fi signal.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a motorway services in among houses etc. It was surprisingly quite. Staff were friendly and helpful. Didn't try food as it was a quick stop over. But clean and comfy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The waitresses in the restaurant may learn to speak some basic English to communicate.

    Very good location form the high way, and reasonable price for hotel and dinners in the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    would have liked a few hot options on the brreakfast buffet, but it was very good value anyway

    superb staff- friendly & helpful lovely room, comfortable and quiet. easy place to find, and good meals and breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike, though the new addition nescafe coffee machine is not quite as good as before

    Great staff reception staff remember us from previous stays, good food, would recommend to anyone

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave

    The friendly attitude of the staff. The ideal position from southern Spain to Santander. Dinner and breakfast, safe parking Ideal for visiting Burgos (worth a visit) Great value for the price

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Reception Staff Excellent and very helpful. Room excellent value as was the food and drink. Have stayed here many times, never been disappointed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Convenient location by the motorway. Easy parking. Comfortable room. Pleasant restaurant for dinner. Friendly & helpful staff. Excellent value all round.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A more comfortable bar would be nice. Otherwise a perfect stay!

    Excellent location by the Autovia. Friendly & helpful staff. Dinner in Restaurant was super. Incredible value for money

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a bit tired.

    Convenient hotel, close to main road, restaurant was a really nice experience, staff were happy and friendly. They had a motorcycle club staying the night and we thought that might give us problems but not at all. Hotel is a bit tired reception staff were again friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money which included garage accommodation and breakfast. Ideal location south of Burgos to join the main route to the motorway south towards Madrid.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is old and tired, no aircon,bath/shower head falling off and needs renovating.only one power point in the bedroom and that was under the desk.The breakfast was very poor not even the facility to make toast.

    The price.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good meal for e10.50. Good free parking out front of hotel on their car park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Food and service in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 bedded room was ridiculous. The light fitting didn’t have an off switch. Very dated and tired

    Location and the restaurant stayed open late

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like

    We stayed a the hotel many times no problems at all

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instructions for finding the hotel

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Convenience to road. Clean and polite staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    could have had tea coffee making in room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice breakfast for a reduced price. All the personnel that was kind and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always had a good stay .lovely and clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception and food

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The convenience and they allow dogs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like

    Always no problem at hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You asking for a report!

    Everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast adequate

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant had good local non tourist food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a great hotel and very conveniently situated. No need to leave the hotel. All facilities are there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean,decent meal,quiet at night

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower was very poor.

    staff were pleasant and easy reach to Burgos city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower heads could be upgraded!

    possibility to accomodate my dog for a small extra fee.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of bars and restaurants in the area Poor choice at Breakfast

    Good to find by car

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    LORRY PARK NEXT DOOR AND IN THE HOTEL CAR PARK

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Should upgrade shower head in bathrooms!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main course quite plain

    Excellent stop en route for ferry.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N A

    Very hard working and efficient staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin walls!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    Able to have an excellent meal even on a Sunday evening. Room was warm on a chilly day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower gel offered, only soap.

    Great location on the motorway. Good place to break a journey. Reasonable selection of food at the bar.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The location of this hotel is ideal.Travelling from Santander to Almeria it is near the motorway and easy to find.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so much a dislike more a would like......a kettle and cups in the room

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar meals could be available all day instead of after 8pm.

    Good location and price to break a trip to southern Spain.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    would like a cooked breakfast facility

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside of the building is in need oof a good painting

    Good restaurant with good food

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    Location, staff they remembered us even our name before we said it, restaurant, breakfast and dinner, room, shower. Excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Rey Arturo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: