Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Senator Gran Vía 70 Spa Hotel 4 stars

Gran Via, 70, Madrid City Centre, 28013 Madrid, Spain

#230 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1866 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Great stopover in Madrid!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no sign to the breakfast room, which is nice but behind a steel door.

    We got an upgrade to a room with a balcony overlooking Gran Via. The room, bathroom and balcony were large and comfortable. WiFi and air conditioning worked fine. The bed was very comfortable. The location is excellent for visiting Madrid city center, the royal palace and the cathedral.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.3
    Very good location but room not big enough for family of 4 which included a teenager.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was advertised as a family room but was really just 2 double-beds put together which left little room. I thought that this was poor value for money and the prices of the breakfasts were expensive given options elsewhere.

    Excellent location and good noise insulation - staff were helpful when required.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    First time in Madrid so glad choose this hotel had a fabulous time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom design! Door opened to the toilet, could have been designed better

    Great room with large balcony - excellent roof top jacuzzi, brilliant location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Ok for a city center hotel but I think 4 star is a star too high
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sells it’s self as having a roof terrace pool which is not the case and restricted access to indoor pool/spa area for children

    Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice stay but well over priced especially when the pool facilities are not included...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool would have cost us as a family €90 each day of our stay for just 2hrs in the morning 10am - 12noon only not allowed to use pool when it suits you.. Very Disappointing

    Staff were brilliant especially the cleaning staff very friendly a credit to the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Close to palace and many sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spa only available to hotel guests from 10:00-noon, and not every day. Frosted glass bathroom door. Far from Prada.

    Close to palace and many sights. Close to subway lines. Big room with ample seating. Good beds. Good breakfasts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Did the trick but wouldn't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room With Gran Via Views
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Charging 4 star prices for 2 star quality. I always look at the good in hotels but this one, although did the trick for what we wanted, was a disappointment. We included our breakfast when booking which was €24 for breakfast, a bit steep but it is Madrid and this was a 4 star hotel, so didn't mind paying it. What I did mind was paying €24 for 1 star quality. There was, choice, not a lot but it was Ok but staff took too long to replenish empty trays. The bread was stale and their nespresso station was only 1/3 full of coffee capsules. The staff could do with smiling a bit more, they came across as rude.

    The location was great just at the bottom of Gran Via. The rooms were clean. Friendly reception staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.4
    Fairly disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a disgrace hot food was cold same every morning very little choise and staff were most unfriendly and unhelpful. Charge for spa is very disappointing considering it’s an expensive hotel to stay in will not be recommending or returning .

    The reception staff were very nice and helpful room was comfortable and hitel was in a good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    great stay for a visit to the city of Madrid. Breakfast should be eaten in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfastroom is not clean, nor stylish. Also the food was not all that good. Burned eggs, dirty glasses, no plates or glasses enough, coffeemachine broken etcetera. Not 4 stars. Remarks about that at the reception wasn't answerred with a solution, but with an excuse and promiss that it will be better soon.

    The rooms are great, location is great. If you would like to, you can pay for the spa facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable, would definitely recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no proper bar there other than that it was fine.

    Very central location and very close to Metro link,station just a few feet away.rooms clean and spacious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.0
    Not recommended and not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures of the room make the place look modern and grand, the rooms are small, and in desperate need of renovation. In spite of saying rooms are air conditioned, they are not. Rather I had to spend a day complaining to get the air conditioner turned on as the room was unbearably hot and impossible to relax and sleep. If I used their solution if opening the window, this had little to no impact on temperature and just made it noisy. The spa was a joke. You don’t get any assistance from staff about what each spa is or what is best for you. They don’t enforce their own rules like no cameras and allow people to splash water at others and act in over sexual ways in the spa. It was uncomfortable and I left after 15 mins was promised a refund but no. The property is not value for money

    The location of the motel is great. It’s central to most of city’s attraction and within walking distance of everything. In general most of the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    This hotel offer great value for money. It is perfectly located for any tourist visiting Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My room was a perfect size with stunning views of Madrid city. The atmosphere in the hotel was very warm and relaxed with all staff extremely helpful and friendly which added to a perfect stay in Madrid. The morning breakfast offering had a large choice of different foods.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money and a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cafe on the ground floor of the hotel looked a little run down. The coffee and cake we had was lovely though.

    The bedroom and bathroom were immaculate . The room was warm and the bed very comfortable. All the staff were very pleasant and respectful. The staff were quick and efficient when we had a problem with our safety deposit box.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    More og less as expected, if any, then higher than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had thought that access to spa was included, sorry to say, not, and quite expensive as well.

    Great bed, breakfast was more than expected, great variety, and reasonable filled when empty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    3.3
    Never to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced. Charged 20€ a night extra for a roll around bed which I could have achieved by taking a larger room with two beds. Selected the hotel so my son could use the pools and only found out that he was ONLY allowed in for an hour per day. 👎 I wanted to take a Jacuzzi for a knee I had injured walking off a curb and was told that it would cost 20€ for an hour and a half—- per person ! Outrageous.

    Absolutely nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    The stay was great and the location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were under the impression that the pool couldve been used by my son, unfortunately “family pool time” is between 10am-12pm and we had tours booked early morning. Aside from those two hours kids are not allowed in the pool and in the case he were to go during the designated hours theres a 15Euro charge for kids and 20something Euro charge for adult. This was not expected

    The cleanliness and the staff were great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.4
    Would not rebook for a variety of reasons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Seedy entrance a bit dirty, reception not friendly and a bit put off when we asked for help in calling to find a phone. We had asked for a quiet room but instead were in an area where there was ongoing construction and we heard pounding from 8 am to 10 pm every day we stayed. Downstairs restaurant was not staffed frequently so we had to go around the corner for coffee or orange juice. The room came with 4 little battles of water and they never refilled them- we were there 4 days! Really, its water! Tub leaked so had to use towels to soak up the water. Twice there were no new fresh towels. Very poor would not recommend.

    Leo the front receptionist helped us daily with phone calls trying to find a lost i phone.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.0
    Convenient hotel, pleasantly staffed, sadly let down by its bedding and the breakfast chef.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattresses were uncomfortably firm and the pillows intolerably so. In the end I had to use my downcoat which I rolled up and put in a pillow slip so as to avoid a painful neck in the morning. The breakfast eggs were overcooked every single day whether boiled, fried or requested omelette form. The mushrooms, tomatoes, potatoes and bacon appeared to have been 'shown' boiling water. The bread rolls were rock hard. The 'warming' tray under the breakfast food was not working and the food was always cold.

    The hotel staff were most pleasant. We were upgraded to a larger twin bed room (which we originally requested) because the original double bed room was very small and would have claustrophobic. The management also gave us a complementary two hours at the hotel spa which we and our friends regrettably couldn't take advantage of because of a large group of young women who dominated the pool and spa area continuously shouting loudly making it impossible to swim or enjoy relaxation. The management apologised this and for the inability of young male staff member who couldn't or wouldn't try to control them.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    I really enjoyed and will definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minus I would put for sheets which looked not very new and clean. I think hotel should change more often sheets with defects that couldn’t be washed out.

    Spa, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful city. Hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have a spa/pool area. We didnt know until we booked to use the pool that it was not included as part of our stay. You have to pay to use it. As we used it on the Sunday we got one adult half price but for 3 adults and a 6 year old we had to pay €57.

    Excellent location. Very comfortable rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    If your looking for a great place that’s located right and has friendly people then stay here!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly the the gym needed to be kept a little better one bike didn’t work the elyptical was crickey. I also was under the impression that I received one free pass to the pool with my room. But I paid 19.00. Other than that it was good.

    It was private and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    Difficult to control room temperature--it was very warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Difficult to control room temperature--it was very warm. Some reception staff helpful--others were not 1 of the Spa personnel did not speak english(though he tried) whch made using the spa difficult

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Great stay, fantastic spa, would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room With Gran Via Views
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were advised before travelling, that the price of the spa was 9.5 euros per person per time, but infact it was 19 euros per person. We were advised that there would be free access to the spa, between the hours of 10am -12pm for guests staying in the hotel this was not correct! Also little touches for example, the guest welcome pack was not up to date with correct information, like ice machines on 3 of the floors not correct. If the hotel can correct these things it would have been perfect.

    Fantastic location, amazing views over Gran Via, very clean and comfortable room, lovely hotel, nice breakfast and fantastic spa!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant location, everything on your doorstep, lovely staff, really suited for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with being painted there were dirty marks on all the walls. Baths need slip mats for climbing in and out of the shower it was slippy for us and the kids it would be dangerous for elderly people as there are no rails to assist getting in and out

    The location is amazing, everything was on our doorstep and the size of the room was great for a family of 4.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    very enjoyable stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    gentleman at desk in breakfast restaurant was not very pleasant when my colleagues room key was wrongly coded not to include breakfast which had already been pre paid.Instead of calling reception to check our bookings,he just kept saying " no breakfast" This caused needless embarrassment.

    location.most staff very friendly. Young man at reception on Thurs evening (08/02) was exceptionally efficient,pleasant and very helpful in offering advice on restaurants and shops. Excellent recommendations!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    This is the third time stay at this property and always...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed here for two nights and did t find anything wrong or I didn’t like. This hotel will be my hotel for the next stay in Madrid.

    This is the third time stay at this property and always appreciate friendly and helpful staff. This time they sent maintenance staff immediately after check in to cut all of my padlocks as I lost keys somewhere before check in. The spa facility is worth to try and I even felt that 90 min session is short to enjoy everything. Access is easy from Madrid airport either by Metro or taxi. Taxi ride costs 30 EUR (flat rate) and Metro costs 5 EUR to “Plaza de Espana”. However this station seems not to have an escalator. So if you carry many luggages taxi would be an option though steps are not too long maybe 30 steps?

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    6.7
    Good place to stay at the very heart of Madrid, especially if you're with a car.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom wasn't clean - they're not easy on changing the toiletries. No coffee/sugar/sweetener refill either - had to ask explicitly couple of times at the reception to finally get some. No English news channels on the TV - BBC, CNN, Sky, EuroNews would be fine. Nobody but the reception desk staff speaks any English at all which makes the entire communication with the establishment quite difficult.

    Top location really, super reach and tasty breakfast - both local and continental. The bed was extra comfortable. Offering some good deal on parking for the entire duration of your stay there - which is of big help in Madrid.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.1
    Great location, great spar, but please book room only!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was really terrible! The worst sausage I’ve ever had! The bacon was all stuck together and most of it was full of fat! The scrambled egg was terrible!! The milk dispenser didn’t work very well, other people thought their wasn’t any milk! Both mornings was the same rubbish!! The churros was cold and people was using their hands the pull it apart!!

    The spar was good and the location was ok apart from the parking fees!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.7
    Decent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not having a bath like the one is displayed on booking..it had shower. Noise starting 9 a.m. from neighbour building which was under construction. The manager never contact me about the complain i made at reception regarding the difference between what is displayed on booking and what i found on hotel. Lots of dust after cleaning. The locker from the window had a malfuction and it wasnt locking properly.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.9
    Would come back for the spa and the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gentleman at the door in the breakfast area should work in the army rather than in customer service. He was very rude & saved his smiles for the Spanish guests only.

    The spa is an amazing experience! The reception staff are very helpful. The proximity to City Centre is wonderful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    We would gladly go back because the things we did not like are minor issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ... croissants hard, fruits not fresh, same serving spoons were used to dish out the sausage and the vegetables. Plates were not clean . Unable to use spa because staff unable to explain properly that swimsuits were on sale if required. Language was a problem. Kindly note that these are minor issues mentioned purely for improvement reasons not as a criticism.

    Bed comfy. Shops close by Eating areas walking distance

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    6.3
    Over-priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite dated looking hotel overall. Room size small. 1 English speaking TV channel.

    Decent location on Gran Via, close to Plaza de Espana. 2 minutes walk to the Metro.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel lobby smelt very strongly of chlorine, this is because there is a spa in the basement, which we then found out we could only use for 2 hours in the morning for free, otherwise we would have to pay! We were also woken up on Friday morning by loud banging and drilling. The hotel overall was also in need of some renovation and therefore it did not meet my expectations as a 4 star hotel.

    The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful too. The hotel was in an excellent location and very convenient to get to the main shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel - great spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was a bit patchy And the shower in our lovely room could have been a bit better

    The Spa is excellent The breakfast was plentiful and varied The staff were very helpful The location is excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.1
    Thank you Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The permanent smell of sewage ?...the noise to early morning of pneumatic hammer from building in construction next door .the lack of bar and lounge facilities.a very poor breakfast area .and bad handling of guest circulation and confort .you want to be out of the hotel and have your breakfast somewhere .value for money very poor i don't call it hotel ?.....

    "Location .bedroom size and confort clean .t

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    6.7
    Great location mediocre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast crowded and food was not replenished - noisy room due to the building project next door. Not 4 star more 3

    Location was at plaza de espana end of grand via. Suite accommodation large but quality of sofa bed poor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    5.8
    Dirty sheets is a big no-no.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They lost points because one of the twin beds sheets were still dirty. Very disappointing to get ready for bed, and then had to call housekeeping. They did come right away to change the sheets.

    Good location, friendly staff. Reasonable rates. Room was a decent size.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.1
    For this price there are better options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room and the cutlery was dirty. The food was also not very good. Also the wellness area is already kind of old and dark.

    The room was nice and clean. The location is very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    4.6
    the hotel facilities and staff services were awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    unfortunately this hotel was may fırst wrong selection, ınternet and staff services was awful, we didn't have free internet for 2 days, spa was closed, we requested extra blanket because the room was cold but unfortunately we did not received any extra blanket.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    The location right in the centre of Madrid is clearly very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has what the french call "le charme de l'ancien"... A touch of lost splendor in need of renovation sold for chic.

    The location right in the centre of Madrid is clearly very strategic...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    A great holiday made better by the helpfulness of the hotel staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I liked everything. There was nothing I did not like.

    Staff were most friendly and nothing was too much bother. They were very helpful and ensured my stay at the hotel was most enjoyable and comfortable. I have stayed in this hotel many times and each time it improves - specifically customer care and attention. I had a balcony room this time round and the views of Madrid both early morning and late at night were spectacular. Well done and thank you to all staff for a great holiday. I would highly recommend this hotel for any visit to Madrid.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay, good shopping and I would recommend for everyone except with kids under 15.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was friendly and helpful but there English could improve. Book a treatment was a bit complicated, ended up with a different that I expected. Tea and coffee in the room was never filled, so had to buy my own :)

    In the center of Madrid, with everything you want just a stroll away. SPA area was nice, free for hotel guests from 10-12. Treatment "meny" was focused on full body like baths, coatings and massage, would have been really good to have a good foot-treatment as you walk a lot staying in the center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location and staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s quite a lot of noise from other rooms mostly from the doors slamming and noise carrying along the corridors. Would suggest something to stop the door slamming shut. Staff were great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    I got this hotel because there was a swimming pool.
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I got this hotel because there was a swimming pool. But in this time we could'n use it because my son also 3 years old. I didn't read this rule on Booking. I just read it about the spa. So i won't book it again because the price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Personal was very kind and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    N/A

    Personal was very kind and helpful. SPA is well maintained and nice for relaxing in a big city. The room was big enough, the bed was very comfortable and nice to sleep. Didn't have a breakfast so cannot comment it. Recommend to take a quite side of the hotel if you want to sleep well (-: Very nice location for tourists and business people whose office is around. Good connections to any part of Madrid.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    Vibrant city life, but full with thieves.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi connection is really poor. Area is full of pocket thieves. Watch you phones & wallets. Stay away from people trying to sell stuff on the street and beggars, as all are thieves. Unfortunately my Phone is a statement of that ...

    Location is excellent. Really close to a lot of Madrid tourist spots. The room had a small balcony just on the Gran Via where you could feel the vibrant city night life. Swimming pools are great for kids, although only available during 10-12PM Breakfast is average ... not much variety

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.0
    Wasted night. Avoid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose this hotel based on spa amenities, and were even told at check in on Sunday that the spa would be open 10-12 in the morning. Apparently the spa is closed on Mondays, which we did not find out until Monday morning. What a waste of money.

    The rooftop is divine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    3.8
    extremely dissatisfied , no value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the blankets were dirty , the staff didn't understand english , it was so difficult to talk to them ... they were not willing to exchange the blankets .. i asked for a different room as well but my request was not considered

    the location was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free wifi was terrible and the beds were a bit hard.

    The location was perfect. We walked everywhere we wanted to go and when we got to tired, just hopped on a subway. Beautiful city and very busy!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Definitely go back again! Great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bought food and coffee in the cafe and it was terrible. Glad I didn't go for the breakfast option. But great cafe's right beside the hotel.

    Beds were super comfortable. Great location, everything walking distance. Spa was nice. Staff very helpful. Overall very happy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    2.9
    Don't ever stay at this dump.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lies, false advertising, and unhelpful staff

    Total scam. No spa. No rooftop pool. We only booked for the advertised amenities. Total bait and switch. Great photographer the pictures are much nicer than the actual hotel. Spoke with the staff regarding the bait and switch. Totally unhelpful. I am disputing the charge with my credit card. Hotel not as advertised. Checked both websites for details of the closed spa. No information posted. This hotel has spa in the name. NO RESPONSE FROM BOOKING.COM YET, REGARDING THE FALSE ADVERTISING. COMPLAINED IN WRITING 4 DAYS AGO. STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL AND BOOKING.COM.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.1
    Jacuzzi and pool closed in August heat
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neither the rooftop terrace and jacuzzi nor the hotel Spa and pool were available during our stay. Both were being upgraded at the same time, in August, which was ridiculous. At the time of booking it was stated in the small print that work to the jacuzzi would be completed by the time of our arrival on 13th August. On checking in we enquired regarding use of the jacuzzi and terrace and were told that work was still ongoing and that the completion date was now 15th August. On 16th August we asked to use the jacuzzi and were told it wouldn't be ready until the following week. We were leaving on the 17th. Reception staff did not offer an apology, alternative pool arrangements nor compensation. We chose this hotel primarily for its rooftop terrace and jacuzzi and the room rate reflected this amenity. We told reception staff that we were unhappy with the lack of facilities and would be making a complaint. On our last evening we returned quite late to our rooms to find a complimentary bottle of cava in each room. This did not compensate for the lack of facilities advertised by this hotel nor the lack of empathy shown by staff.

    Convenient location, clean and comfortable rooms, effective air conditioning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    It would be hard to pass this hotel if you are ever staying in central Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Just a little bit more organised at the Breakfast sitting would help. Sometimes it seems to be a little bit chaotic - most likely the hotel is overwhelmed by the numbers of customers to facilitate at breakfast time.

    Excellent location and staff were very friendly. The hotel could not have done any more for me. This Hotel has noticeably improved over the last 2 years both in decor and customer service - well done.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.8
    The hotels location is excellent, it's good for short stay & have your breakfast some place else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room With Gran Via Views
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have a buffet for breakfast, but every morning we can see flies feasting on the diced onions and flies around the cold buffet section. The hot buffet was okey, but the fried eggs are just awful. We ordered omelette twice and it looked so plain and boring on the plate. It's a 4* hotel but a child could make an even better hot breakfast. My son is a fussy eater and due to allergies and intolerances there's very little in the buffet for him to eat. Considering the price for breakfast it's extremely poor. And one thing that annoyed my family is that a waiting staff has an attitude towards us. It's so unprofessional for someone in hospitality sector. I did end up in reception to complain about it and Elena made sure it is dealt with. (She is amazing) The Spa is only open for families with children from 10-12 and it's quite crowded. We only got to use the spa facilities for 15 minutes tops twice during our stay as it's just not enjoyable bumping to too many people in such a tiny space. The jacuzzi at the roof top is closed for the duration of our stay and they also closed the spa on our 5th day which is really annoying. Part of the reason we chose the hotel is the location and facilities, but the facilities let us down.

    Location is excellent. It's walking distance from major tourists attractions and conveniently located just off Plaza de España Station. Coffee is good too so is the orange juice. Elena in reception, Monica in the Spa & Maria in the Cafè are always helpful and welcoming. They're a credit to the Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.7
    The location was great, hotel room comfortable but no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The swimming pool was not available for our use, told we could use the spa for 9.50 Euros, we stayed in the hotel previously and the pool was available, it's one of the reasons we returned. Some reception staff were charming others quite unhelpful.

    The location was great, hotel room comfortable but no comfortable bar area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Amazing location, would recommend a stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi could be a bit sporadic and I managed to get it on my phone at times but not my Ipad. I also felt like often staff would be on the phone rather than serving customers at the desk (but I don't know if this a culture thing as in Britain customers should always be acknowledged and helped and the phone is second but maybe it is different in Spain).

    I liked the location as it was very close to the main shopping area, about 10 minutes away from the Royal Palace, The Temple Debod and about 20 minutes from the Plaza Mayor. The Hop on, Hop off Bus went near the hotel, there was a bus stop outside the hotel and the Metro stop was about 5 minute walk away and there were lots of restaurants, bars and cafes nearby. I liked the fact there was air conditioning in the room and a safety deposit box (both included in the price). It was also really easy to extend our check out time until 4pm on our last day for 21 extra Euros. The Spa was nice and there was a good selection of food at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    3.8
    Great location but poor customer service and services
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Customer service, more available staff ready to help. Better security during the day and night Better cable channels Working air conditioning in the rooms Better room service quality and options Clear telephone numbers for help in the rooms

    The location was the best thing about this hotel. The staff were non existent and unhelpful - we arrived and the first thing the receptionist answered when I asked for help with our suitcases was Can't you see I don't have anybody?. It was rude and stressful as the Hotel does not have a proper drop off location and we were struggling to get our stuff our of the car and into the Hotel. Room service was difficult to access and almost never had anything we could eat when asked. The spa was not good either and the services were well below expectations. The a/c barely had enough strength to keep the room cool and it is summer! We had the fan also on which meant we barely slept at night with the heat. Access to the rooms had no control whatsoever and one night my family had to witness an exchange between the one security person who shows up at night and lady he was trying to pull out of the elevator. We left the Senator and will never go back again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Great for family stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room was spacious we were in 803. Very quiet despite being on the Gran Via. Good airco even when it was 39c outside. We didn't use the spa, there is no onsite parking it's nearby and pricy 26€ per night. But we didn't have a car. Receptionists were great giving advice on where to eat etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    2.9
    Never Ever Again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have stayed here several times over the years primarily because of its location on gran via. My experience during July 2017 on a family holiday turned out to be extremely unpleasant. Firstly I was booked in room 308 wherein one night while sleeping the headboard fell on my sons head in the middle of the night . Thank god it didnt hurt him much as it could have been a major issue. We called the reception to complain they asked us to come down and collect another room key. Around midnight we had to take care if our child who got hurt, pack our 6 suitcases and drag it to another room without any assistance or offer for assistance or apology from this hotel. The room they gave us 508 when we arrived had an air condition which wouldnt cool and had a bathroom full of water. We got so tired we couldnt bother to call the reception. We called the General Manager of the hotel telling her about her holiday being ruined and our child getting hit during his sleep by the headboard, besides a few sorry and bathroom leakage being fixed, no other action ought to be taken by them. They didnt even ask us how our child was after being hit in the head with headboard nor did they offer us any doctor or medical assistance. Also while in 308 and 508 there was construction work since 8 am with constant drilling and hammering and we were never informed prior booking. Upon confronting the general manager, simple response was its not in their hotel. Having travelled all over the world, i have never had a holiday like this at a price of €185 per night I would not recommend anyone to stay here and demand a full refund

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    6.3
    Comfortable but a little disappointing given the star rating ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that we were not told that the roof terrace with jacuzzi was only open in (summer) we presume - July and August even though in June when we went it was 33 a 35 deg. The room needed painting..lots of scuff marks around the walls which is not what we would expect from a 4 *. Unfortunately we got back to our room the first day at 3.45pm, very tired and the room still had not been cleaned. After a complaint the rest of the stay was fine in this respect. We understand there was a restaurant but there was no information in the room regarding menus, cost etc. There was a room service menu which alluded to food which was sent out for to a local restaurant. Small cafe within, that served basic continental b'fast to hotel residence and general public. Hence we ate out each day. We've stayed in better 4 star hotels and unfortunately would not book this one again. First room we have booked where there was not one picture on the room walls.....silly thing but noticable.

    The location of this hotel was good, within walking distance to a bubbly area full of good eating places and two metro stations. Sound proofing was excellent and the Aircon worked well. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    8.8
    Happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices

    In was very satisfied with general conditions and the unic complain in about prices. A little high for a 4 stars hotel. I know there were a lot of events on the city this week, but the price is so high. The local, services and staff are really amazing!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    The location near to the fabulous bars and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact I paid for an upgrade on my room after being told I'd get a much bigger room. But I couldn't see how our room was any bigger than the double room originally booked. Also face the 'free mini bar of water and cava' wasn't refilled after the first day.

    The location near to the fabulous bars and restaurants

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    8.3
    Great modern hotel but staff should learn better english
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very poor in english, some of them did not speak english at all. About the spa: it was difficult and time consuming to get a bath robe, you need to give a cash deposit of 20€ per robe, it would have been so much easier if it could be noted to the room instead. It caused a long line of people in the spa.

    The spa facilities were good for families, it's possible to bring the kids between 10:00-12:00 and it was included in the room price. The interior was modern and the beds where large.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    6.7
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Single Use with Gran Via Views
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot, despite temperature thermostat reading 15 degrees centigrade. Lights in room were not working between 7am and 9am. I didn't complain but spoke to reception when i went for breakfast and all she said was no one else had complained so implied it was only me that had the issue. I had to go up and down lift many times to ask questions. It would have been good to get intoductory instructions when i arrived. I was told that i could use the spa between 10-12pm but no instructions that i needes extra money gor locker and would have to pay for footwear and towel. Breakfast was average, not much variety and eggs were undercooked.

    It was great that they could offer a late check out and organised an airport shuttle for me.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    5.8
    We chose the hotel for the spa but were not allowed to enter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Spa was only open for children between 10-12 in the morning. After these hours children were nog allowed to enter the spa. We were not informed about this. We were told we had to pay outside the 10-12 window.

    Room was ok, breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    5.4
    Decent hotel, poor presentation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plastic signs all over the hotel make it feel more like a public station than a hotel. The curtains were stained. A shame the presentation let it down, because the hotel facilities otherwise seemed ok.

    Staff friendly and welcoming. Bed comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    10
    lo volveré a utilizar
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the sheet with a kind of rubber on the side on top of the mattress. That makes you sweat. I always take it off.

    I had a room on the 10th floor with a terrace, great view on the back side of the hotel. Free access to the Spa und pool for 2 hours between 10 and 12 am. Mineral water courtesy of the hotel in the minibar.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    5.0
    Christmas At Sanator Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As soon us you entered the Hotel it smells like mold. Same smell in the room. Two of the 3 days we stayed there the Spa was closed for Christmas. If we knew from before we wouldn't stay there.

    Nice Location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    5.8
    No 4-star hotel ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At the reception and even in the elevators strong chloor air of the spa. Bad reception management. At the spa my name was't in the computer so they refused me to enter the spa. On one day I had the sign "Do not disturbe" on the door; the reception phoned to the room for asking cleaning the room: they disturbed me during a headache.

    Not the hotel but the location: centre

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    6.3
    Great location, stuffy room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The airconditioning was switched off and we could not control room temperature. Ended up opening a window as it got really stuffy and staff would not do anything about it!

    Comfortable bed. Fabulous location in City Centre. Great breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    8.8
    Excellent city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled of sewarege a couple of times but we didn't make a deal out of it. Hotel is quiet old.

    Room was great. Beds very comfortable. Hotel is quiet old but excellent location makes up for it. Staff are great. Breakfast is excellent. Fresh orange juice and nespreso coffee. Overall would definitely go back.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.3
    Great if you do not neet to use room service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ROOM SERVICE WAS RUBBISH JUST WHEN WE NEEDED IT MOST, TWO MENUS - ONE WAS NOT THE HOTEL'S OWN MENU BUT NOBODY WOULD TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FORTEH ORDER. HOTEL ROOM SERVICE "WE CAN ONLY DO SANDWISHES - EVERYTHIG ELSE IS OFF" (had to get out of bed, get dressed and go out to a restaurant after a 20 hour day!

    Great room, great location, everything you could want from a hotel with the one exception - room service!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    9.6
    Weekend in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts could have been better. The hot food was all precooked and on occasions cold. On the final morning the boiled eggs were only part cooked

    The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. Reception staff helpful and friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    4.6
    Poor quality
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bar is stead of cafe bar, friendly staff they looked down to us didn't inform us about facililtes or what was going on or where our rooms were poor quality there was knowing to do at night in the hotel entainment would have been nice

    spa but it could do with up dating and we had to pay because it was after 10.00am in the morning customer should be able to use all day when i staying in the hotel i would have never booked it if i knew about this

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    4.6
    Not a 4 star hotel experience. Very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My room was no better than a hostile. No bath just a small shower cubicle. I asked for an upgrade, and when I did, they did not seem surprised and did not try and defend the room. They told me they would sort me out on the second day, as I was staying an entire week . They did not sort me and left me in this room - I should have continued to complain, but I did not.The room was tiny and you would have to walk in sideways at both sides of the bed and the galley shaped toilet had no bath, only this tiny shower cubicle. I had received points from this hotel group from previous visits and I asked at reception what the points entitled me too. Their answer was that they did not know and I should phone their head office. They did not have the phone number. This was a very poor response and indicates the bonus points is a farce. Customers including myself had to asked for cutlery at the breakfast servings as there was no enough to go around. Some cutlery was dirty and customers and myself had to leave them back. Some cutlery was presented with pools of water on both plates and bowls. All in all this is a very poorly run hotel with very poor bedrooms. The only thing going for it is its central location. If you are happy with hostile type accomidation and very poor customer service, then this is the place for you - however it you want a 4 star hotel experience (which this hotel is branded), then you will be very disappointed and I would advise you to avoid this hotel. This hotel group had another Senitor Hotel just 300 yards up the street - it's not a surprise to me that it is now closed and has become a sports shop.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Senator Gran Vía 70 Spa Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: